Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Umarex SA177 BB Gun Repeater reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By jesse from USA on 2011-02-01 10:21:40

    Things I liked:pretty accurate for a non-rifled barreled bb pistol. hits soda cans at 25 feet easily and in the spot you aim within about 1" to an 1.5". at least mine did. 380fps power is plenty, punched right through two soda cans back to back at 25ft. and didn't knock them over. just shredded holes through them and kept going until the bb hit the backstop 10 feet behind it. working slide is nice, helps with proper grip for using real firearms, and keeping your thumb out of the way. decently built. very conservative on co2. i got around 80 shots out of a cylinder, which included me rapid firing a bunch of them. also included me letting the pistol sit charged for a couple of hours in between firings, and when loading it orginally, not being too quick and letting some of the gas escape, more than i would have liked. plus looks like a scaled back glock 19. grip angle is similar to an actual glock.
    Things I would have changed:not much, works and works well. slightly lower price would be nice though. maybe get license right from glock to label it as such.
    What others should know:a little loud, for heavy suburban shooting, which is where i live. neighbor complained, but in fairness i live in an almost zero lot line setup, and the neighbor who complained is a tightwad and anti-gun of any kind type of person, and he was outside and thought it was a nail gun initially. we have a restriction on power tools beofre 8am, and iw as shooting at 8:15am. anyways, you get the concept.... ymmw. still is a bit loud, but not as loud as a crosman c11 for comparison. magazine availability is a problem also. impossible to find, at least at the time i am writing this review. if you like to pre-load mulitiple magazines and shoot targets, this could be a problem for you. something to consider. other than those, this gun is fun and decently accurate. sure it won't match professional target guns accuracy, but it's a bb pistol and pretty good for that. also the 380fps, while i didn't chrono mine, i think it's plenty of power and shooting a 480fps crosman at the same time as this one back and forth i couldn't tell the power difference in 25ft. range. both punched through soda cans and shredded them. shooting rats or pests the power will show i am sure, but for targets and soda cans....i couldn't tell any difference.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Evan from Canada on 2013-06-12 17:39:37

    Things I liked:Feel weight and realism
    Things I would have changed:I would change the blow back system for sure, they should have made it real, (the blowback would put a bb in the chamber. all it is, is a co2 port facing backwards that meets up with a seal that is on the slide, so when you pull the trigger co2 puts a bb out the barrel and pushes back the slide from the back facing port. A little cheesy if you ask me. also the mag could have been designed better. the trigger pull is VERY hard.
    What others should know:My gun that I had purchased must have been very poorly made. The seal for the blowback right away broke, and fell off. I glued it back on and it sort of worked. Another thing is the magazine, the top metal spring loaded peice that keeps the bbs in until they enter the chaber quickly wore down, so my bbs would fly every where one I released the spring at the bottom. I had also tried to fix that with superglue but only lasted a short time. My trigger was EXTREMLY hard and not consisntant.
    Sort by:
    • 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Evan from Canada on 2013-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feel weight and realism
      Things I would have changed:I would change the blow back system for sure, they should have made it real, (the blowback would put a bb in the chamber. all it is, is a co2 port facing backwards that meets up with a seal that is on the slide, so when you pull the trigger co2 puts a bb out the barrel and pushes back the slide from the back facing port. A little cheesy if you ask me. also the mag could have been designed better. the trigger pull is VERY hard.
      What others should know:My gun that I had purchased must have been very poorly made. The seal for the blowback right away broke, and fell off. I glued it back on and it sort of worked. Another thing is the magazine, the top metal spring loaded peice that keeps the bbs in until they enter the chaber quickly wore down, so my bbs would fly every where one I released the spring at the bottom. I had also tried to fix that with superglue but only lasted a short time. My trigger was EXTREMLY hard and not consisntant.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2012-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very close feel to my Glock. I bought it specifically for that reason. I get close to a 100 or more shots out of one CO2. The sights are very good visibility on dark targets. The magazine is very easy and fast to load unlike other BB action pistols. Blowback is nice and strong.
      Things I would have changed:Somehow get that trigger to be better. It is almost like a finger workout device! Luckily I think in some weird way it will help with a combat Glock trigger. I said I like the sights and I do, I just wish they would have made the front a fiber rod as well. The white plastic is a little lame. But I guess Glocks are normally three white dots. Also I wish the slide was a bit harder to rack. I think they get the blowback from the spring form the super heavy trigger and not necessarily the slide...hard to say.
      What others should know:If you have Glocks and want something to train with buy this. The trigger is really the only real deterrant and that can be dealt with. It shoots a lot with one CO2 and is fast and pain free to load. All in all a great value
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jessie from USA on 2012-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very , Very accurate,nice blowback,good power, more than 100 rounds for co2 cartridge.
      Things I would have changed:Front sight
      What others should know:Slide lock after the last round, but the trigger still working.no spare mag available
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ace from South Africa on 2012-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i really like the fibre optic sights and the blowback action on this gun it is also a great replica of a real glock. and the rail allow for you to easily mount a flashlight or laser on it
      Things I would have changed:the slide is a little rattly and the trigger pull is hard and long
      What others should know:great replica its also great for all the glock lovers out there
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roger from USA on 2012-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice pistol for the money. I'm using it to practice markmanship for about $0.005 a shot instead of $0.40 per shot! Using this translates well to a real glock, minus the recoil.
      Things I would have changed:The gun doesn't fit into standard Glock holsters, which is a disappointment. I have several holsters, even some for the larger G20, but this gun doesn't fit. My desire is to use this to practice "first shot" draw technique.
      What others should know:Punches right through a soup can. After about 20' the BB's often begin to curve, but this gun is excellent for up to 20'.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By John from USA on 2012-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Clean smooth double action trigger pull. Really excellent magazine, doesn't let the bb's fall out, easily removed, kind of nice the slide stays back when mag empties. Accuracy is just ok but then it's not a rifled barrel for pellets and it's a short barrel.
      Things I would have changed:blowback action is a waste of CO2 power. Modify the air gun such that the blowback action cocks the weapon and enables single action or simply eliminate it. Additionally, insertion of the magazine should release the slide rather than having to manually release the slide. The 'safety' insert or small trigger in the main trigger is useless/cosmetic, the air gun can be fired without depressing the little trigger...just eliminate it. Safety on the RHS is ok, I like the safety on the HPP which is on the left. Umarex needs to field a fully semi auto blowback with both single and double action.
      What others should know:This is a double-action only air gun...the website says this but the pyramyd air staff that answered my telephone request was unsure of whether the blowback action cocked the air gun...it most certainly does not.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2012-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:THIS IS A GREAT GUN AND AT A GREAT PRICE GOT MINE IN THE MAIL TODAY PUT ABOUT 1000 BB'S THROUGH IT ALREADY AND QUIT A FEW CO2'S HAVEN'T HAD ANY PROBLEM LOVE THE GUN GOOD JOB UMAREX
      Things I would have changed:i would get rid of the fake glock like saftey in the trigger it starts to hurt the finger a little bit after shooting about five mags non stop
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Anthony from USA on 2012-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Magazine holds great amount of ammo, accurate, all around fun. Everyone who fires it has loved it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Love the action when empty reacts like a real gun. The feel and look are great!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By StoneSlinger0oo0 from USA on 2012-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:-strong blowback -highly visible sights -very efficient with gas (around 100 useful shots with a moderate rate of fire) -metal slide -accurate for a bb pistol -outer barrel sleeve has an inner diameter of 9mm -great value
      Things I would have changed:The fake trigger safety does not function and it only makes the heavy trigger pull less comfortable. Even though it is trying to replicate the Glock series of pistols, I would remove it and make the trigger blade a single piece.
      What others should know:The front sight is not fiber optic, but it is still easy to pick up. Also, the slide does not serve any function other than to blowback and add recoil. It does not chamber a bb or cock the gun. The trigger pull is heavy due to the design of the pistol as the barrel also acts as the hammer. The inner barrel moves forward inside the barrel sleeve as you pull the trigger. As it moves forward, a bb is fed into the barrel and it slams back against the valve to fire.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BuckWheat from USA on 2012-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow, the blow back, feel, weight and over all construction is unbelievable. If you didn't get reminded while loading its a BB pistol, you would think it was the real deal. Accuracy was very good straight out of the box at 25 ft. Sites are bright and easy to line up. It has also been helpful in training the Mrs. with what to expect on recoil.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull at times is a bit much and tends to veer shots to the right a bit.
      What others should know:This product is traditional to the Umarex quality and value for its price.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By elmer from USA on 2012-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The feel of a glock, also the blowback action
      Things I would have changed:the triger is like 8lbs, but is ok for the money.
      What others should know:Exellent gun for any collector or recreational plinker.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Chris from USA on 2012-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks very similar to a Glock pistol. For a blow-back pistol it hits really hard in the high 300ft per second range. Also you can get around 100 shots on a co2 cartridge. The metal slide is also really nice for a $50 gun.
      Things I would have changed:Has a slightly heavy trigger pull which makes it hard to rapid fire. Also for a blow-back the slide spring feels a little weak.
      What others should know:Very good gun and quality if you want to buy a cheaper pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Peter Evans from USA on 2012-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted a Glock look-alike, for me it was a decision between this one and the T4. This one won out and I'm glad it did. The 16 round magazines are a definite advantage. It has blowback, A nice feature. The slide locks back when you run out of pellets like a real pistol. It fires as fast as you can pull the trigger if you wish for fast action. The weight is nicely balanced, I even love how you load the CO2. the back flips open and it drops in, I have yet to waste a bit of air and I have medium sized hands.
      Things I would have changed:The front sight is a white plastic rod. I would have it fiber optic to match the rear, for looks as well as use. You can still waste CO2 when you run out, It doesn't lock the trigger from firing off air.
      What others should know:This is a very fun air pistol to shoot. For me it is perfect, a Glock look-alike that aesthetically resembles a G22 very closely. Buy extra clips you will need them! Some Pellgun oil as well and bb's and you will be all set to go.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Peter Evans from USA on 2012-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This looks like and feels weight wise like an actual Glock. That was one of the big sellers for me, I wanted something close to a glock 22 which is my favorite. The CO2 compartment is ingenious. the thumb screw is hidden under the clip. The compartment you load the CO2 into is in the back of the grip. Drop it in, snap it shut and tighten the thumb screw. It's blowback, there's definite kickback with it. Not comparable to the actual thing but enough. the clip holds about 20 bb's, though the package says 19. Definitely fun to shoot, this bb repeater is not going to dissappoint.
      Things I would have changed:The safety on the trigger is looks only, it would be interesting if it was incorporated somehow into the actual design instead of being looks only. There is very little I would change, overall this repeater did not disappoint.
      What others should know:My decision was between this and the Crosman T4. I chose this one for several reasons, clip size was one of the deal breakers Among the fact that it seemed superior overall to the Crosman. Out of my recent purchase, this one was my favorite. It's going to get a lot of range time for sure. If you want a glock look-alike, for a decent price then this is the one for you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Hoss from USA on 2012-03-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight is very close to my Glock model 22. I bought this for an inexpensive training tool. The blowback action is a functional way to 'politely remind' you when you transition to support hand and forget to change your grip to the correct orientation. The trigger has a long draggy stroke to it, but here's the advantage I see in it: it FORCES you to maintain a proper sight picture throughout the entire trigger press and follow through correctly. The cost per shot averages 1 cent (gas & BB's). I don't know any agency that would not encourage their employees to shoot 500 rounds a week for $5.
      Things I would have changed:Make it 1/16" thinner in the slide and ditch the safety that sticks out of the right side of the frame - that way it will fit in my Serpa holster for function drills.
      What others should know:If you carry a Glock, this is an absolute MUST for your training tool box. The cost ratio over live fire is 50:1 when practicing basic marksmanship. The shooter can mitigate recoil in live fire with proper grip and stance. The Umarex SA177 should be a requirement for anyone who carries a Glock in service.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By kishaun from USA on 2012-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i liked its metal slide an polymer frame it is very durable Ive had mine for about 6 months now and it hasn't jammed once just a few scratches noting to noticeable.
      Things I would have changed:the slide has a very light recoil and my back fiber optic sight had broken the second week.
      What others should know:i generally get about 75-125 rounds with most of my other blow-back BB shooters but i got closer to 175-210 shoots with this one generally just a great gun for the cost.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sean from USA on 2012-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really liked the realism of this particular gun. The weight is realistic to a Glock, the over-all appearance is easily mistaken for a Glock 17, and the blowback is really smooth and realistic. It is a dead-ringer for the actual firearm! Shoots powerful and the accuracy is pretty decent for a CO2 bb gun at this price! I love my SA117
      Things I would have changed:I would change three things: first off, the safety switch. It is really hard to use and sometimes only sticks in half way. And secondly, the front fiber-optic sight. It sticks out alittle too far; like it seems like the manufacture skipped out on trimming the fiber optic piece to size. And lastly, the attatchments rail at the bottom. I do not use any lasers or flashlights so for me atleast, the rail is pointless and in my opinion takes away from the look.
      What others should know:This is as great gun and definately worth the money. However, be sure to get an extra magazine and good quality BB's because sometimes; atleast with Copperhead BB's, when you load the magazine and release the spring, they just shoot right out of the magazine or stick out too far and prevent the mag to be loaded into the pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jojo from USA on 2012-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Realistic appearance. Nice blow back action w/ metal slide.
      Things I would have changed:Safety mechanism get stuck half way.
      What others should know:Not enough room to change CO2 if you have fat fingers. It's hard to turn the nut at base of handle. I lose about 1/8 of air just during CO2 replacement GRRRRRR!!!!!! After I've shot almost or maybe around 200 BBs, the slide keeps on getting stuck in rear position like magazine is empty, even after I put new CO2. Will air leaks like this damage the CO2 seal????
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CarlosAntonio from USA on 2012-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:me gusta el peso y la potencia que tiene en el retroceso, dato agradable entre los amantes de las airgun
      Things I would have changed:es una replica, habria que cambiar la original primero ;)
      What others should know:amigos, esta es un airgun de gran precision no dudes en comprarla, no te arrepentiras
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MIke from USA on 2012-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:its accurate and blowback
      Things I would have changed:the front sight isnt fiber optic
      What others should know:when u put in the co2 you got to do it fast
    • 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top