Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

    Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
    Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
    What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Jessica from USA on 2014-02-03 20:00:27

    Things I liked:this gun was very accurate and had a lot of power and pryamids return policy and super friendly customer service. with that being said...
    Things I would have changed:SAFTEY TRIGGER
    What others should know:the first one of these lasted about 750 sots or so then the trigger would not engage. after a few re-cocks trying to get it to engage it went off all on its own and shot through my garage ceiling thankfully I have 2 layers of shingles. a return and the same gun gave me the same probs this time in about 250 shots. I have 3 small kids under 10 that all enjoy shooting this non acceptable and very dangerous. I have returned that one also , going to get a hatsan 125 sniper this time around....BUYER BEWARE!!!!
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a powerful accurate airgun for a great price. The open site is a nice feature and works well.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice of it was a little lighter. Scope is adequate but mildot scope would have been nicer.
      What others should know:Change the o-ring as it gets flattened by the warning card (#9 o-ring at your local hardware store). Also be sure to loktite the screws as they were not all done by the factory.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy, sure feel; xlnt shooter, no qualifications there; EXTREMELY Hard Hitting for a .177"-Caliber rifle, even harder hitting than my Air Arms 510S FAC Superlite custom made English rifle, which does 1168FPS average over 10 shots through the Pyramyd Air Service Dept's chronograph, after break-in it's also more than 1200FPS on my club's certified (CHP and POA approved) chronograph with Crosman Premiere 10.5gr 177"-pellets, from the 1250-count Big Box...which this gun loves to death! A bit hard to cock, but then the power it has demands some strength anyway. Thee reverse-design gas piston driver succeeds in its objectives of calming down the recoil of shots; the piston is stronger than any of my Crosman rifles other than my two Marauders, a 22-Cal pistol, and a .25"-Caliber rifle which are PCP anyway, so they really don't count. Trigger is GREAT, and all the complainers heed to re-think what they wrote. I adjusted mine 1/2 clockwise turn on the adjustment tool=pull now = 2.5-lbs.
      Things I would have changed:Some how improve the stock quality, it's simply too austere for such a high quality rifle; I mean you look at it, and think this: "Man, that looks cheapo!" Really now Umarex, we know you spent a ton of R&D on this rifle, but paalllleeeezzzee give us a stock that looks better than this one does! I also have a Benjamin .177"-Cal signature NPS direct from Crosman factory outlet, and that rifle also has a synthetic stock, but looks 10X more professional than the Umarex Octane's stock. No.2; make the stock Picatinny rail easier to REMOVE!! It took me a careful 20 minutes to finally drive it off the Umarex rails with a padded large shot-peened wedge, and my best carpenter's hammer. Some of us want to run better optics than the OEM mount provides for, you understand? I mounted a BSA Huntsman 30mm RBG laser DOT scope on BKL Dovetail to Weaver 1" forged alloy riser mounts, and the gun loves it! In 20 mins, WITHOUT cleaning the barrel a stitch, I installed the BSA scope, sighted it-ready!
      What others should know:Don't believe the "trigger haters" here, it's a fantastic rifle all-steel trigger assembly, easily adjustable to your liking! Be prepared for the air gun "shock of your life" first time you shoot the thing, it hits SOOOOO HARD it's almost scary, Hah! I used a Gamo pellet trap target, the one with the heavy steel back plate/rear door (replaceable), and after 10 shots the Octane almost put holes in the plate to where I had to replace it before continuing! Sights work great, you don't have to replace or add anything sight-wise, just use the standard Fiber Optic Sights and be happy. For the $$$, this if THE ONE TO BUY! Shoots so dang hard, if you use alloy pellets you're NUTZ! The scope is OK, but forgettable...need a scope? Try my favorite "Hawke Eclipse 30" 4 x 24 x 50mm job, and get shocked again! Great value; the BEST shooter with gas piston that exists today; buy it, don't think twice just do it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Patrick from USA on 2014-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been shooting air rifles since 1960. I have had a lot of them. This Umarex Octane is by far the best performing air rifle I have ever used. I was nervous when I saw it is made in China, but when I started sighting it in with the sights (not the scope), I could see that it is a well made product. All the reviews I have read refer to the trigger and safety not being up to the task. In my case that is nonsense, the trigger on this air rifle is wonderful and the safety is VERY convenient. It took me about 20 shots to get it "dead nuts" and it has held its own ever since. I haven't used the scope yet but I looked at it and it seems to be a good one. It is a very solid rifle and is a bit on the heavy side but that's the way I like em. You have to be fairly strong to cock the rifle but I have no problem with it. Overall, it's as good a rifle as you can get in this category. Pyramyd gave it the 10 shot check before sending it to me and it came with a chronograph readout.
      Things I would have changed:The front sight red plastic piece should be glued in a little better
      What others should know:Buy this rifle if you can afford it. You won't be sorry. It is extremely hard hitting and shoots well over 1000 fps. It's accurate as any I have ever shot, shoots well and pyramid air is very helpful.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bosco from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ok so I gotta speak on Mr. Octane as I call him, anyway this gun is really powerful and deadly accurate especially with my 4x16x40 Centerpoint scope, Rodents, or Game don't stand a chance my friend.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing great weight and balance.
      What others should know:This gun is rated at 1400fps with alloy, I don't recommend that, shoot the Crow Mags 8.80. You can't go wrong getting the .177, with the 10.65 Baracuda Match FPS still in the high 890, producing over 20 foot pounds of energy. Keep the .22's I still get the same results with the heavy grains in this awesome gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good value, especially the scope and accuracy with .22 cal JSB Diabolo Jumbo 18.13 grain pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger could use some refinement.
      What others should know:It is suggested the bore be cleaned before firing the rifle. The noise level is a more than anticipated, in comparison to a Benj. Marauder with the shrouded barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate, not as powerful as advertised but still packs a punch.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing for this price range.
      What others should know:Very accurate right out of the box. I have over 1000 pellets through this rifle and no problems. Loves JSB 18 grain heavies, shoots well out to 40 yards, haven't taken it past that yet. Pyramyd Air is a pleasure to do business with,I will not shop anywhere else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rick from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy was the best I've ever had with iron sights fresh out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:I would use a lighter metal but then it would be more expensive so....
      What others should know:get both the 177 and the 22 and then sell all your other rifles because you wont need them anymore.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rick from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is the best gun for the money ever except for one other gun and that is the same gun in a 22 because I bought the 177 and I was charged $278 at Big 5, so you cannot go wrong by getting it for only $199 here at pyrimid in either 177 or 22
      Things I would have changed:I would have it made in a lighter metal but not as light as the Gamo but in between, yea.
      What others should know:Oh they are smooth and powerful but best of all they are freaking accurate with iron sights so I have other guns if i want a scope because when this thing can shoot an eyeball out of a hummingbird.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Waldron from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Consistency with POI. With good to excellent grouping you can get excellent accuracy repeatedly. Rail system allows mounts that don't slip with the recoil.
      Things I would have changed:Ship with out the scope to make the 'package' less expensive. Allow the buyer to pick the optic they want for their planned use.
      What others should know:Excellent rifle. I'd buy it again. It is a little longer than most rifles and the cocking is harder. Mine is a .177 and the RWS superdomes seem to be the most consistent grouping pellets. Consider a better scope to get the max out of the rifle. I went with a Hawke 4x12 and couldn't be happier.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2014-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Once again I received my ordered rifle very quick from pyramid air ! I took it out of the box and could not wait to shoot this thing ! What a solid and well put together rifle , great feal " in hand , so I started shooting in my basement and the results were , 7 shots from about 25-30 feet away , ONE HOLE , with open sights ! I loved the shooting caractoristics of this gun ! But my fun was short lived ! The next pellet I went to load , I noticed a chip taken out of the breach , just inside the rubber seal ! I'am realy sick about this becouse this rifle was everything that I was looking for in a hunting rifle ! I'am going to try to get umarex to fix the problem becouse I don't want a different gun in exchange . So far my calls to umarex have gotten me NO WHERE ! I will let everyone no how I make out in this matter .
      Things I would have changed:I realy thought I was gonna hate the safety on this gun , but it's not that hard to get used to .not that I realy had a chance to get used to it !
      What others should know:I want people to understand that just becouse this one rifle has a defect , don't let that turn you away from this gun ! It's a very nice rifle , and I hope this matter can be resolved becouse this gun truly is everything I was looking for in a rifle !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gary from USA on 2014-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:just a fantastic air rifle
      Things I would have changed:better scope--the scope is ok but i like mil dot and a fine reticule
      What others should know:You will never go back to a springer,this rifle holds zero day aft day and even cold weather hasn't chg impact point
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TED from USA on 2014-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a man . I got the 22 and only shot around 200 rds. but going thur 1/2 4-ply plywood @ 51 yds all day long.3-9 BDC I put a Nikon 3-9 BDC scope @ 25 everything is in quarter groups. nice groups @ 10 an 51 yd. Sound is very reasonable for what it does. Trigger is ok . For the money u can not do better. A lot of good quailty in this rifle.Would do it again.
      Things I would have changed:PUT A STRAP ON SOME PLACE, AN 1-2 POUNDS LIGHTER . MOVE SOME OF THE FRONT WEIGHT TO THE BACK . BOTH ARE MINOR WITH ME AN NOT A ISSUE
      What others should know:If you are in the market, take a good look at the Umarex Octane - I'm really glad i did
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Harrison from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very hard hitting comparable to a .22 short or possibly long rimfire cartridge.
      Things I would have changed:Better scope
      What others should know:Really needs a 50 yard range to zero it properly
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By phillip from USA on 2014-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:ACCURACY, POWER, PRICE. This gun is very accurate. Especially with JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 cal. 18.13 gr. Great gun for the price. Very hard hitting at 30-60 yards. Probably even 80 yards, just have not shot at anything over 60 yards yet.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is lousy but very easy to fix. Their is a great tutorial in the Pyramid Air blog section on how to do a trigger job on the Octane. Just polish and lube all contact points. Polish do not grind. Round the head of the trigger adjustment screw and you will be good to go. The trigger is great after a home tune on the trigger. The front fiber optic is easy to damage. Could be smaller, sturdier.
      What others should know:Got my first Octane in October 2013 but had to return because the trigger adjustment stripped out After 3 weeks and 700 rounds and the gun would not fire. Called Pyramid Air and was able to exchange with no hassles, Pyramid Air has great customer service. My replacement Octane Arrived 2 weeks later and is still going strong. I have about 3000 rounds thru this one and still going strong. The stock scope is usable, Mine was still holding zero after about 1200 rounds. I prefer a mil dot scope and wanted more power. I upgraded to a Hawke Varmit SF 4-16x44, also from Pyramid Air and this scope really brought out the accuracy potential of the Octane. The Octane/Hawke combo is more accurate than I am at this time. If I miss it is because of something I did. Working on shooting golf tee's @ 30 yards. Check out the Umarex Octane Air Rifle Yahoo Groups for more info.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rob from USA on 2014-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power. Accuracy. Value. quiet. Great gun.
      Things I would have changed:Its heavier and longer than most of my real rifles. Trigger needs love.
      What others should know:The scope seems very sensitive to temperature change. Stock hardware needs to be tightened up. Artilary hold is a must. There is a tiny lag in the actual shot after the trigger is pulled. I guess due to the mass of piston.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jessica from USA on 2014-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this gun was very accurate and had a lot of power and pryamids return policy and super friendly customer service. with that being said...
      Things I would have changed:SAFTEY TRIGGER
      What others should know:the first one of these lasted about 750 sots or so then the trigger would not engage. after a few re-cocks trying to get it to engage it went off all on its own and shot through my garage ceiling thankfully I have 2 layers of shingles. a return and the same gun gave me the same probs this time in about 250 shots. I have 3 small kids under 10 that all enjoy shooting this non acceptable and very dangerous. I have returned that one also , going to get a hatsan 125 sniper this time around....BUYER BEWARE!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Conrad from USA on 2014-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the first modern pellet rifle that I have owned so I am no expert, but this gun seems to do everything well. It is accurate, powerful, and seems well made. It has an " easy to adjust scope" that is a big step above most scopes that come with a gun of that price. You probably could not find a better gun for the price.
      Things I would have changed:I like the safety on the trigger guard or a thumb safety on the back but most manufactures seem to use this type," in the trigger guard". However, this is very small adjustment and easy to get used to.
      What others should know:It is obvious that this is a big, heavy gun and some people might not want to carry it all day. However the size and weight also has it's advantages so it is really just a choice. We liked this gun enough to buy a second one as a gift and, he loves the his.This seems to be an excellent gun for the price .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the .22 model. The break in period was VERY short, relatively speaking. Just over 30 pellets, and, the rifle was consistently shooting accurately. It is a smooth, accurate, and, powerful air rifle. The rifle shoots a fairly wide variety of pellets really well. Pellets tested thus far, CPHP,RWS Superdomes, H&N's Crow Magnum, 18.21 grain HP, Terminators, the JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy, and, Predator Polymags. With some pellets, the scope has to be adjusted for that given pellet's trajectory. After dialing it in, the given pellet flies true, and, is accurate. Ragged holes are very doable. The bundled scope is VERY workable. It's actually a nice scope, with the only minus being it has a duplex reticle, as opposed to the much preferred mil dot. Even that is just a pet peeve. Once dialed in, it holds it's zero tenaciously. I'm quite impressed with this bundled scope. The trigger adjustment feature makes a world of difference in accurately shooting this rifle. The first stage is quite long, out of the box, however, a quick clockwise turn shortened that pull considerably. The trigger breaks at a very predictable place. You know exactly when it's going to fire, and, that helps keep pellets in the bull's eye. The cocking effort is silky smooth, and, easy for an average adult. I am impressed with it, and, like it very much. It makes this rifle a plinker, and, not just a hunting rifle.
      Things I would have changed:A mil dot reticle on the scope would be nice. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Even the price point is good on this rifle.
      What others should know:I feel my money was well spent on this rifle. I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for an ultra magnum, break barrel, in .22 cal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Art from USA on 2014-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This truly a very powerful rifle. The Octane rifle is everything that Umarex and Pyramyd Air are advertising, best bang for your buck. Sighed this rifle with both regular and scope, it is ACCURACY. This rifle will deliver both light or heavy pellets to your target.
      Things I would have changed:Not a single thing.
      What others should know:Great Job. I strongly recommend the Umarex Octane Air Rifle and for the best service, Pyramyd Air. My name is Art and I am not a representative for the above mentioned companies. I am just a very satisfied customer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nice,very nice air rifle,have fun whit this one . muy bueno,calidad ,y precio .definitivamente una buena compra.
      Things I would have changed:el gatillo un poco duro,a little harder trigger.
      What others should know:i have the 22 version,heavy recoil,powerfull and accurate, a little bit heavy,great suport 3 years warranty Umarex. and i impress my girl that count to jajaja.my version es la 22,patea fuerte,pero es poderozo y preciso,un poco pesado.gran garantia 3 anos con Umarex. y yo impresione a mi chica eso cuenta no jajaja.
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top