Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    UTG Type 96 airsoft rifle Shadow OPS, Black reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Fox Racer30 from USA on 2008-10-14 02:52:15

    Things I liked:This is by far, the best sniper rifle i've owned. I bought it to replace my B A R 10, & have been 110% satisfied with it. the stock is plastic, but it's none of the cheap crossman plastic you see... it's a good quality material. It's a bit on the heavy side (to run & gun with, that is), & the bipod wobbles a bit (not enough to affect accuracy though!!) the bolt is smooth, some poeple complain of it being tough to pull, well i'm quite satisfied with it!
    Things I would have changed:The bipod wobble. a simple upgrade form stock will change that. Hop-Up placement, it needs pre adjustment, as it's a hassle to access while playing -I bought a package deal, with a 4x40 scope- The scope took me a good hour & a half to zero (that's why accuracy got a 4/5)
    What others should know:This is one of the best -if not the #1- Sniper rifle's out there, for it's price!!
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Jim from USA on 2012-08-10 13:14:07

    Things I liked:Size & feel.
    Things I would have changed:Bought a refirb unit from Pyramyd. The thing spread a pattern of about 14" at 30 feet! Totally innaccurate. Not repeatable. Used $200 optical zoom scope and could not dial into get anything on target. Laser bore scope indicated something seriously wrong with this barrel. Sighting was off by 12" at 30 ft. This was a big mistake to buy refirb. I don't think anybody checked this one out B4 reselling it. Bipod mounting block is loose and flimsly. No good for laser mounting at all.
    What others should know:Pyramyd quickly and politely refunded my purchase price & shipping. All reviews bragged about accuracy. I hope a NEW one works better! Appears to be a good gun.......if bought NEW.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Jim from USA on 2012-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Size & feel.
      Things I would have changed:Bought a refirb unit from Pyramyd. The thing spread a pattern of about 14" at 30 feet! Totally innaccurate. Not repeatable. Used $200 optical zoom scope and could not dial into get anything on target. Laser bore scope indicated something seriously wrong with this barrel. Sighting was off by 12" at 30 ft. This was a big mistake to buy refirb. I don't think anybody checked this one out B4 reselling it. Bipod mounting block is loose and flimsly. No good for laser mounting at all.
      What others should know:Pyramyd quickly and politely refunded my purchase price & shipping. All reviews bragged about accuracy. I hope a NEW one works better! Appears to be a good gun.......if bought NEW.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2012-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This airsoft rifle is the best! It has a very nice bolt cycle, the stock is extremely comfortable, it's very powerful and accurate. Great gun for the price! I ordered mine without the scope, so I ordered a NC Star 3-9X40 scope, with the p4 reticle, and on this gun it works perfectly. Also when I ordered my gun I received a 1000 free TSD .28 gram bbs and they work great. But I would recommend .30 gram bbs for this gun for the best accuracy, but I also have purchased .40 gram from pyramydair to try.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe have a solid synthetic stock instead of the abs for durability, and UTG lay off the grease.
      What others should know:My brother and I purchased a gun for each of us, both perform great. Mine shoots .20 grams at an average of 487fps, .25 grams at an average of 458fps, .28 gram air Venturi average of 425fps, TSD .28 grams at 432fps, and .30 air Venturi at an average of 426fps, and this is the stock spring guide, stock spring and stock piston, can't wait to see it with the upgraded spring and piston. Oh and I have 4 "confirmed kills" at 276 feet (92 yards) with the .28 gram TSD they left big red welts. I believe this is good considering the range on the site claims a maximum of 200-220 feet.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2012-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything......I am very pleased with the metal upper reciever. Mine right out of the box was shooting an average of 425fps with .30 gram air venturi bbs, with a standard deviation of only 6fps, and was shooting an average of 505 with .20 gram tsd bbs.....I was able to hit my brother with this at 90 yards with the .30 gram bbs he was shooting at me too with another UTG l96 i was hit too, hurts soo bad even at that distance
      Things I would have changed:I would have made the stock more sturdy, and put a better trigger in it along with a metal trigger box.
      What others should know:If ur into sniping and are one a budget get this gun it is amazing, and u really can reach out and touch some one with it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By cedric from USA on 2011-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Rifle of good quality, use 28 gr BBS for good accuracy, take a glass 9x40 not included because Delivery for Switzerland in three days, perfect
      Things I would have changed:Rifle of good quality, use 28 gr BBS for good accuracy, take a glass 9x40 not included because Delivery for Switzerland in three days, perfect
      What others should know:Rifle of good quality, use 28 gr BBS for good accuracy, take a glass 9x40 not included because Delivery for Switzerland in three days, perfect
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sidney from USA on 2011-06-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like this gun cause of the feel of it and the Accuracy. of the gun now I want the master sniper rifle and I will get it on my next order . if the master rifle is anything like the Shadow its going to be a great gun
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:if you want to blast a pop can or anything else use .25 air soft bbs and you should hit any and everything you aim at its a great gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chuma from USA on 2010-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid build. High quality ABS and metal. Easily upgraded for intermediate and hard core airsofters. Precision accuracy. Durability. Have used this now for about 5 years and it shoots as well today as it did when I got it, even after being dropped in several major airsoft ops. I got the package with included scope and bipod, so that was a big plus, and they work very well.
      Things I would have changed:An adjustable comb maybe. Rear sniper monopod to level up the butt stock. But that is wishful thinking for the price it is offered at.
      What others should know:The detachable mount for the bipod is a little wobbly, and that is not good for a sniper rifle. I have not figured out how to get it to snap in more snugly and I know others that have the same issue. Any suggestions would be appreciated. The box mag snaps in flush with the stock, feeds very very well and the hop up tunes nicely. Use heavy bb's (.25 and above) for the best results. The .20's will curve up and away from zero. I once put a couple of .36 aluminum bb's through light plywood, it is that powerful. When buying a case for this gun, get the extra long case (about 52") because the gun is quite long. An extra mag wouldn't be a bad idea, becaue you can have .25s in one and .30's in another. If you are upgrading this weapon, avoid headaches and please use an experienced airsoft technician. This is a great platform for any level airsoft player that wants to embrace the sniper/DM role - or as a trainer weapon for LE applications. Get this!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Hazel from USA on 2010-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It looks intimidating, many ways to adjust it, free bipod, just looks wicked.
      Things I would have changed:THE BOLT, it's the main and only flaw in my eyes, there's a pin in the bolt and it comes out easy, also it's easy to jam so you can't fire fast if you're skilled with a bolt action because if you pull the bolt down even a few inches while pulled back or if it falls or slips out of your hand it will dislodge the pin and prevent you from cambering a round when your push the bolt back in the firing position
      What others should know:I can see this being a really cool and powerful DSR, but the bolt is a huge hassle. I got mine used so it may be an isolated incident, but if the pin ever comes loose there is no end to problems with the gun, I would go for something else personally.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By samuel from USA on 2010-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is powerful and accurate. i have had mine for over a year and i thing the fps has dropped maybe 20 fps but still is powerful enough to go up to and over 200 ft. PS: if you want to make the gun look even cooler just go to any hunting store and buy a roll of camo tape and wrap it carefully avoiding the bolt, then get ready to never be seen again
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:You might want to look in to a scope or some kind of sight but other than that just look down the barrel and shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By scooter from USA on 2009-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The scope is amazing. bipod is a bit wobbely but doesnt affect much. it a little heavy but your not going to run around with this thing no scoping. i like the bolt action. not very hard to cock back. sling works and mine hasnt broke yet.
      Things I would have changed:the weight, it is pretty heavy feels like a real sniper. besides that the bipod is wobbely. and i had trouble puuting it togeather.
      What others should know:i brought this gun outfor a airsoft war with some of my friends with the scope and bipod and didnt tell any of my friends i had it. walked out with this sniper and they all quit. that should explain this gun. AMAZING
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sherryschoendorf from USA on 2009-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything accurate long range bipod thumb hole
      Things I would have changed:bipod could be lighter than 1 lb
      What others should know:put a scope on it and get a ghille suit...seriously
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By nicklud from USA on 2009-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I really like the gun,weight, and deffiantly the thumb hole but im not sure if i should get a different scope
      Things I would have changed:only thing i could think of is the bipod is a bit wobbly but doesnt really affect your shot
      What others should know:GREAT GUN
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Beau from USA on 2008-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Nothing wrong with this gun at all. I first got this out of the box and loaded some Crosman .25 gram bbs. Near perfect shots at 25 yards. I went and upgraded to some heavier bbs. I got the Venturi .30 grams from here and loaded em up. (Notice: i haven't screwed with the hop up yet.) I got a 3-9x50 scope from Dicks Sporting Goods and went 9x50 and zeroed in at 100 yards easily with .30 grams. Only had to mess with the hop up a little bit. Bipod is perfect, body is durable, pre lubed, clean once a month, love the thumb hole, cheeck pad, the mgizines are awesome. This gun IS the .50 cal of airsoft. Buy it. Own the field.
      Things I would have changed:The bi-pod stand is a BIT wobbly and will turn once and a while, but it hasnt affected any of my shots. Other than that, nothing.
      What others should know:It may take a while to load without a speed loader....Don't loose that. WARNING: Shooting this airsoft gun at wimpy airsoft player running and screaming for thier lives can be dangerous. This gun will cause much fear into these wimps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Fox Racer30 from USA on 2008-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is by far, the best sniper rifle i've owned. I bought it to replace my B A R 10, & have been 110% satisfied with it. the stock is plastic, but it's none of the cheap crossman plastic you see... it's a good quality material. It's a bit on the heavy side (to run & gun with, that is), & the bipod wobbles a bit (not enough to affect accuracy though!!) the bolt is smooth, some poeple complain of it being tough to pull, well i'm quite satisfied with it!
      Things I would have changed:The bipod wobble. a simple upgrade form stock will change that. Hop-Up placement, it needs pre adjustment, as it's a hassle to access while playing -I bought a package deal, with a 4x40 scope- The scope took me a good hour & a half to zero (that's why accuracy got a 4/5)
      What others should know:This is one of the best -if not the #1- Sniper rifle's out there, for it's price!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jc from USA on 2008-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything about this gun is awesome. the bolt is smooth, it is extremely accurate with .28's i love this gun
      Things I would have changed:the bi pod is a little bit wobbly but everything else is perfect
      What others should know:can puncture the bottom of a coke can(thats alotta power) mags stick every now and again but overall 10/10 great gun VERY ACCURATE AND POWERFUL. i can hit a target at 150 feet easily
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joel from USA on 2008-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow... Great product! Really, REALLY powerful; get some heavy BB's, .25g works great, .28g even better. Cocking takes less effort than I thought, and is super smooth. Buttpad, spacers, and cheekpiece offer lots of customization for fit. Handgrip is ambi and very comfortable. 2 magazines! My package included bipod, adapter block (for bipod), and a nice scope (too weak for airguns, but perfect for airsoft).
      Things I would have changed:Hop-up adjustment not that intuitive; you kind of have to resort to a "well, maybe this will work..." mentality. Once you get it dialled in, though, this thing is a tack-driver. Barrel free-floats ( = good ) but then the crown is held by the screw-on orange tip. I get the best accuracy without the tip...but you NEED to have the tip orange.
      What others should know:Great sniper platform for airsoft. Accurate, powerful, QUIET! Use quality, heavy BBs ( .25g-.28g, maybe higher)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mtm05495 from USA on 2008-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy: Is awesome Scope: Good quality Bolt: The big bolt handle is good if you are wearing gloves FPS: This rifle clocked in at around 500 FPS with excellent groupings
      Things I would have changed:The bi-pod moves left and right when in is attached to the rifle The FPS worries some people that might have a problem with getting shot a fast speeds.
      What others should know:This is a good gun choice of a novice or pro user. A good tip if some one is running at you and you don't have time to look in the scope; Remember that this is not call of duty and if you point your rifle at them and shoot your probably going to hit them. A useful trick if a person or target is close but you have what seems like all the time in the world; Simply direct you aiming eye below the scope to where you can see inbetween the scope and barrel (It's an easy aiming tool for close range shooting). I hope this helped anyone interested in this great gun. My on and only airsoft team: REBELLION, "THE CHOSEN ONES"
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By codysupermanclark from USA on 2008-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got this gun for christmas and was having a little fun at dark with a paper plate and was nailing one after another and now i just ordered a Echo1 m4 so i might us this gun only when it is needed, but thats beside the point gun is good especially if you want 2 be a sniper during a game.
      Things I would have changed:sling is weak broke on me the 3rd day bipod moves left and right but easy to take off more magazine capacity 46 bbs in a scrimage with automatics dont go well
      What others should know:except for the bads this gun is extremely well built bought another scope besides the one that came with it accuracy is better than what i thought but better make shots count
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dj from USA on 2008-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After a half an hour of zeroing out the scope and hop up you can get a great shot. This gun is INCREDIBLY accurate compared to all the other airsoft guns I have owned/ tried. What is also nice, is most of the moving parts are metal, making the gun really heavy and realistic feeling.
      Things I would have changed:To adjust the hop up you need to insert a (provided) allen wrench near the clip. So you really cannot adjust it out in the field (its possible but not plausible).
      What others should know:This gun is extremely barrel end heavy I HIGHLY SUGGEST purchasing a bipod. This gun has no built in sights so a scope is nessicary
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2008-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the BEST!!! it is: lethal accurate It can shoot with deathly silence. when fired it only produces a soft "thump" as the BB goes flying at approx. 500fps toward the target. It came with a bipod (very handy!) It came with 2 good sized clips and a speed loader ( I don't have to reload as often.) STORY TIME!!! I got this gun for my B'day a week and a half ago and my friends and I decided to have a 2-on 2 fight. I had this and an airsoft shotgun as a sidearm LOL, anyway... My team mate double crossed me and I got a clip unloaded into my back. I ran as fast as I could out of sight and jumped into a snow pile where I waited silently for revenge. To cut a long story short they began to search for me, and I began to pepper them with shots easily from at least 200 feet in the dark.(As I said accurate ) now my friends fear me and always try to either be on my team or stay out of where I can see them.
      Things I would have changed:Bipod was VERY hard to pivod at first and shakes from left to right while attached. Strap was rather weak I reccomend getting a new one
      What others should know:BUY THIS GUN YOU WON"T REGRET IT!!! and if you don't want to have to use X-tra money on a new scope just get the rifle that comes with one :)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bronson_10_chef from USA on 2007-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the good accuracy
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:buy this gun
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top