Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

    Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
    Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
    What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-01-06 21:33:01

    Things I liked:The rifle is great. It is very accurate and well balanced.
    Things I would have changed:The scope did not last 300 shots before breaking. Why make such an excellent rifle and pair it with such an inadequate scope? The defective scope and the cost of replacing it resulted in one star overall rating and value for the money rating. I liked the rifle itself so much that I did not want to return it.
    What others should know:The rifle is great. Very accurate and easy to shoot for a magnum springer. However, if you purchase it plan on replacing the cheap scope that comes with it.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2015-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything Is Good for most part Might be a little heavy for some but I think the weight helps to be more accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Would try to make it Quieter, Would go with raised scope rings to be able to use the open sights or scope. Prefer open sights at this time.
      What others should know:Does take a little to break open the barrel
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jerry from USA on 2015-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks, ease of cocking and still a lot of power and speed. Handles great and is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Balance, the rifle is front heavy and is not as quite as I would like.
      What others should know:A little finicky with different ammo. Try different kinds until your rifle adjusts
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By larry from USA on 2015-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very well built hard hitting gun. Smooth and easy to cock. After about 200 rounds it is proving quite accurate hitting penny's at exactly 24 yards indoor range. It seems to like crosman premiers and h&n 15.1 copper.my previous purchase was a Hatsan 125 springer it was slightly more powerful but the spring jammed 4 days after the one year WARRENTY ended. This has 3 year, hopefully I won't need it.
      Things I would have changed:Not much of anything. Just remember to tighten all screws regularly during break in period.
      What others should know:My son in law also has same gun and we enjoy challenging each other. Heavier pellets are much more accurate than light. Stay at 14.5 or heavier. Taken two crows so far hoping go rabit hunting soon.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2015-02-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like this air gun. You will need to Loctite everything, but I'm finding that pretty much true with all air guns. The scope is great. Also, clean the barrel as they are protected from corrosion.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice to have a sling mounts.
      What others should know:After warranty service from Umarex is not good. I has a site reticle shift and they sent me an old beat up scope with an eyepiece o-ring literally hanging out. Second scope was a used RWS scope 4x32AO and not the 3-9X40 that came with the gun. I got disgusted and purchased a Centerpoint scope and am happy with that.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2015-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, Accuracy and Price
      Things I would have changed:Nada
      What others should know:This is my second review for this rifle after having it for a year, and several thousand pellets through it. The trigger never really smoothed out, but I have become accustomed to it. It was (and still is) very accurate out of box. It loves the JSB 18 grain heavies and packs a punch with them. However, I was in the middle of a raccoon vs. my flock of over 100 chickens war when I ran out of the jsb pellets. Not surprisingly nobody carries them locally, so i went to the local superstore and purchased crosman premiere hp, and I was very pleasantly surprised that this gun shoots those better than the jsb, and throws them hard enough to anchor the raccoons where they are shot. I have had to get the ladder out twice to retrieve dead coons. I bench rested this rifle and was shooting at 30 yards and the holes on paper were touching with a few flyers out of the black, which i will gladly blame on crosman inconsistencies with their tin pellets. I wilol be buying brown box premiers from now on!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2015-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have never owned or shot a modern pellet rifle. My only comparison is a crossman 10 pump bb gun. I'm replacing my dad's. you can watch the BB arc through the air, shooting like an old cannon "up 10 more degrees" I wanted something that would takeout pigeons and be quite. a .22 sub sonic should work...HOLLY CRAP! this thing blows through 1/2" ply! I'm afraid that the pigeon feathers will explode across the 3 yards next to me! Can't wait to find out.
      Things I would have changed:Since I am new to airguns I would change nothing right now. The scope is fine and as other said, you can't do better under $200. An option to buy with or w/o scope would be good.
      What others should know:They stopped putting a warning tag in the breach that ruined the o-ring. I was VERY worried for the first 3 weeks shooting Beeman Kodiak Xheavy 21.14 gr. I could not group under 3" @ 20 yds. After reading pellet reviews I tried crossman premier H-point. Now grouping 1/2" ragged holes.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2015-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power ! this thing is far more powerful than the np2 trail ,when it hits a crow at 40-50 yds. You really hear a pop lol . Been a lot of fun so far , and pyramid is most helpful from shipping questions to finding xtra "o"rings which they even sent me a few when I inquired. Thanks Pyramyd for great products and support for them.
      Things I would have changed:The stock like everyone else (its ugly) but so is a glock ! Not trying to compare by any means but just saying it could look better to par with performance.
      What others should know:Use locktite on scope rings or it will relocate for you. Great buy ,I'm very impressed and shooting around 35 yrs now the best pellet gun I've laid hands on.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2015-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very powerful,after sighting it is very accurate. I did not use the scope in box but love the gun. I have shot about 500 rounds through it a d it is just mean,would add photo of my set up but dont know how.
      Things I would have changed:I would not change a thing,just love it
      What others should know:I agree with the need for a sling and made mounts for a sling on my rifle. Works very well.Thanx umarex for the gr8 gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2015-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is really accurate. Plenty of power and the scope is pretty good.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice if it was a little lighter. Other than that,nothing I see needs a redo. So far it has exceeded my expectations great gun.
      What others should know:When I received the gun I found that the scope was defective. I called umarex they asked me to return the scope. Shortly they sent me a new scope. A upgraded model from the original. You can not best that for service.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chris from USA on 2015-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel of the rifle using it around the yard for squirrels it's brutal, the scope at 25 yards and the ability to see and get an nice bead on thoses rodents is awesome. I was expecting a plinker but instead got a "CRACK" pretty cool sounds like a 22 short when fired. Sure beats my daisey suppressor more for show
      Things I would have changed:Maybe get it a little lighter in weight. I also had a problem with the safety it broke quickly (2 days after owning it) and yes my misfired also in the house and blew a hole in living room ceiling. I am extra carefull with this new rifle because I am a bit gun shy so to speak I am afraid the safety may break again. The new gun has a few hundred round through it so far so good. I was able to send the original gun back with good customer service results. New gun was sent quickly.
      What others should know:A good fun rifle for the price
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2015-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. This sucker weighs as much as the M-14 I shot in Boot Camp. The most impressive part is the Picattiny rail, dbl-screw rings, and a 3-9 40mm AO scope.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Please don't change a thing.
      What others should know:After my travails w/ Gamo - mainly the Bone Collector - I appreciate how fine this .22 "Octane", and my .17 "Fuel" are. Now I can get on w/ my (probably) endless search for the Ultimate Pellet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rocco from USA on 2015-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Construction, accuracy (with and without scope), noise suppression, handles different rounds very well.
      Things I would have changed:The space between the open safety and the trigger is narrow. This is a minor problem when shooting with a winter glove on.
      What others should know:This rifle is quite heavy, which depending on circumstances is a plus or a minus. Definitely a plus when shooting off a rest, somewhat cumbersome when trekking overland.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2015-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is great. It is very accurate and well balanced.
      Things I would have changed:The scope did not last 300 shots before breaking. Why make such an excellent rifle and pair it with such an inadequate scope? The defective scope and the cost of replacing it resulted in one star overall rating and value for the money rating. I liked the rifle itself so much that I did not want to return it.
      What others should know:The rifle is great. Very accurate and easy to shoot for a magnum springer. However, if you purchase it plan on replacing the cheap scope that comes with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joe from USA on 2015-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the price an what you get for it. ACCURATE- JSB RS almost hole for hole jsb stratons are hole for hole at 35 yards. its January and i got alot of wind and snow right now so i will do a group pic this summer i still have the original group on some cardboard i think if not i will post new groups.
      Things I would have changed:add a bit better of a trigger or make an after market drop in trigger assembly for a 1lb pull. the trigger that is on it is a good trigger im just picky.
      What others should know:avg fps 781 at 18ftlbs with diablo RS 13.43gr .22cal speed isnt accuracy hitting is accuracy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By verner from USA on 2015-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything it's just the perfect air rifle
      Things I would have changed:Depending on the shooter its a bit heavy so maybe a bit of the weight
      What others should know:This air gun packs a punch and is one of the most tactical and powerful .22 I have ever dealt with
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rocky from USA on 2014-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great value, very Accurate shot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2014-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like octane,lives up to the adds . Its a little hard to cock at first but gets easy as you use it.Its power will surprise you,and it puts the pellet where you aim.This gun is not a toy ,It doesn't feel like an air gun ,its well made and the scope is very good out of the box . I have used co2 guns but this has them beat.P.A was good to deal with and knows their products well ,I will use them often ....
      Things I would have changed:Make a lighter gun with the same power .
      What others should know:I wish there were more action targets on the market ! This gun needs a good back stop !!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By robert from USA on 2014-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The low noise level, the power, the accuracy (with the proper pellets) ease in which it can be held and shot accurately., meaning it is the least hold sensitive spring powered air rifle I have ever shot, gas or metal spring. The scope mount has been knocked for not having a scope stop, it is a weaver base by far better than a base with a single stop pin, this is the most secure mounting system you can find on a air rifle!!
      Things I would have changed:Wish it was shorter,,, "bullpup maybe" it should have a better scope but what can you expect for less than 2 bill's? for what you get at this cost it should be a solid 10 stars for the money!!
      What others should know:I bought a better scope to put on it when it came, it is needed on this rifle, the sound is much lower than anyone says it is, the thing seems to love pellets over 18 grains in the .22 cal anyway. and although not a target rifle the accuracy with the heavy pellets is great, 3/4" out of the bow aint shabby for a gun giving out 23 ft lbs energy. I really feel that for the price I could not have spent twice as much and got a better air gun, and it would cost 4X this much for a better performing "gas Spring" gun!! My gun loves Beeman Kodiak's and H&N Barracuda Match and shoots pretty good with Crow Magnums and H&N Barracuda Hunter Extremes but the first two are excellent!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2014-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After barrel break in about 1,000 shots. It's a great shooter at 20 yds one ragged hole the group opens up slightly at 33 yds. And I killed a squirrel at 40 yds.
      Things I would have changed:I had to replace the base plate it became lose and the screws striped. And now the scope is bad. To Focus at 30 yds I have to set the AO on 75 yds and maxed out at 50 yds. Also poi shifts after adjusting power ring or AO. And had to replace it also. The trigger is stiff a few times I checked to see if it was off safety. But after you learn where it breaks it's shootsble.
      What others should know:My rifle really likes crossman premier hollowpoint 14.3 gr. By far the best shooting pellet I've tried.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is the second time I am writing something about this rifle. The more I shoot it, the more I like it. It is really a great gun. I can hit a 1" target dot consistently shooting offhand at 10-15 yards using the package scope. I am more satisfied and impressed with this rifle every time I shoot it.
      Things I would have changed:A better trigger.
      What others should know:So far, fingers crossed, it's the cat's meow.
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top