Date: 8/12/2016 21:29
0

Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

Things I liked: There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!

Things I would have changed: At that price? Nothing.

What others should know: Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:3.0

By william from USA on 2015-10-03 13:26:32

Things I liked: Looks cool. Good power.

Things I would have changed: The trigger is terrible. Also, tried to shoot it last night...and nothing. This gun has probably only 50 rounds through it and the safety is broken, jammed or something. All I know is, I can't even ship it back for repair if it's charged, and eventually the gas piston will be dead. This gun is a real loser.

What others should know: Yeah. Don't buy it.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2016-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: cleaned barrel up real good then shot it same day I got it.(WHAT A PELLET RIFLE.) I'am 75 and it's a little hard to load but we GET IT DONE Shoots great with crosman ultra dome 14.3 gr.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a little easer to break the barrel to load that's about it. Make it easer for us old guy's??????????

    What others should know: BEST PRICE I COULD FIND WAS FROM PYRAMYD AIR . CAN'T BEAT THERE SERVICE ANYWERE THAT I COULD FIND .

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Noel from USA on 2016-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Being new to air guns I first bought a cheap .177 to play with then jumped up to a Gamo Hornet in .22 just to try a larger pellet with a gas piston. After learning a little about the hobby I wanted to go straight up to a magnum powered rifle with a gas piston. Researching on this site led me to the Umarex Otane and I am very happy with my purchase. Most other reviews caution that this is a picky rifle and hard for a beginner to learn. I found it easy to shoot and have had no problems thus far. It is so much stronger than my other two rifles and I am amazed at the chrony numbers. I paid for the 10 for 10 and according to the print out this rifle put out over 1500 fps for the first few shots and later settled down to about 1000 fps average using RWS hobby 11.9 gr. The scope is usable and was easy to zero in. This rifle is heavy however I actually like that as it just feels well made. I have about 250 pellets through it and so far no problems at all.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to see a better protected front sight and maybe some type of sling attachments on future versions. This rifle will get heavy quickly.

    What others should know: Based on my own research this is a hard hitting magnum powered rifle that can give you much fun for a lower cost. There are better options however if you want a decent affordable gas piston .22 that will have fps numbers as high as any others this is a good choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clayton from USA on 2016-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great hard hitting air rifle Shoots decent groups right out of the box Rugged feel, not for the kids Vary impressed with .25 inch penetration at 80 yards into 6x6x14 inch wood block with match grade barracudas. Still on first tin of 200, probably about 20 left in there so this gun is just starting it's brake in period. I believe it's safe to say at 50 yards this air rifle will safely and humanly take small game. Great value for the pop!

    Things I would have changed: This air rifle is what it is, mid entery level (my opinion) If you have tennis elbow and want to shoot 200 plus rounds in a sitting this is not the rifle for you.

    What others should know: This air rifle should be in every ones collection After 180 shots I'm pretty sure this just became my go to snake popper for a while.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddy from USA on 2016-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Comes with scope.

    Things I would have changed: Weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddy from USA on 2016-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, look and feel.

    Things I would have changed: Weight is on the heavier side. Could lessen the weight a little.

    What others should know: I purchased this with the 10-shot service just to make sure it is not a lemon. So far the rifle is working as expected, I've shot ~50 rounds. I installed the scope myself and zero it in pretty easily. I shot and killed a gopher in about 20 yards (60 ft) distance. I even shot a small lizard at 22 yards. Very happy with how accurate this rifle is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: .22 . . . . .overall looks and easy handling pistol grip, fairly easy breaking effort, extreme accurate and very hard hitting, decent trigger, gas piston can hold a cock for lengthy periods before shooting, backyard friendly.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Have purchased several rifles since this one. Recently took this one out and had forgotten how accurate and hard hitting it was. This is an extremely impressive rifle and get the job done on pest, squirrels, birds, etc. Decent range accuracy 10-50 yds. Probably more but have not had occasion to shoot longer distances. RWS Superdome 14.5gr pellet will provide extreme accuracy and wipe out pest decisively at backyard ranges. . . .no question. The .177 version has equal attributes as this .22. I own both. This is my go to for consistent results.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2016-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, decent scope, feels expensive

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The scope seems blurry all the time, no matter how I adjust. But it is very accurate. At 30 meters I put 4 shots in the same hole. It seems to like h&n field target trophy. 5.55mm head size is what I'm using.if you are someone that is weak you will have a very hard time cocking this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Billy from USA on 2016-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Design and power I bought the .22 version.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control, breech did not seal properly (it was machined too deep). Umarex sent me a new seal and a shim. No problems with their customer service.

    What others should know: The rifle felt unbalanced, front heavy. The trigger was hard and not very smooth. I tried many different pellets but the accuracy was lacking. The best I could do was 2 inch groups at 25 yards. Replaced it with an inexpensive RWS (Diana), no comparison.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tomas from Colombia on 2016-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really Powerful for a non-pcp rifle!!! I bought this one for a vacation trip in Panama and I focus in use just with open sights. My best shots was over a Torcaza (Pigeon) at 60 yds with polymag predators .22 and a old squirrel at 50 yds with a deformed pellet recovered from the squirrel. I was very impressed with the power of this rifle. At our farm we have problems with black vultures and the newborn cows. I shot one to 30 yds and drops like a rock...

    Things I would have changed: recoilless and a little more compact

    What others should know: Is large and require some practice to learn his trigger.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Knock down power. Unreal for a pellet gun. This is a fantastic air rifle. Its waaay long and a chore to lug around, but shooting is a dream. I'm 6.1 230 and shooting this thing is a workout. Accuracy is great. The scope is easy to zero and works great, but it adds so much additional weight to an already heavy gun. I'd recommend dropping the scope, get a decent red dot and you'll have a gun for life. I'd give it 4 stars for value because I believe youd be wise to spend an extra few dollars and get a red dot.. 35.00 min added for a decent one.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see some protection for the front sight. Its just there asking to get broken. Nowhere to add straps

    What others should know: Its powerful. Be careful where you shoot it !!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carl from USA on 2016-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Umarex Octane gets five stars at any level a shooter could ask for.

    Things I would have changed: I'm a big guy, but it is a workout to break the barrel repeatedly during zeroing. However,it is worth the effort.

    What others should know: This is a serious airgun. It is powerful, accurate, and has the range to reach out and devastate small game. This is not a child's airgun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barbara from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the substantial weight it has.

    Things I would have changed: I don't think I would change anything!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Philip from USA on 2016-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first air rifle. Very powerful. I have been practicing at 45-65 yards and did well with the fiber optic sights. Put the scope on and it did not take much to zero it in. Different pellets weights and designs shoot differently- so try different types until you find one you like. Very quiet gun. I was hoping for the supersonic "crack", but yet to get one. However, it is nice to not have to wear ear protection all the time.

    Things I would have changed: Fiber optic sight at end of gun is prone to fall out and break. Mine did so after 15 shots. Umarex sent me a new one with instructions on how to melt each end [mushroom them] so it would not fall out. This gun has a decent recoil, and after 200 shots the fiber optic on front sight came loose again. I am going to try a dot of super glue to keep it in place.

    What others should know: Be prepared to fight with the front sight. It will come loose and fall out with regular use. Try super glue to keep in place [not on the ends, will block the light- in the middle]. This is a design issue Umarex should address.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2016-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is pretty solid, has a nice weight to it. Once the scope is dialed in the gun is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The safety resets after every shot, it takes some time to get used to.

    What others should know: Great gun for the money. I did a lot of research on pellet rifles within this price range, I am very happy with this rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By BackinService from USA on 2016-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Finish is good for outdoors where it doesn't scratch like a wood stock does. Nice impact when hitting target, is punching holes through the air rifle bullet trap (probably made for .177 air rifles) No problems with the trigger. I'm not an expert in triggers, but is similar to my AR feel. After the initial burning off of excess lube in the barrel, it shoots as quietly as my Gamo 440 .177, except the impact is much louder due to its power!

    Things I would have changed: Why not put a decent scope, even low cost, with high ratings, which are low cost (35-50), but has mil-dots to accommodate the pellet drop associated with air rifles and would assist novice users...I would pay 10-20 more and not have to waste my time waiting, shipping, transportation, overproduction, waste of space to store the stock scope (ie, 8 types of waste) to put on this fine rifle. Part of the lower accuracy rating is that I can pick up the rifle each day and have to adjust each time before shooting, which is not always humane with pest control where you don't have time to re-zero or you will scare the pest away. I would try to lighten the fore-end as even me being a big and tall person, the heavy weight of the fore-end (probably the gas piston, etc), I have to rest on something or I'm wobbling all over the place, decreasing accuracy. I've been using the AR platform for 17 years, and the key here as well as other rifles, is a nice center of gravity.

    What others should know: If you are shooting in the field, I would look for a rifle that has a better center of gravity, which is hard to check out when buying online. Its not just a matter of weight, but how it balances. The stock is somewhat skeletonized, so it is not balancing the front end. So not good for the field for shooting freehand but better where you have a solid rest The break to cock it is stiff, but that isn't a deterrent for me, but my preteen son can't cock it, and he's pretty tall for his age. The O-ring did go flat within a month of purchase and only about 50 rounds. This apparently has been a continuing issue for the Octane, & hopefully Umarex will invest in a quality o-ring or add a few extra to avoid wasting their customer support resources and time just to warranty a part costing a few cents. Clean out the barrel carefully and put in a dry-lube as due to the power of this rifle, any excess lube will burn off and smoke. In the beginning, tighten your scope screws after every session.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good, shoots straight, has good power

    Things I would have changed: The fiber optic front sites are open & exposed and are easily broken but not replaceable. It takes a good amount of effort to cock it, it's not for 'smaller' shooters. It's a little heavier than most other comparable brake barrel gas piston rifles, lighten it up.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TERRY from USA on 2016-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the gun. Looks great, Took it out of the box, cleaned the barrel and loaded my first pellet and shot and it shot straight and true with sights. Took a shot at an old metal barrel about 100' away then loaded the second pellet another perfect shot, checked the barrel and sure enough 2 holes in it right where I aimed. It's heavy but shoot great. Need to find the heavest pellet I can hoping to cut down on breaking the sound barrier. The gun was very quite except for the sound of the pellet breaking the SB. Love the gun.

    Things I would have changed: It's a heavy gun and needs to come with a bipod, and a sling. It needs to come with screw holes to mount a sling so you won't have to make something yourself.

    What others should know: Be sure to have plenty of pellets because you'll have so much fun with the gun you'll want to shoot all day. This gun handled like a dream right from the box and be sure to clean the barrel before you shoot it for the first time. It's not that dirty but you don't want any scratches in it to slow your pellets down. Be ready to have fun but remember, it's a heavy gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks sharp, has good power, not too loud

    Things I would have changed: Front fiber optics are 'exposed' and very fragile, mine partially broke while in a hard shell case. Change the front sight design.

    What others should know: It's a little heavier than some other similar guns and it takes a bit more effort to cock than other break barrels I've tried.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Octane .22 Cal in my opinion is a Cadillac of break barrel rifles. It hits hard and shoots very accurately once you understand how to hold it. I can take shots out over 100 yards with ease. This is a heavy rifle which shows me just how well built it is. Every time I get it out my friends want to try it out. Anew some want to steal it away from me. THIS UMAREX OCTANE COMES WITH A 3 YEAR WARRANTY !! This shows the guns Quality.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a big fan of the design (too narrow) of the rear stock design. But putting a neoprene slip on cover like the ones that hold pellets works for me. The other thing I am not a fan of is the front sights neon stip is sitting out in the open and tends to break off easily.

    What others should know: This is not a air rifle for the younger or smaller sized shooter. It is very heavy and best used from a bench. It will wear you out if you go walking around your hunting area with in tow. This rifle also has a good recoil kick to it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate, but requires a break in. Don't look for groups until you have at least 200-300 rounds through the gun. Amazing power. Unbelievably quiet. Will need to try various pellets to see what the gun likes. This gun will shoot. Follow thru as well as artillery hold is a must. Very smooth shooter compared to springers. Reduced recoil. Beeman 18.3 g crow magnums 1/2 Inch group @ 20 yards-shoot the best. 21 grain kodiaks also shot very well.

    Things I would have changed: Hood over fiber optic sight.

    What others should know: For the price, this is a must. Back yard shooters, this will not disturb your close neighbors if you are shooting paper targets. If you are shooting metal targets it makes a hell of a wallop. Love this gun. Make sure you blue locktite the 4 screws on the scope base as well as the ring screws.

  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation