Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

    Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
    Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
    What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Jessica from USA on 2014-02-03 20:00:27

    Things I liked:this gun was very accurate and had a lot of power and pryamids return policy and super friendly customer service. with that being said...
    Things I would have changed:SAFTEY TRIGGER
    What others should know:the first one of these lasted about 750 sots or so then the trigger would not engage. after a few re-cocks trying to get it to engage it went off all on its own and shot through my garage ceiling thankfully I have 2 layers of shingles. a return and the same gun gave me the same probs this time in about 250 shots. I have 3 small kids under 10 that all enjoy shooting this non acceptable and very dangerous. I have returned that one also , going to get a hatsan 125 sniper this time around....BUYER BEWARE!!!!
    Sort by:
    • 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:No complaints about the rifle. Shoots 3 shot groups the size of a dime at 35 yards. Like the stock, was skeptical at first. Has a lot of knock down power.Great for grey squirrels.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is a piece of junk! Don't waist your time with it. Even the salesman will tell you this.Trigger is a harder pull than I would like, but that's a personal preference thing.
      What others should know:For the price, I think it is hard to beat. Enjoy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jake from USA on 2014-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gas piston rifles are fun to shoot and this one in particular has a lot going for it. I bought the octane in .22 caliber. The break action is smooth but does require some strength. Then again you are sending lead pellets down range at 920fps. The trigger action is crisp, the safety does its job, the scope is adequate (but does seem to drift to the left a little) and has clear glass with no noticeable blurriness, and the rifle is accurate. After sighting in the scope the second time today I put 11 consecutive bulls eyes at 25 yards (2" bulls eye). It is a large rifle but with my frame (over 6') I found the stock to be a good fit. The price point is excellent as well. Your mileage may vary but I'd certainly buy another.
      Things I would have changed:It does not come with a sling which a rifle this heavy should have nor does it have sling swivels. I bought a sling that slips over the stock and barrel at extra cost and it seems up to the task. As others have mentioned the rifle should have a hood for the front sight to protect from damage when traversing woodlands. I've seen clamp on units for other rifles and will look for something similar for this rifle.
      What others should know:I fired H&N Baracuda match @21.14 grains and Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum @14.3 grains. The Crosman shot a group as tight as the H&N which says the limfac is the shooter, not the pellet (no surprises there for me!). Unless you're a really good shot you probably won't see enough of a difference to justify the higher priced pellets. One of the scope mount bolts that attach the scope to the rail galled when tightened. I was able to secure it with Loctite blue and it has held so far. I check it periodically when firing just to make sure it is snug. I recommend the 10 shot test by Pyramid - that way you know you don't have a doa and PA provided the chrony results. From others I hear that if you need to replace the breach seal try your fav hardware store for Danco o-rings (#83). I've bought them but haven't swapped it out yet.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2014-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate
      Things I would have changed:Better quality
      What others should know:I bought this for my son as a Christmas present and within a few months it broke. Of course it cost me to send it back and they required the receipt which Pyramyd was kind enough to provide a copy since I couldn't find the original. The repair receipt said the trigger broke. Not real pleased with the several Umarex air guns I have had.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By barry from USA on 2014-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight of which it is heavy, the quietness of it,the accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:You have to clean the bore first real good, the first shot the gun made a noise like a 22L, it sounded like a real gun going off, so be prepared for that sound,after a shot or two it will be very quiet. I tried different pellets of which a few fell out as I was locking the barrel after cocking it, I use RWS pellets which have a wide skirt as to not fall out of the breech.The scope I don't care for I replaced it. It is very accurate makes nice round holes in paper targets with flat head pellets...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brent from USA on 2014-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and feel! Nitro piston, It's a powerhouse! Great shooter. Backyard friendly. Gets the job done. Outstanding value in a nitro piston magnum rifle! I done a lot of research and review reading before pulling the trigger..... The 3 year warranty was a major plus. Best bang for the buck!! Buy it!
      Things I would have changed:Front sight... The fiber optic is brittle and mine has already broke.... it needs a hood bad. -1 point. I put the scope on it so it really not a issue now. The scope is ok at best. That's something you'll want to upgrade as this rifle deserves a nicer optic. Add something to put a sling on it.
      What others should know:This is not a kid's gun! This gun does produce some recoil... Not bad though. Takes some effort to cock it, so make sure you don't let it get away from you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power for hunting small game, I like the heftiness of this rifle. The weight seems to absorb any kick this rifle has.
      Things I would have changed:Away with the scope and add a good cleaning kit.
      What others should know:Do not fret over the weight of this rifle, you will get used to it.. The accuracy, power and reasonable cost make it a 5 star rifle for me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ben from USA on 2014-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight is awesome, the most solid break barrel I have held. Scope is better than expected for a low $200 gun. Thing hits hard even in .177, my Gamo big cat 1250 would dispatch squirrels just fine in one shot but the umarex straight up knocks them down just by the concussion. Penetration is insane also and once you learn how to hold it and get use to the trigger you'll have penny size groups at 25yrds no problem. Would most definitely buy this gun again. Bye bye squirrels, rabbits, and woodchucks :D
      Things I would have changed:Wish it had front rails for a bipod.
      What others should know:The octane is LOUD out of the box, (thought my neighbors were gonna call the cops) at least in .177. I was concerned at first but within 5 shots the dieseling stopped and it quieted right out! Remember to tighten all your screws and allens. Order a breach seal tune kit as soon as you get this gun as the breach seal is completely flat and needs to be replaced. Waiting for mine in the mail, hoping to see an 80-100fps increase with the kit. Would not doubt this gun will shoot 21+ ft/lbs after tune
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2014-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seemed to be well built and liked the pistol grip. PA is a dream to work with and same more companies do not have the same mind set about returns, or anything else on their web page.
      Things I would have changed:Weight, synthetic stocks make the gun weigh more than with a wood stock or the ones I have handled. Trigger needs more adjustments.
      What others should know:Had to send it back on day 3 after less than 100 shots. Cocking would not lock up. Got me another Diana... Panther 31 Pro Compact Air Rifle and love this rifle even if it is a little heavy, but first 22 I have owned.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edwin from USA on 2014-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle was everything the sales person said it was. No high pressure sales, just his recommendation for starting out with an Umarex gas piston magnum air rifle. I still can't understand how an air rifle can shoot this great right out of the box. I have a springer air rifle and it took a long time to break in and I don't think it will ever compare to this rifle. While at my gun club I overheard other air riflemen complaining about the scopes that came with their air rifles. They were very impressed with the scope that came on my Umarex Octane. If you really want to be happy with you next air rifle purchase, call or chat with someone from Pyramid Air. I would never have even considered this rifle if it weren't for the gentleman who suggested it. I had never even heard of Umarex before.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see the rifle come with a case.
      What others should know:Talk to someone who sells more than only a few different brands. The big box stores don't have experts when it comes air rifles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bennie from USA on 2014-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The design is in sync with the new look of rifles (air and high powered). The velocity. The knock down power. I have had a RWS Diana 34 for several years and am very happy with it. This Umarex compares well to that rifle. Ease of operation.
      Things I would have changed:Do not let the silencer interfere with cocking the rifle. Even the owners manual cautions you about the front sight and silencer. It is still a little loud if you want to shoot it in the back yard and you have picky neighbors.
      What others should know:I just received this rifle today, sighted it in at 25 yards and am very impressed with its performance. If you want a fun rifle for target shooting and hunting small game, then you cannot go wrong for the price. If you want it for anything else, then you may want to look at a rifle with a larger caliber and more power.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2014-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, accurate, stylish
      Things I would have changed:Scope not suitable for an air rifle. Who needs a 3-9 power with parallax adjustment to 1,000 yds when shooting at less than 50 yds?! I mounted an old Leupold 4 power and the gun's bad jolt doesn't knock it out of line. It's a bear to cock when new. I had to break it over my knee to get the cocking started!
      What others should know:I like the Diablo 26 gram pellets. Very accurate although the massive weight brings the ft/sec down a bit. But they hit harder up to 200 feet. Groundhogs at 150 feet are in serious jeopardy!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Damian from USA on 2014-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its a great rifle... great power!!!
      Things I would have changed:its a little bit heavy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a powerful accurate airgun for a great price. The open site is a nice feature and works well.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice of it was a little lighter. Scope is adequate but mildot scope would have been nicer.
      What others should know:Change the o-ring as it gets flattened by the warning card (#9 o-ring at your local hardware store). Also be sure to loktite the screws as they were not all done by the factory.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy, sure feel; xlnt shooter, no qualifications there; EXTREMELY Hard Hitting for a .177"-Caliber rifle, even harder hitting than my Air Arms 510S FAC Superlite custom made English rifle, which does 1168FPS average over 10 shots through the Pyramyd Air Service Dept's chronograph, after break-in it's also more than 1200FPS on my club's certified (CHP and POA approved) chronograph with Crosman Premiere 10.5gr 177"-pellets, from the 1250-count Big Box...which this gun loves to death! A bit hard to cock, but then the power it has demands some strength anyway. Thee reverse-design gas piston driver succeeds in its objectives of calming down the recoil of shots; the piston is stronger than any of my Crosman rifles other than my two Marauders, a 22-Cal pistol, and a .25"-Caliber rifle which are PCP anyway, so they really don't count. Trigger is GREAT, and all the complainers heed to re-think what they wrote. I adjusted mine 1/2 clockwise turn on the adjustment tool=pull now = 2.5-lbs.
      Things I would have changed:Some how improve the stock quality, it's simply too austere for such a high quality rifle; I mean you look at it, and think this: "Man, that looks cheapo!" Really now Umarex, we know you spent a ton of R&D on this rifle, but paalllleeeezzzee give us a stock that looks better than this one does! I also have a Benjamin .177"-Cal signature NPS direct from Crosman factory outlet, and that rifle also has a synthetic stock, but looks 10X more professional than the Umarex Octane's stock. No.2; make the stock Picatinny rail easier to REMOVE!! It took me a careful 20 minutes to finally drive it off the Umarex rails with a padded large shot-peened wedge, and my best carpenter's hammer. Some of us want to run better optics than the OEM mount provides for, you understand? I mounted a BSA Huntsman 30mm RBG laser DOT scope on BKL Dovetail to Weaver 1" forged alloy riser mounts, and the gun loves it! In 20 mins, WITHOUT cleaning the barrel a stitch, I installed the BSA scope, sighted it-ready!
      What others should know:Don't believe the "trigger haters" here, it's a fantastic rifle all-steel trigger assembly, easily adjustable to your liking! Be prepared for the air gun "shock of your life" first time you shoot the thing, it hits SOOOOO HARD it's almost scary, Hah! I used a Gamo pellet trap target, the one with the heavy steel back plate/rear door (replaceable), and after 10 shots the Octane almost put holes in the plate to where I had to replace it before continuing! Sights work great, you don't have to replace or add anything sight-wise, just use the standard Fiber Optic Sights and be happy. For the $$$, this if THE ONE TO BUY! Shoots so dang hard, if you use alloy pellets you're NUTZ! The scope is OK, but forgettable...need a scope? Try my favorite "Hawke Eclipse 30" 4 x 24 x 50mm job, and get shocked again! Great value; the BEST shooter with gas piston that exists today; buy it, don't think twice just do it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Patrick from USA on 2014-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been shooting air rifles since 1960. I have had a lot of them. This Umarex Octane is by far the best performing air rifle I have ever used. I was nervous when I saw it is made in China, but when I started sighting it in with the sights (not the scope), I could see that it is a well made product. All the reviews I have read refer to the trigger and safety not being up to the task. In my case that is nonsense, the trigger on this air rifle is wonderful and the safety is VERY convenient. It took me about 20 shots to get it "dead nuts" and it has held its own ever since. I haven't used the scope yet but I looked at it and it seems to be a good one. It is a very solid rifle and is a bit on the heavy side but that's the way I like em. You have to be fairly strong to cock the rifle but I have no problem with it. Overall, it's as good a rifle as you can get in this category. Pyramyd gave it the 10 shot check before sending it to me and it came with a chronograph readout.
      Things I would have changed:The front sight red plastic piece should be glued in a little better
      What others should know:Buy this rifle if you can afford it. You won't be sorry. It is extremely hard hitting and shoots well over 1000 fps. It's accurate as any I have ever shot, shoots well and pyramid air is very helpful.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bosco from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ok so I gotta speak on Mr. Octane as I call him, anyway this gun is really powerful and deadly accurate especially with my 4x16x40 Centerpoint scope, Rodents, or Game don't stand a chance my friend.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing great weight and balance.
      What others should know:This gun is rated at 1400fps with alloy, I don't recommend that, shoot the Crow Mags 8.80. You can't go wrong getting the .177, with the 10.65 Baracuda Match FPS still in the high 890, producing over 20 foot pounds of energy. Keep the .22's I still get the same results with the heavy grains in this awesome gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good value, especially the scope and accuracy with .22 cal JSB Diabolo Jumbo 18.13 grain pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger could use some refinement.
      What others should know:It is suggested the bore be cleaned before firing the rifle. The noise level is a more than anticipated, in comparison to a Benj. Marauder with the shrouded barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate, not as powerful as advertised but still packs a punch.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing for this price range.
      What others should know:Very accurate right out of the box. I have over 1000 pellets through this rifle and no problems. Loves JSB 18 grain heavies, shoots well out to 40 yards, haven't taken it past that yet. Pyramyd Air is a pleasure to do business with,I will not shop anywhere else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rick from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy was the best I've ever had with iron sights fresh out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:I would use a lighter metal but then it would be more expensive so....
      What others should know:get both the 177 and the 22 and then sell all your other rifles because you wont need them anymore.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Waldron from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Consistency with POI. With good to excellent grouping you can get excellent accuracy repeatedly. Rail system allows mounts that don't slip with the recoil.
      Things I would have changed:Ship with out the scope to make the 'package' less expensive. Allow the buyer to pick the optic they want for their planned use.
      What others should know:Excellent rifle. I'd buy it again. It is a little longer than most rifles and the cocking is harder. Mine is a .177 and the RWS superdomes seem to be the most consistent grouping pellets. Consider a better scope to get the max out of the rifle. I went with a Hawke 4x12 and couldn't be happier.
    • 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top