Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Thompson Military Metal M1A1 AEG Kit reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (6 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (6 votes)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2012-03-12 12:13:44

    Things I liked:Nice looking, good weight to the gun itself. Drum mag has metal casing, and full of .20 or above bbs it adds quite a bit of additional weight. Wood grain effect plastic is actually very good - looks very much like real wood and doesn't feel excessively cheap. 2000mah battery for plenty of run-time. AMAZINGLY accurate for an SMG softair, with a good amount of punch to each shot (goes straight through both sides of an empty soda can easily with the supplied .20g bbs) from about 15'). Licensed markings nice to see. Easy access for battery (nowhere near as fiddly as some others).
    Things I would have changed:Not a whole lot to be honest. A sling included would be nice but certainly not a deal-breaker.
    What others should know:If you are new to softair then I would highly recommend getting a smart charger (I bought a TSD universal smart charger along with this kit for $25). Will help save destroying your battery (over-charging AEG batteries will ruin them, and the ones that pack with the guns typically do not cut off when a full charge is reached). Search for them here on the PA website to help protect your investment! They will also cut your charge time down from around 6.5 hours for this gun to about 1.5 to 2 hours. The gun itself ships with the 60 round stick mag and the 450 drum mag. The drum mag has a metal casing, but the stick mag is plastic. Not necessarily a bad thing, but for $20 you can buy a metal stick mag which holds 380 rounds. Personally I like the plastic mag though in as much as it will fire the full 60 rounds without any winding and does not rattle like the high-capacity mags, but I did order the $20 metal stick mag as well. All in all a nice solid, well-made gun. As this is a (good) copy of an older gun, just don't expect to be able to easily throw on accessories like laser sights, scopes, etc (no rails on the gun, that kind of thing). Ordered on a Tuesday, received on the Friday. Second time I have ordered from PA and have been very pleased with the customer service and delivery (well packaged).
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-01-10 10:25:17

    Things I liked:I love this gun! Always wanted a Thompson, but getting a real one, well you know. Even built a wood one when I was a kid. This is my first air-soft gun, so I had a couple issues/questions. More on that in a sec, this gun looks just like the real one, is realitically heavy. The simulated wood is the best I've seen on any weapon. It is extremly accurate. Not a cheap looking or feeling piece to this gun.
    Things I would have changed:The instructions are poor, but it's relatively simple so not a big deal. Offer a sling.
    What others should know:There was a youtube video of the guys getting this for Christmas and then doing a "review". That was helpful. Like I said, the instructions were woeful. They said something like"turn the wheel to adjust the hop up". I'm like what the heck is hop up. Contacted Pyramyd help. They sent me a link to another youtube video that explained everything. Thank you! This gun eats bbs so buy lots. Also bought the extra high capacity straight mag as was suggested by others. Took me a while to find the little door on top for loading (no instructions). The drum mag does have adequate instructions and looks cool and works great. There is a manual operation to both mags. You have to wind a wheel periodically to refeed the gun, but it's simple. Did I say buy lots of bbs? Also bought the smart charger, but have not used it yet and the extra battery.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this gun! Always wanted a Thompson, but getting a real one, well you know. Even built a wood one when I was a kid. This is my first air-soft gun, so I had a couple issues/questions. More on that in a sec, this gun looks just like the real one, is realitically heavy. The simulated wood is the best I've seen on any weapon. It is extremly accurate. Not a cheap looking or feeling piece to this gun.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions are poor, but it's relatively simple so not a big deal. Offer a sling.
      What others should know:There was a youtube video of the guys getting this for Christmas and then doing a "review". That was helpful. Like I said, the instructions were woeful. They said something like"turn the wheel to adjust the hop up". I'm like what the heck is hop up. Contacted Pyramyd help. They sent me a link to another youtube video that explained everything. Thank you! This gun eats bbs so buy lots. Also bought the extra high capacity straight mag as was suggested by others. Took me a while to find the little door on top for loading (no instructions). The drum mag does have adequate instructions and looks cool and works great. There is a manual operation to both mags. You have to wind a wheel periodically to refeed the gun, but it's simple. Did I say buy lots of bbs? Also bought the smart charger, but have not used it yet and the extra battery.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Warlord from USA on 2013-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very well made gun. A blast to shoot in full auto. The full metal parts make the gun feel more realistic.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Buy high volt battery and high capacity stick mag!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By peter from USA on 2012-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is probably going way over 400fps with 20g bbs. They crank out pretty fast. As soon as i opened the box and set it up the gears were sticking so i couldnt use the semiautamtic button.After 2 months th fully auto set up gear stoped working.
      Things I would have changed:Make it better i dont care if you raise the price i want my guns to last!
      What others should know:Read above^
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2012-03-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking, good weight to the gun itself. Drum mag has metal casing, and full of .20 or above bbs it adds quite a bit of additional weight. Wood grain effect plastic is actually very good - looks very much like real wood and doesn't feel excessively cheap. 2000mah battery for plenty of run-time. AMAZINGLY accurate for an SMG softair, with a good amount of punch to each shot (goes straight through both sides of an empty soda can easily with the supplied .20g bbs) from about 15'). Licensed markings nice to see. Easy access for battery (nowhere near as fiddly as some others).
      Things I would have changed:Not a whole lot to be honest. A sling included would be nice but certainly not a deal-breaker.
      What others should know:If you are new to softair then I would highly recommend getting a smart charger (I bought a TSD universal smart charger along with this kit for $25). Will help save destroying your battery (over-charging AEG batteries will ruin them, and the ones that pack with the guns typically do not cut off when a full charge is reached). Search for them here on the PA website to help protect your investment! They will also cut your charge time down from around 6.5 hours for this gun to about 1.5 to 2 hours. The gun itself ships with the 60 round stick mag and the 450 drum mag. The drum mag has a metal casing, but the stick mag is plastic. Not necessarily a bad thing, but for $20 you can buy a metal stick mag which holds 380 rounds. Personally I like the plastic mag though in as much as it will fire the full 60 rounds without any winding and does not rattle like the high-capacity mags, but I did order the $20 metal stick mag as well. All in all a nice solid, well-made gun. As this is a (good) copy of an older gun, just don't expect to be able to easily throw on accessories like laser sights, scopes, etc (no rails on the gun, that kind of thing). Ordered on a Tuesday, received on the Friday. Second time I have ordered from PA and have been very pleased with the customer service and delivery (well packaged).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sam from USA on 2012-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Really like the realistic feeling of this gun, it feels like your holding a a real gun. It's very accurate for being a short barreled gun , even on full auto it keeps a very tight pattern . The fps on this is great and the firing rate is outstanding !
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I can knock on it is the pistol grip plastic , it's a little loose feeling but not bad really.
      What others should know:You will want to have the drum magazine for this , the stick mag holds 60 rounds and just few short bursts and it's empty.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PETER from USA on 2012-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really enynjoyed the drum mag with 450 rds.
      Things I would have changed:The battery is very quick to lose its power but you could buy a larger battery but it wont fit.
      What others should know:FPS is only 480 with 20g but 518 with 12g.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top