Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Walther Talon Magnum reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By dee from USA on 2009-05-05 11:24:45

    Things I liked:great rifle for the money awesome accuracy grouping with 1/4-1/2 inch, sighted in rifle one day next shot first squirrel at 30 yards dead on
    Things I would have changed:nothing to compare to bought 3 airguns so far this is the only one that function properly
    What others should know:read online articles excellent article online for sighting in rifle part 1,2,3 -- highly recommended
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By bryan from USA on 2012-10-16 15:30:10

    Things I liked:It hammers them downrange,and the open sights are good...but thats about the only things i can brag on about this one. I will give the benifit of the doubt and say most of the issues i had with this may have been solved if I had opted for the NitroPiston-but this rifle was badd. Thankfully,PA was AWESOME in addressing the situation and had me set up with another combo in record time with NO hassle whatsoever.
    Things I would have changed:Everything,but most of all,the scope mounts!!That thing would walk ALL over.Of course, with the hammering this thing produced it wasnt surprising.Even during break in, was reasonably tight with open sights-but with the scope,you'd zero,get 2-3 decent shots,then have to rezero.Loud,bulky,and even someone like me who shoots regularly for long stretches,a beast to cock.
    What others should know:Only negative review i've had to post, and like i said, may be a different ballgame with NP. And on the bright side,PA turned it around in record breaking time(LOVE my Benj Trail NP AW .22 !!)
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By WRoberts from USA on 2011-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this for backyard pest control and have been very pleased. Heavier pellets (e.g., 10.5 grains) will quiet this big boy down (subsonic) and reduce some of the buzziness in the recoil felt with lighter pellets. For my purposes it's very accurate (1/2" moa at 20 yards) and sounds a bit like a nail gun which is good for me since I'm in an urban setting.
      Things I would have changed:Upgrade the scope and charge a little more or get rid of it and charge less for the gun. Scope doesn't come with the right mounts so it is loose within five shots. Also found it impossible to zero in. Replaced it with a cheap SigArms red dot sight that I already had and now this thing is a "tack driver". The scope issue is the only reason I don't give it all five stars.
      What others should know:If urban pigeon control is your aim then look no further.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sam from USA on 2011-08-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:See my prior reviews
      Things I would have changed:See my prior reviews
      What others should know:I've put several hundred rounds through my rifle, and with open sights and my nearsighted 60 year old eyes (and glasses) I can still shred a soft drink can at 25 yards. At that range, the rifle puts serious dents in a 20 gauge metal backstop. Mainly I want to comment on scoping the rifle. You want to be sure you get a scope that will take what the Talon dishes out. Either a very good quality airgun scope like the Leapers 4-12 X 44 AO or a .50 BMG scope. Anything short of those won't hold up very long. Trust me - I've trashed a couple of scopes with this rifle! You'll also want some very strong rings that won't walk back on you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ian from USA on 2011-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I ordered the .22 caliber spring version. Extremely powerful and accurate. Shoots the Predator Polymag pellets very nicely. Knocked a squirrel out of a tree at 30 yards with open sights. Dead before he hit the ground. Has an adjustable trigger and nice mount for a scope. Absolutely devastating to anything hit within 50 yards. A good alternative to a rim fire .22.
      Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is about 50 lbs. Definitely a workout. The gun itself is heavy, mostly due to the stock, so get used to carrying around a little bit of weight. Wouldn't be too bad if the cocking effort was around 30 and had a lighter stock on it. It definitely wears you down if your taking shots all day (it does teach you, though, to value each shot). The performance of the rifle itself is so good that the cocking effort and weight of the rifle are not deal breakers.
      What others should know:I moved from a .177 air gun (Gamo Silent Cat) to this .22. It was my first .22 air rifle. Definitely takes some getting used to if you've never used a .22 air rifle before. Once you get the hang of it, it's absolutely fantastic.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kris from USA on 2011-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hard hitting, powerful. I am very pleased with the Walther Talon Magnum .25. I was torn between the .22 and the .25, I am glad I chose the .25. Tremendous knockdown power, Excellent fit and finish. Love it ! When sighting in the scope, I was sending H&N cudas 2/3 the way through a treated 2x6 backstop at 30+ yards.
      Things I would have changed:The hollow stock should be filled. This would help the rifle feel more "solid". The scope is just - OK, I immediately replaced it with a Centerpoint 4-16x40, which is excellent. Don't let these issues steer you away from purchasing, these are the only "small" negatives I can come up with. Still a true nail-driver of a rifle.
      What others should know:This rifle is very heavy and hard to cock. Gave me a good workout just sighting in the scope. Basically, this is not a good rifle for an afternoon of backyard plinking, but excellent for hunting or just brute knockdown power. The Talon likes H&N cudas and Predator Polymags. Overall .... I Love it !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-07-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:put a hole clean through two water filled milk jugs and rested in the third with cphp
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:likes the crosman hollowpoints no wadcutters
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2011-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:power! i have the .25 talon and it has enough power to shoot the 43 grain eunjins really well. also the price. for $199 you can't beat this gun with a stick.
      Things I would have changed:in .25, this is a twangy/buzzy gun. that being said, tghe heavy 43 grain eunjin pellets tame out the buzz and vibration completely, so you have a nice, hard "chang!" without the buzz. shooting the 43 grain eunjins out of this is very satisfying,
      What others should know:the accuracy is decent with the gun, but she really shines with the 43 grain eunjins. i can shoot maybe half an inch offhand at 20 yards with them. the only other pellet i've tried that it likes are the barracudas. if you buy this gun, you have to get some of the 43 grain eunjin pellets so you can experience what a difference they make with the gun. this thing was made to shoot heavy pellets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By hillclimbers159 from USA on 2011-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Power!!!alot more than my Bejamin Super Steak in .22 caliber.Don't mess with the smaller calibers, get the .25!
      Things I would have changed:The balance of the airgun, and quality of the stock.
      What others should know:Not for young shooters very hard to cock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jimmy from USA on 2011-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the talon is awesome. once i sighted in the scope, and was ready for shootin i targeted squirls, rabitt, and have yet to miss a shot. this .22 cal talon is a beast. great for hunting without disturbing other game that may be close by.
      Things I would have changed:plastic trigger and safety.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By brad from USA on 2011-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power ,the fact that it will shot right through a quarter in one shot. with p.b.a. ammo.
      Things I would have changed:The triger has some play in it when you shake it side to side,and it needs a 9x50 scoope. outher than that you will not fined a beter deal on the market ...
      What others should know:Out of all the magnum springers and gamo socom extrem this is the strongest.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By brad from USA on 2011-05-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I absolutely love this gun . Hands down this gun will blow out the back end of a quarter in one shot. The gamo socom extrem took 3 shotes to do that. and it will go all the way through a Ocala FL phone book. I would of payed twice as much for this gun . It has a grate price. and customer survice was awesome !!!
      Things I would have changed:NEW SCOPE.
      What others should know:C.P.H. 10.5 GRAIN ARE THE BEST FOR THIS GUN. I COULD HERE THE GAMO ROCKET 9.6 GRAIN PELLETS BRAKE THE SOUND BARRIOR.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By DOUG from USA on 2011-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I LOVE THE POWER THIS GUN MAKES..GREAT SMALL GAME HUNTING RIFLE..GOOD ACCURACY.
      Things I would have changed:BETTER STOCK..EASER TO COCK....
      What others should know:THE STOCK SEEMS KIND OF CHEAP..40 SOMETHING POUNDS TO COCK ..LOTS OF RECOIL..BUT IF YOU LOVE RAW POWER YOU WILL LOVE THIS GUN..NICKNAME THE BEAST..IF YOU CAN TAME IT......IT WILL KICK BUTT..
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Jedidiah from USA on 2011-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Synthetic stock.
      Things I would have changed:LOTS! Starting with the front and rear sights,front sight looks like a basketball on the end of the barrel,which would be jus fine if it were a shotgun,but has to large of a circumference and can get real confusing when trying too fine tune that sweetspot.Rear sights move all around while cocking,or even just general use...It's not a porciline doll,its a gun,made for hunting threw trees,brairs,thickets,and all the other rough obsticals mother nature puts us thru when out n the wilderness.
      What others should know:The fact that you can google a Germain made air rifle and the Walther name pops up,you order the rifel and stampd right on the side it says,[MADE IN TURKEY].Very disapointed!I have a Daisy powerline,[ALSO MADE IN TURKEY] that i picked up at a pawn shop for 40.00 bucks,if the talon wasn't a 22 cal you could'nt tell them apart.Sholda saved myself 100.00 bucks and bought another Daisy.Sellouts,gonna sell the German name,but send u a Turkesh rifel.BULL!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2011-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall feel of the gun is great. Very accurate and a ton of knockdown power.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe make the length of pull at 14 1/2" and then have the shim option that would get you to the 15". I'm not a tall guy so its a stretch for me but still achievable.
      What others should know:This is not your typical pellet gun. It has a ton of power. I recommend the heavier pellets as the lighter ones produce a lot of noise. The heavy pellets just produce a thud sound and most of that is the gun where the lighter ones sound a lot like a rimfire 22.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2011-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy
      Things I would have changed:The recoil, if I could change it. But that's a springer for you. It's not that bad, but takes getting used to.
      What others should know:Fired first with iron sights at about 10 meters. Got that pretty dialed in, though I'm no marksman. The I took it to a 50 meter range and tried the iron sights again. I'm definitely no marksman there, though I was just using a silhouette and kept my groups in the head and heart region no problem--probably about a 6 inch group. Next I set up the provided scope for 10 meters. That definitely made a difference there, keeping a 1 inch or less group consistently over 50 shots on several targets. I'll take it to the 50 meter range again soon with the scope and see how I do there. This gun (the .22 version) is powerful, going through two 3/4 inch pine boards with a little power to spare with Beeman Kodiaks.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike F. from USA on 2011-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The power is more than adequate for bunny busting and, no doubt, anything smaller would be easy work for this big spring-air! Also, I am impressed with the accuracy! This is the first pellet rifle I have owned (own 6 others) that I would seriously consider as a near substitute for a .22 rimfire.
      Things I would have changed:If I could have one wish magicaly granted it would be to have the rifle scaled down about 5% or so. Then again, it might lose some of the power that makes it such an awesome beast! Larger shooters will like it alot; I am 6 foot, 210 lbs and it is as large as I wish to carry in the field. It is like a long barreled .300 mag! I have no need for the buttplate spacers as the length of pull is already at the maximum for my comfort.
      What others should know:I just have not had time to properly test this rifle on the range, but I did get a crude three-shot group on a rock while out walking the edges of a wheat field: it measured approximately 2.5 in. c-t-c with a shape depicting two shots, one above the other, 2.5 inches apart, and the third shot situated directly between the first two, and an inch to the left. This at 50 to 60 yards using the open sights! While this is an awesome deal, I think the nitro piston version should hold even more promise, if you can afford the extra hundred (or so) bucks. You can't go wrong with Pyramyd Air!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sam from USA on 2010-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:See my prior review
      Things I would have changed:See my prior review
      What others should know:Further to my initial review: I have put probably 200 rounds through my rifle (.22) and it will easily print dime size groups at 10 yards - nickel size at 25 yards. Power is just amazing - I shot a piece of 1/2 inch aluminum plate at 10 yards and the HP 14.3 gr pellet actually cratered the aluminum - pellet absolutely disintegrated! I have a Crosman pellet trap that has held up admirably through several air rifles and pistols. However, the power of this rifle is such that it will punch through the cloth drapes inside the trap, and it will dent the metal backplate. You really need a heavy backstop (I use an oak block) or earthen berm - the Crosman pellet trap is excellent for your average air gun, but this rifle will beat it to death. The scope is problematical in terms of keeping it from scooting back under forward recoil. I installed Weaver rings so they won't move, but no matter how tight I made the actual ring screws the scope would back out. The rings were actually gouging the metal of the scope tube. I cured this by putting a piece of electrical tape on the inside surface of the two ring sections, then tightening the screws as tightly as possible. The scope does not move, plus the elasticity of the electrician's tape provides a small measure of shock protection for the scope itself. I'm using a Leapers Golden Image 4 x 32, and it holds zero with no problem, at least so far. Summary: this rifle is definitely NOT a toy - it's a serious weapon!! Treat it as such!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sam from USA on 2010-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, heft, quality of workmanship, power, accuracy, and did I mention POWER?
      Things I would have changed:Lose the cheapie scope and sell the rifle for maybe $15 - $20 less.
      What others should know:It's easy to see why folks are calling this weapon "The Beast". It's a big as a magnum hunting rifle and weighs as much as my M1 Garand. But the trade-off is raw, brute POWER! Fit and finish are excellent. There was a coat of oil all over the metal to protect it in transit, but I just wiped that off. Some reviewers have said that it is front-heavy, but I didn't find that to be the case. Right out of the box, I checked the barrel and dry-fired (just once) to clear out the valve. Got a loud "POW!", about as loud as a .22 rifle, from dieseling. Next few shots, it dieseled some, but didn't pop. I didn't have any problem cocking the weapon, but I'm 6'2" and weigh 250. I just grasp the rifle underneath with my left hand, just ahead of the trigger guard, plant the butt against the front of my left hip, and haul the barrel down with my right hand. Down toward the bottom of the stroke you need to get your shoulder into it - if you have any kind of shoulder problem, this would not be the rifle for you. I chrono'd Benjamin Discovery 14.3 at 958, JSB 18.1 at 856, and JSB 25.4 at 684. That's 29.1, 29.4 and 26.4 ft/lb ME. And those will probably improve as the barrel wears in and settles down. Recoil wise, it's probably on par with an AR-15. Fiber optic sights are excellent - two green on the rear, one red on front. They were dead on right out of the box. I'm putting a Leapers scope on it, and I'll comment on that separately. My advice - get yourself one of these big bad puppies!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joyce from USA on 2010-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:New king of the springers
      Things I would have changed:what? change what?
      What others should know:shoots RWS Hobby .22 Cal, 11.9 Grains, Wadcutter at 1050 consistantly thats 29.12 FT-lbs...... move over everybody there is a new dog in charge I have other rifles in the Nitro piston and they cant match it no way this leads all spring loaders in power to include the falcon hunter in .25 Ive got that one first and it wont go past 25 ft-lbs even right after a tune and lube plus this gun groups and shoots flat I dont think the NP version can match it in my opinion or fact I chrony all my guns when new and after breakin and this is the results. hit a pellet tin from the side sending it 20 + feet through the air without a scope at 75 ft every time
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Didnt think I could find a rifle I liked better than the Falcon Hunter but here it is first shot over the chrony was 1010 with a crosman premier 14.3 hollowpoint settled down to 975 consistsnt after 200 pellets.I like the Idea that I can shoot cheaper ammo to break in gun and for general plinking.Plus you get a little more knockdown than the ...25 only prob is a smaller wound chanel for larger pest like possums or foxes at close range with the .22
      Things I would have changed:Weaver scope mounts Hello Turkey guys in Turkey its got a Weaver mount dont need a dovetail ring set dont mesh ......HELLO . But It doesnt matter cause I use open sights Im old scool faster aim for me and no guessing on the crosshairs
      What others should know:If ya want the .22 the only difference in the falcon and the talon is the color and thetrigger the talon has a better trigger in my opinion its cheaper and boththe scopes are JUNK but no worries the Gun alone is worth more than the combo and I like open sights .I tend to hold a steadier hold when im not balancing the scope doin the scope bobbin routine when in a standing position and im runnin out of breath LOL OH!!!!! P.S This is a nice looking gun to have a composite stock and they dont crack now due to an upgrade my Hatsan SAS works and I like the quatro trigger that the Falcon doesnt come with at least mine didnt..Hold her firm call your shot and youll love this gun..I wish this gun came in .25 you know falcon hunter in black same powerplant HELL same gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kevin from USA on 2010-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:it's probably the fastest breakbarrel gun, most guns advertise certin verlocity and they never reach it, but this ones the opposite, this one has more power than you can imagine, claims 1400 fps with high verlocity pellets, i have chrony crossman silver eagles pellets at a whopping 1665 fps, plus good accuracy.i own a benjamin super streak and did not have this much power.and it cost 100.00 dollars more plus no accuracy with these pellets.
      Things I would have changed:it would be nice if this gun came with a center point scope,4x16x40.
      What others should know:i bought the 22 first i had to get .177 too and i am glad that i did,i did'nt think it would be accurate,boy but i was wrong, the houses are about 50yrds apart where i live, you need a very heavy pellet to quite this gun down, i use 7.9 gr pellets, at 1220fps,all my neihbors know when i am shooting,but it's fun, i look for the best gun for the best price,no other breakbarrel equals this gun,if theres another gun out there faster, please tell me,or show me in a video
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top