Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Ken from USA on 2015-04-03 18:12:52

Things I liked:It certainly has enough power. I suspect that it is capable of good accuracy when working properly. The scope works well (if you get one that has been properly assembled). Pyramid Air has been very helpful getting quality control issues resolved. This rather negative product review has nothing to do with Pyramid Air's customer service. They've been very helpful.
Things I would have changed:Obviously, UMAREX' quality control is out to lunch. This is also true of their customer service. It has a very heavy trigger pull, it's extremely long and heavy, and I don't like the fiber optic sights. I could live with these shortcomings if the rifle worked as it should.
What others should know:The first Octane rifle I received had the front sight mounted slanting about 5 degrees to the right. It was quite obvious. I have no idea how this got through UMAREX quality control checks. I informed Pyramid Air of the problem and they quickly sent me another gun. Unfortunately, the scope on the second gun had an objective lens that was loose (it was so bad that it rattled when I picked it up). Luckily, Pyramid Air stepped in and contacted UMAREX on my behalf. UMAREX sent me a new scope the next day. Now I'm having "accuracy" problems. The rifle will shoot very well for a few shots, then shots will go unpredictably wild. By "wild".... I don't mean a "flyer".... I mean a foot to a foot and a half at 45 feet range! I think this might be caused by a "baffle strike" in the SilencAir tube. Whatever the cause of this problem, I can get no assistance or help from UMAREX. All get is a "full mailbox" message from their warranty/repair number
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By David from USA on 2015-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The power of this air gun is superb. With my Benjamin NP2 I could not break El dorado rum bottle at 30 meters. With this gun they have absolutely no chance of surviving at 60 meters. Excellent. Great value for money even with the changes that I will make.
    Things I would have changed:The gun has a bit of barrel droop which I seem to have compensated for with a small shim on the mount. The trigger is so heavy a pull that it is difficult. I think a different trigger has to be purchased and fitted.
    What others should know:Very impressive gun but somewhat heavy to carry and the pull strength to cock the gun means that it is not for the weak. Based on the reviews I did not even mount the scope that comes with it and instead used a rather better one. Great accuracy when I can control the strength of trigger pull
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By michael from USA on 2015-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For the money a very nice rifle. This is my first venture into adult airguns. It took about 50 rounds to settle in and is now shooting dime sized groups at 20 yards. So far the scope is holding zero but time will tell how long that lasts. The scope is quite nice for a packaged scope, very clear even in low light. Seems to be a good value package for the money.
    Things I would have changed:A little louder than I hoped but not to bad with lead. More recoil than I expected from an airgun, I would say similar or even a bit more than a 22lr.
    What others should know:This is a big airgun it is very long and a bit loud, after break in its a bit better but after a quick cleaning it took about 50 rounds to settle down.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Ken from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It certainly has enough power. I suspect that it is capable of good accuracy when working properly. The scope works well (if you get one that has been properly assembled). Pyramid Air has been very helpful getting quality control issues resolved. This rather negative product review has nothing to do with Pyramid Air's customer service. They've been very helpful.
    Things I would have changed:Obviously, UMAREX' quality control is out to lunch. This is also true of their customer service. It has a very heavy trigger pull, it's extremely long and heavy, and I don't like the fiber optic sights. I could live with these shortcomings if the rifle worked as it should.
    What others should know:The first Octane rifle I received had the front sight mounted slanting about 5 degrees to the right. It was quite obvious. I have no idea how this got through UMAREX quality control checks. I informed Pyramid Air of the problem and they quickly sent me another gun. Unfortunately, the scope on the second gun had an objective lens that was loose (it was so bad that it rattled when I picked it up). Luckily, Pyramid Air stepped in and contacted UMAREX on my behalf. UMAREX sent me a new scope the next day. Now I'm having "accuracy" problems. The rifle will shoot very well for a few shots, then shots will go unpredictably wild. By "wild".... I don't mean a "flyer".... I mean a foot to a foot and a half at 45 feet range! I think this might be caused by a "baffle strike" in the SilencAir tube. Whatever the cause of this problem, I can get no assistance or help from UMAREX. All get is a "full mailbox" message from their warranty/repair number
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By james from USA on 2015-04-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my first airgun since my Crossman 45 years ago so I really don't have a way of comparing it to a better or worse airgun. But, I am thoroughly impressed with what this gun will do using JSB EXACT jumbo heavy Diablo 18.13gr pellets. I have a small range set up at 95 feet and I shoot wine bottle corks and bottle caps with open sights. I haven't mounted the scope because I believe it would remove the challenge. Aim Small-Miss Small. If I miss, it's ALL me. There is no change in accuracy between shots. I shoot wasps that land in the grass in the backyard at 10-75 feet away. The gun is quieter than my suppressed 22cal Ruger but I have no other experience with which to compare the sound. I absolutely love this gun and at some point will get a premium air gun. Although no other gun could possibly be more accurate than this one. I shoot either a 22cal, AR-15, or 9mm at an indoor range a few times a week and would only get a higher quality air gun to get a trigger closer to my rifles.
    Things I would have changed:What would be the most help would be the ability to add a package of extra breech seals,a recommended bore cleaner, pellet gun oil and the air chamber lube. It said in the manual to use a certain oil on some parts.......WELL INCLUDE THE OIL! Also several people commented the breech seals are flat and leak when you first get the rifle. Include more seals or ship it without the seal in place but in a lubricated bag for the gunner to install.
    What others should know:The first Octane I received was horrible, terrible, very frustrating. I shot 1200+ rounds as many recommended and rifle only got worse and finally accuracy went from 12" to 12'. Something broke. A seal was probably cut on the piston customer service said. Pyramyd said it's under the three year warranty and send it back to Umarex. It took a few weeks to shoot 1200+ rounds so I figured this was how it goes. But, I did (nicely) point out the gun wasn't right from first shot to finally breaking all together. Pyramyd agreed and said would replace it with another one. I bought the ten for $10 to be sure I didn't get a bad one again and chamber oil as manual said I needed. Boy am I glad I didn't give up on airguns. Every plastic cap, small box, small bottle, small anything has become a target on my range. I constantly say out loud "that's impossible" when I pick out something I've shot off the rack and is sitting on the ground among several items that I can barely see and put a hole in it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By chuck from USA on 2015-03-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is the most accurate air rifle that I own. As a matter of fact I am going to sell my other four air rifles as soon as I can. There is only two drawbacks to it and they are (1) It's very heavy and (2) the trigger is lousy. I have made the mod to the trigger adjustment screw end and that's not made a whole lot of difference. However, it is very accurate and that's what counts the most. Mine is a .22 and it really likes the 18 plus pellets. The best being the Baracuda Hunter 18.21gr followed by the Crow Magnum 18.21gr and the JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy Diabolo 18.13gr. All three are excellent pellets
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see this gun a couple of pounds lighter and the front sight with a shroud and the trigger fixed. Also the same problem with most air rifles IT NEEDS SWIVELS so that we can carry it in the field.
    What others should know:If you buy this one you will be very satisfied and like me, you will be looking to sell all that other stuff in the cabinet, that looks good but just doesn't perform. Get one you will not regret it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By bill from USA on 2015-03-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:this gun feels so more refined than my gamo hunter extreme. Easier cocking,accurate quiet I'm getting 28-29 FPE on my chrony using RWS superdome 14.5gr I have a scale so get exact pellet weights 14.5gr traveling at 941fps=28fpe
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is a little heavy other than that really nothing major except the front fiber optic stand broke I replaced it but it should be enclosed and protected
    What others should know:replaced the breach seal It gave me another 45-50 fps
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By JimPysht from USA on 2015-03-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice Feel, Sound, and really hefty. Scope APPEARS impressive. "Appears" being the key word.
    Things I would have changed:Throw away that 3-9 X 40 AO scope.
    What others should know:Took me a Replacement Pkg (thanks to Pyramyd - no thanks to UmaRex)to discover (>~ 2000 shots, firm mounts & screws, 6 ammos, and every "Hold" imaginable)that THAT scope is (seemingly) internally moving all over the place. If "star-ratings" were available here, I would give a 5-star for the rifle - and a "0" for the scope (and UmaRex tech-help).
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Ray from USA on 2015-03-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:The quietest .22 pellet rifle I have ever shot.The sound dampner works incredible well,very backyard friendly.Good accuracy and for the price you cant beat it!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steven from USA on 2015-02-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The gun feels solid and has a good weight. The included scope is fantastic and the gun was sighted in and drilling .20 inch groups at 65 feet with Crossman Premier Hollow Points. Power...Did I mention power? I stapled my targets to a 3/4inch pine board and only after shooting did I realize it was going though the board like it was paper. Fantastic gun for both the performance, cost, and power. Highly recommend.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice if the stock came with sling mounts.
    What others should know:This is a full sized gun with a moderate level of cocking. This is not a child's gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-02-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything Is Good for most part Might be a little heavy for some but I think the weight helps to be more accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Would try to make it Quieter, Would go with raised scope rings to be able to use the open sights or scope. Prefer open sights at this time.
    What others should know:Does take a little to break open the barrel
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jerry from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The looks, ease of cocking and still a lot of power and speed. Handles great and is very accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Balance, the rifle is front heavy and is not as quite as I would like.
    What others should know:A little finicky with different ammo. Try different kinds until your rifle adjusts
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By larry from USA on 2015-02-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A very well built hard hitting gun. Smooth and easy to cock. After about 200 rounds it is proving quite accurate hitting penny's at exactly 24 yards indoor range. It seems to like crosman premiers and h&n 15.1 copper.my previous purchase was a Hatsan 125 springer it was slightly more powerful but the spring jammed 4 days after the one year WARRENTY ended. This has 3 year, hopefully I won't need it.
    Things I would have changed:Not much of anything. Just remember to tighten all screws regularly during break in period.
    What others should know:My son in law also has same gun and we enjoy challenging each other. Heavier pellets are much more accurate than light. Stay at 14.5 or heavier. Taken two crows so far hoping go rabit hunting soon.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2015-02-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like this air gun. You will need to Loctite everything, but I'm finding that pretty much true with all air guns. The scope is great. Also, clean the barrel as they are protected from corrosion.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice to have a sling mounts.
    What others should know:After warranty service from Umarex is not good. I has a site reticle shift and they sent me an old beat up scope with an eyepiece o-ring literally hanging out. Second scope was a used RWS scope 4x32AO and not the 3-9X40 that came with the gun. I got disgusted and purchased a Centerpoint scope and am happy with that.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2015-01-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power, Accuracy and Price
    Things I would have changed:Nada
    What others should know:This is my second review for this rifle after having it for a year, and several thousand pellets through it. The trigger never really smoothed out, but I have become accustomed to it. It was (and still is) very accurate out of box. It loves the JSB 18 grain heavies and packs a punch with them. However, I was in the middle of a raccoon vs. my flock of over 100 chickens war when I ran out of the jsb pellets. Not surprisingly nobody carries them locally, so i went to the local superstore and purchased crosman premiere hp, and I was very pleasantly surprised that this gun shoots those better than the jsb, and throws them hard enough to anchor the raccoons where they are shot. I have had to get the ladder out twice to retrieve dead coons. I bench rested this rifle and was shooting at 30 yards and the holes on paper were touching with a few flyers out of the black, which i will gladly blame on crosman inconsistencies with their tin pellets. I wilol be buying brown box premiers from now on!!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2015-01-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have never owned or shot a modern pellet rifle. My only comparison is a crossman 10 pump bb gun. I'm replacing my dad's. you can watch the BB arc through the air, shooting like an old cannon "up 10 more degrees" I wanted something that would takeout pigeons and be quite. a .22 sub sonic should work...HOLLY CRAP! this thing blows through 1/2" ply! I'm afraid that the pigeon feathers will explode across the 3 yards next to me! Can't wait to find out.
    Things I would have changed:Since I am new to airguns I would change nothing right now. The scope is fine and as other said, you can't do better under $200. An option to buy with or w/o scope would be good.
    What others should know:They stopped putting a warning tag in the breach that ruined the o-ring. I was VERY worried for the first 3 weeks shooting Beeman Kodiak Xheavy 21.14 gr. I could not group under 3" @ 20 yds. After reading pellet reviews I tried crossman premier H-point. Now grouping 1/2" ragged holes.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brian from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The power ! this thing is far more powerful than the np2 trail ,when it hits a crow at 40-50 yds. You really hear a pop lol . Been a lot of fun so far , and pyramid is most helpful from shipping questions to finding xtra "o"rings which they even sent me a few when I inquired. Thanks Pyramyd for great products and support for them.
    Things I would have changed:The stock like everyone else (its ugly) but so is a glock ! Not trying to compare by any means but just saying it could look better to par with performance.
    What others should know:Use locktite on scope rings or it will relocate for you. Great buy ,I'm very impressed and shooting around 35 yrs now the best pellet gun I've laid hands on.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:very powerful,after sighting it is very accurate. I did not use the scope in box but love the gun. I have shot about 500 rounds through it a d it is just mean,would add photo of my set up but dont know how.
    Things I would have changed:I would not change a thing,just love it
    What others should know:I agree with the need for a sling and made mounts for a sling on my rifle. Works very well.Thanx umarex for the gr8 gun
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dennis from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun is really accurate. Plenty of power and the scope is pretty good.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice if it was a little lighter. Other than that,nothing I see needs a redo. So far it has exceeded my expectations great gun.
    What others should know:When I received the gun I found that the scope was defective. I called umarex they asked me to return the scope. Shortly they sent me a new scope. A upgraded model from the original. You can not best that for service.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By chris from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the feel of the rifle using it around the yard for squirrels it's brutal, the scope at 25 yards and the ability to see and get an nice bead on thoses rodents is awesome. I was expecting a plinker but instead got a "CRACK" pretty cool sounds like a 22 short when fired. Sure beats my daisey suppressor more for show
    Things I would have changed:Maybe get it a little lighter in weight. I also had a problem with the safety it broke quickly (2 days after owning it) and yes my misfired also in the house and blew a hole in living room ceiling. I am extra carefull with this new rifle because I am a bit gun shy so to speak I am afraid the safety may break again. The new gun has a few hundred round through it so far so good. I was able to send the original gun back with good customer service results. New gun was sent quickly.
    What others should know:A good fun rifle for the price
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By JimPysht from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything. This sucker weighs as much as the M-14 I shot in Boot Camp. The most impressive part is the Picattiny rail, dbl-screw rings, and a 3-9 40mm AO scope.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Please don't change a thing.
    What others should know:After my travails w/ Gamo - mainly the Bone Collector - I appreciate how fine this .22 "Octane", and my .17 "Fuel" are. Now I can get on w/ my (probably) endless search for the Ultimate Pellet.
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top