Date: 26/6/2016 22:44
0

Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

Things I liked: There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!

Things I would have changed: At that price? Nothing.

What others should know: Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By JimPysht from USA on 2015-09-25 14:53:48

Things I liked: Looks, feel, sound - and the Picatinny base. Trigger is pretty good.

Things I would have changed: Engineer it for such high shock (as much as possible for a break-barrel).

What others should know: Fought this beast for a year now. Multiple scopes, mounts, pellets, hold-try's. Now discovered that the thing is held together by Blue Loctite (that didn't hold). Critical problem is the bolt/screw at the break-barrel swivel point allows lateral (and vertical?) movement, even when cocked. And to tighten it, the action must be removed from the stock. And if attempted, be careful that the various slip-fit pins don't fall out of the trigger/safety group. Am now in process of last hope: disassembled and RED Loctite on those 3 attach/swivel points. Will gladly "eat crow" if this works. Ironically, my standard for comparison is my UmaRex "Fuel" .17. Really like this one.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barbara from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the substantial weight it has.

    Things I would have changed: I don't think I would change anything!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Philip from USA on 2016-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first air rifle. Very powerful. I have been practicing at 45-65 yards and did well with the fiber optic sights. Put the scope on and it did not take much to zero it in. Different pellets weights and designs shoot differently- so try different types until you find one you like. Very quiet gun. I was hoping for the supersonic "crack", but yet to get one. However, it is nice to not have to wear ear protection all the time.

    Things I would have changed: Fiber optic sight at end of gun is prone to fall out and break. Mine did so after 15 shots. Umarex sent me a new one with instructions on how to melt each end [mushroom them] so it would not fall out. This gun has a decent recoil, and after 200 shots the fiber optic on front sight came loose again. I am going to try a dot of super glue to keep it in place.

    What others should know: Be prepared to fight with the front sight. It will come loose and fall out with regular use. Try super glue to keep in place [not on the ends, will block the light- in the middle]. This is a design issue Umarex should address.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2016-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is pretty solid, has a nice weight to it. Once the scope is dialed in the gun is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The safety resets after every shot, it takes some time to get used to.

    What others should know: Great gun for the money. I did a lot of research on pellet rifles within this price range, I am very happy with this rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By BackinService from USA on 2016-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Finish is good for outdoors where it doesn't scratch like a wood stock does. Nice impact when hitting target, is punching holes through the air rifle bullet trap (probably made for .177 air rifles) No problems with the trigger. I'm not an expert in triggers, but is similar to my AR feel. After the initial burning off of excess lube in the barrel, it shoots as quietly as my Gamo 440 .177, except the impact is much louder due to its power!

    Things I would have changed: Why not put a decent scope, even low cost, with high ratings, which are low cost (35-50), but has mil-dots to accommodate the pellet drop associated with air rifles and would assist novice users...I would pay 10-20 more and not have to waste my time waiting, shipping, transportation, overproduction, waste of space to store the stock scope (ie, 8 types of waste) to put on this fine rifle. Part of the lower accuracy rating is that I can pick up the rifle each day and have to adjust each time before shooting, which is not always humane with pest control where you don't have time to re-zero or you will scare the pest away. I would try to lighten the fore-end as even me being a big and tall person, the heavy weight of the fore-end (probably the gas piston, etc), I have to rest on something or I'm wobbling all over the place, decreasing accuracy. I've been using the AR platform for 17 years, and the key here as well as other rifles, is a nice center of gravity.

    What others should know: If you are shooting in the field, I would look for a rifle that has a better center of gravity, which is hard to check out when buying online. Its not just a matter of weight, but how it balances. The stock is somewhat skeletonized, so it is not balancing the front end. So not good for the field for shooting freehand but better where you have a solid rest The break to cock it is stiff, but that isn't a deterrent for me, but my preteen son can't cock it, and he's pretty tall for his age. The O-ring did go flat within a month of purchase and only about 50 rounds. This apparently has been a continuing issue for the Octane, & hopefully Umarex will invest in a quality o-ring or add a few extra to avoid wasting their customer support resources and time just to warranty a part costing a few cents. Clean out the barrel carefully and put in a dry-lube as due to the power of this rifle, any excess lube will burn off and smoke. In the beginning, tighten your scope screws after every session.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good, shoots straight, has good power

    Things I would have changed: The fiber optic front sites are open & exposed and are easily broken but not replaceable. It takes a good amount of effort to cock it, it's not for 'smaller' shooters. It's a little heavier than most other comparable brake barrel gas piston rifles, lighten it up.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TERRY from USA on 2016-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the gun. Looks great, Took it out of the box, cleaned the barrel and loaded my first pellet and shot and it shot straight and true with sights. Took a shot at an old metal barrel about 100' away then loaded the second pellet another perfect shot, checked the barrel and sure enough 2 holes in it right where I aimed. It's heavy but shoot great. Need to find the heavest pellet I can hoping to cut down on breaking the sound barrier. The gun was very quite except for the sound of the pellet breaking the SB. Love the gun.

    Things I would have changed: It's a heavy gun and needs to come with a bipod, and a sling. It needs to come with screw holes to mount a sling so you won't have to make something yourself.

    What others should know: Be sure to have plenty of pellets because you'll have so much fun with the gun you'll want to shoot all day. This gun handled like a dream right from the box and be sure to clean the barrel before you shoot it for the first time. It's not that dirty but you don't want any scratches in it to slow your pellets down. Be ready to have fun but remember, it's a heavy gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks sharp, has good power, not too loud

    Things I would have changed: Front fiber optics are 'exposed' and very fragile, mine partially broke while in a hard shell case. Change the front sight design.

    What others should know: It's a little heavier than some other similar guns and it takes a bit more effort to cock than other break barrels I've tried.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Octane .22 Cal in my opinion is a Cadillac of break barrel rifles. It hits hard and shoots very accurately once you understand how to hold it. I can take shots out over 100 yards with ease. This is a heavy rifle which shows me just how well built it is. Every time I get it out my friends want to try it out. Anew some want to steal it away from me. THIS UMAREX OCTANE COMES WITH A 3 YEAR WARRANTY !! This shows the guns Quality.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a big fan of the design (too narrow) of the rear stock design. But putting a neoprene slip on cover like the ones that hold pellets works for me. The other thing I am not a fan of is the front sights neon stip is sitting out in the open and tends to break off easily.

    What others should know: This is not a air rifle for the younger or smaller sized shooter. It is very heavy and best used from a bench. It will wear you out if you go walking around your hunting area with in tow. This rifle also has a good recoil kick to it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate, but requires a break in. Don't look for groups until you have at least 200-300 rounds through the gun. Amazing power. Unbelievably quiet. Will need to try various pellets to see what the gun likes. This gun will shoot. Follow thru as well as artillery hold is a must. Very smooth shooter compared to springers. Reduced recoil. Beeman 18.3 g crow magnums 1/2 Inch group @ 20 yards-shoot the best. 21 grain kodiaks also shot very well.

    Things I would have changed: Hood over fiber optic sight.

    What others should know: For the price, this is a must. Back yard shooters, this will not disturb your close neighbors if you are shooting paper targets. If you are shooting metal targets it makes a hell of a wallop. Love this gun. Make sure you blue locktite the 4 screws on the scope base as well as the ring screws.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Larry from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very strong rifle. Scope very easy to sight. High value for the cost. Love it!

    Things I would have changed: The .177 cal is too loud! Neighbors thought I was shooting a firearm while I was sighting in the scope. The .22 cal is much quiter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2016-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Build quality. It really is a well build gun. My first octane had a bad piston seal but PA was quick to make things right they really are a wonderful company and they treat their customers really good PA will always be my go to store for all my airgun needs:)

    Things I would have changed: The gun could use some sling mounts it's a little heavy. Trigger is a little stiff but not a deal breaker.

    What others should know: If you buy one your scope may take quite a few shots to settle down and hold zero.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Quintin from USA on 2016-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: its a great gun i didnt expect it to have that much power it is accurate & beautifully crafted , its in no way a toy or even for an amature..

    Things I would have changed: this gun needs a sling

    What others should know: i fell while hunting & broke the suppressor & it cant be repaired nor can i find a replacement but it didnt affect the firing of the gun but it is loud..

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By trapper from USA on 2016-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing Much Very sad i love the looks of the Octane

    Things I would have changed: I got my first Octane & it shot great but the safety broke & made it too dangerous so i returned it for me another new one & this one just wouldn't shoot with no accuracy naturally i thought it may be the scope so i put the one off of my wife's Umarex Surge & it shot a little better but it still wouldn't shoot a tight group at all & i put the 3x9x40mm on the Surge & it was a tack driver & when we got done i put the scope that belonged on Mary'd Surge & had it touching holes just under 12 shots & the Octane slung pellets everywhere but the bullseye .I tried 5 different pellets types & various weights & still no grouping .

    What others should know: I have done everything in my power to get it to shoot strait & i know that many have had nothing but praise About the Umarex Octane I felt the same way until i got it & this deflated very quickly Now any of you folks may buy one & never have not one problem but it didn't go that way for me .So Pyramid Air suggested i choose a different brand totally & i have chose the Benjamin Trail NP2 with the CP 3x9x40AO & a matching sling & if any of you folks buy the Octane i really hope that you will not ever have any trouble out of mine as i did Very dissapointed with Umarex & i sent a message to Umarex & no responce as of yet

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2016-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It really is quality, well made and has some knock down power, it made it through two 1" phone books which were stacked up with an inch of space between and it made it 3/4" the way through a 2" phone book with dome shaped pellets, The accuracy is also great. it was able to get dead on shot groups at 75' with the regular sights and the scope is even more impressive

    Things I would have changed: Nothing to change, It is a little loud for the first 50 rounds but it seems to quiet down and the cocking takes a bit of strength, an easy way is to put the stock on your foot and use your knee to open the barrel and push down on the middle of the barrel, it says not to use push down using using the silencer.

    What others should know: It is great for target and varmint shooting and a great value and price for a quality air rifle , I highly recommend it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Louie from USA on 2016-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I think this rifle is tops all others in quality, looks and good shooting! By being heavier is has less recoil. I love to shoot this thing, I like the power it has, the good construction, the gun is solid! careful out there! Louie Vazquez in San Antonio,TX

    Things I would have changed: For the money..? nothing!

    What others should know: Take some time to get to know this thing, and it will reward you. Umarex made some good improvements in this gun, is up to you to get the best of it! For instance, the trigger pull is smooth and easy. Louie Vazquez in San Antonio, TX

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love almost everything about this Umarex Octane .22 cal rifle. Definately built for power and accuracy. The weight is a bit heavy, but that makes this rifle what it is. A pure power house that will take down many varmints with a single shot. Coyote, fox, squirrels, the works. The break barrel is heavy to break for some smaller people and young kids. But this is not a gun for kids anyway. The scope is great for accuracy a long ways out. For over 100 yards I switch to a higher power scope just so my old eyes can see the target better. A lot of people talk about all the cleaning that has to be done when new as well as after each shooting session. I find that to not be true. As I have been told by a dealer, When you get it, all you have to do is shoot it and shoot it again and again. You get the idea... These need 1 to 2 drops of oil once every 2000 shots. That's it.

    Things I would have changed: The one thing that I would change is the fiber optic front sight. I know it is not needed with a scope. However that front sight is very vulnerable too breaking because there is no protection for it. If you tap it on a small branch it will break without a doubt. We bought 2 of these rifles at the same time and we have had one of them break already.

    What others should know: Do not buy these for your kids. If they are wanting a pellet rifle then get them one made for their skill set and age appropriate. I have seen several teens using rifles that are way too much for them to handle. Swinging them around like they are toys. Protect your family and others from immaturity. I can not stress this enough.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By trapper from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I may be new to the air rifle world but i do know a good shooting gun when i see it & my Octane is one of them accuracy is hole to hole after i got the scope zeroed next time i am gonna move it out to 25 yards & see if the accuracy is still there . I am using The GAMO MAGNUM .15.43 grns I will only be using the Poly Mags I ordered for Hunting & when i get ready to hunt.I will zero them in off i go .I have a range finder so i'll know that everything is being true . I LOVE My Umarex Octane 22 cal 100% happy & You will be also

    Things I would have changed: By no means this is a defect i would have put the trigger safety some where else but it is where it is I. You will grow on you it's already second nature for me

    What others should know: The Umarex Octane is a whopper of a gun & is very heavy & VERY hard to cock this is a hunting rifle . I guess you can plink with it buy you will tire quickly I am 285 lbs & it wears me down after a longer shooting lession But Tha'ts up to you. As far as recoil i haven't ever felt any recoil from my Octane as of yet it may later on but i really don't think so IMHO If you are looking for a good hunting 22 cal air rifle then look not further than > The Umarex Octane 22cal

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jeff from USA on 2016-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: NICE GUN. EXTREMELY ACCURATE, once you figure out how to hold it and find the pellet(s) it "likes".h&n barracuda match 4.52 and 4.51 .177 h&h hollow points , gamo ballistic also work well. At least with my gun. 1450 fps? ah nope. 800 average with 10.65 h&n domed(above) , 920 with the gamo. pellets now. a bit faster before 5000 pellets . yes 5000! at 42 yards , can cover groups with a nickle .bruiser to cock. stock scope is just for looks. put it on a daisy or crosman multi pump. this gun will eat it! ugt 6 to 24 56 mm scope has held up nicely and still zeroed , minor adjustment 1 to 3 clicks wind-age occasional.heavy!

    Things I would have changed: globe protection front site. ok trigger could use some improvement , maybe get the power with pellets that you can use a bit higher like 950 to 1000 fps.Longer barrel by about 3 or 4 inches might do it.

    What others should know: did i say it was heavy!!!oh and its ...HEAVY!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ANTHONY from USA on 2016-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power and accuracy. Too loud in the beginning but it quieted down eventually to an acceptable level that is still on the loud side but not bad. Rail optic and good Fiber Optic sights =OPTIONS!

    Things I would have changed: HARD TO COCK....I sawed off the shoulder stock and now its PISTOL GRIP ONLY. Now it is easy to cock / break barrel over knee then with trigger facing me I anchor the pistol grip at my hip and pull the barrel TWORD ME not to the side like before. Much handier size. I will use Irons or a red dot. the scope is good that comes with it but having magnification and eye relief slows it down compared to red dot or irons....my preference.

    What others should know: PYRAMYD AIR has the best deal and this is the most gun for the money in my opinion. it is Accurate and will make one hole groups. goes thru an inch of duct seal and breaks the trash can lid steel behind it with a 25 grain H&N rabbit magnum.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Ray from USA on 2015-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The build quality appears solid, the trigger pull is heavy, maybe 5 lb. but with very little creep, and the location and operation of the safety is very ergonomic. Cocking force is high, but manageable, the scope appears to be of decent quality at least cosmetically with clear detentes on the adjustment dials. I really like that this gun comes with iron sights.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy is a big concern. In my garage at 25' after mounting the scope with lock tight on all of the threads I immediately got a sub 1" group, I'm elated! However, I would expect this gun to go out to at least 30 YDS and hold a 1" group. I have run well over 250 rounds so far, but at 30 YDS from a bench groups are getting bigger not smaller! Holes are punch clean so pellets don't appear to be tumbling. Using Crosman 0.177 7.9 gr Super Match, maybe I need a heavier pellet? Scope adjustments don't appear to have any effect, even when I move 24 clicks at a time! I'm accustomed to sub 1" groups at 100 YDS with any one of several 0.22LR's I own and was expecting this rifle would be good out to about 50 YDS. So far at 30 YDS I can reliably hit a Cape Buffalo, but the squirrels are laughing. I'm thinking I got a bad scope? Any advise on accuracy would be appreciated.

    What others should know: This is a heavy rifle with no provision for attaching a sling. The trigger adjustment is not for break, only for take-up, not much help in my opinion. Accuracy is lacking so far, but other reviews of air rifles in general suggest that it takes 500-1000 rds to dial in? I will give it 500 to see if there is any improvement, but really? I suspect the internals of the scope are not robust and would recommend bench testing first with open sights at 25 YDS before mounting the scope. Maybe the lock up of the barrel is not consistent and the scope is useless? Either issue will be avoided using open sights to get an initial read on accuracy. I have no way to confirm that the scope is bad, but based on the lack of response to adjustments I'm leaning in that direction. I don't perceive much recoil, more than a mid-weight 22LR but much less than a standard 5.76. Shooting side by side with Remington 22LR the noise level is about the same, so it's not stealthy or accurate.

  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation