Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Walther CP88, Nickel, 6 inch barrel reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (13 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jake from USA on 2010-08-07 10:52:26

    Things I liked:It's very realistic in weight. And is the most accurate pellet gun I own. The nickel version makes it look real to.
    Things I would have changed:They should make the grip easier to take off and put on.
    What others should know:If your looking for affordable pellet gun that is also very accurate you should get this gun. I would very highly recoment it.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2011-05-13 09:25:33

    Things I liked:Realistic, good buld quality, easy to change CO2, nice feel in hand.
    Things I would have changed:Rear sight - only adjustable for windage. A fully-adjustable sight would be MUCH better. Apparently one is made, but I can't find it available anywhere. Trigger pull is stiff and a bit rough, and doesn't get any better when shot single-action. No way to mount red dots as far as I know.
    What others should know:I have a gamo lever-action target pistol and bought this because I was getting tired of the slow reloads. This pistol isn't anywhere near as accurate, largely because of the trigger. As a fun plinking gun it is great and I would recommend it without hesitation, but it is only marginal if you are into target shooting.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the gun works right and can punch a hole through a tuna fish can in through the lid and almost out the bottom at 5 yards and is dead on target I did not have to mess with the iron sights.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to get accessory's like but stock and much longer barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jason from USA on 2013-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great gun, very accurate, has realistic feel and weight, very efficient 88 shots at velocity per cartridge. very good trigger feel.
      Things I would have changed:add a rail to barrel extension.
      What others should know:slide release is very difficult to operate when new, don't worry breaks in after about twenty mags.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By fasride from USA on 2013-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my second Walther CP88 in nickel with a 6" barrel. I love this pistol and shoot it almost every day. It is a beautiful clone of a very fine firearm. It is heavy (mostly metal) and looks and feels like a real Walther CP88. It uses the Umarex 8 round magazines that many other air guns use. I have a Desert Eagle and a S&W M&P .45 air pistol that share the same magazines. I keep at least 20 loaded and ready for action at all times. The sights are all black with a wide slot in the rear sight. The wider slot helps you align the sights quickly for quick firing. The slide does not move when the gun is fired. If you want to fire it single action, you have to manually cock the hammer each time. The single action is nice and crisp, but I have gotten used to shooting this gun in double action mode and can fire it pretty quickly and accurately. I can empty the 20 cartridges in short time. That's 160 shots in just a few minutes. Whether you get this pistol with plastic or wood grips, they come off the same way. Just push the button where the magazine release would be on a real firearm and one side grip will pop off. That exposes the place where the CO2 cartridge is placed and pierced. Releasing the pressure of the CO2 cartridge is accomplished by a lever built into the butt of the pistol. Pull it out and the pressure is released. Replace the CO2 cartridge and push the lever back down to puncture the CO2 cartridge. This is a great pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Be prepared to do a lot of shooting with this pistol. It has a very high "fun factor" and is amazingly realistic in all aspects.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BigDaddyEureka from USA on 2013-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an OUTSTANDING pellet pistol. I put nearly 500 rounds through it in the frist 3 days of owning one, and it never missed a beat. Very accurate in single action mode. Buy lots of clips and CO2 - you'll need it!
      Things I would have changed:At this price they really should eliminate the plastic on the slide release lever, the safety switch, and the trigger. Add some white dots on the sights because black on black doesn't really work in a lot of situations. With those changes it would be perfect! If they offered one with a multi-stage adjustable trigger for a few more dinero, it would be even better than perfect. ;)
      What others should know:It's worth noting that the finish is more of a golden tone than the silver look in the website pictures. It still looks really awesome in this finish though! It seems to like the H&N Match Green pellets, and the RWS Match Heavy pellets. Not so good with the RWS Match in 7 grain - not sure why. Above all, don't give up on the trigger feel when you first start shooting it. A few hundred rounds in and after a light cleaning and oiling, it has nearly as good a trigger feel as some of my firearms.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Charles M from USA on 2013-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:With the exception of the black plastic grip covers, this gun is all metal. I like the weight and feel in my hand. Although it is all metal, the weight is not excessive. I like the appearance of the nickel finish. The power and accuracy are good. The trigger is smooth in both double action and single action. I got 96 shots with one Umarex CO2 and 104 with one Crosman CO2, although the last 8 shots for each were lower powered. With extra magazines, I can keep shooting until the CO2 runs out. Overall, this gun is a very good buy and fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The slide release is a two step lever that is rough and not smooth to operate. It does loosen up some with repeated use. Umarex has simpler, smoother slide release buttons on both the Walther PPQ and Smith & Wesson M&P 45 CO2 air guns. Umarex should replace the slide release with the one on either the PPQ or M&P 45. Umarex should also add white dots to the sights.
      What others should know:I've successfully used a variety of pellets in this gun without any jams. Shooting tests were performed free-standing at a range of about 15 feet in my basement with two handed grip with arms extended. The wadcutters included Crosman Premier Super Match, RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle, RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol, JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight, H&N Match Pistol, and H&N Sport. All the wadcutter results were similar with the smallest cluster about 1 inch diameter (JSB Match Diabolo and RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol) and the largest about 1.5 inches diameter (RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle). The domed pellets included Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum, RWS Superdome, H&N Field Target Trophy, and JSB Exact Diabolo. The domed results were all similar with the smallest oblong cluster about 1 inch x 0.75 inch (H&N Field Target Trophy) and the largest about 1.5 inches x 1 inch (RWS Superdome). The pointed pellets included Crosman Premier Super Point, RWS Superpoint, and H&N Spitzkugel. These results were also all similar with the smallest cluster about 1 inch diameter (Crosman Premier Super Point) and the largest about 1 inch x 2 inches (RWS Superpoint).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jay from USA on 2011-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic look and feel. Nice weight and balance. Good accuracy with rifled barrel. Feels very solid. Nice fit and finish. Hitting 2" targets at 10 meters is no problem. Gets over 60 shots with good power per CO2 cartridge, even in cold temperatures. Excellent cartridge loading and sealing mechanism.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight should be adjustable for height. Clicking noise in trigger mechanism annoying in single action mode. Breech release very difficult out of the box--needed to remove barrel and lightly sand release with emory paper and lube with lithium grease. Now it's like butter. Trigger pull very heavy, especially in double action. Should be much lighter or have some form of adjustment. Buckmark .22LR and Colt .45 1911A1 APC--real guns--have MUCH lighter triggers. More than 2 magazines would be nice too. For this amount of money, these things should be corrected.
      What others should know:Use RWS Meisterkugeln 7.0 grain wadcutters. They fit in the magazine perfectly and shoot very straight. The RWS domed 8.3 grain pellets are nice, but need some help seating fully in the magazine or the trigger will jam. RWS Hobby pellets are very tight fit and I needed to use a pencil eraser to get them flush in the magazine or experience major jamming issues. I don't recommend them, even though they are cheap. You will want to buy at least one 3 pack of extra magazines so you're not constantly reloading. Bottom line. Great gun for the money, just needs a few minor improvements.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jay from USA on 2011-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful fit and finish. Stunning. Much more accurate than BB pistols. Rifled barrel a plus. Realistic weight and feel. This is a great gun. Sights very good. No need for elevation. Windage alone gets it done. Excellent gun for target and muscle memory. Good training tool. Good customer service from Umarex and Pyramyd Air.
      Things I would have changed:Breech release very difficult. Had to disassemble and lightly emery paper the latch mechanism and lube. Now it's smooth as butter. Should come with more magazines. Instructions could address maintenace and cleaning a bit better. Annoying click in trigger mechanism in single action mode. I want to stress that none of these things are of major concern.
      What others should know:RWS makes good pellets. Stick with Meisterkugeln 7.0 grain waddcutters for target shooting. I also like the RWS 8.3 grain domed, though they occassionaly need extra effort to seat in the magazine to avoid jamming the trigger. Avoid the RWS Hobby pellets; very poor fit, need to use a pencil eraser to push them into the magazine. I've shot 80 rounds with one CO2 cartridge, but it starts running out of steam in the sixties. Temperature and shooting speed affect this markedly. Also helpful to carefully paint with red/orange nail polish the back side if the front site. That makes it really stand out. Enjoy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2011-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic, good buld quality, easy to change CO2, nice feel in hand.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight - only adjustable for windage. A fully-adjustable sight would be MUCH better. Apparently one is made, but I can't find it available anywhere. Trigger pull is stiff and a bit rough, and doesn't get any better when shot single-action. No way to mount red dots as far as I know.
      What others should know:I have a gamo lever-action target pistol and bought this because I was getting tired of the slow reloads. This pistol isn't anywhere near as accurate, largely because of the trigger. As a fun plinking gun it is great and I would recommend it without hesitation, but it is only marginal if you are into target shooting.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2011-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Has weight and feel of the real thing,but trigger pull is a little stiff; might be that the gun is to new ?
      Things I would have changed:Gun seems to shoot very low, had to grind front sight down which has improved the situation.
      What others should know:Having difficult time locating a bridge bracket for a scope mount. If it is possible would Pyramyd Air list distributors that may carry them. Thanks Jim.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By barry from USA on 2011-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the balance of this pistol is GREAT , although it tip the scales more than the DESERT EAGLE because of the extended barrel it is the best balanced pistol in my collection of over 15 hand guns
      Things I would have changed:as i always say , cheaper is better . BUT IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY
      What others should know:with the help of a rest at 25 feet get ready to lay down a 8 shot pattern 3/4 of a inch ! ! you will get about 48 good shots without any power drop . i have found the best pellet to use in a WALTHER is the WALTHER 7.6 grains. , but they are now discontinued ! in desperation i made a quick phone call to STACEY in the service department at PYRAMTD AIR and she recommended using RWS-10 MATCH PISTOL WADCUTTER in 7.0 grains as a substitute and they are just as good if not better than the WALTHER pellet THANKS STACEY
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jackson from USA on 2010-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit, finish, weight, feel, accuracy, authentic appearance, safety and smooth trigger action.
      Things I would have changed:Great as is.
      What others should know:I just received this from Pyramid Air a couple of weeks ago and am enjoying the heck out of this gun. I own the SW 586 with 6" barrel and the Beretta 92 FS and this gun is much more accurate. I get, on average, 96 to 108 shots out of a CO2 caplet before the pellets start to drop. The trigger and hammer actions are very smooth, although I do seem to shoot more accurately in double action mode. I'm contemplating acquiring a firearm for personal defense and have been practicing combat shooting techniques using this gun and silhouette targets. Very real and very fun! A great purchase, and as always spectacular service from Pyramid Air.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jake from USA on 2010-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's very realistic in weight. And is the most accurate pellet gun I own. The nickel version makes it look real to.
      Things I would have changed:They should make the grip easier to take off and put on.
      What others should know:If your looking for affordable pellet gun that is also very accurate you should get this gun. I would very highly recoment it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything! It is metal instead of plastic. The gun feels realistic. It is powerful and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I think this is a great gun to buy.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top