Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

    Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
    Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
    What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By jon from USA on 2014-02-03 20:00:27

    Things I liked:this gun was very accurate and had a lot of power and pryamids return policy and super friendly customer service. with that being said...
    Things I would have changed:SAFTEY TRIGGER
    What others should know:the first one of these lasted about 750 sots or so then the trigger would not engage. after a few re-cocks trying to get it to engage it went off all on its own and shot through my garage ceiling thankfully I have 2 layers of shingles. a return and the same gun gave me the same probs this time in about 250 shots. I have 3 small kids under 10 that all enjoy shooting this non acceptable and very dangerous. I have returned that one also , going to get a hatsan 125 sniper this time around....BUYER BEWARE!!!!
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By robert from USA on 2014-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The low noise level, the power, the accuracy (with the proper pellets) ease in which it can be held and shot accurately., meaning it is the least hold sensitive spring powered air rifle I have ever shot, gas or metal spring. The scope mount has been knocked for not having a scope stop, it is a weaver base by far better than a base with a single stop pin, this is the most secure mounting system you can find on a air rifle!!
      Things I would have changed:Wish it was shorter,,, "bullpup maybe" it should have a better scope but what can you expect for less than 2 bill's? for what you get at this cost it should be a solid 10 stars for the money!!
      What others should know:I bought a better scope to put on it when it came, it is needed on this rifle, the sound is much lower than anyone says it is, the thing seems to love pellets over 18 grains in the .22 cal anyway. and although not a target rifle the accuracy with the heavy pellets is great, 3/4" out of the bow aint shabby for a gun giving out 23 ft lbs energy. I really feel that for the price I could not have spent twice as much and got a better air gun, and it would cost 4X this much for a better performing "gas Spring" gun!! My gun loves Beeman Kodiak's and H&N Barracuda Match and shoots pretty good with Crow Magnums and H&N Barracuda Hunter Extremes but the first two are excellent!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2014-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After barrel break in about 1,000 shots. It's a great shooter at 20 yds one ragged hole the group opens up slightly at 33 yds. And I killed a squirrel at 40 yds.
      Things I would have changed:I had to replace the base plate it became lose and the screws striped. And now the scope is bad. To Focus at 30 yds I have to set the AO on 75 yds and maxed out at 50 yds. Also poi shifts after adjusting power ring or AO. And had to replace it also. The trigger is stiff a few times I checked to see if it was off safety. But after you learn where it breaks it's shootsble.
      What others should know:My rifle really likes crossman premier hollowpoint 14.3 gr. By far the best shooting pellet I've tried.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the second time I am writing something about this rifle. The more I shoot it, the more I like it. It is really a great gun. I can hit a 1" target dot consistently shooting offhand at 10-15 yards using the package scope. I am more satisfied and impressed with this rifle every time I shoot it.
      Things I would have changed:A better trigger.
      What others should know:So far, fingers crossed, it's the cat's meow.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Al_in_Va from USA on 2014-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price, Gun weight, accuracy even during break in,
      Things I would have changed:Nothing much!
      What others should know:Great value for the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Sam from USA on 2014-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of power! Apparently well made. The test of time will tell? I would like to add.. Pyramyd Airi is the best way to get your air gun and supplies.. Bar none!
      Things I would have changed:Doesn't do well in cold wether, accuracy wise. Front site should be better protected.
      What others should know:A challenge to shoot accurately!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nathan from USA on 2014-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It took less then 10 rounds to site in the factory scope, Good power and accuracy and is very consistent with the jsb match diablo 18 grain pellets
      Things I would have changed:the safety has some play to it, id definatly like a more sturdy feel for a safety. 1 more thing a place for a gun sling would be a nice option as the gun weighs over 10lb with the scope on, it would get a bit heavy if out in the field.
      What others should know:look over the gun and tighten up all the screws you are able to get at I was able to get a half turn on all bolts, but overall a very sturdy and well made gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mark T. from USA on 2014-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I purchased .22cal about a year ago. First thought was very front heavy. I cleaned barrel and shot about 30 rounds. The trigger is gritty and my guess at about 8 pounds. Disasembled rifle and polished surfaces of trigger mechanism.(luckily read a review that said trigger pins will easily fall out, I used electrical tape to secure them}} Used loctite on all screws in reassembly. Trigger smoothed out but still around 6 pound pull, maybe a hair more. Mounted scope (great article on PA by Mr. Gaylord on mounting scopes} Sighted in at 30 yds planning on shooting out to 50.{article on PA about sighting scopes} shoots well from 20 to 50, with about 1 inch holdover at 50 using H&N 18.21g Hunters. Scope has held up well through at least 8 tins of ammo. Sighted in using a grip like centerfire rifle, Octane didn't seem to like artillery hold. I am getting great accuracy off shoulder. Wasn't sure about thumbhole stock but i love it, shoulders well and comfortable.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger. Somewhat front heavy.
      What others should know:Few months after receiving rifle, here are some chronied speeds. HN Hunters 18.21g-average of 732 fps. Crosman 14.3g H/P average 842 fps. Not quite what i expected , but plenty of power. Will chrony again soon and report findings.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By gary from USA on 2014-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good looking,solid feel, scope is usable. Trigger seems crisp but heavier than I expected. Have'nt put a lot of rounds through it yet, still learning how to shoot a gun like this.
      Things I would have changed:Since I purchased this for hunting small game such as squirrels and these guns are heavy, attachments for a sling would have been nice to have.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By carlos from USA on 2014-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifleis a beast plenty of power for dispatch any rodents plusI f you do your part you will fall in love with this beast
      Things I would have changed:The scope is not to good but issomething you can replace with another
      What others should know:Need a little practice to get the most of the rifle purchase one you won't regret plus piramidair all ways have an excellent customer service
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack from USA on 2014-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the .22 caliber rifle. This thing is a brute and is very accurate. Took several pellets to find the right ones but now it will eat the bulls eye out of a target with no problems.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rings are cheap but once I changed to quality rings it was sweet. Not much else to complain about on this baby.
      What others should know:if you want something that will shoot, shoot, and shoot some more...... look no further. My arm eventually gives out from cocking it but that is nothing to complain about. That just means I'm having the time of my life. It is a great little hunter too. Quick, clean kills. I can't say enough good about it. Go buy one for yourself.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carlton from USA on 2014-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything
      Things I would have changed:Require less cocking effort
      What others should know:This could likely be the best air rifle you will ever own in this price range. It is for me, out of several. Have in both .177 & .22. Both are etremely accurate and powerful. Worth giving a try to judge for youself. PA is second to none in purchase process, packaging and shipping. Very pleased with this and many purchases from Pyramyd Air.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Derrel from USA on 2014-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Umarex Octane .22 caliber is awesome... I traded up from an Octane .177 in order to hunt bigger varmints... But did not lose any power, accuracy or features. The sight was quick to adjust and sight in... I have shoot over 200 pellets now and tried several different pellet styles(pointed, hollow point and domed)and brands (H&N, RWS, JBS and Crosmman). I prefer the 14 grain pellets for targets but the larger grain are great for hunting... Other more experience hunters and shooters and used my gun and plan to buy this rifle.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By William A. from USA on 2014-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, this ain't an Air Arms. But, that said, the trigger is pretty good, it is possible to cock it, if you try hard and it shoots like a bandit. Very, very fast and really accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Stock is very minimal, even skinny and the sights can't last long as they are some kind of BB gun plastic.
      What others should know:Considerable recoil, like all the gas guns. I'd say it would kill an non air gun scope pretty quick. I took the scope off it to save for another purpose.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own both the .177 octane and the .22 octane. The .177 was fairly easy to sight in using sights. Within a few minutes of receiving the octane .177, I was able to sight in with about 10 shots. Will save the scope for later if I need it. I have tried lightweight pellets (crosman ssp 4 grain and daisy 7.2 grain) they both broke the sound barrier. The 4 grain was really loud and the 7.2 was just a little loud. I barely noticed the daisy pellet. The safety sits just in front of the trigger inside the trigger guard. Nice feature. One fluid motion backwards.
      Things I would have changed:The weight of the octane in either .177 or .22 are heavy. 9.5 pounds is quite much for an air rifle. The octane does seem to be a little long as well. The cocking of the octane in either .177 or .22 is quite much, although that tends to be the power that you are cocking.
      What others should know:If you have a hard time getting the .22 octane to hit paper, you might want to install the scope. Mine shot low with the sights. Then after the scope was on, I was able to dial it in better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything is great the scope, trigger , and the stock
      Things I would have changed:the choking effort
      What others should know:nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking gun. Like the molded stock.Have only shot it maybe 30 times but so far it is accurate. I didn't use the scope that came with it I used a different one
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Some cleaning tips
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2014-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid gun. Shoots dead on. I like the weight. Scope is nice option for included cost.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe include accessory rail on bottom
      What others should know:This gun is a good deal for the money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Old from USA on 2014-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet and powerful
      Things I would have changed:it's heavy!
      What others should know:Be careful where you point this thing!! Accurate? Heck yea it is. Mine is .22 cal it was dead on right out of the box with open sights. It has around 65-75 rounds now so I will mount the scope. It is getting quieter the more we shoot it. I think it is very quiet for such a big gun. Blew right through a squirrel at 25 yards, and at 40 yards it goes halfway through a 2x4. Left squirrel with a very surprised look on his face. I would recommend this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a very accurate out of the box rifle with a good trigger and even a good scope, something very rare on a 'rifle package'. I bought it in .22. It has good iron sights. It is also extremely quiet for a 1000fps + rifle and has good balance. Very good for squirrel hunting. As good as a .22LR with subsonics.
      Things I would have changed:Can't really thing of anything.
      What others should know:No. It is a fine rifle, if you don't mind synthetic stocks. I actually prefer them if I am going out to the woods for a couple of days. No swelling or dings and dents to worry about.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By barry from USA on 2014-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After about 500 pellets it is right on target about a dime in size groupings. It hits hard has alot of power to it, I shot into a phone book of which is 1,000 pages at close range it went right through it..
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is abit heavy..
      What others should know:I have had this pellet rifle for 3 weeks now, the other day I went to cock the rifle the screw behind the trigger guard dropped out and onto the floor and the rifle was coming out of the stock from where that screw was at. So I unscrewed the two screws at the front and lifted the stock off, the trigger mechanism was off to the side a few pins csme out of which there are 6, I put the pins in and noticed one pin I think it was to the right of the secondary sear would not come out it was bent, just wonder in time would that pin get more and more bent then the rifle will not operate, wonder if Umarex is aware of this.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top