Date: 20/8/2017 8:36
0

Walther LGV Ultra Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (10 reviews)
5 star4 star3 star2 star1 star
(10 votes)
Add to Cart

Only 5 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Brian from USA on 2015-01-05 06:23:58

Things I liked: Easy to cock. Yet hits hard. Is exceptionally accurate for a brand new gun.. Should even get better.

Things I would have changed: can't think of a thing.

What others should know: This gun even in the synthetic version is a bit heavy for a carry all day hunting gun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Todd from USA on 2017-04-01 22:47:05

Things I liked: Just about everything. Very quiet, smooth and easy cocking. High quality workmanship.

Things I would have changed: Less weight. Definitely could use sling mounts. When hiking looking for game a sling would be a very very welcome.

What others should know: I was very hesitant to shell this amount of money for a springer, but I have zero regrets. Of all the air guns I have this is the quietest and you can also get a silencer for it as the barrel is already threaded for it. Accuracy with the H&N Sniper Magnum 18 gr is dead on. I mounted the BSA AR27X32 scope on it and quite happy, but I'm not too crazy about the screw on lens covers. The one thing this lacks is mounts for a sling. Due to the weight a sling would be most welcomed when hiking with the LGV. This is one unreal springer. The squirrels don't stand a chance. I'll probably get another one in .177.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2017-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just about everything. Very quiet, smooth and easy cocking. High quality workmanship.

    Things I would have changed: Less weight. Definitely could use sling mounts. When hiking looking for game a sling would be a very very welcome.

    What others should know: I was very hesitant to shell this amount of money for a springer, but I have zero regrets. Of all the air guns I have this is the quietest and you can also get a silencer for it as the barrel is already threaded for it. Accuracy with the H&N Sniper Magnum 18 gr is dead on. I mounted the BSA AR27X32 scope on it and quite happy, but I'm not too crazy about the screw on lens covers. The one thing this lacks is mounts for a sling. Due to the weight a sling would be most welcomed when hiking with the LGV. This is one unreal springer. The squirrels don't stand a chance. I'll probably get another one in .177.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2017-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great fit and finish. The barrel lock up is as solid as when you close the action on a quality double barrel shotgun or close the door on a Mercedes. The high level of engineering comes through in the smoothness of the cocking mechanisms and how quiet this rifle is. No boing, no twang, just a solid thump when you pull the trigger. When cocking the gun there is no mechanism noise or anything except for a solid click at the very end of the cocking cycle. Recoil is very manageable and I could see the pellet punch through the target through the scope after I pulled the trigger so the ant-recoil technology built into the rifle is doing it's job. Topped with a UTG 3-9 AO scope, this thing is a pleasure to shoot

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if they could shave a lb. or so off of this rifle but if it would have a negative impact on accuracy or recoil then I'd leave the weight alone. At approximately 9 lbs., it's not something you want to tote around even for several hours in the field without a sling but it's great for varmints and birds around the property. Also not a big fan of tru-glow sights but these seemed to be ok. Not overly bright. Little pricey but you get what you pay for. Also wouldn't mind a little more power. While the .22 is rated at 700 fps, but in the real world it's more like 585 - 625 depending upon the pellet. Haven't shot through a crony yet so can't tell for sure. Hoping to do that in the next couple of weeks.

    What others should know: Being an avid outdoorsman, and since I'm nearing retirement, I thought what better time to take up another hobby right? After much research, and getting things narrowed down to a RWS 34, Jerry at PA advised me to take a look at the Walther Terrus. Well I looked at the Terrus, the Parrus and then the the Walther LGV Ultra. I settled on the LGV and this thing is built like a tank and the accuracy is really really good but I've only shot about 30 rounds through it and it just keeps getting smoother, quieter, and more accurate. My initial sight-in with 14.3 Crossman Premiers at 20 yds is grouping 5 shots inside a dime just shooting in the backyard. Hopefully I can get on a bench at our local sportsmans club soon and really tighten things up. I also have the JSB Diablo's in 13.43, 15.89, and 18.13 to try so we'll see which of these will be the best match for this rifle. If you are looking at air rifles or already have 1 or more, this is a quality rifle you may want to add to your arsenal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2016-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, build quality, noise level, relative ease of cocking, balance,power, comes with sights. Did I say accuracy?! This is a pleasure to shoot. I thought that the shorter portion of the barrel break would make it difficult to cock but not at all. I like the lock that holds the barrel in place and the automatic safety is a good safety feature without being annoying - the safety is very easy to set and take off.

    Things I would have changed: Add sling studs. Tempting to say the weight but that seems to help control recoil so I'll keep the weight. I'd like to say price (I'm cheap) but I have to say the gun seems worth the price

    What others should know: You can't get a fair appraisal of your accuracy and skills without a gun that shoots consistently. This gun is spot-on accurate and very consistent. The sights are great right out of the box and will suit welling a pinch but with a gun that is easily accurate to 40 yards my eyes need the help of a scope on small targets. It is a bit heavy to carry while hunting but thats why I plan to rig a sling that won't get in the way when cocking the barrel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2016-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this gun. It is very smooth. Cocks smoothly with no funny noises and shoots with a twang free solid thunk. Even the breech lockup when returning the barrel to battery is solid and free of any funny noises. The lack of vibration has allowed the screws to all stay tight so far (~250 rounds) which is not something I've seen with other springers. Of course all that smooth behavior is meaningless without accuracy and the guns delivers in this category. It is as easy to shoot and as accurate as my R7 but with more power holds that accuracy at greater distances. The trigger has a long first stage followed by a crisp release. I sense no creep or grittiness. Noise level is low for a springer. It is no louder than my R7.

    What others should know: I'm getting 11.5 fpe with this springer. The gun is heavy and the weight is mostly forward. Shooting from a bench or rest is wonderful. Shooting offhand is more work. Rear sight removal apparently takes heat.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Billy from USA on 2016-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I got my LGV Ultra .22 about a year ago and have fired well over a thousand rounds through it. It is outstanding in quality of workmanship and performance. It has easy cocking effort, very low recoil and is extremely accurate. Combined with a great trigger it is just a joy to shoot. I don’t think you shouldn’t have to send a new rifle to an airgun-smith to get it tuned or upgraded in order for it to shoot at its full potential. It should be just fine the way it is, right out of the box. Excellent job Walther!

    Things I would have changed: In the U.S. the .177 version comes with a more powerful spring than the European version. That’s why .177 owners here complain of “spring twang”. The .22 version comes with the less powerful European spring that this gun was designed for, so no twang, just a quiet thump.

    What others should know: Although it will shoot a variety of pellets accurately, using the JSB 15.89gr domed at 25 yards my LGV will consistently shoot 1/8” groups and has plenty of power for hunting small game (13.35 FPE @ muzzle / 8.79 FPE @ 50 yards). Hunting, like target shooting, is not about power but accuracy and that’s where the LGV Ultra shines. If the price is what’s holding you back… premium mounts that don’t creep and high power scopes that can stand up to the punishment of springers are expensive. The harsh recoil of magnum springers will usually destroy even the most expensive airgun rated scopes over time. The LGV Ultra in .22 cal has such a smooth firing cycle it does fine with cheaper standard mounts and inexpensive high power airgun scopes, saving you hundreds of dollars. I would rather invest in a quality rifle than waste the same money throwing expensive scopes away.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I own the synthetic version of this rifle in .22 cal and all I can say is that it is magnificent, it best my pcp guns on accuracy and build quality is superb. I also own the Beeman R7 and Hk97, they are both beautiful rifles that are very accurate but I would say the LGV has become my favorite gun. I will own the .177 and am sure it is everything it's big brother. 22 is.

    Things I would have changed: There is nothing, in my opinion, to change on this superb rifle.

    What others should know: Fork the cash out and get this rifle and then you'll want the the other caliber like me.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2015-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to cock. Yet hits hard. Is exceptionally accurate for a brand new gun.. Should even get better.

    Things I would have changed: can't think of a thing.

    What others should know: This gun even in the synthetic version is a bit heavy for a carry all day hunting gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By PAUL from USA on 2014-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is an excellent airgun that lives up to Walthers claims and the reviews from Airgunweb and Airgun Reporter. I purchased the .22 version along with a Bushnell Banner 6-18x50 AO Rifle Scope, Multi-X Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube and Leapers Accushot 1" Rings, High, 9.5-11.5mm Dovetail. At 64 my eyes need a scope and this set up works great. The trigger on this gun is light, crisp, and predictable right out of the box. At 15 yds you can expect one hole accuracy. The cocking effort is very smooth and at 38lbs should allow you to shoot all day without tiring out your arm. It also has plenty of power to knock down squirrels with 1 shot humane kills out to 30yds. Maybe further, but thats the farthest I've shot one in my yard so far.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. You get whats advertised and I'm confident you will have no regrets.

    What others should know: The LGV Challenger Ultra his heavier than I expected. Meaning I underestimated what 8.6 lbs felt like. So I'm glad I didn't go with one of the wood stock models. Plus the Synthetic stock is actually pretty nice ( as far as Synthetic stocks go.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: RE: .22 (which has 12FPE) Accuracy. Literal one-holer at 15 yds. Haven't been out further, yet. Weight of polymer stock is appreciably lighter (but still hefty) than wood versions. Adore the barrel lock which should assure consistent lock-up. Trigger is very nice and light but might need some adjusting with a screwdriver or the included allen wrench. Doesn't seem particularly pellet sensitive. Pellet heads go in with a light, snug, feeling rather than either falling in or needing to be forced. I haven't found it to be very hold sensitive, either. I've shot straight off a bag (around its balance point) as well as "artillery" with close results

    Things I would have changed: I'd love a blued muzzle break instead of painted. I wish they offered options, such as a muzzle break with no sights (easier cocking leverage). Would be nice if sights were offered in different styles such as hooded with different inserts like Weihrauch. My pref is for aperture sights over tru-glo (which probably work better in some applications) Would like to see availability of their Tuning Trigger and which is still overseas, but not here in the States

    What others should know: Short barrel so cocking isn't as light as some. Not troubling, just not the effort of an R7. There may be a slight buzz from the spring but not a strong twang like most rifles. Sure it is a smoother shot cycle than the higher power versions in .177 but why isn't the larger caliber available in that higher power? I think to 25 yards, you're hard to beat the LGV .22, but the trajectory will arc fairly hard after that, so know your mil-dots!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Omar from USA on 2013-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Workmanship, nicely blued, minimum recoil, positive barrel lock, consistent accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Less weight would be nice and a little less mechanical "twang"

     
Navigation