Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

    Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
    Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
    What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By jon from USA on 2014-02-03 20:00:27

    Things I liked:this gun was very accurate and had a lot of power and pryamids return policy and super friendly customer service. with that being said...
    Things I would have changed:SAFTEY TRIGGER
    What others should know:the first one of these lasted about 750 sots or so then the trigger would not engage. after a few re-cocks trying to get it to engage it went off all on its own and shot through my garage ceiling thankfully I have 2 layers of shingles. a return and the same gun gave me the same probs this time in about 250 shots. I have 3 small kids under 10 that all enjoy shooting this non acceptable and very dangerous. I have returned that one also , going to get a hatsan 125 sniper this time around....BUYER BEWARE!!!!
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By gary from USA on 2014-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good looking,solid feel, scope is usable. Trigger seems crisp but heavier than I expected. Have'nt put a lot of rounds through it yet, still learning how to shoot a gun like this.
      Things I would have changed:Since I purchased this for hunting small game such as squirrels and these guns are heavy, attachments for a sling would have been nice to have.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By carlos from USA on 2014-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifleis a beast plenty of power for dispatch any rodents plusI f you do your part you will fall in love with this beast
      Things I would have changed:The scope is not to good but issomething you can replace with another
      What others should know:Need a little practice to get the most of the rifle purchase one you won't regret plus piramidair all ways have an excellent customer service
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack from USA on 2014-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the .22 caliber rifle. This thing is a brute and is very accurate. Took several pellets to find the right ones but now it will eat the bulls eye out of a target with no problems.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rings are cheap but once I changed to quality rings it was sweet. Not much else to complain about on this baby.
      What others should know:if you want something that will shoot, shoot, and shoot some more...... look no further. My arm eventually gives out from cocking it but that is nothing to complain about. That just means I'm having the time of my life. It is a great little hunter too. Quick, clean kills. I can't say enough good about it. Go buy one for yourself.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carlton from USA on 2014-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything
      Things I would have changed:Require less cocking effort
      What others should know:This could likely be the best air rifle you will ever own in this price range. It is for me, out of several. Have in both .177 & .22. Both are etremely accurate and powerful. Worth giving a try to judge for youself. PA is second to none in purchase process, packaging and shipping. Very pleased with this and many purchases from Pyramyd Air.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Derrel from USA on 2014-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Umarex Octane .22 caliber is awesome... I traded up from an Octane .177 in order to hunt bigger varmints... But did not lose any power, accuracy or features. The sight was quick to adjust and sight in... I have shoot over 200 pellets now and tried several different pellet styles(pointed, hollow point and domed)and brands (H&N, RWS, JBS and Crosmman). I prefer the 14 grain pellets for targets but the larger grain are great for hunting... Other more experience hunters and shooters and used my gun and plan to buy this rifle.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By William A. from USA on 2014-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, this ain't an Air Arms. But, that said, the trigger is pretty good, it is possible to cock it, if you try hard and it shoots like a bandit. Very, very fast and really accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Stock is very minimal, even skinny and the sights can't last long as they are some kind of BB gun plastic.
      What others should know:Considerable recoil, like all the gas guns. I'd say it would kill an non air gun scope pretty quick. I took the scope off it to save for another purpose.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own both the .177 octane and the .22 octane. The .177 was fairly easy to sight in using sights. Within a few minutes of receiving the octane .177, I was able to sight in with about 10 shots. Will save the scope for later if I need it. I have tried lightweight pellets (crosman ssp 4 grain and daisy 7.2 grain) they both broke the sound barrier. The 4 grain was really loud and the 7.2 was just a little loud. I barely noticed the daisy pellet. The safety sits just in front of the trigger inside the trigger guard. Nice feature. One fluid motion backwards.
      Things I would have changed:The weight of the octane in either .177 or .22 are heavy. 9.5 pounds is quite much for an air rifle. The octane does seem to be a little long as well. The cocking of the octane in either .177 or .22 is quite much, although that tends to be the power that you are cocking.
      What others should know:If you have a hard time getting the .22 octane to hit paper, you might want to install the scope. Mine shot low with the sights. Then after the scope was on, I was able to dial it in better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything is great the scope, trigger , and the stock
      Things I would have changed:the choking effort
      What others should know:nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking gun. Like the molded stock.Have only shot it maybe 30 times but so far it is accurate. I didn't use the scope that came with it I used a different one
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Some cleaning tips
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2014-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid gun. Shoots dead on. I like the weight. Scope is nice option for included cost.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe include accessory rail on bottom
      What others should know:This gun is a good deal for the money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Old from USA on 2014-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet and powerful
      Things I would have changed:it's heavy!
      What others should know:Be careful where you point this thing!! Accurate? Heck yea it is. Mine is .22 cal it was dead on right out of the box with open sights. It has around 65-75 rounds now so I will mount the scope. It is getting quieter the more we shoot it. I think it is very quiet for such a big gun. Blew right through a squirrel at 25 yards, and at 40 yards it goes halfway through a 2x4. Left squirrel with a very surprised look on his face. I would recommend this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a very accurate out of the box rifle with a good trigger and even a good scope, something very rare on a 'rifle package'. I bought it in .22. It has good iron sights. It is also extremely quiet for a 1000fps + rifle and has good balance. Very good for squirrel hunting. As good as a .22LR with subsonics.
      Things I would have changed:Can't really thing of anything.
      What others should know:No. It is a fine rifle, if you don't mind synthetic stocks. I actually prefer them if I am going out to the woods for a couple of days. No swelling or dings and dents to worry about.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By barry from USA on 2014-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After about 500 pellets it is right on target about a dime in size groupings. It hits hard has alot of power to it, I shot into a phone book of which is 1,000 pages at close range it went right through it..
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is abit heavy..
      What others should know:I have had this pellet rifle for 3 weeks now, the other day I went to cock the rifle the screw behind the trigger guard dropped out and onto the floor and the rifle was coming out of the stock from where that screw was at. So I unscrewed the two screws at the front and lifted the stock off, the trigger mechanism was off to the side a few pins csme out of which there are 6, I put the pins in and noticed one pin I think it was to the right of the secondary sear would not come out it was bent, just wonder in time would that pin get more and more bent then the rifle will not operate, wonder if Umarex is aware of this.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By william from USA on 2014-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This octane rifle is not a toy and certainly not a joke .177 cal. is everything you want and then some. Its accurate to your own abilities, backyard friendly, but watch out for the other side of the fence because it’s going thru it at 100 yards. I recommend a good backstop and plenty of targets.
      Things I would have changed:Some kind of engineering design to ease the cocking without taking away from the power it delivers.
      What others should know:Make sure you are aware of what is behind your target before you pull the trigger.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:No complaints about the rifle. Shoots 3 shot groups the size of a dime at 35 yards. Like the stock, was skeptical at first. Has a lot of knock down power.Great for grey squirrels.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is a piece of junk! Don't waist your time with it. Even the salesman will tell you this.Trigger is a harder pull than I would like, but that's a personal preference thing.
      What others should know:For the price, I think it is hard to beat. Enjoy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jake from USA on 2014-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gas piston rifles are fun to shoot and this one in particular has a lot going for it. I bought the octane in .22 caliber. The break action is smooth but does require some strength. Then again you are sending lead pellets down range at 920fps. The trigger action is crisp, the safety does its job, the scope is adequate (but does seem to drift to the left a little) and has clear glass with no noticeable blurriness, and the rifle is accurate. After sighting in the scope the second time today I put 11 consecutive bulls eyes at 25 yards (2" bulls eye). It is a large rifle but with my frame (over 6') I found the stock to be a good fit. The price point is excellent as well. Your mileage may vary but I'd certainly buy another.
      Things I would have changed:It does not come with a sling which a rifle this heavy should have nor does it have sling swivels. I bought a sling that slips over the stock and barrel at extra cost and it seems up to the task. As others have mentioned the rifle should have a hood for the front sight to protect from damage when traversing woodlands. I've seen clamp on units for other rifles and will look for something similar for this rifle.
      What others should know:I fired H&N Baracuda match @21.14 grains and Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum @14.3 grains. The Crosman shot a group as tight as the H&N which says the limfac is the shooter, not the pellet (no surprises there for me!). Unless you're a really good shot you probably won't see enough of a difference to justify the higher priced pellets. One of the scope mount bolts that attach the scope to the rail galled when tightened. I was able to secure it with Loctite blue and it has held so far. I check it periodically when firing just to make sure it is snug. I recommend the 10 shot test by Pyramid - that way you know you don't have a doa and PA provided the chrony results. From others I hear that if you need to replace the breach seal try your fav hardware store for Danco o-rings (#83). I've bought them but haven't swapped it out yet.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2014-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate
      Things I would have changed:Better quality
      What others should know:I bought this for my son as a Christmas present and within a few months it broke. Of course it cost me to send it back and they required the receipt which Pyramyd was kind enough to provide a copy since I couldn't find the original. The repair receipt said the trigger broke. Not real pleased with the several Umarex air guns I have had.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By barry from USA on 2014-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight of which it is heavy, the quietness of it,the accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:You have to clean the bore first real good, the first shot the gun made a noise like a 22L, it sounded like a real gun going off, so be prepared for that sound,after a shot or two it will be very quiet. I tried different pellets of which a few fell out as I was locking the barrel after cocking it, I use RWS pellets which have a wide skirt as to not fall out of the breech.The scope I don't care for I replaced it. It is very accurate makes nice round holes in paper targets with flat head pellets...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brent from USA on 2014-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and feel! Nitro piston, It's a powerhouse! Great shooter. Backyard friendly. Gets the job done. Outstanding value in a nitro piston magnum rifle! I done a lot of research and review reading before pulling the trigger..... The 3 year warranty was a major plus. Best bang for the buck!! Buy it!
      Things I would have changed:Front sight... The fiber optic is brittle and mine has already broke.... it needs a hood bad. -1 point. I put the scope on it so it really not a issue now. The scope is ok at best. That's something you'll want to upgrade as this rifle deserves a nicer optic. Add something to put a sling on it.
      What others should know:This is not a kid's gun! This gun does produce some recoil... Not bad though. Takes some effort to cock it, so make sure you don't let it get away from you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bird from USA on 2014-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power for hunting small game, I like the heftiness of this rifle. The weight seems to absorb any kick this rifle has.
      Things I would have changed:Away with the scope and add a good cleaning kit.
      What others should know:Do not fret over the weight of this rifle, you will get used to it.. The accuracy, power and reasonable cost make it a 5 star rifle for me.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top