Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Walther Talon Magnum reviews - page 3



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By dee from USA on 2009-05-05 11:24:45

    Things I liked:great rifle for the money awesome accuracy grouping with 1/4-1/2 inch, sighted in rifle one day next shot first squirrel at 30 yards dead on
    Things I would have changed:nothing to compare to bought 3 airguns so far this is the only one that function properly
    What others should know:read online articles excellent article online for sighting in rifle part 1,2,3 -- highly recommended
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By bryan from USA on 2012-10-16 15:30:10

    Things I liked:It hammers them downrange,and the open sights are good...but thats about the only things i can brag on about this one. I will give the benifit of the doubt and say most of the issues i had with this may have been solved if I had opted for the NitroPiston-but this rifle was badd. Thankfully,PA was AWESOME in addressing the situation and had me set up with another combo in record time with NO hassle whatsoever.
    Things I would have changed:Everything,but most of all,the scope mounts!!That thing would walk ALL over.Of course, with the hammering this thing produced it wasnt surprising.Even during break in, was reasonably tight with open sights-but with the scope,you'd zero,get 2-3 decent shots,then have to rezero.Loud,bulky,and even someone like me who shoots regularly for long stretches,a beast to cock.
    What others should know:Only negative review i've had to post, and like i said, may be a different ballgame with NP. And on the bright side,PA turned it around in record breaking time(LOVE my Benj Trail NP AW .22 !!)
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ocshooter from USA on 2010-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Lots of power. Was shooting an old traffic cone with a friend. His would hit and bounce. The walther made next to no sound when it hit because it went right through, both sides.
      Things I would have changed:leave the scope off and charge less or put a better scope and rings and charge more.
      What others should know:It's a workout to load the thing. It is a big gun. It is as big or bigger then my .30-06. Poor scope and poor scope rings. The recoil from the gun bent the scope rings. The first time I shoot it I was very surprised by the recoil from an airgun. Not the right gun for target work as it is too hard to use for hours but great for what it is. It a .22lr that uses no gun powder. Need to put down some pests? This will do it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2010-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great gun for the price, would buy again.
      Things I would have changed:Offer the gun without the scope and with a wood stock.
      What others should know:This thing is powerful! Don't even waste your time mounting the scope though, could not get it to zero or even hold a pattern at all. Put on a center point scope and WOW! Do not use the cheap Daisy pellets that Walmart sells with this gun, they are too soft and will fly apart at 1000 FPS! Crosman Premiers seem to be working well with this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By cyberfish2 from USA on 2010-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It has the heft and look of a bonified hunting rifle. It is priced just right. I got the .22 model. The trigger pull is nice, but not adjustable (?)
      Things I would have changed:At 9#4oz. with the scope, it is a little heavy. Too much weight forward throws the balance off a little bit. There is a sharp burr on the head of the barrel pivot screw, which makes me wonder about quality control. The advertised cocking force of 27 lbs is way low. It should come with a schematic.
      What others should know:I'm 70 years old, and this is my first "adult" air gun. I still shoot at the range on a regular basis, and do a little gun smithing on the side. I got a red dot scope for this gun, which will have to be Locktited in place as it loosened up after just five shots. I will try out the furnished 9X scope tomorrow, and some different pellets. It is too powerful to shoot in my garage unless I get a better pellet trap. More later.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By tnplinker from USA on 2010-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Basically nothing since my experience with this gun has been a nightmare
      Things I would have changed:Quality control. My gun started losing little parts 1 month after I received it to the point it would not cock. Sent it to Umerex for warranty repair, at additional expense of course. Got it back in a week, but the barrel is so loose it can't cover a garbage can lid at 10 yards.
      What others should know:Not worth the money. Put you $209 to something else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Power, accuracy, and pretty easy to cock. Has really great power, 335 pages into a phone book at 20 yards with hollowpoints, straight through with pointed, compared to 90 pages form my Crosman Quest. 1/2 groups at 20 yards. That is really good for a Magnum .22 air rifle. Just to let people know that the cocking effort is really not that much. I am 13, 115 lbs and 5'0 tall and can cock it easily.
      Things I would have changed:it could be a little lighter, alot to carry in the field all day.
      What others should know:This gun is a BEAST! Great killing power, dropped a 2lb piegon in my barn with a neck shot using Crosman Premier Hollowpoints at 10 yards. That was the quickest non-headshot kill i have ever seen. I also took a nice-sized duck with a headshot at 30 yards using iron sights and Crosman Premiers. This is a gun you should turn to for bigger game such groundhogs, foxes and raccoons. Only had the gun a week so will report back.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By julius from USA on 2010-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:nice metal trigger,includes hatsans shock absorber system so not much recoil,accurate,powerful,nice open sights,tough stock,nice texture muzzle brake,price
      Things I would have changed:length
      What others should know:its a great rifle and there are some many improvment over the old verison it has a new metal single stage trigger,nicer tougher stock,includeds the shock absorber system which you can find more about at hatsanairguns.com if you are skeptical of the turkish walthers you wont be after you try the new and improved version.also great gun for 200 dollars
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2010-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I love the price for the amount of power I'm getting and I have never shot a spring gun that had as much power as this one. This is my second walther talon I both in .177. My next rifle will be the walther hunter in .22 cal, man I love this rifle it;s a little longer than I was use to but every time I fire this beast it reminds me why I bought it. I installed a 3x12x44 scope and it look real nice, now if I can only find a field were there might be some rabitts to unleach this beast on them. I have been shooting at only 15 to 20 yards but it hits every thing every time even with the open sights. I recomend this rifle to any one who is looking for more power to hunt with.
      Things I would have changed:Things I would change is the trigger and safety they are plastic but so far no failures, the scope and rings that come with the gun have to be up gradded, but I tell you if you shoot the rifle with open sights you would do just fine as the fiber optic in the front post and rear sight are great with enough light gathering capabilities to get you thru any hunt.
      What others should know:Well this gun is for some one who is capable of cocking this magnum springer, I'm 45 years old with avarege in strenght. this rifle will feel heavy at first but it' takes more technique than strenght to handle this rifle. To cock this rifle tap the barrel with a good snap of your palm and grab it from the futhest to the top of the barrel and once you beggin to cock doit in one swift motion, do not hesetate or it might back up on you. All in all I love this gun it"s my favorite of all my spring rifles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By kevin from USA on 2009-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i like the power of this gun,POWER
      Things I would have changed:the gun is very heavy,but i had to add another pound because the stock is very cheap sounding and hollow ,so i drilled a hole in the back end of the stock and filled it with two tubes of silicone, that made my gun 12 pounds with a 4x16x 40 centerpoint scope,it is worth it,the gun was nose heavy,now it has more balance,
      What others should know:POWER>POWER not recommended for young children,plan on eating alot of spinach ha,ha,ha love this gun would by it again 199.00 from pyramyd air,
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By AndyH from USA on 2009-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:POWER! This .22 has it! 1020 fps with Hobbys! 950 with Super H Points! 780 fps with Crow Magnums! 725 with Kodiaks! Very solid feeling for a composite stocked springer. Weight is about perfect for all-around use.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger......it's rated at 5.5 lbs and feels twice that when new. After 600 or so shots, it's breaking better, but still heavy and somewhat vague. Should be adjustable for pull. The barrel.....pretty rough bore with little, if any choke. Time will tell on this issue, but accuracy is getting better the more I shoot it.
      What others should know:This is a brute on scopes and mounts. Sheared two stop screws off an Accushot one-piece mount, and broke a reticle on my Accushot 4-16x56 30mm scope! After finally getting my Hawke Airmax scope securely mounted, I installed a scope-mounted level to eliminate canting. Accuracy improved greatly as I was able to fine-tune my hold and keep the gun level. I have shot several 3-shot groups with Kodiaks into one hole at 25 yards with this set-up. This should be more than sufficient for hunting! Now to learn how to hold this beast consistently!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2009-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well-made, solid airgun. Quite accurate out-of-the-box, using the iron sights. Very nice for plinking, target shooting, small game hunting.
      Things I would have changed:Umarex would do us all a great favor and just sell this gun alone, without "requiring" the scope to be purchased with it as a package. The included 3-9x40 scope is a Class A piece of junk, I've already had to return mine...
      What others should know:Generally, this is a nice high-velocity .22, but beware of the manufacturer's claims of 1000 fps using "standard pellets". My best chrono measurements using JSB 15.8gr round-nose pellets averaged 873.2 fps with std. dev. of 5.8; Very respectable but nowhere near the stated claim. I imagine that if one wanted to use the super-light ammo like Gamo Raptor or similar one could likely do better, but the 15-18gr weight range works very well for me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2009-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The powerplant and accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Synthetic stock is a little flimsy. Plastic trigger, safety, and trigger guard. Scope and scope mounts.
      What others should know:This rifle is a strong shooter and is very accurate. It is not terible loud bt it has Lots of recoil. The quality of the included scope is so-so. I bought a Centerpoint 4x16x40 Adventure series scope for mne and now I have a great and very powerful hunting combo. I do not have the gas ram. To conclude, if I had to do it all over again... I would definitely buy it again. It's a keeper!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By phil from USA on 2009-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Power, the KICK, the sound it makes, and the looks. Not pretty but looks like the beast that it is. next one will be with air venturi, but i would still buy metal spring version also if i bought venturi 1st.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic trigger..... but it feels good anyway.
      What others should know:Just order one! pyramydair has air venturi spring for serious shooters, installed with warranty (one year) for 299.00 as of 9-26-09 for talon 177 or 22. keep stock screws tight, and keep an eye on scope screws, especially when new. 22 has 26.5ft/lbs or so if you look up the falcon hunter addition. I think it shows on air venturi model if its not on std. falcon ad then look there.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By JAMES from USA on 2009-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, Price, Design, Quality and Style.
      Things I would have changed:Scope, Plastic trigger, trigger guard, safety.
      What others should know:This is a big, powerful gun, it is also heavy for a airgun, this gun takes a lot of force to cock, I would recomend this gun to the user who has phsyical strenght and is looking for an airgun to hunt with, I am very pleased with this gun, everytime I shoot it I am impressed a little more, I was able to keep a 2" group at 35 yards within the first 20 shoots of the rifle, I do recomend either replacing the scope or purchasing the Walther Falcon, the Falcon is the same gun but, with a camo stock and better scope for $50 more, I can not imagine someone beng unhappy with this gun, go ahead and buy it, you will be pleased.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edward from USA on 2009-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a very accurate rifle. It is not as hold sensitive as most airguns. While it does not reach the advertised velocity, it is close enough for me. Average of five shots for each pellet yielded 1048 fps for RWS Meisterkugeln, 1050 fps for RWS Super H Point, and 1076 fps for Crosman Premier HP. The gas cylinder is certainly a worthwhile modification. Recoil is much reduced when compared to my unaltered Walther Falcon Hunter; I also liked the fact that the spring is sent to you with the rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Several months ago I bought the Walther Falcon Hunter. That gun is the same as the Talon, but for camo stock and caliber. Both models were redesigned several months ago to correct a problem with the stock cracking at the point where four screws anchor the mechanism to the stock. Although it is not advertised, the trigger was also changed to include a weight-of-pull adjustment. I was disappointed to see that my Talon, purchased earlier in July, was the discontinued model that was the subject of so many complaints. Hopefully the reduced recoil of the gas piston will also alleviate the stock cracking problem. Specify the newer model when ordering, if you can.
      What others should know:I have been shooting airguns since 1968. The Talon and Falcon Hunter are the most powerful such guns I have ever handled. They are also among the most accurate. You can't go wrong with either of these guns, particularly if they incorporate the newest modifications.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:power, accuracy, solid
      Things I would have changed:would like to see a wooden stock offered.
      What others should know:I just got it today 7-16-09. I Have read lots of reviews on this gun (I have the .22 version). After all the pics and things iv read about this gun, The one I received today was obviously updated from the factory. It was received by pyramid on 7-7-09 so i guess its the newest version in production. The trigger was still plastic as was the saftey but it dint bother me any, They both worked fine. I dont think I had to pull trigger any more than I did on a beemen Rs2 Or a g1 extreme. Iv only shot 100 shots so far. no screws are backing out and I had the scope dead on in 3 adjustments (got lucky). The most interesting change on this gun is that the stock only had 1screw on each side and they were right hand threaded. I did notice that the stock screw on the left side was differant than the one on the right side. The scope had some two sided clear tape on it to keep it from sliding back (works). The barrel was reported by others to have a pin holding it on and also that it had a tendacy to back out. This new version has a tight, threaded screw holding the barrel on. No pin. Its looks like the cocking arm is differant shaped also. shoots great. exellent accuracy. The iron sights were dead on out of the box. Very utilitarian looking. looks like its made for business, not looking at. It It's very long. Cocking effort was more than usual but it was'nt hard for me at 5'11" and 220 pounds. penetrates 20 gauge steel at 10 feet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By SCOTT from USA on 2009-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Big, powerful, rugged, with exceptional speed.The open sights are pretty good. Probably the best price out there for the average shooter/hunter. It tops my other five springers for power.
      Things I would have changed:The safety and trigger appears to be plastic and a little wobbly, but not bad as of yet. For a gun with this much power and recoil, it could stand to be refined a bit. Like most combos the scope set up is not for a springer with this kind of power. Sell it without the questionable scope and rings for a few dollars less. Provide it with a better scope and rings.
      What others should know:If you are on a budget like I am and want the most bang for the buck, buy it. No dissappointment. This should be sold without the combo. Many people like just open sights anyway, and can mount a much better scope set up themselves.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By loudog from USA on 2009-05-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the power, the power, the power. wow! this thing feels and looks like the real deal and delivers the goods. after getting used to its weight it hits my cans at 30 and 60 yards every time. starlings and scrub jay's beware. have had some other pellet rifles claiming similar speeds but now i know what it should be like at 1200 fps. i never thought 200 clams would cough up a killer deal like this. i am also going to purchase the hunter venturi model in 22 and maybe even the 25 cal. my neighbors came by when i was sighting it in they thought it was a 22 powder gun by the sound of it. this thing looks, feels, and shoots quality.
      Things I would have changed:well the trigger takes some getting used to i like 1 1/2 to 2 lbs pull 4 seems stiff trigger plastic. the hollow stock resonates that huge rams power slam and could make a person go deaf, so i drilled a 3/8 hole behind the barrel and another behind the butt plate, took some 100% silicone and a caulking gun and filled the stock with silicone starting at the skinny end. it took two full bottles but ya know what? that barrel heavy feeling went away and so did the huge bang next to my ear. the gun feels much more balanced.
      What others should know:yes the silicone in the stock was a 100% change in the balance and ear noise, i will be doing this to my next one first thing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dee from USA on 2009-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great rifle for the money awesome accuracy grouping with 1/4-1/2 inch, sighted in rifle one day next shot first squirrel at 30 yards dead on
      Things I would have changed:nothing to compare to bought 3 airguns so far this is the only one that function properly
      What others should know:read online articles excellent article online for sighting in rifle part 1,2,3 -- highly recommended
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2009-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a Walther. Power! Very nice air rifle. Seems to be well made, but only time will tell. Full size rifle, not a youth model. Heavy. weight is about that of the Remington Model 700 7mm mag.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounts that come with this rifle. Need to have a built in scope stop. This rifle kicks like an AR15 .223 round. This rifle will kick the scope off in about 10 rounds. My rifle sheared off the Walther scope stop screw. Going to try the Gamo rubber bumber stop.
      What others should know:Heavy recoil. If you mount the scope you will have to use thread-locker, (Lock-tite) or you probably won't have the scope mounted for long. The rifle is a beast to cock. You'll be glad it's a long as it is when it's time to cock the thing. With the iron sights I can get a dime size grouping at 35 yards. Will probably drive tacks once I can get the scope to stay mounted.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bill from USA on 2009-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have this in .22 and it is the most powerful spring gun I have ever shot, this rifle is built super sturdy, the spring in this thing is very hard to cock and kicks like a powder gun when you unleash the pellet.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Made in Turkey by Hatsan and imported Walther/Umarex This Rifle is the same as the Falcon Hunter with a lesser scope and different stock.
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top