Umarex Steel Force CO2 BB Gun reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Zeuskiller from USA on 2013-06-04 22:13:26

Things I liked:The 3rd one and the BEST! I have the EBOS and the Steel storm,Both of those are a blast to plink with,So when I saw this new model I bought it without hesitation,And glad I did!This is the most accurate and seems to be more powerfull than the other 2,Its mostly plastic,But the barrell and flash hider is metal,And overall seems to be well built.But what really matters most is...IT'S FUN to SHOOT!!!
Things I would have changed:I bit more metal would be nice,Like the rails,sights and Mag,The extra weight would give it a better feel. BUT,Don't let that discourage you from buying,For the money,It's worth it for the fun factor!
What others should know:This is a great little BB gun but just take some extra care with it since it IS mostly plastic,Don't FORCE anything,And use a drop of silicone chamber lube every 5 or 6 C02 cartridges to keep the seals in good shape.With proper care this will give many hours of fun! Great when freinds come over! I find most people never have seen a BB gun that fires full auto(6 shot burst) and the looks of it are really cool! Put this on your wishlist and GET IT when its back in stock! I'm betting this is one of those BB guns that will be discontinued and lots will be wishing they had one!(Like the Crossman Nightstalker)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Charles from USA on 2014-06-20 12:44:38

Things I liked:Accurate, fun to shoot on fullauto
Things I would have changed:Better warranty, more reliability, should last longer than 2000 rounds.
What others should know:Don't buy this gun. Had gun 8 months. Fired about 2000 rounds through it. All of the sudden it quit working. called Pyramyd Air and they said they didn't work on them so they provided me with phone number of Umarex. called Umarex and they said they didn't work on them that it costs too much. they will replace them for the first 90 days, after that you are on your own. Save yourself some grief and money, don't buy Umarex products they don't stock parts and after 90 days you are on your own.
Sort by:
  • 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Stephen from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I'm a retired NYS gunsmith with twenty years experience. This is one of fourteen assorted replica firearms I've purchased from Pyramyd Air and like all the others the quality, the price, the realism, and the attention to detail is exceptional.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:This replica is the next best thing to the original firearm.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Chris from USA on 2015-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Way cool! Just got it sighted well even with fixed sights. Got it in bundle pack with red dot scope it was a killer combo. Make sure you have a lot of BBs. I feel it uses CO2 at a fair level. Got several 100 shots before I started to drop on accuracy.Sights are set out around 40 ft but that works well with scope you can flip up sights and still use them looking thru scope.
    Things I would have changed:BBs are a little tuff to shake into push rail. You can get faster with it with a little practice. A little more metal this is a good gun and I feel it deserves more than a nice plastic body.
    What others should know:Even with 2 CO2s it still tends to freeze up and lose pressure with rapid fire. Lots of fun good one to add to any collection.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By MICHAEL from USA on 2015-01-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Expanding AR 15 type stock,military look,lots of mods avalible,co2 tank can be added with adapter.
    Things I would have changed:More metal would give the gun a more realistic feel sights could be improved.
    What others should know:It's better to use a Red Dot or another type scope than depend on the standard sight.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Sam from USA on 2015-01-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:AR styling, ROF, accuracy
    Things I would have changed:Add a second CO2 holder to the package for quicker change-out (see my comments).
    What others should know:This is a great way to scratch the "full auto" itch without the NFA hassle and the $$$. Aside from the lighter weight, the weapon feels and acts like the real deal. Sound is on a level with a suppressed MP5. At 20 feet, it will punch through both sides of a tin can. Not one of those wussy aluminum things - a real tin can. Accuracy is excellent for a FA smoothbore - 1" groups at 20 feet are common. Warning - if you order one of these, go ahead and order bunches of BB's and CO2 cylinders - it's so much fun to shoot that you will go through both really quickly. :) Also, and this is true with Umarex's other FA, Steel Storm, after you exhaust the CO2 cylinders, allow a few minutes for the rubber O ring in the cylinder pack to return to room temperature. If you don't, you may damage it - the ring expands when cold and the nipple that fits into the throat will cut into it. Other than that - have a ball!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2014-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A+++; 4 thumbs up; Must Have!! This thing is fantastic. SO much fun. This was given to my 8 year old son for an Xmas gift. I haven't been able to put it down for 36 hours!! What do I like? Everything. From what I can tell, this replica is full scale with a short barrel. Yes, most of it is plastic (barrel appears to be steal), but this plastic is thick where it should be and seems high quality. The Weaver/Picatinny rails are totally real, as I have mounted a UTG 30mm Red/Green Dot Sight and a vertical foregrip (see my reviews of those products too). We have fired it I'd say ~600 times. No jams or other problems. We're on our 3rd set of CO2 cartridges. I'm very happy with how many usable shots we are getting. It was in the low 40s today and the CO2 pressure was still good. I cannot express how truly enjoyable this is to shoot. There is something so satisfying about clicking that fire control switch over to full auto and letting it loose. If that makes sense to you, GET 1
    Things I would have changed:A longer barrel may be cool.
    What others should know:Accuracy surprised me, even when the CO2 pressure was falling. It is also louder than I expected, but this is a good thing to me as it makes it more realistic. It's also heavier than I imagined. Again, good thing. It feels very, shall we say, dense. Again, my son & I could not be happier with this gun. Words cannot describe how fun this is to shoot. If you are a fan of the AR platform and airguns, this is truly a no-brainer.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Michael from USA on 2014-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Steel Force is fun to shoot there is no doubt about it. It does look quite impressive from a distance and people might easily mistake it for the real thing. Still having a closer look it is obvious that it is made of plastic. The gun arrived and I couldn't wait to check it out and to zero it in. Now the sight's are fixed and you can't really adjust them. Still the were fairly spot on. On my 30ft range they pretty much hit the target spot on with just a minor height adjustment. There is little or no recoil as it is to be expected on the gun even when it is set to automatic mode. Talking full auto this is where the fun kicks in. It shoots out 6 BB's at a time and with a magazine of 30 you get about 5 full auto shots. To sum it up: - fun factor is high - it is reasonably precise with the sights - magazine of 30 BBs - full auto mode (6 shot bursts) - at $120 it is reasonably priced - 2 CO2 cartridges last for about 300 shots - looks cool from a distance - no or little recoil (+or-?)
    Things I would have changed:- The price is competitive, so no change but: - I would love a steel version and gladly pay a bit extra, - Possibility to adjust the sights just in case! - Have a bit of recoil or blowback - Increase the magazine capacity - change the loading mechanism, you will need to shake the gun to reload the 30BB magazine from the reservoir above. At that point it feels more like a toy than a gun
    What others should know:In burst mode the gun seems to do some real damage to cans or targets. As an airgunner used to pellets I was surprised to see how bouncy steel BB's are in comparison. I would order some safety goggles with the gun just in case. Also get plenty of BB's. Once you go to full auto or burst mode they just go like crazy. The Steel Force is quite powerful and anything but a toy even though it looks and feels a bit like it on closeup. Just be careful to not let your little and grown up kids anywhere near it unless they are in a controlled environment it can cause serious injuries especially when it is in burst mode. More so make sure everyone around wears safety goggles!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from Canada on 2014-08-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:6 round burst, love it. Lots of rail space. Great feel in the hands and is light weight.
    Things I would have changed:Better design on trigger. Make charging handle metal or at least more sturdy. Make sights removable or at least somehow allow the end of the picatinnys to be clear so that you can slide on accessories (I have a sling base that can't expand and needs to slide on at the end of a rail.
    What others should know:The trigger pinches my finger when I grip it the way that is most comfortable, it's not a huge deal but it would be more natural feeling if I could grip it the way I am use to. Use the steel bb's don't be cheap.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jun from USA on 2014-07-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Just awesome product. Compact, durable, and most of all, super fun. I love the 6 shot burst mode, rather than having a full automatic mode.
    Things I would have changed:Include the adapter for air tank. Bigger ammunition chamber.
    What others should know:I would reccomend to anyone who wants to have fun.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Charles from USA on 2014-06-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate, fun to shoot on fullauto
    Things I would have changed:Better warranty, more reliability, should last longer than 2000 rounds.
    What others should know:Don't buy this gun. Had gun 8 months. Fired about 2000 rounds through it. All of the sudden it quit working. called Pyramyd Air and they said they didn't work on them so they provided me with phone number of Umarex. called Umarex and they said they didn't work on them that it costs too much. they will replace them for the first 90 days, after that you are on your own. Save yourself some grief and money, don't buy Umarex products they don't stock parts and after 90 days you are on your own.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Derek from USA on 2014-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:accurate, lots of rail mounting points
    Things I would have changed:barrel length the full length possible
    What others should know:This as with the steel storm are great when they work. Unfortunately in the long run they are garbage. I went through 2 steel storms, and 1 steel force. All had the same problem with fewer then 8,000 rounds shot. First thing that happens is the gun starts to fire when you let go of the trigger, not when you pull it. Eventually the gun stops firing at all. Umarex does not repair these guns, only replaces them if your in the warranty period. Your better off putting your money in a different gun.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Kenneth from USA on 2014-04-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Pretty accurate for a BB rifle with a short barrel. Relatively easy to load magazine from built-in hopper. Fun to shoot while it worked (which wasn't for very long).
    Things I would have changed:I owned this gun for less than a year and fired approximately 2000 BBs through it, and then it broke. The warranty on this gun is only 90 days, so I was out of luck with the repair. Because the trigger mechanism was what failed Umarex said it could not be repaired, only replaced at the cost of a new one.
    What others should know:The trigger mechanism on the Steel Force failed, and the gun became unpredictable when it would fire. I tried many times to re-cock manually and most of the time it would not fire. BEWARE: The gun fired without me even touching the trigger on several different occasions. All I had to do was shake the gun, and it would fire! I cannot recommend any product that costs $120, lasts less than a year, and cannot be repaired when it breaks.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By CM Donn from USA on 2014-04-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a fun plinker! The 6 shot burst option makes it fun to shoot. It looks real! The metal barrel end is a nice touch.
    Things I would have changed:Loading bbs into the tube is not an easy process so you have to watch the tension spring. I would like to see a no dry-fire option so when the tube is empty it does not fire, otherwise the shooter thinks that they have 200 bb's in the hopper they can shoot away which is not the case. Maybe a full metal model for collectors?
    What others should know:Well we enjoyed the one and only weekend of plinking play, I slapped on a red-dot see thru scope and it was spot on! However, there is a "problem" with internal parts being plastic, after about 200 rounds of semi and 6shoot plinking something broke inside and now it only shoots full auto or 6shot. We have to pay $25 to mail it back to Umarex to fix, REALLY? Remember to keep it oiled as full auto heats up parts!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Adrian from USA on 2014-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fun, Fun, Fun!
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy...
    What others should know:This gun is just plain fun. Nobody buying this cares or is worried about the accuracy issues. I know I don't... When you shoot in semi, the accuracy tightens up a bit, it's good enough to target shoot at close range, but the most fun is when you open it up to shoot bursts.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jon from USA on 2014-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Awesome
    Things I would have changed:Easier loading
    What others should know:Its fun but when bb reserve gets low its hard to load. Overall this gun is awesome
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By George from USA on 2014-03-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: These BB 6 SHOT burst guns are a blast to shoot. I love mine. I pur a Red Dot sight on and helped the group size a lot. But I liked the sights too. You could raise up bead for long shots or lower for close. Like the looks, and adjustable stock.
    Things I would have changed: Find out what the problem is in some that stop firing. Make stock one click longer as I am long armed.
    What others should know: I think adding three drops of Pellgun oil each time or ever other time to the hole on top of clip that plugs into gun might help the stop shotting problem. As I read on Google one person had tore one down that stopped and it was dry inside the plunger he said. He oiled it and fixed it. So I have been trying more oil to help having firing problem maybe.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robert from USA on 2014-02-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Burst mode! It's a wonderful thing. The gun is accurate even in burst mode and it's just plain fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:Remove the built in sights. The are ugly, inaccurate, and annoying in that you can't remove and replace them without surgery. The BB follower spring is weak and prone to failure and Umarex will not sell you a spare, the insist you send the gun back for replacement instead. Some have decried the cheap plastic construction of the gun but that is one of the things that makes it so easily affordable, a trade off I'm willing to live with.
    What others should know:Get spare magazines! This will allow you to keep shooting when your magazine freezes up because you've enjoyed burst mode to the fullest! Despite it's flaws I recommend this gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2014-02-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Well made and shoots fairly accurately to 15 yards and is a lot of fun.
    Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything
    What others should know:This is a fun little BB gun that looks too realistic.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By DLP from USA on 2014-01-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I love the AR platform and select fire option on this gun. This thing is a hoot to shoot in full auto /6 round burst!
    Things I would have changed:Get rid of having to shake the bb's into the magazine. Not so much a complaint as a request, but please make this in a longer barreled version with a metal receiver like the Winchester MP4.
    What others should know:I really enjoy this gun. I was able to shoot 400 rounds through mine on the first two co2 tanks. That's impressive! Would I but it again? Yes.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jim from USA on 2013-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fit and appearance
    Things I would have changed:Adjustable sights, it shoots low. Change the 30 round loader system, shaking is old school.
    What others should know:Shoots well, when co2 gets low, it fires in 6 rd bursts even in semi-auto mode. It did however jam a few times. You get at least 1 1/2 to 2 (600 bbs) per each co2 change, not bad for over 400fps & 6rd bursts.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By steve from USA on 2013-11-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is the most accurate and authentic-looking BB gun I have ever owned. AR fans should be pleased. It is a variant of the Steel Storm.
    Things I would have changed:The non-adjustable sights appear to be copied from a real AR, and don't work well with the BB trajectory. Fortunately, it's easy to mount a scope on this gun. Loading BBs from the reservoir into the mag is awkward.
    What others should know:To load mag, shake gun fore & aft. Co2 guns will freeze up if you fire more than 6 shots rapidly.
  • 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top