Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

Things I liked:There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!
Things I would have changed:At that price? Nothing.
What others should know:Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By loren from USA on 2015-06-14 10:40:06

Things I liked:After purchasing 3 from different sellers and sending all three back for manufacturing defects... I have nothing good to say about this product... First rifle had a bent barrel and a bad RAM seal, second rifle had a bent barrel worse than the first and a defective safety, 3rd rifle showed up with the front fiber sight missing, a blown out breach seal even though I had not shot the gun yet, and the barrel was bored off center... FedEx this one back to pyramid air over a week ago, received no tracking number have yet to even receive an email confirming they received my shipment... Not a happy customer at the moment.
Things I would have changed:Everything.. Avoid this product
What others should know:Spend three to four hundred dollars on a real air rifle and you will be happy
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Craig from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I got this rifle in .22 and it arrived on time as scheduled. Rifle appears rock solid and the scope was easy to install with the included Weaver scope rings. This is a very powerful air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:With an air gun of this quality, I think a few things could set this rifle apart. Sling mounts, small packs of test pellets with cleaning pellets would all be nice additions.
    What others should know:First 5-10 shots are very loud akin to a 22LR. After these first shots, the rifle gets a LOT quieter. Scope was relatively easy to sight....out of the box stabilize the rifle with the crosshairs on target and fire 5 shots, then adjust the scope settings so that crosshairs are now centered on your grouping. Keep doing this until bullseye is achieved. I did this at 20 yds. My rifle loves the CHWP pellets....cheap and accurate
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Craig from USA on 2015-07-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle was rock solid out of the box. Checked all screws which were all tight and easily installed the scope with provided Weaver scope rings and Picatinny rail. The scope was relative easy to sight in and I see nothing wrong with the trigger. My rifle seem to love the Crossman Premier HPs (6.47 at Wally world)
    Things I would have changed:I would add a sling or at least rings for a sling as this rifle is just under 10 lbs and could be a load in the field. Umarex should also include a sampler pack of pellets including some clean out pellets...would be shipped and ready to shoot and would allow consumers to test a pellet of their choosing.
    What others should know:The first 5 shots are rather loud....I shot mine and immediately looked around to see if neighbors or police were curious in the neighborhood. After these gun gets much quieter and the cocking gets a bit easier also.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Gabriel from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:seems to be very well made. scope is very good for this rifle.
    Things I would have changed:to heavy. cocking is very hard.
    What others should know:al in all I thing this is an excellent gun
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2015-07-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lovely Accuracy, like it should be. Got this to replace a Beeman Kodiak X2 whose accuracy was frustrating me. Wow nice open sights. But my eyes these days need optics. Scope turrets hand adjustable, yes! This rifle hits hard! looks like it embedded halfway into 2x6 backdrop. Blasted thru a sun baked pork rib bone no problem. Much less gyrating in recoil than that Beeman Kodiak Steel Springer. Love the thumbhole stock.
    Things I would have changed:Would like the safety to be push-away from trigger to be off position. Seems bass-ackwards the way they have it. But certainly not a deal breaker. The instructions warn you not to grab the barrel on the silencer in order to cock it as could damange the silencer. Only problem is this leaves less barrel length for leverage, and makes for a nice hefty cocking force. It works your lats and abs cocking this rifle. Probably get easier over time, but not by much I imagine.
    What others should know:Somebody else wrote a little front-end heavy, and yeah... I could see why they said that. Definitely is a lil bit once the scope is on. People complaining about slings... just get a Kifaru Gun-bearer for your pack when you go in the field. Again, the accuracy... literally right out of the box, has me very excited. And the power this thing has is exciting! Can't wait to see what it does to feathers and fur!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2015-07-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Firstly I must tell you that I read Tom Gaylord's review of this rifle and was suitably impressed. The Reaxis gas piston [reversed] was a novel idea and worth looking into. Regretfully, after receiving it via FedEx, I only fired 6 pellets [H&N FTT] through it. Cocking this rifle horrified me; the grinding sounds of sand on metal as I cocked the Reaxis piston sounded like someone had put a hand full of sand in the piston. Umarex QC? I don't know. I never did get the opportunity to try the scope, which got rave reviews as well. Using the open sights at a range of 25meters, I was unable to lower the sights sufficiently to even come close to a group, because I had to mash my cheekbone down hard on the stock to even try to align the Tru-glo dots. It appeared like the combing of the stock was inline with the barrel and therefore too high to use the open-sights.
    Things I would have changed:I'd have liked to see a thumbhole stock similar to the Benjamin NPXL or the Hatsan 125TH stock. Both very comfortable to shoot. As for the grinding problem, I think I would have liked to have $20.00 extra [20 for 20], so that Pyramyd Air might find out the cause before it was sent to me, then returned for credit.
    What others should know:Ergonomics:The applied science of equipment design intended to reduce operator fatigue and discomfort. The first and most important criteria in manufacturing, be it a motorcycle, a car, a recliner chair or an air rifle. If you can't get past the comfort stage, the rest is immaterial. Looking over the rifle before I even cocked it the first time, I was impressed with the quality of manufacture, but somewhere between the end of the assembly line, and it's arrival at my place, there was an empty hole where the FINAL INSPECTION should have been. No blame intended here because I may have just got a rifle that was missed, but If I'd have cocked this near my wife, she would have been looking for the fingernails and the chalkboard!!! I'm sorry; really sorry, because I did look forward to this rifle after reading B.B.Pelletier's review. Instead, I purchased my third Hatsan 125 Black [this time in .25 cal].
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2015-06-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The power and accuracy, overall design, gas piston, quiet...... .22
    Things I would have changed:Lighten the cocking
    What others should know:This is a substantial heavy rifle.. . . .By no means a toy. Try different pellets to find the one that works best for you and your rifle. PREDATOR POLYMAG is my choice for accuracy and knockdown power. PA is a one stop shop for all of my air gun needs...secure shipping and easy ordering.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Ben from USA on 2015-06-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I bought mine in .22 and it has plenty of power, easy enough to break open and load and the gun was super accurate with the open sights if you know how to use them. The gas piston is smooth but you do feel a kick still.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control, I sent back 2 of these and gave up. The first one the scope was damaged out of the box, the second one the scope would max out the windage before zeroing in, tried moving mounts and different mounts and nothing changed.
    What others should know:Despite the issue with the scope the gun was superb in out of the box accuracy, people will complain about these sights but I had mine sighted in at 30 yards to hit just above the sights so I could see what I was shooting. Mine really liked the H&N Baracuda Match with 5.52 head, open sights 5 shot group with a quarter covering the group.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By kevin from USA on 2015-06-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Build quality is great. solid and heavy, which leads to stability. Value for the performance is very good. The scope seems to be well built and I would call a 3x9 AO with parallax adjustment overkill for a pellet rifle.
    Things I would have changed:I would like a hood over the front sight but alas, once you add the scope, you don't need the open sights. The cocking effort is much too large. I saw the video of a reviewer cocking from a sitting position, I have not been able to do that. I have to jack it while standing. It's a beast to cock.
    What others should know:Louder than expected for the first 10 shots. After 50 shots, it became a bit quieter DO NOT push a loose pad through the barrel from the breech as you could lose it in the noise suppressor. I got one pad stuck in the first chamber and it took 15 minutes of shaking and pushing back from the front to get it out again. Accuracy is good, about 3/4" from 25 yards from standing position using the scope. Never bench rested and fired, I expect better.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Scott from USA on 2015-06-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I find this to be a very good air rifle for the money. The scope it comes with is far better than the 3X9X40 that came with my Gamo Whisper Fusion Elite. Very powerful. With H&N Field Target Trophy 14.66gr very accurate. My Octane is .22 cal
    Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is the trigger pull I had to adjust mine from factory as it was hard to pull after my adjustment it is fine. And I would try to reduce the overall weight as it is quite heavy
    What others should know:I would not buy this for a younger shooter. Only because it does take some force to cock and it is heavy
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By loren from USA on 2015-06-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:After purchasing 3 from different sellers and sending all three back for manufacturing defects... I have nothing good to say about this product... First rifle had a bent barrel and a bad RAM seal, second rifle had a bent barrel worse than the first and a defective safety, 3rd rifle showed up with the front fiber sight missing, a blown out breach seal even though I had not shot the gun yet, and the barrel was bored off center... FedEx this one back to pyramid air over a week ago, received no tracking number have yet to even receive an email confirming they received my shipment... Not a happy customer at the moment.
    Things I would have changed:Everything.. Avoid this product
    What others should know:Spend three to four hundred dollars on a real air rifle and you will be happy
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ruben from USA on 2015-06-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:good potency
    Things I would have changed:the weight is heavy
    What others should know:the weight is very heavy for the rifle
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Leo from USA on 2015-05-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the shape of the shock. Very comfortable to shoot
    Things I would have changed:The scope is a POS. I thought the scope was moving. Here the cross hairs were canting when I changed the power.
    What others should know:I took the scope off. Couldn't get the gun sighted in The silencer was canted. Put a pipe wrench on it got it straightened out. With the rear sight all the way up, still shoots low at 25 yards. With a better scope this gun would be OK. Save your money, buy a Diana 350 Magnum. I love mine.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By frank from USA on 2015-04-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:ACCURATE and QUIET / the 2 most important needs for me.I got the .22 which I find has much better take-down power than a .17.You can take out small game without perfect shot location. I can only find the Crosman .22 HP pellets locally , but they work fine in this gun.
    Things I would have changed:Anything to lighten the weight if it wouldn`t affect the accuracy. Also reduce trigger pull. I think that this gun was made for a football linebacker not a weak old man like me.
    What others should know:This Rifle is HEAVY and HARD to cock..I use 2 hands,but that`s OK , I`m not a plinker but a sniper.It only takes 1 good shot.. The scope is good enough, no need to upgrade the scope. For the price , I`m happy with this gun. Umarex is paying better attention to detail...No more tags in the breech and the screws are loc-tightened.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By David from USA on 2015-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The power of this air gun is superb. With my Benjamin NP2 I could not break El dorado rum bottle at 30 meters. With this gun they have absolutely no chance of surviving at 60 meters. Excellent. Great value for money even with the changes that I will make.
    Things I would have changed:The gun has a bit of barrel droop which I seem to have compensated for with a small shim on the mount. The trigger is so heavy a pull that it is difficult. I think a different trigger has to be purchased and fitted.
    What others should know:Very impressive gun but somewhat heavy to carry and the pull strength to cock the gun means that it is not for the weak. Based on the reviews I did not even mount the scope that comes with it and instead used a rather better one. Great accuracy when I can control the strength of trigger pull
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By michael from USA on 2015-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For the money a very nice rifle. This is my first venture into adult airguns. It took about 50 rounds to settle in and is now shooting dime sized groups at 20 yards. So far the scope is holding zero but time will tell how long that lasts. The scope is quite nice for a packaged scope, very clear even in low light. Seems to be a good value package for the money.
    Things I would have changed:A little louder than I hoped but not to bad with lead. More recoil than I expected from an airgun, I would say similar or even a bit more than a 22lr.
    What others should know:This is a big airgun it is very long and a bit loud, after break in its a bit better but after a quick cleaning it took about 50 rounds to settle down.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Ken from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It certainly has enough power. I suspect that it is capable of good accuracy when working properly. The scope works well (if you get one that has been properly assembled). Pyramid Air has been very helpful getting quality control issues resolved. This rather negative product review has nothing to do with Pyramid Air's customer service. They've been very helpful.
    Things I would have changed:Obviously, UMAREX' quality control is out to lunch. This is also true of their customer service. It has a very heavy trigger pull, it's extremely long and heavy, and I don't like the fiber optic sights. I could live with these shortcomings if the rifle worked as it should.
    What others should know:The first Octane rifle I received had the front sight mounted slanting about 5 degrees to the right. It was quite obvious. I have no idea how this got through UMAREX quality control checks. I informed Pyramid Air of the problem and they quickly sent me another gun. Unfortunately, the scope on the second gun had an objective lens that was loose (it was so bad that it rattled when I picked it up). Luckily, Pyramid Air stepped in and contacted UMAREX on my behalf. UMAREX sent me a new scope the next day. Now I'm having "accuracy" problems. The rifle will shoot very well for a few shots, then shots will go unpredictably wild. By "wild".... I don't mean a "flyer".... I mean a foot to a foot and a half at 45 feet range! I think this might be caused by a "baffle strike" in the SilencAir tube. Whatever the cause of this problem, I can get no assistance or help from UMAREX. All get is a "full mailbox" message from their warranty/repair number
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By james from USA on 2015-04-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This is my first airgun since my Crossman 45 years ago so I really don't have a way of comparing it to a better or worse airgun. But, I am thoroughly impressed with what this gun will do using JSB EXACT jumbo heavy Diablo 18.13gr pellets. I have a small range set up at 95 feet and I shoot wine bottle corks and bottle caps with open sights. I haven't mounted the scope because I believe it would remove the challenge. Aim Small-Miss Small. If I miss, it's ALL me. There is no change in accuracy between shots. I shoot wasps that land in the grass in the backyard at 10-75 feet away. The gun is quieter than my suppressed 22cal Ruger but I have no other experience with which to compare the sound. I absolutely love this gun and at some point will get a premium air gun. Although no other gun could possibly be more accurate than this one. I shoot either a 22cal, AR-15, or 9mm at an indoor range a few times a week and would only get a higher quality air gun to get a trigger closer to my rifles.
    Things I would have changed:What would be the most help would be the ability to add a package of extra breech seals,a recommended bore cleaner, pellet gun oil and the air chamber lube. It said in the manual to use a certain oil on some parts.......WELL INCLUDE THE OIL! Also several people commented the breech seals are flat and leak when you first get the rifle. Include more seals or ship it without the seal in place but in a lubricated bag for the gunner to install.
    What others should know:The first Octane I received was horrible, terrible, very frustrating. I shot 1200+ rounds as many recommended and rifle only got worse and finally accuracy went from 12" to 12'. Something broke. A seal was probably cut on the piston customer service said. Pyramyd said it's under the three year warranty and send it back to Umarex. It took a few weeks to shoot 1200+ rounds so I figured this was how it goes. But, I did (nicely) point out the gun wasn't right from first shot to finally breaking all together. Pyramyd agreed and said would replace it with another one. I bought the ten for $10 to be sure I didn't get a bad one again and chamber oil as manual said I needed. Boy am I glad I didn't give up on airguns. Every plastic cap, small box, small bottle, small anything has become a target on my range. I constantly say out loud "that's impossible" when I pick out something I've shot off the rack and is sitting on the ground among several items that I can barely see and put a hole in it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By chuck from USA on 2015-03-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is the most accurate air rifle that I own. As a matter of fact I am going to sell my other four air rifles as soon as I can. There is only two drawbacks to it and they are (1) It's very heavy and (2) the trigger is lousy. I have made the mod to the trigger adjustment screw end and that's not made a whole lot of difference. However, it is very accurate and that's what counts the most. Mine is a .22 and it really likes the 18 plus pellets. The best being the Baracuda Hunter 18.21gr followed by the Crow Magnum 18.21gr and the JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy Diabolo 18.13gr. All three are excellent pellets
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see this gun a couple of pounds lighter and the front sight with a shroud and the trigger fixed. Also the same problem with most air rifles IT NEEDS SWIVELS so that we can carry it in the field.
    What others should know:If you buy this one you will be very satisfied and like me, you will be looking to sell all that other stuff in the cabinet, that looks good but just doesn't perform. Get one you will not regret it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By bill from USA on 2015-03-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:this gun feels so more refined than my gamo hunter extreme. Easier cocking,accurate quiet I'm getting 28-29 FPE on my chrony using RWS superdome 14.5gr I have a scale so get exact pellet weights 14.5gr traveling at 941fps=28fpe
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is a little heavy other than that really nothing major except the front fiber optic stand broke I replaced it but it should be enclosed and protected
    What others should know:replaced the breach seal It gave me another 45-50 fps
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By JimPysht from USA on 2015-03-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice Feel, Sound, and really hefty. Scope APPEARS impressive. "Appears" being the key word.
    Things I would have changed:Throw away that 3-9 X 40 AO scope.
    What others should know:Took me a Replacement Pkg (thanks to Pyramyd - no thanks to UmaRex)to discover (>~ 2000 shots, firm mounts & screws, 6 ammos, and every "Hold" imaginable)that THAT scope is (seemingly) internally moving all over the place. If "star-ratings" were available here, I would give a 5-star for the rifle - and a "0" for the scope (and UmaRex tech-help).
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top