Date: 24/5/2017 16:58
0

Umarex Octane Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alaska_Yeti from USA on 2013-08-04 20:41:39

Things I liked: There's been lots of nice surprises getting to know this rifle. I have several other air pistols, rifles and a good assortment of firearms for hunting and defense, but, needed something that would dispatch nuisance critters in a rural neighborhood quickly and quietly. Using that "Narrow Your Search:" tool on Pyramyd Air's web site is wonderful and the Umarex Octane was the ONLY rifle listed after using a search criteria of .22 cal, 3-medium loudness and a velocity of over 1200' fps. It looked like a great value under for $219, the pictures and description listed more features wanted for my purposes, (like peep sites, rifled break barrel and a composite stock), plus features considered a "luxury" for my needs but expected on rifles $600 and up. Kind of sounds too good to be true but it comes with a 3 year warranty and I knew the folks at Pyramyd Air would make it right if this thing wasn't "represented" truthfully. So, I added an assortment of .22 pellets to my "shopping cart", did a "check out" with PayPal that was so easy & painless it was scary. The confirmation email they sent gave me everything I needed to track my package with just a few clicks and it arrived exactly as estimated. I tried to slip outta work a little early to go play with my new toy but that didn't work out. My wife didn't express any sympathy or even feign a tiny bit of concern for my dilemma. What's up with that? I guess we'll see just how much I emotionally invest in her next order from Amazon, eh? The box everything came in was packed very well. Nothing damaged or scratched and the cats are still having "adventures" in the large box. There have been many nice surprises getting know this rifle. It feels solid, no rattles, the materials and craftsmanship are top shelf. Wasn't sure about the quality of the peep sites in the pictures but they're great. Fiber optic, three dot, two color, (red in the front, green in the back). The rear fine adjustment wheels for windage and elevation aren't sloppy and the clicks are firm with no play. Initially, I thought the front site could be a little flimsy but it's actually pretty solid. Granted, an iron site would hold up better in tall grass and thickets but a little extra care in the bush is well worth the superior target acquisition these things provide, I'm a fan. This rifle is accurate as well, pellets are surprisingly fast and hit the target really hard. So far, I've shot about 150 rounds of Gamo Hunter 15.43 gr. from my back deck at 50' and 93'. (can't get any longer distances in my yard), it was almost dead on out of the box and easily got it dialed-in in about 5 shots. Consistent bulls eye hits about the size of a nickel on these targets at 50 and 93 feet. The noise is minimal, I've asked my neighbors on ether side and nether heard our plinking. I haven't set up the chrony yet but this thing hits hard. The pellets completely penetrate 1/4" plywood and go deep into 3/4", (haven't tried 1/2" yet). Cocking the barrel takes effort but the stock has a nice feature. There's a "void" behind the pistol grip, kinda triangle shaped, and it's perfect for griping with your left hand while cocking with your right. Dunno if that was intentional when they designed it but it's handy and makes cocking much easier. It came with a scope and I "assumed" it was gonna be junk, but, I'm happy with everything like it is, without a scope it's perfect for my intended purpose. However, took the scope out of the box today and tinkered with it, (not mounted on the rifle), and the quality is much better than expected. The duplex reticle is a nice feature. The site picture is clear, sharp and surprisingly bright even in low light all the way to the outer limit. The rings are smooth and easy to bring views into focus at all powers. It feels solid and doesn't rattle anywhere. Basically, it looks and feels like a well made scope and appears to perform as well as any other scope I've got, (5 total), and paid much more for. Another nice surprise from Umarex.... I'll probably mount the scope someday, but, for now, the peep sites are working great!

Things I would have changed: At that price? Nothing.

What others should know: Best value on the planet on my opinion. Fund something better? Please let me know.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Kevin from USA on 2017-03-22 07:47:57

Things I liked: Rifle has good power. I was able to take out large ground hogs trying to dig under the house. Accuracy is good. Trigger is good. Silencer works good.

Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy but not sure how much can be done to lighten it up. Cocks hard but that probably cannot be improved much.

What others should know: Bought the rifle August 2013. Took it out of the closet to shoot a squirrel this spring March 19, 2017 and the rifle cocked way to easy. Turns out the gas piston went bad over the winter. The rifle has not even made it through half a tin of 500 pellets. Rifle was never abused or left cocked for any length of time. Nitro pistons have great power curves but it looks like they don't hold up well. I was concerned about the nitrogen leaking out of the piston over time when I purchased it. I think I will go back to a spring pistons system, there is no gas to leak out.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2017-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rifle has good power. I was able to take out large ground hogs trying to dig under the house. Accuracy is good. Trigger is good. Silencer works good.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy but not sure how much can be done to lighten it up. Cocks hard but that probably cannot be improved much.

    What others should know: Bought the rifle August 2013. Took it out of the closet to shoot a squirrel this spring March 19, 2017 and the rifle cocked way to easy. Turns out the gas piston went bad over the winter. The rifle has not even made it through half a tin of 500 pellets. Rifle was never abused or left cocked for any length of time. Nitro pistons have great power curves but it looks like they don't hold up well. I was concerned about the nitrogen leaking out of the piston over time when I purchased it. I think I will go back to a spring pistons system, there is no gas to leak out.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Update to my previous review: I've now shot about a thousand rounds through this gun. Most pellets don't go supersonic anymore, but they hit hard, fast and straight. Seat your pellets, about an eighth of an inch. I researched the gritty trigger issue online and since the "fix" involved nothing more than dismantling the trigger and polishing two parts I decided to see if it would just wear in on it's own rather than dismantle my new gun. So I oiled it up good, which helped in itself, and sure enough, after about 200 rounds or so the trigger smoothed out a great deal. I don't have the means to test the pull, but it is light enough now that it's no bother. I did wind up taking the gun out of the stock though because the screw in the barrel hinge came loose. Applied loctite, tightened, no trouble since. As for the safety that everyone complains about: I like it. I just flip it back when I put my finger in the trigger guard to shoot, don't even think about it anymore

    Things I would have changed: A little thread locker would go a long way. Weight reduction would be nice, but not at the expense of quality.

    What others should know: Great gun, great price. Shoots most any pellet I've tried reasonably well, not picky at all in that regard. I'm getting half inch and less groups at thirty yards and I feel like the gun could do more if I could. We'll see. It is a handful, especially with a heavy Leapers scope on it. Very quiet, except for that thwack when the pellet hits. I saw a good many complaints about cocking effort; don't see it myself. I put the butt of the gun on my left foot, give the barrel a tap to break the lock loose then bend at the waist to push the barrel down and cock it. Easy. I'm not in the habit of writing reviews on products, but this gun makes me want to brag. There is no comparison between my Crosman and the Umarex. Quality of design, materials, aesthetics, for just a little more than the Crosman Blaze, the Octane is an order of magnitude better. I'm thinking of buying a CO2 pistol. If I do, I'm pretty sure it'll be an Umarex.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far it has exceeded my expectations.

    Things I would have changed: It is a bit more difficult to cock than I expected.

    What others should know: This is NOT for youngsters. Definitely an adult airgun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First off, let me say a word about Pyramyd Air's service: WOW! I ordered my Octane at 11:00am one day and had it in my hands before 9:00am the next day--for free. Hard to beat. As for the gun: I'm 61 and shot quite a bit when I was younger, air guns and firearms, but I haven't shot anything in years. I got the urge to try it again and bought a Crosman Blaze NP. Big mistake. So the Octane became my "next" gun. Straight out of the box the gun looked and felt good. Solid, a bit heavy, yes, but it balances so well you hardly notice. The first six or so shots went seriously supersonic, then it calmed down a bit, but 7.9gr. hollowpoints went supersonic more often than not. I shot about a dozen shots with the open sights, then mounted my 3-12x40 scope. In about fifteen shots I had the scope zeroed close enough to hit a 1" bullseye at 30 yards. Judging from what I've read it will take some time to break the gun in and get full accuracy, but so far I'm impressed. Time will tell

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, really. I have a quibble or two about the trigger, but I expect it will get better with wear. If not, I'm sure there's a fix, or possibly a custom trigger in it's future. This gun would be worth the thirty or forty bucks for a custom trigger.

    What others should know: One thing I'll say: If you look at the reviews on this website the vast majority are glowingly positive. Amazon has the same gun for a little less money, but read the reviews. Fifty percent negative. Now you can say that it's more likely that people who buy a gun from a site like this are more likely to be knowledgeable shooters but it's also true that often what you buy from a "discount" outlet is made to looser standards than otherwise, in order to meet the price point the discounter demands. Just a word to the wise.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2017-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm just getting back into air gunning, these things sure have changed. I like the power, accuracy, overall quality and look of the Umarex Octane.

    Things I would have changed: Rifle could use some meat on the stock for cheek rest, can be a little uncomfortable when lining up your shot.

    What others should know: Great value, alot of power!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Powerful,accurate,well made, nice scope.

    Things I would have changed: Weight

    What others should know: Buy a lead sled for sighting in

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2016-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: cleaned barrel up real good then shot it same day I got it.(WHAT A PELLET RIFLE.) I'am 75 and it's a little hard to load but we GET IT DONE Shoots great with crosman ultra dome 14.3 gr.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a little easer to break the barrel to load that's about it. Make it easer for us old guy's??????????

    What others should know: BEST PRICE I COULD FIND WAS FROM PYRAMYD AIR . CAN'T BEAT THERE SERVICE ANYWERE THAT I COULD FIND .

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Noel from USA on 2016-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Being new to air guns I first bought a cheap .177 to play with then jumped up to a Gamo Hornet in .22 just to try a larger pellet with a gas piston. After learning a little about the hobby I wanted to go straight up to a magnum powered rifle with a gas piston. Researching on this site led me to the Umarex Otane and I am very happy with my purchase. Most other reviews caution that this is a picky rifle and hard for a beginner to learn. I found it easy to shoot and have had no problems thus far. It is so much stronger than my other two rifles and I am amazed at the chrony numbers. I paid for the 10 for 10 and according to the print out this rifle put out over 1500 fps for the first few shots and later settled down to about 1000 fps average using RWS hobby 11.9 gr. The scope is usable and was easy to zero in. This rifle is heavy however I actually like that as it just feels well made. I have about 250 pellets through it and so far no problems at all.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to see a better protected front sight and maybe some type of sling attachments on future versions. This rifle will get heavy quickly.

    What others should know: Based on my own research this is a hard hitting magnum powered rifle that can give you much fun for a lower cost. There are better options however if you want a decent affordable gas piston .22 that will have fps numbers as high as any others this is a good choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clayton from USA on 2016-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great hard hitting air rifle Shoots decent groups right out of the box Rugged feel, not for the kids Vary impressed with .25 inch penetration at 80 yards into 6x6x14 inch wood block with match grade barracudas. Still on first tin of 200, probably about 20 left in there so this gun is just starting it's brake in period. I believe it's safe to say at 50 yards this air rifle will safely and humanly take small game. Great value for the pop!

    Things I would have changed: This air rifle is what it is, mid entery level (my opinion) If you have tennis elbow and want to shoot 200 plus rounds in a sitting this is not the rifle for you.

    What others should know: This air rifle should be in every ones collection After 180 shots I'm pretty sure this just became my go to snake popper for a while.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddy from USA on 2016-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Comes with scope.

    Things I would have changed: Weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddy from USA on 2016-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, look and feel.

    Things I would have changed: Weight is on the heavier side. Could lessen the weight a little.

    What others should know: I purchased this with the 10-shot service just to make sure it is not a lemon. So far the rifle is working as expected, I've shot ~50 rounds. I installed the scope myself and zero it in pretty easily. I shot and killed a gopher in about 20 yards (60 ft) distance. I even shot a small lizard at 22 yards. Very happy with how accurate this rifle is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: .22 . . . . .overall looks and easy handling pistol grip, fairly easy breaking effort, extreme accurate and very hard hitting, decent trigger, gas piston can hold a cock for lengthy periods before shooting, backyard friendly.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Have purchased several rifles since this one. Recently took this one out and had forgotten how accurate and hard hitting it was. This is an extremely impressive rifle and get the job done on pest, squirrels, birds, etc. Decent range accuracy 10-50 yds. Probably more but have not had occasion to shoot longer distances. RWS Superdome 14.5gr pellet will provide extreme accuracy and wipe out pest decisively at backyard ranges. . . .no question. The .177 version has equal attributes as this .22. I own both. This is my go to for consistent results.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2016-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, decent scope, feels expensive

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The scope seems blurry all the time, no matter how I adjust. But it is very accurate. At 30 meters I put 4 shots in the same hole. It seems to like h&n field target trophy. 5.55mm head size is what I'm using.if you are someone that is weak you will have a very hard time cocking this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Billy from USA on 2016-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Design and power I bought the .22 version.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control, breech did not seal properly (it was machined too deep). Umarex sent me a new seal and a shim. No problems with their customer service.

    What others should know: The rifle felt unbalanced, front heavy. The trigger was hard and not very smooth. I tried many different pellets but the accuracy was lacking. The best I could do was 2 inch groups at 25 yards. Replaced it with an inexpensive RWS (Diana), no comparison.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tomas from Colombia on 2016-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really Powerful for a non-pcp rifle!!! I bought this one for a vacation trip in Panama and I focus in use just with open sights. My best shots was over a Torcaza (Pigeon) at 60 yds with polymag predators .22 and a old squirrel at 50 yds with a deformed pellet recovered from the squirrel. I was very impressed with the power of this rifle. At our farm we have problems with black vultures and the newborn cows. I shot one to 30 yds and drops like a rock...

    Things I would have changed: recoilless and a little more compact

    What others should know: Is large and require some practice to learn his trigger.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Knock down power. Unreal for a pellet gun. This is a fantastic air rifle. Its waaay long and a chore to lug around, but shooting is a dream. I'm 6.1 230 and shooting this thing is a workout. Accuracy is great. The scope is easy to zero and works great, but it adds so much additional weight to an already heavy gun. I'd recommend dropping the scope, get a decent red dot and you'll have a gun for life. I'd give it 4 stars for value because I believe youd be wise to spend an extra few dollars and get a red dot.. 35.00 min added for a decent one.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see some protection for the front sight. Its just there asking to get broken. Nowhere to add straps

    What others should know: Its powerful. Be careful where you shoot it !!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carl from USA on 2016-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Umarex Octane gets five stars at any level a shooter could ask for.

    Things I would have changed: I'm a big guy, but it is a workout to break the barrel repeatedly during zeroing. However,it is worth the effort.

    What others should know: This is a serious airgun. It is powerful, accurate, and has the range to reach out and devastate small game. This is not a child's airgun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barbara from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the substantial weight it has.

    Things I would have changed: I don't think I would change anything!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Philip from USA on 2016-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first air rifle. Very powerful. I have been practicing at 45-65 yards and did well with the fiber optic sights. Put the scope on and it did not take much to zero it in. Different pellets weights and designs shoot differently- so try different types until you find one you like. Very quiet gun. I was hoping for the supersonic "crack", but yet to get one. However, it is nice to not have to wear ear protection all the time.

    Things I would have changed: Fiber optic sight at end of gun is prone to fall out and break. Mine did so after 15 shots. Umarex sent me a new one with instructions on how to melt each end [mushroom them] so it would not fall out. This gun has a decent recoil, and after 200 shots the fiber optic on front sight came loose again. I am going to try a dot of super glue to keep it in place.

    What others should know: Be prepared to fight with the front sight. It will come loose and fall out with regular use. Try super glue to keep in place [not on the ends, will block the light- in the middle]. This is a design issue Umarex should address.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2016-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is pretty solid, has a nice weight to it. Once the scope is dialed in the gun is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The safety resets after every shot, it takes some time to get used to.

    What others should know: Great gun for the money. I did a lot of research on pellet rifles within this price range, I am very happy with this rifle.

  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation