Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Umarex Surge Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By ted from USA on 2014-01-15 17:17:45

    Things I liked:This was curiosity getting the best of me again...wanted to see what this type of stock shot & felt like..never had a synthetic stock before & only have 1.177 cal.,all my air rifles are .22's...the price was right..prexmas deal got me !So anyway,this rifle was a nice surprise for me....I really like the thing a lot,first impression was it's nose heavy but soon found out that wasn't an issue for me! I got this rifle with target shooting in mind & this Surge was more fun that I could have hoped for ! I like the stock, the way it shoots ,feels...this is a fun break barrel rifle! Easy to cock,no maintenance stock & the funny part is this Umarex has the least barrel droop of any of my much higher priced rifles, so little I didn't have to shim rear of scope !Has a ball type lock up & weird trigger set up but it seems to works better than most right out of the box ! This would make a great first rifle for a young or new shooter...if it's set up properly !
    Things I would have changed:Really for the money...their isn't much you could expect to change for that kind of money ! The usual scope thing ...I have a whole draw of these junk scopes,I don't even think of installing such poor quality things ! That's my big gripe...sell the rifles with out the bad scopes...am sure a lot of airgunner's will agree with that !
    What others should know: Will need bore cleaned...lube every thing including trigger..and blue locktite all screws & check often for tightness..will loosen up even with locktite on screws! I tried many different make & size pellets &finally wound up with Crosman 7.9 shooting as accurate as any & better than most....ya can spend a bundle on all kinds of different brands & weights & many times find out that the lower priced Crosman shoot as good as any...just my opinion !Only problem I had with this rifle was arms were rubbing on inside of stock,making noise ...a little grease took care of problem. One more thing ... join the NRA....$35.....you'll be doing us all a big favor !
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Perry from USA on 2013-07-04 11:23:12

    Things I liked:This is a nice rifle for the money. I really like the stock. It's solid but not to beefy. The thumb hole and tactical pistol grip is a nice touch. It is fairly easy to cock it back and reload in most shooting positions. Definitely a good rifle to train the younger shooter with as well as taking out small vermin from around the bird feeder(that's what I use it for).
    Things I would have changed:I would have liked a better scope but for the price the included scope is fine I guess. You can always upgrade later if you need to. The accuracy is okay. You can make a decent group out to about 30 yds but around 50 yds the groups really start loosening up. Still able to pull of a head-shot on squirrel at that range though. There is no noise suppression on this so when you shoot the non-lead pellets this thing cracks like a .22 LR. It will earn you a dirty look or two from the neighbors.
    What others should know:Definitely needs to be cleaned right out of the box. Then follow the mfr's cleaning schedule and procedure. It is prone to dieseling if you over do it, so a little oil goes a long way.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ted from USA on 2014-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This was curiosity getting the best of me again...wanted to see what this type of stock shot & felt like..never had a synthetic stock before & only have 1.177 cal.,all my air rifles are .22's...the price was right..prexmas deal got me !So anyway,this rifle was a nice surprise for me....I really like the thing a lot,first impression was it's nose heavy but soon found out that wasn't an issue for me! I got this rifle with target shooting in mind & this Surge was more fun that I could have hoped for ! I like the stock, the way it shoots ,feels...this is a fun break barrel rifle! Easy to cock,no maintenance stock & the funny part is this Umarex has the least barrel droop of any of my much higher priced rifles, so little I didn't have to shim rear of scope !Has a ball type lock up & weird trigger set up but it seems to works better than most right out of the box ! This would make a great first rifle for a young or new shooter...if it's set up properly !
      Things I would have changed:Really for the money...their isn't much you could expect to change for that kind of money ! The usual scope thing ...I have a whole draw of these junk scopes,I don't even think of installing such poor quality things ! That's my big gripe...sell the rifles with out the bad scopes...am sure a lot of airgunner's will agree with that !
      What others should know: Will need bore cleaned...lube every thing including trigger..and blue locktite all screws & check often for tightness..will loosen up even with locktite on screws! I tried many different make & size pellets &finally wound up with Crosman 7.9 shooting as accurate as any & better than most....ya can spend a bundle on all kinds of different brands & weights & many times find out that the lower priced Crosman shoot as good as any...just my opinion !Only problem I had with this rifle was arms were rubbing on inside of stock,making noise ...a little grease took care of problem. One more thing ... join the NRA....$35.....you'll be doing us all a big favor !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shawn from USA on 2013-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good LOOKIN! Shoots accurate! Looks well made!
      Things I would have changed:Would not change a thing, the engineer did a excellent job of design for the price!
      What others should know:I have just been shooting at a target with ouy the scope. It seems everyone has trouble with the scopes. I am going to mount it after 250 shoots to let it break in.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The first thing I noticed about this rifle was the weight and feel. The rifle is very well balanced and feels real sturdy in your hands. Got the feel of a high quality firearm.
      Things I would have changed:It is my opinion that a rifle built this well should have a higher quality of scope mounted on it. The scope is more then adequate for the range and accuracy of the weapon, just doesn't look as good as it could.
      What others should know:The rifle surprised me when taking my first shot, it was a little louder then I expected. The trigger pull is smooth and crisp. I believe it requires less then the 30 pounds of pressure to cock the weapon as stated in the specs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Red from USA on 2013-08-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight of this rifle gives it a professional feel and aids me in steadying for shots. It does have the power as advertised. So far no reason to feel it will not hold up...as appears well made. Didn't know whether I would but it do like the stock and grip.
      Things I would have changed:Might consider an upgrade on the standard scope. The provided scope is not a throw-away, however, and if shooter/handler is careful it will do the job at reasonable distances.
      What others should know:Recommend studying up on pre-firing gun cleaning. A number of videos are available on YouTube, etc. Exactly what should be cleaned, how it is and is not to be done and taking the time to basically set your rifle's future accuracy are largely determined here.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DON from USA on 2013-07-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:LOOKS--VALUE-- ACCURACY
      Things I would have changed:NADA AT THIS POINT
      What others should know:NEIGHBOR WAS SO IMPRESSED THAT SHE ORDERED ONE. SIMPLY PUT, GREAT GUN FOR THE MON..
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Perry from USA on 2013-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a nice rifle for the money. I really like the stock. It's solid but not to beefy. The thumb hole and tactical pistol grip is a nice touch. It is fairly easy to cock it back and reload in most shooting positions. Definitely a good rifle to train the younger shooter with as well as taking out small vermin from around the bird feeder(that's what I use it for).
      Things I would have changed:I would have liked a better scope but for the price the included scope is fine I guess. You can always upgrade later if you need to. The accuracy is okay. You can make a decent group out to about 30 yds but around 50 yds the groups really start loosening up. Still able to pull of a head-shot on squirrel at that range though. There is no noise suppression on this so when you shoot the non-lead pellets this thing cracks like a .22 LR. It will earn you a dirty look or two from the neighbors.
      What others should know:Definitely needs to be cleaned right out of the box. Then follow the mfr's cleaning schedule and procedure. It is prone to dieseling if you over do it, so a little oil goes a long way.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DON from USA on 2013-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:overall--great
      Things I would have changed:Scope is ok for the $ but could be better, even at an increase in cost.
      What others should know:So far-so good. Have no complaints.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very nice rifle for the price, great trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Again for this price nothing.
      What others should know:Loves Beeman H N match and RWS super domes.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By D. MACK from USA on 2013-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:VERY COOL TACTICAL STOCK,GOOD BARREL AND MUZZLE.VERY NICE TRIGGER GUARD. EASY TO COCK GREAT GRIP
      Things I would have changed:BETTER SCOPE
      What others should know:IM ALMOST SURE THIS RIFLE IS THE RUGER AIRHAWK ELITE WITH A DIFFERENT STOCK. SO THE FIRST THING I DID WAS ADD A SHIM AND NEW BREECH SEAL FOR A RUGER AIRHAWK, AND IT FIT PERFECT.IM AVG 1010 FPS ON THE CHRONY WITH 15.6 FPE USING RWS H-PTS 6.9gr. BUT THE GAMO HUNTER 7.5gr WAS THE BEST IN MY RIFLE AVG 955 FPS, 16.0 FPE. OVER ALL I THINK ITS A COOL RIFLE WITH GOOD POWER FOR THE PRICE.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top