Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Walther CP88, Blued, 6 inch barrel reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2012-03-22 11:16:17

    Things I liked:This is really a finely crafted co2 gun...one of the best from Umarex. Great detail and hard to tell its not a powder burner. Plus, it just looks bad-#%! Don't you agree? The co2 loading is easy and all guns should use this system. Very accurate and easy to shoot well. I put the mount on it (see my review on that) and a red dot. So much fun! Good trigger for a double action. Single action is better. Oh and you get a LOT of shots per cartirdge.
    Things I would have changed:I prefer the glossier finish. I've heard they used to come like that. The sights are not target sights, but what you get is more authentic. I wish the wooden grips weren't so pricey! I can get custom made target grips on the 2240 for less.
    What others should know:If you're looking to get into these co2 action pistols...this is the one to get.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Maria from USA on 2012-09-04 19:45:31

    Things I liked:The gun feels good to hold and looks awesome. It is accurate. I also like Walther's eight shot rotary clips.
    Things I would have changed:Well, for an alleged 450 fps I would have expected a little more... power. To make a fair comparison, I have a Walther Nighthawk (400 fps) and a Gamo PT-85 (450 fps). At the same distance where they bury the pellets in a wooden board, this gun barely reaches the target. One side of the handle comes off to allow access to the CO2 cartridge. Getting it off is all fine and dandy, putting it back on, not so much. It'll probably be easier with use, but there HAS to be a better way to do it.
    What others should know:When I first ordered my Walther CP88, I got a defective one. It shot sometimes, and when it did I could just as well have tossed the pellet by hand. I mean, the pellets traveled maybe three feet and fell to the ground. Pyramyd Air kindly provided me with a return shipping label and I sent it back. I got the replacement today. When I first tried it I thought, "You've gotta be kidding." It shot, but the pellet bounced off a Shoot-n-see target without even peeling off the paint. I tried shooting an empty soda can, and the pellet made the can wiggle a little. It didn't even get a dent. I shot a few clips and the gun perked up a little. Now it manages to make a hole in a soda can. I guess it works, but I definitely expected more. I really like Walther airguns, and I want to like this one too. I will shoot it a little more, but if it doesn't start working better it'll have to go back.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Graeme from USA on 2014-04-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice solid and well made gun. Quality feel. Safety can be thumbed on either side of the gun so works for left or right handers. Accurate out the box - iron sights being good out to 30ft without trying too hard. Fine tuning to follow.
      Things I would have changed:Now I've seen and tried the gun - I've bought the wood grips and will switch them out - this gun deserves the wood grips.
      What others should know:The magazine almost ejects when you open the gun to remove it. Easy to drop if not careful. Keep gun level OR be prepared to catch. 14 magazines from a 12g CO2 cartridge before the pressure and accuracy starts to drop off.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Andy from USA on 2013-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fit and feel is excellent, and it has a very nice trigger once it breaks in. This is a very well made piece and great for "combat" practice.
      Things I would have changed:The magazines have 3 notches in each cylinder that are supposed to hold the pellets in place, but are too pronounced and deeply mark each pellet. Accuracy is not what I expected, but then my expectations were a bit high.
      What others should know:Buy this for fun practice. Buy a 2300 if you want to target shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is good. I've owned a multitude of CO2 pistols, both BB and pellet. While it won't outperform a Crosman 1701p (due to obvious reasons), it's still deadly accurate. I could get quarter sized groups at 10 meters, which is better than most of my other CO2 pistols. Feels good in my hand, and is reliable. Plus, I just love a 6" pistol
      Things I would have changed:Higher FPS. This is my common complaint. I'd love to see either FPS in the 500s, or a power adjuster. Also, the price, while not totally unreasonable, is a little high to compete with other guns. Granted, it's very well made, but people may tend to choose the lower priced option. Also, any "upgrades" (nickel, wood grips) cost significantly, much to my chagrin.
      What others should know:I'm not an expert, but I've owned quite a few air pistols. This one is, in mmy opinion, well worth the money. What surprised me is that it does better than my Crosman 357, which has the same length barrel. Granted, there are FPS differences, but not overly significant ones. In my opinion, a great value for the money. I wouldn't opt for the more expensive versions, because they give the same performance, at a higher price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and feel feels like the real thing. I like how it fires both double and single action. Using this tool is a great way to practice. I was very pleased with accuracy.
      What others should know:Be sure to buy the extra magazines.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JORGE from USA on 2013-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works great out of the box.Very accurate at 10 meters.Good for the first 40 shoots after that you can group but due to the lack of pressure it goes down couple of inches from bullseye. Great balance Borrow to friends who use fire guns and they are considering the gun because ammo is getting expensive and pistol performs great at 30 or 40 feet.
      Things I would have changed:I prefer the wood grips but to expensive. Work out with Umarex to down grips price.
      What others should know:If you buy it buy additional magazines. You can challenge any fire gun with it, very accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from Canada on 2013-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I own quite a few Co2 pistol's Gamo's, Daisy's, Crosman's, as well as a Beeman , and a Webley, and the Walther CP88 puts them all to shame, with the exception of the Alecto, they all feel like Toys compared to the Walther, It makes me wonder why I waited so long, I guess the price made me a little shy, but after quite a few years I've finally come to realize that the more money you spend, the better the product. The CP88 is as accurate as a gun can be, the metal magazines are steps above the competitors plastic offerings, although I feel they're somewhat limited to pellet choice, most points will give you a hard time, with the exception of Crosman SuperPoint's which incidently game me the best groupings in lead, while the Crosman SSP's weren't as accurate they all where in the black, and gave the highest m/v readings in alloy,520fps. (Gamo Raptors/Platinum's, H&N FTT Greens, Baracuda Green's, which gave me the tightest groupings in alloy pellets and a m/v clost to 500fps) Co2 piercing is easy, and is comparable to that of the Daisy 008
      Things I would have changed:The gun functions flawlessly, although a gun with a price tag such as this should have a Fiber Optic sighting system as a must, or as an option in the least,
      What others should know:I found that 5 mags(40 power shots) is the norm after that you see a noticeable decrease in m/v, and accuracy. The gun is quite heavy, but it is all metal,and with good care will give you a life time of shooting enjoyment. The plastic foam lined case is nice, and saves you from buying one separately(this is not a gun that you just toss in a drawer after shooting it, If you want to keep the finish looking good, a foam lined case is a must)Use good quality pellets, and never insert a cartridge without polishing the tip and adding a drop of oil to keep the seals lubricated and pliable.I'm not a fan of flat-head pellet's, so I can't recommend any, but this shooter does love it's choice of dome's, I've tried almost every brand out there. RWS Super Dome's, Gamo Hunter's,Crosman Dome's/Field Point's, H&N Field Target, Field Target Tropies, Silouettes, Baracudas, all worked extremely well, but One Brand, thats especially hard to find came out on top,,Kovohute Standards shocked me, I thought I was getting a lot of fliers, and after close inspection found them to be all going through the same hole(this is from a bench-rest @ 15 meters). Not too many pointed pellets to tell you about, most of the ones i have on hand fit fine, but would have a tiny bit of the tip sticking out, or would be flush, and jam somewhere around the 4-5 round.& as I said earlier, Crosman SuperPoints fit the mag's well, and give terrific result's,& @ 7.3gr, they give a decent muzzle velocity of close to 450fps
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lamar from USA on 2013-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic feel, looks and weight. The 6" is very accurate once you set the sights to match your own eyeline. Powerful yet does not eat up your CO2.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull in double action, Need a good lazer sight that will fit.
      What others should know:Outstanding air gun. Easy & fast to load. Buy extra mag.s you won't be sorry. Misfires-few to none.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2013-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight and feel is close to a powder burner. Nice case.
      Things I would have changed:sights
      What others should know:Fps with new co2 is 420fps with CPHP. Drops quickly during shooting. Warms up, and good again.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of metal - definitely feels "real". Even with a less-than-rigid front sight assembly, accuracy is slightly better than my Umarex Beretta 92.
      Things I would have changed:The double-action trigger is horrible. It seriously stacks at the end of travel ... and sometimes won't fire unless the trigger is released and pulled a 2nd time.
      What others should know:If you'll only shoot in single-action mode, you'll probably be happy with the CP88. However, if you want to shoot it in double-action, the trigger will need to be worked by an accomplished smith.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Maria from USA on 2012-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun feels good to hold and looks awesome. It is accurate. I also like Walther's eight shot rotary clips.
      Things I would have changed:Well, for an alleged 450 fps I would have expected a little more... power. To make a fair comparison, I have a Walther Nighthawk (400 fps) and a Gamo PT-85 (450 fps). At the same distance where they bury the pellets in a wooden board, this gun barely reaches the target. One side of the handle comes off to allow access to the CO2 cartridge. Getting it off is all fine and dandy, putting it back on, not so much. It'll probably be easier with use, but there HAS to be a better way to do it.
      What others should know:When I first ordered my Walther CP88, I got a defective one. It shot sometimes, and when it did I could just as well have tossed the pellet by hand. I mean, the pellets traveled maybe three feet and fell to the ground. Pyramyd Air kindly provided me with a return shipping label and I sent it back. I got the replacement today. When I first tried it I thought, "You've gotta be kidding." It shot, but the pellet bounced off a Shoot-n-see target without even peeling off the paint. I tried shooting an empty soda can, and the pellet made the can wiggle a little. It didn't even get a dent. I shot a few clips and the gun perked up a little. Now it manages to make a hole in a soda can. I guess it works, but I definitely expected more. I really like Walther airguns, and I want to like this one too. I will shoot it a little more, but if it doesn't start working better it'll have to go back.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Yifang from USA on 2012-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Full metal, Germany Made Quality, the gas cartridge load machnism. It's a great gun
      Things I would have changed:If the aiming blade has a white dot it will be perfect
      What others should know:buy more mags, u will need them
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Laurence from USA on 2012-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I'm not an expert. I'm satisfied with my purchase (the CP88 and Pyramid).
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The CP88 seems to be sturdy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2012-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is really a finely crafted co2 gun...one of the best from Umarex. Great detail and hard to tell its not a powder burner. Plus, it just looks bad-#%! Don't you agree? The co2 loading is easy and all guns should use this system. Very accurate and easy to shoot well. I put the mount on it (see my review on that) and a red dot. So much fun! Good trigger for a double action. Single action is better. Oh and you get a LOT of shots per cartirdge.
      Things I would have changed:I prefer the glossier finish. I've heard they used to come like that. The sights are not target sights, but what you get is more authentic. I wish the wooden grips weren't so pricey! I can get custom made target grips on the 2240 for less.
      What others should know:If you're looking to get into these co2 action pistols...this is the one to get.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2012-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pistol from Umarex. Handles very nicely. Perfect weight and balance and well made. Uses the tried and true 8 shot internal rotary mag. Accurate and looks like the real gun from Walther. Get a lot of shots from a single cartridge. Easy to load the co2 and pierce the seal. Holds air indefinitely. This is one of the nicest they make.
      Things I would have changed:I prefer the glossier finish. Not quite as accurate as the S&W 686. Finish can be scratched.
      What others should know:Looks good with the walnut grips too, if you're willing to give up an arm and a leg for them. I'm thinking of getting the nickel one to make it a pair.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Batung from USA on 2012-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well made, accurate and feel like real firearm.Easy to load CO2 and ammo.
      Things I would have changed:It will be great if next one come out with more power!!!, Love it!!
      What others should know:Buy extra Mags!! it eating pallet quickly
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2011-10-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made. Fit my hand very well. Very accurate up to about 40ft.
      Things I would have changed:Clip jams. If you re-center clip it works fine. Nice gun. Very expensive.
      What others should know:As you know, CO2 doesn't work well on cold days. This is a fun gun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By TonyJ from USA on 2011-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:FIT AND FINISH ARE GREAT. LOOKS AND FEELS LIKE A 45. METAL AND HEAVY, LIKE REGULAR GUN.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING, LOVE IT.
      What others should know:GOOD ACCURACY WITH 7.9G WADCUTTERS, LIMITED ONLY BY MY SKILL.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marc from USA on 2011-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:New to air guns, but very impressed by this product. Seems very much like the authentic item, with impeccable finish & function. Easy & intuitive to load both CO2 & ammo. Excellent value for the $$. Would not hesitate to acquire another Umarex product in this price category.
      Things I would have changed:An accessory rail would be nice, but this is probably not true to the original.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Al from USA on 2011-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything, it is very realistic, well made and accurate. It performed flawlessly right out of the box. If you are thinking about buying an air pistol this should be the one.
      Things I would have changed:Tap and drill the frame to accept a standard metal scope rail.
      What others should know:I am new to airguns but not handguns. I had low expectations but I was very pleased with the quality of the CP88. I get 88+ shots per CO2 cartridge and have had no mechanical problems. I make my own targets, 16 1" bulls eyes per 8 X 8 target. Using the CP88 and a MRS sight I routinely hit 14 of bulls eyes shooting freehand from 8 meters. I could not be happier. OBW, I shoot indoors and noe of my neighbosrs has complained about the noise - the CP88 is very quiet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shivam Shankar from India on 2011-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Full Metal!! Pretty close to the real thing and is pretty heavy!! Though not as heavy as the Beretta 92 FS which is a good thing. Trust me on this one!! Best replica air pistol I've bought yet!!
      Things I would have changed:The double action is much weaker than the single action. Single action atleast on mine is more powerful than the beretta's.
      What others should know:Buy extra mags!!! And mine loves domed pellets!
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top