Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Tanfoglio Witness 1911 CO2 BB Pistol, Brown Grips reviews - page 5

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By randal from USA on 2012-04-08 14:13:53

    Things I liked:I just started collecting replica air guns about a year ago, the 1911 was not my first purchace but having carried one in the service it was on my short list. After some research I purchased the Tanfoglio Witness because it was reviewed as the most acurate reproduction. I was set on a gun with Colt markings being the 100th anniversary but was not disapointed in the least. I find this gun almost as much fun to clean as it is to shoot. The gun fits together very well and the action is great. The blowback delivers a kick that most .22s don't have. The slide locking back after the last shot still brings a smile. Endless 1911 grips to choose from will fit with a little shaping from a Dremel tool. If you are only going to own one co2 pistol this is it.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing I feel could be improved is the magazine. When you pull back and compress the spring during loading the post that's attached to it rises up. You have to push it back into place so it feeds properly. I feel that's nit picking when I look at the hole package.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Limey from USA on 2014-03-19 19:24:04

    Things I liked:The look, the weight, the action. It truly mimics a real 1911. It is fun to shoot, and fairly accurate up to 40 ft (hit soda cans etc). I bought an extra magazine to practice reloading. It's a great drill gun, and fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:The bb feeding guide which is attached to the piston. It's made of plastic and will fail after about 500 bb's. This part is not replaceable, and thus makes the gun not fully functional when guide breaks.
    What others should know:As I stated, the plastic bb guide will fail. I got about 500 bb's before mine failed to feed the bb into the chamber. It begins to double stack the bb's so that the slide will not close, thus making the gun a single shot. I shot it often, and it lasted for 2.5 months, which was out of warranty for Pyramyd Air. I contacted the distributor (who warranty it for 2 months). They kindly took it back, and sent me a new one; Which I'm told by their tech guy will also break. So, buyer beware.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 4567 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By chris from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Almost everything! The feel of the gun in hand is amazing. The blowback action is exciting. The realistic function of the pistol puts it in a class of its own. The plastic grips actually feel great and not cheap like my GSG 92. This gun cycles flawlessly. No issues with bb jams. The drop out magazine is very nice and kinda resembles a real 1911 mag. Did I mention realism!
      Things I would have changed:The color of the metal on this gun is strange and ugly. It is almost grey and I have never seen a grey blued gun metal like it. The color is the only thing that I dont like about it.
      What others should know:Its nice to have an extra magazine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Brian from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that it's metal. I like how accurate the replication to a real 1911 it is. The darn thing just looks awesome. It doesn't have any "for show" parts on it. Everything actually functions like on the real 1911. Even the backstrap safety. I like how all the valves & seals are in the magazine.Seems like a worse case senario of leaks you can't fix, you could just buy a new mag.
      Things I would have changed:Addition of a pivot cup on the CO2 set screw, so the powerlet doesn't turn against the seat when tightening & loosening. And a little bit more refinement to the top of the mag where the next bb awaits chambering, to prevent double bb feed jams. Now for the nit-pick item....The grips.They really should have supplied these with wood grips. 1911 grips can be had for cheap money.I bet everybody will put wood grips on theirs, because it's almost a sin that the gun is metal,accurate to the real 1911, awesome in appearance, and has plastic grips.It's like putting the Mona Lisa in a lucite frame. LOL
      What others should know:Check the 2 valves on the mag apon receipt,and make sure the're in tight. On my 3rd CO2 powerlet,mine leaked, and emptied the powerlet. I found that the valve on the backside of the mag was loose,and the o-ring had unseated and buckled in the valve seat. No damage.I removed the valve,reseated the o-ring & the tine washer under it, and reinstalled the valve securely.Problem solved. There's no pivot cup on the powerlet tightening set screw.Try to hold the powerlet from turning as you tighten & loosen the set screw, to avoid messing up the powerlet seat, and possibly loosening the powerlet seat valve. The seat valve is a LH thread (just an fyi). The Tanfoglio isn't an real accurate gun. Being an airgun,it's not made with the precision tolerances of a real firearm. So,the small amount of slop in the slide & barrel adds up to a few inches of off center in any direction, downrange. But this in no way should stop you from buying one. It's a must have for sure. I consider myself spoiled in the accuracy expectation area now,because I previously bought the 8" Dan Wesson,which can take the head off a match at 25 feet. But, like I said,it's a must have nonethess.It's such an accurate reproducion,and metal,so you just need to get one !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frederick from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best I have seen
      Things I would have changed:Leave off some of the writting on the slide
      What others should know:If you are a collector, this is the one you want
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2012-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:When I opened the box and saw this pistol for the first time, it made the wait seem worth it. This pistol looks exactly like the side arm I carried in the military over 40 years ago. The weight, fit and finish, and blowback action are top notch. I only expected to get three clips from one co2 cartridge, but I was on my fifth clip before I had to quit.
      Things I would have changed:This pistol is great just the way it is.
      What others should know:This is an extremely accurate shooter for only having fixed sights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Kelsey from Canada on 2012-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING! the realism of this pistol is off the wall! every part that is on the real 1911 functions the same on this gun. it takes down the same, loads the same, and shoots the same. the only difference is that this is 4.5mm, not .45 ACP.
      Things I would have changed:i would not have put all of the warnings on the right side of the slide, it is very attention grabbing.
      What others should know:you need to get this gun if you want the closest thing to a 1911, without it being a real 1911. you can't expect this gun to shoot too fast, but if you want that powerful blowback, you have to compromise a bit of velocity. be sure to get some wood grips. i got some that have the Colt brandings. now with the combination of that, and a bit of wear on the corners of the gun, this gun looks like an A1 that was on the beaches of guadalcanal yesterday! beautiful piece, just beautiful!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By George from USA on 2012-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very realistic. With the weight, metal construction and the detail of all working parts like the original Colt 1911, I'm afraid the police will mistake it for a real pistol. Works exactly like the 1911. And what that means is that the accuracy is a little scattered, just like the 1911. I really don't think you can make a more exact replica than this one.
      Things I would have changed:As others have said, the rear sight is fixed. A little difficult to load the BB's and hold the spring. These are very minor items for an excellent replica.
      What others should know:Shoots exactly like a real 1911, I get three full clips on the CO2 bottle, the fourth clip is noticably slower. To me that's pretty good, 56 shots before it slows down with the blowback and all. Not the most accurate pistol in the world but a 1911 isn't suppose to be accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Harry from USA on 2012-07-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The most affordable and accurate air gun replica to its .45 caliber counterpart. This gun is ALL metal no skipping corners here with this gun! Things I love: -Full size metal dropout magazine -Can easily knock down cans at 20 yards -Full blow back feature -Literally the exact same as the colt 1911 pistol used in WWII except it dosnt shoot .45 bullets!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing other than being able to load the BB's from the top of the magazine.
      What others should know:Ive had the gun for a couple of days now and just cant put this gun down! If you're even considering this gun go for it! you wont regret it! I've had no problems with this gun at all but if for some reason it jams you can always field strip it just like the real gun! And I would recommend buying Pellgunoil (crosman)and put a drop on every other Co2 cartridge! It increases the Co2 seal; therefore making the gun shoot slightly faster, creates more "smoke" when you fire the gun, and most video reviews claim that this gun gets only 3 magazines worth of co2 but with pellgunoil i get a full 4 magazines before i must replace the cartridge.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tylor from USA on 2012-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best gun ever. From the sound to the power this is a great gun. i already bought one but it was so good that i ended up buying another one for my little brother.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change any thing but the sights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By larry from USA on 2012-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this is the real deal. no diffent than the real one dont pull this out in public. you may get shot.
      Things I would have changed:this weapon is perfect, no changes needed. looks great, feels great.PERFECT DONOT CHANGE.
      What others should know:keep the co2,s handy, an plenty of bb,s. for the value there is nothing better. served in vietnam 1969, no diffent tha the real one, even wiegth is same.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By randal from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just started collecting replica air guns about a year ago, the 1911 was not my first purchace but having carried one in the service it was on my short list. After some research I purchased the Tanfoglio Witness because it was reviewed as the most acurate reproduction. I was set on a gun with Colt markings being the 100th anniversary but was not disapointed in the least. I find this gun almost as much fun to clean as it is to shoot. The gun fits together very well and the action is great. The blowback delivers a kick that most .22s don't have. The slide locking back after the last shot still brings a smile. Endless 1911 grips to choose from will fit with a little shaping from a Dremel tool. If you are only going to own one co2 pistol this is it.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I feel could be improved is the magazine. When you pull back and compress the spring during loading the post that's attached to it rises up. You have to push it back into place so it feeds properly. I feel that's nit picking when I look at the hole package.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By earl from USA on 2012-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:its an exact full size replica of the powder burner. all the safety features work as on the real 1911. it shoots great at 20 feet. (1 1/2 inch group or sometimes better) some of the reviews indicate the magazine is difficult to load but i find its just a little slower and this gives the c02 time to warm up. i have put a 2000 + bb's thru it and it functions flawlessly.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:the grips are interchangable with a slight modification. very east to do. i am putting a set of grips on mine indicating the mikitary outfit i was with. i really like thie gun. i believe you will to. one more thing, buy extra magazines when they become available. this extends your shooting time with a warm co2 in each mag.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.33333003520965583 ratings
       
      Things I liked:realistic and nice blowback
      Things I would have changed:mag, make grips metal
      What others should know:This gun sucks. It jams like every other mag and you have to keep taking it apart to unjam it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By earl from USA on 2012-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the most authentic replica of a powder burner that i have ever seen. Received mine yesterday. Its a full size government model. All the safety features work the same as the real 45. It shoots great, a 1.5 inch group at 20 feet off hand. Some have indicated the magazine is difficult to load; I found it slower to load but not difficult. Inexpensive practice with the exact same feel as the real 45acp. I'm going to change the grips on mine to wood.
      Things I would have changed:There is a good bit of text on the right side of the slide, it would be nice if it were removed. Other than that, nothing.
      What others should know:I would suggest buying extra magazines. I ordered two for mine. I really like this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from Canada on 2012-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent high quality workmanship. An exact replica of the Colt 1911 A1. Great power, good accuracy, and wonderful blowback, firm and fast "kick", the slide moves VERY quickly. THIS is the finest air pistol I have ever come across, and I was surprised because the gun looks even better in real life than it does in all the high resolution digital pics of it, including the one on the nice box it came in. FIVE STARS !!!
      Things I would have changed:Not a darn thing !
      What others should know:This gun is my favourite of the 12 CO 2 pistols that I have collected (so far) I had a small problem loading the bbs the first time because there is no round feeding hole in the magazine. You pull the follower down and it locks, and you discover that you cannot insert any bbs. You soon find that you have to pull it down ALL THE WAY, below where it locks. What makes that a touch difficult is the fact that the mag has a REAL strong spring. I will bet many of these GORGEOUS 1911 replicas get returned because the purchaser thinks they have got one with a defective magazine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Recently brought out all my air rifles and air pistols at a family function and told folks to fire anything they wanted. Interesting enough this is the air gun that was used and liked the most. I asked why and they all said because it was the one that performed most like a real firearm.
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps a bit better paint job, or perhaps really blue it instead of paint it.
      What others should know:This one truly shows why the 1911 is called the greatest gun in the world.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ron from USA on 2011-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The looks & function are awesome.
      Things I would have changed:Adjustible rear sight, Spring tension on mag. is heavy, making it difficult to load BB's.
      What others should know:The magazine needs a little blue Locktite for the threads, so it doesn't work loose during firing, causing the mag. to leak or dump the whole contents.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2011-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:In form and funciton it's great.
      Things I would have changed:In the clip, a slightly larger tab on the follower. It is difficult to keep it depressed during loading. Some dot sight options as the front blade is difficult to see in low light.
      What others should know:The clips are easier to load from the bottom of the magazine rather than the top. Depress the follower past the stop, then fill from that point; it's easier and faster.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an excellent gun but I recently had a problem where the gun would discharge all the co2 on the first shot through the barrel. It turns out the problen was bbs packed inside a plastic thing in the back of the slide. This was messing with the co2 valve. It took me around an hour to get about 5 bbs out of that area. Once those were cleared it performed great.
      Things I would have changed:I think the bb loading port inside the slide needs a redesign to address this issue since that plastic part is unable to be removed to clear it. It took me some very small screwdrivers to work the bbs out the way they went in.
      What others should know:Still the world's greatest bb gun based on the world' s greatest pistol. But just like the gun made by John Browning, when first presented to the army, it needed a few revisions to make it the world's greatest.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gleary2272 from USA on 2011-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and feel of this weapon are staggeringly realistic. I am a 1911 fan and this weapon is as close as you can get to the real thing. The only thing its missing is the BANG! Accuracy is spot on as well (Even better than my Real Steel Norinco 1911).
      Things I would have changed:Maybe just the finish, make a true blued or parkerized (Not painted) finish.
      What others should know:Once you pick up this weapon, you know you are dealing with quality. The heft and balance are great. Also, the blowback action is pretty strong as well due the the mass of the slide.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Clay from USA on 2011-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love how close to a real 1911 this air gun is. The size and funciton are perfect. The trigger pull, although not as nice as a real 1911, is still pretty awesome, and having a functioning grip safety is great. Field stripping is almost the same as a real 1911; but I can understand the minor changes they had to make due to this being an airgun.
      Things I would have changed:The finish on the pistol is OK. Being painted though, I'm pretty sure it's easily fixed. The only other gripe is the OG 1911 sights; they are true to the original models sure, but an option for some more modern sights would be nice.
      What others should know:Make sure to get at least one extra magazine.
    • « Previous 12 ... 4567 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top