Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Walther Talon Magnum reviews - page 5



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By dee from USA on 2009-05-05 11:24:45

    Things I liked:great rifle for the money awesome accuracy grouping with 1/4-1/2 inch, sighted in rifle one day next shot first squirrel at 30 yards dead on
    Things I would have changed:nothing to compare to bought 3 airguns so far this is the only one that function properly
    What others should know:read online articles excellent article online for sighting in rifle part 1,2,3 -- highly recommended
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By bryan from USA on 2012-10-16 15:30:10

    Things I liked:It hammers them downrange,and the open sights are good...but thats about the only things i can brag on about this one. I will give the benifit of the doubt and say most of the issues i had with this may have been solved if I had opted for the NitroPiston-but this rifle was badd. Thankfully,PA was AWESOME in addressing the situation and had me set up with another combo in record time with NO hassle whatsoever.
    Things I would have changed:Everything,but most of all,the scope mounts!!That thing would walk ALL over.Of course, with the hammering this thing produced it wasnt surprising.Even during break in, was reasonably tight with open sights-but with the scope,you'd zero,get 2-3 decent shots,then have to rezero.Loud,bulky,and even someone like me who shoots regularly for long stretches,a beast to cock.
    What others should know:Only negative review i've had to post, and like i said, may be a different ballgame with NP. And on the bright side,PA turned it around in record breaking time(LOVE my Benj Trail NP AW .22 !!)
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By D from USA on 2013-08-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality, craftsmanship - it's true what they say about Germane engineering! The power is plentiful, and more than enough for squirrels and rabbits (and all birds, of course). Mine (a .22) HATES the 14.3 Crosman pellets. Once I switched to JSB Diablo 15.9, it became a lot more fun (but I haven't even tried any other pellets).
      Things I would have changed:Can you make a high quality, heavy rifle out of unobtanium? It's heavy, but that comes with Quality. I don't love the scope, but it works well enough up to 65-ish yards.
      What others should know:DON'T BUY 14.3 Crosman pellets for this rifle. I was getting frustrated siting in the scope, and started to blame the scope. Then, I ordered some JSBs, and I was able to get it zeroed in no time. Once I had it zeroed, I tried some of the 14.3s again. They were flying all over the place. Then, back to the JSB's and all was right with the world again.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By bryan from USA on 2012-10-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It hammers them downrange,and the open sights are good...but thats about the only things i can brag on about this one. I will give the benifit of the doubt and say most of the issues i had with this may have been solved if I had opted for the NitroPiston-but this rifle was badd. Thankfully,PA was AWESOME in addressing the situation and had me set up with another combo in record time with NO hassle whatsoever.
      Things I would have changed:Everything,but most of all,the scope mounts!!That thing would walk ALL over.Of course, with the hammering this thing produced it wasnt surprising.Even during break in, was reasonably tight with open sights-but with the scope,you'd zero,get 2-3 decent shots,then have to rezero.Loud,bulky,and even someone like me who shoots regularly for long stretches,a beast to cock.
      What others should know:Only negative review i've had to post, and like i said, may be a different ballgame with NP. And on the bright side,PA turned it around in record breaking time(LOVE my Benj Trail NP AW .22 !!)
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By bryan from USA on 2012-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a beast that will definatly put it downrange when doing pest control around the place(but then,so would the log it feels like you're toting around)...the open sights were dead on out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:Way too heavy to field lug all day, cocking was a chore, the trigger pull was so long you could go get a sandwich before it broke, but the absolute worse was the scope-zero in/fire three shots/realize scope was walking/reset and zero back in/enjoy three shots/realize scope is walkong again...after way too much of this,i sent back to exchange-Folks at PA were GREAT! Got me set up in record time!
      What others should know:If you're dead set on this one, go .22 with NP and start looking around for some magic scope mounts. If you're only shooting open sights,this might be an option,but there are plenty other rifles that are a better choice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By AGEngineer from USA on 2012-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own this gun in the .22 and the .25 caliber versions and they're both well crafted, quite powerful, accurate (with the right pellet), dependable and really fun to shoot. Honestly, if you're looking for a quality air gun you can be proud of, without breaking the bank, buy this gun ...I wish they still carried the .25 caliber and maybe they can order one for you, but if not ...I would suggest purchasing the .22 version. It's obviously a lot more bang for the buck.
      Things I would have changed:Personally, after a few small adjustments to suit my way of shooting, I really enjoy these guns. However, I'll address what seems to be a common complaint, the hollow stock! The stock is hollow, but not thin walled at all. If anything, I might would fill the heel/toe end of the stock with expanding foam. Maybe something similar to, "Great Stuff," spray foam to make it feel more solid. Expandable foam also wouldn't increase the weight very much and might be worth the effort for what it would accomplish. One could drill two small holes at the top and bottom of the heel/toe end of the stock, under the last shoulder pad and fill the stock through the top hole, allowing the compressed air to escape out of the bottom hole until the desired feel is achieved. Just remember the foam expands! But truthfully, is it really that bad now? Not really ...I believe most people wouldn't even notice if they didn't read about it first. In reality, you only notice the slight hollow sound if you tap on the side of the stock itself. I would say they accomplished their goal of bringing a well crafted, yet affordable weapon to the marketplace. Therefore, outside of those minor issues there's nothing I would change.
      What others should know:I purchased the .22 first and was so impressed I purchased the .25 cal soon thereafter. IMHO, out of all the guns in this price range, there's nothing even remotely close to the talon. The scope that comes with the gun isn't bad at all, especially if you're shooting within 100 yards or less, but obviously they aren't a Leupold, not for 209.00 including the gun. lol I haven't had any problems with scope slippage or movement after mounting and sighting it in. As with any scope, you have to really tighten them down, but without striping the threads of course or creating an indentation in the rail. You can feel when it's approaching the shear point or damaging the rail, long before it does any damage. Also, as with all new guns and scopes, the scope has to be sighted in again after several hundred shots, but typically will stay in perfectly thereafter, as long as you don't drop it or something. The guns are heavy, but not any heavier than my Win. Model 70 30-06, Rem 270 or any other real firearm/rifle of equal size. To me the weight says quality. As far as my Talons go, the .25 cal is substantially more powerful than the .22 ...even though the difference in size is not that significant, the .25 hits like a sledgehammer. TIP: I reverse the metal stop on the rail to set the scope further back
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Using H&N Crow Magnums with my Walter talon magnum is devastating on jackrabbits. Using open sights @35-50 yards I'm knocking the jacks down. One shot one kill. Awesome gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nada. Shoot and enjoy this wonderful gun
      What others should know:Make sure you know whats behind your intended target,pellets go straight through the quarry. Happy hunting. Bernard from Texas
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2012-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a really high quality pellet rifle, with lots of power. You really get a lot for your money! It makes bunnies take a dirt nap instead of running away, like with other air rifles.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing - I'm entirely satisfied with this product!
      What others should know:This rifle is extremely accurate as far as I could tell. It does have a bit of recoil though, so hold it steady if you want to hit what you're aiming for.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By isaac from USA on 2012-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power,stock,gun
      Things I would have changed:The scope is bad. I mean really bad.buy if your not shooting 100 yards than its not to bad.
      What others should know:Buy this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By william from USA on 2012-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:accurate, powerful, solid, fun
      Things I would have changed:nothing, I did not like the automatic safety at first...but am warming up to it.
      What others should know:I have the W/T Magnum in .22 and consistently touch pellet holes at 20 yds (sitting position) using Beeman Kodiak HP 18.21 gr pellets and H&N Barracuda Match 21.14 gr. Have tried a few other pellet combinations and the groupings are .5 inch or more. The stock scope did come lose after appx 350 shots, tightened it back up and seems to be working fine (all ring and both set screws). Accurate wih just the iron sights too (true-glo). Have not used for critter control yet, but am sure it will work great when needed. I have a crossman in .177 (4 years now) and it is not as accurate at 10 yards as this one is at 20, have tried many pellet combos (.177) with no luck. If in the market for a pellet rifle...buy this in .22, but beware, if you are not familiar with the newer pellet rifles, it is powerful, will go through a 1x4 pine plank at 10 yards every time (but not at 20). This rifle does not seem to be affected by center of balance issues like most Springer Pellet rifles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By paul from USA on 2012-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i have the .25 cal version and it is a heavy hitter.it is new and i have only used basic sights which are very good.after a couple hundred shots i will try to set-up scope.i have read reviews about scope but i will be my own judge.however,the scope looks nice for this fit.the cocking is an effort but it is a springer and i expect effort in order to get the power,which is "not" in short supply.i am finding that the many varieties of pellets can or will produce variations in accuracy so if you want long range find the pellet you find most consistent and stay with it.remember sometimes the accuracy is in the shooter/technique and not the gun.at this point w/the basic sights i am hitting around or near 6" target and in a 12" sq. at about 35-40yds.also,i can not stress this enough,"this is no toy" and no matter what pellet you use it will cause serious damage.for hunters and target shooters alike,this gun will knock down smaller/medium size game with little trouble "but please" use good judgement and do not shoot things you can not bring down.wounded animals in painful agony is just sickening!!!
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:do not get frustrated.enjoy your shooting experience.i know that it is no fun if you can not hit at or very near your targets but start w/close range and work yourself out to distance shooting because that is where the real fun is.to find the pellet that works for you start at a short distance and find consistent/close groupings then try at the distance you are comfortable with.if this pellet still holds groups for you,then stay with it. also,i want to thank pyramyd for the recent order which was received in very timely manner and for their very good service..thumbs up...thank you
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By frank/debbie hill from USA on 2012-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:We ordered this rifle in for our son in the 22 caliber, and he said he is so happy with it. He said it is twice the rifle as his Crossman 177 caliber.
      Things I would have changed:No changes.
      What others should know:This rifle was made for hunting small game. Walther is a quality made rifle and at a way fair cost.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Terry from USA on 2012-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the solidness of this gun also the power
      Things I would have changed:the length of the stock
      What others should know:this is not a beginner air rifle, very hold sensative
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By joshua from USA on 2012-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:You got to love the power i got 27.39 fpe using mendoza hollow point pellets Very good accurate at 60 plus yards . This rifle really shoots what walter says many other brands fall short of their advertised speeds.
      Things I would have changed:Things i dont like is the stock it's hollow and feels cheap and thin. And very long and the trigger wiggles althought it has a nice pull to it.
      What others should know:This beast is intended for only hunting medium size animals dont shoot small pests with it they will explode example like rats and tree rats.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By 198bay from USA on 2012-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:2x4 penetration with 43g eunjin pellets.
      Things I would have changed:wood stock instead of composite.
      What others should know:I have the .25 cal. version, but all should be the same in cocking effort. walther says 27, but they must have been referring to kilos, because effort is around 55 on mine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2011-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is a joy to target with or hunt. Awesome power. I am very pleased. I find heavy H&N doomed and JSB heavy diabolo doomed & monster are my favorites.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing
      What others should know:hollow points are of no use at the speed this rifle produces
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Derek from USA on 2011-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This .25 caliber rifle has tremendous power and is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The gun is heavy so a rifle sling would be helpful
      What others should know:The rifle is not easy to cock, but with proper technique, you get the hang of it. The rifle is also very hold sensitive so proper technique is required for consistent results.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By trinh from USA on 2011-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate needed to adjust trigger pull. amazing power....
      Things I would have changed:trigger.....
      What others should know:A couple drops of chamber oil, clean barrel right away lot of residew from factory......
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2011-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made gun,this thing is a beast in 25cal ,more power than you can imagine shoot enough and your shoulder will get sore from recoil ,love this rifle what a great buy thanks pyramyd for keeping prices low!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Very accurate shooting dime groups at 30yrds
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun's power and accuracy. The 177 cal delivers the goods. Mine averaged over 1300 ft/sec with 7.5 grain pellets
      Things I would have changed:Gun makes a hollow pinging sound on every shot. It sounds cheap
      What others should know:Buy thid gun,it's worth the money even with the issues mentioned
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, accuracy, power, not quiet for an airgun, but still WAY more quiet than a .22LR.
      Things I would have changed:Need to figure out how to mount a sling with this heavy magnum air gun. Without a sling, lugging it around the timber can get tiring with out one. I know the weight is only because it is a magnum gun, and I readily make that trade for this keeper!!!
      What others should know:This is the ultimate deal for a magnum hunting gun. This is one flat shooting sweetheart. Took 2 squirrel today with it using the 15.9 gr JSB dome, one was at 27 yards, the other at 56 yards. Both had complete pass throughs, the 56 yd was behind the shoulder, the closer one was through the skull and out the neck. Instant kills. I have had many .22 LR's that were not this accurate! With it's quietness, this Talon will get you many multiple kills as the nearby game doesn't spook. I think I'll get the nitro piston for this thing and put on a Leupold scope and see what she REALLY can do!!!! I'll never go back to a powder burner!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pedro A from USA on 2011-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything on this rifle is great! The .25 is the best one. Did a molly job and a trigger job and is just incredible. Really accurate and very very powerful.
      Things I would have changed:even more power on the .25 even do is a beast... I will put it to shoot even more powerful.
      What others should know:Should get the Pyramid testing when you buy it and I think you should go for the .25 for power and fun. Awesome, Awesome, Awesome.
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top