Walther P38 CO2 BB Pistol reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Michael from USA on 2012-12-01 11:41:44

Things I liked:another fine replica bb gun from umarex.well made,realistic,safety lever in good position,nice weight.blowback feature is'nt overwellming.all metal bb magazine with lockdown on the bb carrier.plastic grips look like real wooden grips rite down to the lanyard carrier.magazine release at bottom of grip works well.lets get to accuracy,out of the box,with rws bb's 1/2 inch group at 15' in the 9 and 10 ring with a few flyers.with shoot n c targets, tight groups in the 9 n 10 rings blowing out the 10 ring.this gun is as accurate as u can get for a bb gun.using avanti bbs also.blew out 10 ring on crosman dinosaur target.fixed sights are good.trigger pull is smooth. couldnt wait for this gun to come in.my opinion so far is its worth the money.glad i got it.also have crosmans version of the p38 which is the c41. The Walther takes it again, sofar the walther shoots well with RWS and Avanti bbs. BUY IT.
Things I would have changed:nothing except to add white dots on the sights.could come with some spare mags for the price ur paying.
What others should know:dont see any spare mags being offered as of yet.buy it.hope this review holds up to the test of time. still new. again,out of the box its a winner.capo 007
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Mark from USA on 2014-11-11 11:28:02

Things I liked:Cardboard box, style of gun, accuracy.
Things I would have changed:I would change pretty much everything, the grip color, the cheap glossy look of the frame,the magazine is horrible, the co2 cartridge tightener to a hex wrench style or clamp style, the safety is loose and doesn't work properly, the slide is loose and feels cheap when shooting, make it so the BB's don't roll out the barrel when aiming downwards (use a magnet maybe ?) , use a single action only trigger, make it so it only shoots one bb at a time instead of two or three, make the grip slide back to access the co2 instead of having to pry off one side of the grip, paint white dots on the sights (at least the front one), make rear sight adjustable for windage, etc,etc,etc.............
What others should know:Walther should be ashamed to put their name on such a sorry piece of junk. This gun has ZERO fun-factor ! Buy the Crosman C41, it shoots approx. 495 fps, has a 1 year warranty, actually works like its supposed to, and is WAY COOLER, plus its made in America !!!
Sort by:
  • 12 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Bob from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The look, feel, weight and detail are spot on. Embossed rather then white painted caution info. Quick removing barrel. Hidden CO2 thumb screw. Recessed front part of barrel. No seams.
    Things I would have changed:Obviously the lacquered finish that looks like paint. The 3mm slide return spring is too light and gets loose after a number of firings. Also very difficult to replace. Grips look OK, but feels cheesy.Safety works if pushed all the way, but should be corrected. Allen rather then thumb type CO2 screw for thick fingers. Adjustable sights. Possible double action if feed mechanism can be changed to prevent BB's from rolling out or doubling. Better trigger pull if feed mechanism can be corrected. Make small parts available for those that can do minor repairs.
    What others should know:DO NOT remove top slide or return spring will get lost and is very difficult to replace. Safety needs to be pushed all the way to the end to fully operate. Do not move slide back and forth when shooting to prevent roll out and BB's doubling.Accuracy is hit and miss for this short a smooth bore barrel.For the avid collectors, this gun fills the bill as a show piece.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Andrew from USA on 2015-04-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great Replica BB gun, functions and feels like the real thing. I also found the accuracy fairly good. Worked perfectly from the first shot with no jams even after 100+ shots. I highly recommend it!
    Things I would have changed:Since the barrel is removable, it would be nice to have other (longer) barrels offered as accessories.
    What others should know:The functioning of my gun was a bit stiff at first (particularly the safety latch) but after a quick oiling everything worked fine. So my suggestion is to oil well before firing it. [Note: I'm submitting this second review because the rating stars didn't work in my first review]
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Bob from USA on 2015-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The details are spot on. The weight,feel and handling is identical to the real thing. Embossed rather then white painted caution info. Field strip is easy except for rear slide section.
    Things I would have changed:Needs a more natural finish over high gloss. A better designed blow back return spring. At 3mm it tends to weaken with constant use and causes loose slide. Also very difficult to replace. BB's tend to roll out or double easily when gun is pointed down. Top section should come off as one piece, as in real model. Needs allen screw type tightener for CO2, due to people with large fingers. A full drop out magazine with the CO2 would be more desirable, but due to feed design, it might be difficult to install.
    What others should know:DO NOT remove rear slide, as it will lose return spring and is extremely difficult to replace. Accuracy is so so for that short a smooth bore barrel, but it still shoots well. The safety works if pushed all the way to the end. If your a collector of authentic looking guns, this one is recommended.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By larry from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The look, feel and weight are right. The power is quite strong for a blowback pistol. It accurate enough, sounds a little loud but that is a plus.
    Things I would have changed:Finish is a bit to bright. I think the grips should a black bakite type as opposed to walnut style.
    What others should know:I am getting between 60 to 70 shots from a co2 cart. A great piece to own. Can't wait to see what they can do with a Nippon Nambu!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:1.) Realistic look and feel, 2.) Highly accurate, 3.) should get 75-85 shots per cartridge.
    Things I would have changed:Would prefer a dropdown magazine because the cartridge tightener handle has tendency to drop below the BB mag during insertion of magazine. Also, it's sometimes difficult to snap on wood handle completely into the frame
    What others should know:This has a two stage trigger just like the real thing, which might take the shooter time to adjust to firing. I've had no jamming problems.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Thomas from USA on 2015-02-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Extremely nice looking, Finish is a little brite, still looks good. It is very accurate at 15' With a qualifier the trigger is very stiff and therefore gun is hard to hold on target. still all in all I am very pleased
    Things I would have changed:Trigger pull is too heavy
    What others should know:I believe most buyers will be glad they purchased it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Stephen from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I'm a retired NYS gunsmith with twenty years experience. This is one of fourteen assorted replica firearms I've purchased from Pyramyd Air and like all the others the quality, the price, the realism, and the attention to detail is exceptional.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:This replica is the next best thing to the original firearm.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By michael from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice replica.Hits hard and accurate
    Things I would have changed:Would go to co2 containing mag,da /sa trigger and optional shorter barrel
    What others should know:First one was a leaker.Pyramid stood by their warranty and the replacement is fine
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By michael from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very close to original, solid construction
    Things I would have changed:Slide could lock up better ,that is why safety does not always engage. If slide is pushed into place ,safety always works. This pistol should have double and single action,as well as co2 containing mag like the P08. An optional longer target barrel and a shorter barrel with flash hider for old geezers who remember the Man from Uncle
    What others should know: Nice addition ,could stand a little tweaking ,but I will keep mine. A nice understudy to my Walther P4
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Ray from USA on 2014-11-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It looks and feels like the WWII souvenir that I had, and was delivered in good shape. I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet. My wife has it wrapped for a coming Christmas present. .
    Things I would have changed:The metal finish is a little too slick. It looks like it was painted with black, gloss enamel. Perhaps the metal could be anodized or something so it wouldn't look so shiny plastic, and appear more authentic.
    What others should know:I like it very much, and am very happy to have a replica of the original I lost. Can't wait to shoot it!
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Jim from Canada on 2014-11-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The styling, build quality and attention to detail is great. If you like collecting replicas, this is one to have for sure.
    Things I would have changed:Make it a pellet shooter. The bb's let this pistol down. The bb's fall out occasionally and accuracy is poor. Not a fan of the plastic clip on handles either. As others have mentioned, if you have thick fingers, it's difficult to turn the C02 piercing mechanism. Also, not a fan of the high gloss feature.
    What others should know:It's a great looking replica and feels nice in the hand but not a great shooter.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Mark from USA on 2014-11-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Cardboard box, style of gun, accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:I would change pretty much everything, the grip color, the cheap glossy look of the frame,the magazine is horrible, the co2 cartridge tightener to a hex wrench style or clamp style, the safety is loose and doesn't work properly, the slide is loose and feels cheap when shooting, make it so the BB's don't roll out the barrel when aiming downwards (use a magnet maybe ?) , use a single action only trigger, make it so it only shoots one bb at a time instead of two or three, make the grip slide back to access the co2 instead of having to pry off one side of the grip, paint white dots on the sights (at least the front one), make rear sight adjustable for windage, etc,etc,etc.............
    What others should know:Walther should be ashamed to put their name on such a sorry piece of junk. This gun has ZERO fun-factor ! Buy the Crosman C41, it shoots approx. 495 fps, has a 1 year warranty, actually works like its supposed to, and is WAY COOLER, plus its made in America !!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brent from USA on 2014-09-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The looks, the feel and the accuracy. Some have criticized the polished finish on this piece. When Dr. Walther developed this pistol in 1936 it came in a variety of finishes including gold-plated fully engraved models. Though the standard military unit was subdued, officer's models had the option of a high polished finish. I personally like the finish. Other have critiqued the safety engagement which works fine for me. If you place a slight forward thumb pressure on the slide the safety slips easily into place. The accuracy was 1.5 inches at 15 yards on my first load. Accuracy was dead center. The most consistently accurate of the CO2 pistols that I own.
    Things I would have changed:While loading the CO2 cartridge with the left side grip removed my gnarled motorcycle wrenching fingers had difficulty turning the securing screw without coming into contact with the right side grip. although there is a cut-out on this grip it was not sufficient to clear my thumb or index finger. Lost some CO2 in the process. I convinced my wife to help with the next cartridge figuring her delicate alabaster digits would more readily fit the space. But, alas, it was not so. By removing the right grip I was able to easily insert the cartridge. I recommend a press fit for both grips. The only other thing I would change would be to lighten the second stage of the trigger pull. I don't know why CO2 guns have historically hard trigger pulls.
    What others should know:This is probably the finest of the "Legend" series for accuracy. The pressure does not drop off until the fourth magazine. Left to right accuracy is dead on, up and down is dead on for the first three magazines. The fourth magazine has a tendency to shoot one inch low as pressure drops. Half way through the fourth magazine the blow back becomes sporadic. You can still shoot the piece by cocking the hammer. You could probably get 15 or 20 more shots using this method. The finish is beautiful, the plastic grips have a pleasing, original mottled design. I highly recommend this pistol to anyone who desires to join into lots of inexpensive entertainment.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2014-08-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The weight, feel accuracy, trigger, blow,back, looks, well just about everything about mine. I was a little reluctant at first to buy this pistol, having heard the issues with the safety and trigger. The safety is accuated almost in 2 stages press it down half way until it feels like it wants to stop and then click it the rest of the way to engage the safe mode . Do the opposite to put in in the fire mode. The trigger is pretty much the same, mine acts like a 2 stage trigger,I pull it in until I feel it stop and then pull it the rest of the way in to fire, I have had no bbs roll out of the barrell or jam. The pistols slide is nice and smooth and adds to the good grouping at 20 to 25 ft.The co2 is easy to put in and it works with any type of 12 gram co2 cartridge, the peircinc pin is solid as is the seal. Just remember to put a little pell gun oil on the co2 seal when you shoot and store the gun
    Things I would have changed:You really do need to get extra stick mags for this at Pyramid. That was the major sticking point of my purchase of this gun, soooo please extra stick mags guys and gals.
    What others should know:This is one of my favorite air guns and I can see why it was so popular with the German Navy ( mostly )it is a well made very and I mean very accurate pistol, mostly due to the way the slide functions so smoothly and once you master the 2 stages of the trigger I think you will like this little pistol as much as I do.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Darrell from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I bought this pistol twice. With in a 6 month time frame. Hoping by then,they would have corrected the same problem I sent back the first one for! But, no it was the same problem. The safety does not work. I requested that they check it out before they send it. Apparently no one took the time to simply check.I properly would of kept it. This would have saved time and expense for the both of us.In my opinion this pistol is not worth the money, it priced at $99.00 , it should be priced more in the $60.00 range at best. Thank goodness that I'm doing business with a reputable company, with there money back warranty. Good staff.
    Things I would have changed: Fix the dam safety , once and for all! Also, the color is to glossy . The color of the Crossman's C-41 would look more authentic on the P-38. and most likely ware better.
    What others should know: I would imagine many PA customer's comment about the same things. Problem seems to be they fall on deaf ears. I realize PA does not make some of the products, but they should make every attempt to change some of these pistol complaints . Another complaint , not related to this pistol, but to other's I have ordered , have had plastic magazines, The whole pistol is metal except the plastic magazine.I do not understand the logic behind this. All the feed back I've read, all complain about this very same thing. All would gladly pay little more money for this up grade, but no the manufacturer decides to cheap out.Wouldn't it benefit both sides , having more satisfied customer's and more sales due to a better product? Last comment, with all the feed back PA requests to get, you have to wonder if anyone is actually listening. With all due respect,perhaps it's just out of your hands. In that case, why even bother to ask for feed back?
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2014-06-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Plenty of power for what I needed it for. Plinking, shoot n c targets, etc... Accuracy is great! Cool replica of great German sidearm. Very pleased with it! (poor soda can didn't stand a chance!)
    Things I would have changed:Mabey a little too shiney of a finish. Extra mag would be nice. Put it in a repro P-38 holster, & it makes the safty go to fire selection! Be aware of that!
    What others should know:Blow back feature works, but only goes back about an inch. Should go back further. Safty could be better. I still have to learn more about the proper way to lubercate/grease it properly to keep operating smootly.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By ivan from USA on 2014-06-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:what I like about this little beauty is it's look the feel in my hands the weight of it and it is metal all over the grips are not wooden but for the money it is a nice pistol and fun to shoot just remember to get extra BB's and couple magazines targets and don't for get safety first
    Things I would have changed:well for starters I've sent this BB pistol back twice for the safety did not work properly now this is the third one and the safety works only in the fire position yes. on the pistol you have S for safe F for fire well mine is reversed the F is my safety and S is just there what I am saying is it do's not work it will shoot in the safety mode and when in fire mode you can pull the lever all the way back and it is in the safety mode then you can push it to the s mode and it will fire maybe someone put the S and F in the wrong place to be honest I don't know but if I were going to change anything it would be that the safety. I was going to send it back for the third time but I live in a apartment and everything is left at the door and packages here seem to grow legs and walk away and I can't always be here to receive it or wait for them to deliver it my wife told me I am a fool for not sending it back but she wont be home to get it for me so what else is there for me to do I like the gun
    What others should know:now pyramid air don't think I am blasting you guys or walther I am just saying this need the pistols should be checked before shipping to make sure everything works so that no one get hurt if you receive one and the safety don't work call PyramydAir and they will help you very nice customer service that will listen to you and get you taken care of remember air gunners be careful and have fun shooting
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Darrell from USA on 2014-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Real looking, with real moving parts. All Metal, even the mag.
    Things I would have changed: Not able to see if you can buy extra mags.
    What others should know: Bought the pistol, but returned it. Had a safety jam issue. Didn't even get a chance to shoot the pistol.I do like their 30 days return policy.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By joseph from USA on 2014-01-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Feels like the real thing,I have a ww2 walther p38 very good copy
    Things I would have changed:The grips are a little bit flimsy could be made of a heavy plastic,needs more power rifled barrel in 22 pellet.
    What others should know:It's fun to shoot and cheap compared to the real thing .
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By mattthew from USA on 2014-01-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Overall authentic looking piece. Attention to detail a plus.
    Things I would have changed:I would change the paint to a less glossy coating. A lighter trigger pull would also inhance this piece.
    What others should know:Anyone collecting WII replicas this would be a plus to their collections.
  • 12 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top