Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Tech Force TF89 Contender Series reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Randel from USA on 2010-10-26 00:25:35

    Things I liked:It hits very hard! I've taken all sorts of game with it out to over 30 yards. It is one of the best values in magnum air rifles.
    Things I would have changed:I would change the scope stop to one like the TF 99 series. These guns have a tendency to allow scopes to "slide" off the rear rail.
    What others should know:A professional tune is a good idea to "smooth" this gun out. However, despite the initial roughness, the guns smooth out over time. Out of the box though, it was VERY accurate! It has nice open sights to use until the rifle has a chance to settle down
    1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By Ken from USA on 2011-09-26 17:02:28

    Things I liked:Not much I sent it back because of the cocking force 42 lbs, at the time I ordered it the specs said 28lbs.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2014-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, not very hold sensitive, powerful
      Things I would have changed:At this price, nothing
      What others should know:One of the most accurate spring guns I have tried. Out shoots RWS 34 pro compact, on par with RWS 34 regular version. Smooth also, not real loud.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cuban B from USA on 2013-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not too heavy, cocking effort isn't bad at all, triggers on both of mine are crisp and clean, extremely accurate with Polymags, not terribly hold sensitive
      Things I would have changed:A version with a shorter barrel
      What others should know:I've got two of these both in .22, one shoots 800-805 and the other 795-800 average both with Crosman Premiers. I recently chopped the barrel on one to 12" and hold sensitivity seems to be a thing of the past, .5" groups with Polys at 30 yards are no problem. Overall this is a great deal for the money. Out of the box it's solid but I'd bet a cheap tune would let this rifle hold it's own against the more expensive rifles in it's power range
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Pedro from Canada on 2013-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Decent build quality for money. Nice gun overall. Not too heavy so good for kids to shoot. Pyramyd Air had this on sale so it was a steal!
      Things I would have changed:Nada
      What others should know:Bought this for my 12 year old nephew. Only shot 50 rounds or so but so far happy with purchase. Pyramyd Air is awesome to deal with!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By paul from USA on 2013-04-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Right out of the box, small critters or cans better look out. Beautiful gun, well made and accurate. At 50 feet, it's right on. Unbelievable at Pyramyd Air's price.
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps, buy one, get one free, would be better.
      What others should know:I shot mine in my home into a homemade cardboard box target. Just call me "Dead Eye" and help me get that pellet hole in my wall fixed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ajit from India on 2013-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:extremely powerful, finish on wood stock, sights, butt pad, over all quality
      What others should know:this gun has alot of power, the spring makes alot of noise. and vibration. its your typical springer. good for shooting out on the river or anywhere away from neighbors. nice weight. with a little practice ou could be hitting small animals such as rabbits, squirrels, if your new to high powered sprinters this one is cost effective. great gun to learn to shoot with. close range this gun is devastating to cans and spinners. you can have alot of fun with this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By LawrenceBerns from USA on 2012-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel and accuracy of the TF89. I am 6'6" tall and the balance and weight is a natural fit. The trigger is gritty on a long pull but goes off just right at the end of the pull.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger needs to be smoothed out but works fine as is.. I don't like the small breech seal oring but the current one works. There are changes that would enhance the TF89 but at a higher cost for the rifle.
      What others should know:The stock screws need to be tight for consistency. Watch them. Be patient and allow a break in period. I experimented with different size breach seal orings during the break in period.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2012-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock, the trigger and overall appearance except for a couple of dings in the stock of this gun. Price. I bought this as a doorbuster sale item,the barrell droop was so bad it shot a full 27" low. Then I shimmsed the rear scope mount with 3 shims and it still shot 6" low.then I removed the scope and it had a pinch in the tube, and I; ve mounted plenty of scopes and did not over tighten, Thank GOD it did not ruin the Leapers scope. It sits atop another rifle now.Anyway I sent the rifle back the next day. According to FEDEX P.A has received the gun but I havn"t heard from them yet confirming receipt. Bought a new gun at Wal Mart, less worry.
      Things I would have changed:Make sure that it can hit a target when you mount a scope on it.
      What others should know:I would have given this rifle 5 stars if it would have just worked the way it should have right out of the box, Also my stock had a couple of dings in it.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Steven from USA on 2012-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice solid stock, appears to be well built. Good sights, very easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:I picked up the .22 version for a nice discount price, but sent it back. It had two problems. 1. The sight was maxed for elevation and was still shooting low at 15 feet, cannot imagine what it would have been like at 45 feet. 2. The detent ball was not very strong and I was not confident in it's ability to keep the breech block in closed position, and that is a big problem. Pyramyd Air has the best customer service, in my experience.
      What others should know:If you get a good one, it is probably a superior rifle for the money, but that was not my experience.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2012-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything.
      Things I would have changed:at the price this gun sells for there isn't anything you could change plain and simple.
      What others should know:Purchased my 89 contender from pyramyd air in 22 cal, unfortunately it is no longer available in 22 cal. and if I would have known what a fantastic rifle it was gonna be I would have purchased two of them the same day. went back to get another one and they were gone. but let me tell you what a sweet bargain they were. this gun is awesome, it's extremely powerful and tack driving accurate. small game doesn't stand a chance against this weapon. please Pyramyd air get them back I want another one in 22 cal
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By steven from USA on 2012-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:extremely powerfull, finish on wood stock, sights, butt pad, over all quality
      Things I would have changed:cheek pad for lefty's. spring twang.
      What others should know:this gun has alot of power, the spring makes alot of noise. and vibration. its your typical springer. good for shooting out on the river or anywhere away from neighbors. nice weight. with a little practice ou could be hitting small animals such as rabbits, squirrels, if your new to high powered springers this one is cost effective. great gun to learn to shoot with. close range this gun is devestating to cans and spinners. you can have alot of fun with this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Vincent from USA on 2012-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This has turned into a nice purchase. It is a really powerful spring rifle but the cocking is tricky. It seems as though when you think its at its peak lock in position it doesn't lock in fully. You've got to be careful to fully cock it before releasing the barrel. It shoots very well with open sights. Close range seem to be right on with minimal adjustments. There was a little rust on the barrel when I received the rifle, but it cleaned up nicely.
      Things I would have changed:I think it should come with a scope of some sort even if its not the higher grade. It is the only way to get good grouping at 40 yards or more.
      What others should know:When purchasing a magnum spring rifle, in order to realize the true potential it needs to be scoped. It is very difficult to hit targets with good accuracy out 40 yards or more without a scope. Plan on scoping the rifle to get the most out of it. Make sure to remove the cap screws and tighten the screws. They will work loose and come out. It has happed to me. Locktite them back and periodially check them to maintain accuracy as well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By michael from USA on 2011-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Every thing! Beautiful stock,bluing,accuracy is dead on and the trigger is very smooth on mine. Got mine in .22 cal. very strong. Surprised and happy to see my 89 came with a hooded front sight.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I wanted this gun for shooting open sights already have Trail NP AW scoped.The 89 is accurate from right in front of me out to 60 yards with open sights shooting asprin bottles. Some people have said the trigger needs smoothing out. Mine needed nothing it's nearly as smooth as my Trail NP with a GRT-lll. Pyramyd Air is the best to order from. FAST!! every time i order from them and i live in Georgia three day's order on Monday get it on Wednesday. Mine likes CPHP. Extra little bonus was the hooded front sight,never seen one any where or on you tube with one.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Ken from USA on 2011-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.79999995231628425 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not much I sent it back because of the cocking force 42 lbs, at the time I ordered it the specs said 28lbs.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By pear from USA on 2011-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Stock, ease of cocking, power. It also breaks in very easily. And once broken in, it is pretty quiet. Great price!
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight is useless, it is not lined up with barrel line. Instructions are lacking proper maintenence information.
      What others should know:This gun is very powerful. It can be extremely accurate, but you have to smooth out the sears on the trigger with a fine stone, and reduce the trigger pull weight. This is not easy, and is more complex than just adjusting a tiny screw -- as the advertised 'adjustable trigger' implies. Once the trigger is set up right, this gun is just as good as a $400 GUN.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By pear from USA on 2011-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy, solid, sturdy stock. Not much recoil. Very powerfull. Quiet for its' power. Breaks in nicely. Front sight is perfect. Well balanced.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is not smooth and consistant, and it's heavy out of the box. The Rear sight is horrible. I don't know why the rear sight is even there, it is not even close to centerline of barrel.
      What others should know:In order to have a good, consistant trigger, you must disassemble the trigger and smooth out the contact points on all sears. In order to have a lighter and consistant trigger, remove the outter trigger tension spring. The rear stock screw is too long. In order to get it tight you must remove it and file it down a little bit..As always, tighten the stock screws - mine were loose out of the box.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DOUG from USA on 2011-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:NICE STOCK AND BUILD QUALITY...A REAL SWEET GUN FOR THE PRICE....
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING PERFECT TO ME.....
      What others should know:ONCE YOU GET YOUR HOLD DOWN THIS GUN IS A REAL TAC DRIVER
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adrian from USA on 2011-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power is very good on this gun.I have the .22 and it drops squirrels at 30 yards with no problem.The trigger is good and seems to be getting better the more i shot the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Its not a kids gun it is harder to brake than my other springers,but its more powerful also.I have found that mine loves polymags,and rws superdomes
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randel from USA on 2010-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The stock is very nice for and inexpensive gun. I've taken all sorts of game with mine, raccoons, possums, prairie dogs, rabbits,and squirrels. It hits very hard and is deadly accurate. At 20 yards I can put every pellet in the same hole.
      Things I would have changed:A better scope stop. These things are harsh at first until they get worn in.
      What others should know:This is an exceptional rifle for hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2010-10-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The power is great and consistent; overall quality and finish are excellent; like the TF scope 3x12x44 IR. stock is of great quality as is the checkering and fit to metal. Cocking is easy, considering the power, and is comparable to my Beeman RS3, both are .22 cal.
      Things I would have changed:Needs scope rail instead of grooves; the scope stop is useless as is, had to replace the threaded parts with a straight through bolt/nut to keep it from falling off; scope stop also uses up too much space that could be used for scope adjustment for eye relief; a simple threaded hole with the scope stop attached would be sufficient, or, have a scope rail.
      What others should know:Good value for the money! I am getting 1/2 inch groups at 60 yards using Gamo Hunter pellets, 15.43 grain. Rifle hits with authority, easily penetrating 1/2 inch plywood at above range; very consistent accuracy and power. TF is a good brand when you get to the upper level rifles, can compete with other brands easily...buy it, you won't be disappointed; no spring twang, buzz or excessive recoil.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randel from USA on 2010-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It hits very hard! I've taken all sorts of game with it out to over 30 yards. It is one of the best values in magnum air rifles.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the scope stop to one like the TF 99 series. These guns have a tendency to allow scopes to "slide" off the rear rail.
      What others should know:A professional tune is a good idea to "smooth" this gun out. However, despite the initial roughness, the guns smooth out over time. Out of the box though, it was VERY accurate! It has nice open sights to use until the rifle has a chance to settle down
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top