Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Webley Alecto Ultra Air Pistol reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2011-09-05 10:28:41

    Things I liked:EXCELLENT accuracy aspecially with a "RED DOT" sight mounted...VERY powerful even at one pump ! Three pumps is difficult BUT the power is fantastic ! I will recommend this to anyone looking for an accurate powerful air pistol,,,
    Things I would have changed:THe rear open sight is difficult to use..It needs to colored white for better visibility or fiber optic sights would be much better....However the "RED DOT" sight works very very well...
    What others should know:I believe this pistol is a great buy for the money...It shoots as well or better than my "RWS LP8 MAGNUM" pistol !
    3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Pat from USA on 2011-10-07 16:52:54

    Things I liked:The shape of the grips, fits well in a large hand like mine. I'm 6'2", big person with large hands and I slid the trigger back as it was too far away for a good pull. Not for children or younger teens. The adjustable trigger is nice although it feels a bit cheap when you are adjusting it. It is difficult to mate the star wrench to the star heads of the trigger adjustment screws as they are recessed inside the gun, you can't see them. You must be extremely careful not to strip the star heads of the screws. As you turn the adjustment screws for the trigger, the position of the screw changes on the vertical and always leaves you wondering if you are stripping the screw head, or it is adjusting properly. The star wrench can freely wiggle inside the holes that are accessed to adjust the trigger so finding the mating position for the star wrench and the head of the screw is difficult.
    Things I would have changed:Use of plastic piston in the pump is pretty crazy, it's very deceptive. Use of plastic housing for valve assembly, (all advertising media that shows the Alecto or Ultra open shows all metal parts for the pump and valve powerplant). Advertising is quite deceptive. And don't tell me that any type of plastic is stronger than metal, and don't tell me it's carbon fiber, blah, blah ... it's plastic internals and NOT glock grade plastics. A model that has no "relief" or "bleed" valve for the U.S. market, it's just another component at the heart of the powerplant to wear out or fail. It is quite difficult to access the "bleed or relief valve" and the proper tools and tool skills are needed for disassembly and reassembly. Also, if the pistol is disassembled to adjust the "bleed or relief" valve, then the warranty is voided, so that's really bogus. The crown on the Ultra's barrel could be much better. It appears from photos offered here and other places that the crown on the Alecto model, (shorter barrel), may be more standard and precise. When paying for the $10 for 10 test, put the resulting certificate inside the other media that is shipped with the pistol instead of cramming it inside the case and smashing the pistol down on top of the certificate. My $10 for 10 certificate is a mess.
    What others should know:The blade of the rear sight wiggles forward and backwards along the longitudinal axis of the pistol and affects accuracy greatly. This usually indicates the screw holding the blade into the rear sight is not the correct diameter or poorly manufactured. If you shake the pistol back and forth hard, you can hear the loose rear blade rattle a bit. For $350 bucks, that is ... absurd. No "ragged one hole" groups at 10 meters from this pistol unless it is mounted in a vice. Then it's difficult to test because you have to pump it while it's in a Ransom Rest or vice. The poor quality of the rear sight demands that some other type of sighting device should be mounted on the pistol, ($$$) Red dot on tall, front sight blade is useless. Use the smaller, pointed sight and put the bull on the top of that. Requires a break in period. Groups tighten up significantly after running a bit of solvent on a patch through the barrel after 30-50 rounds. Once the barrel gets dirty the groups start to suffer a lot. Initially shot well at 10M after about 20 rounds with CPHP, groups opened up as barrel got dirty. The $10 for 10 test indicated about 521fps with an 11.6 grain 22 caliber pellet, while the chrony test from Atak/Webley indicated 571fps with a crosman 14.6 grain pellet so ... somebody is lying. And I'm so tired of the over-inflated feet per second claims the air gun MARKETERS claim. When somebody lies about guns, to me, that is a serious character flaw, (what else are they lying about)
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2014-05-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is good for 10m practice. Grip was awesome (left handed grip, at least). Trigger feels pretty good. Not quite as accurate as my Alfa Proj, but half the price.
      Things I would have changed:Other than the price tag, Id say maybe an ambidextrous grip, so us lefties don't have to buy a separate grip.
      What others should know:I opted for this version over the shorter version for my 10m practicing. 2 pumps was good for that. I got it so I wouldn't have to re-fill my PCP every single time I practiced. It serves this purpose well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brett from USA on 2014-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great accuracy, great trigger, and great balance. I like mine in .177 because one pump is good for targets to my back fence (18 yards)and quiet. In .22 you might need two pumps for the velocity. Three pumps give you decent power when you need it. This pistol is great for a short target session... No pumps no CO2 just pump and go for a few rounds.
      Things I would have changed:I would love a cut-out in the case for a red dot.
      What others should know:More balanced free hand than my 1720T (no taco hold), with three pumps it is not as powerful as the 1720T but it is still more than other common multi-pump pistols. I really like it. It is worth the money. With three pumps it does make noise. Webley web site indicates four pumps are the max for the Ultra I only tried it once. I do not need the power for paper and cans. 80% of the time one pump works for what I do. I use a Prod for sporting needs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Super accurate, great trigger, perfect grip and balance for me, perfect weight (Spring pistols much heavier), Easy to shoot because no spring to deal with, a lot of fun to shoot,very powerful and not too difficult to cock
      Things I would have changed:Not much, the only thing I would like to see is a muzzle break as the gun looks a little lop sided with the bare barrel sticking out. Looks better in person than in pictures though.
      What others should know:I collect air pistols including some match pistols and would consider this pistol one of the best. The body of the pistol is non metallic which some people may not like but it keeps the weight down and is super comfortable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2013-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Pistol really is really good..... Accuracy, power, triger..... Creates addiction.
      Things I would have changed:I woukd try to include and ambidextrous grip.
      What others should know:If you buy it you will be very happy shooting with it..... This is a pistol accurate enough so that really helps you learning to shoot handguns..... This pistol works well!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:1. the speed of a single pump. 2. smooth trigger action. 3. adjustable trigger. 4. very Accurate
      Things I would have changed:1. a bit to heavy. 2. some kind of color on the sights to make it easier to see in lower light setting
      What others should know:Over all I like this gun. I am very happy with my purchase. For me it was well worth the money. The sights are on but hard to see in low light settings and It would be nice if they did something to make them easier to see. A little on the heavy side for me, but I know that when I bought it. However, if you are a smaller person with that does not have the arm strength to then it might be wise to spend the extra money to get the lighter gun. Again I am as a whole very happy with my purchase. I have submitted a picture to be upload of my 10 meter bench rest 10 shot target.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Craig from USA on 2013-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Balance and "feel" are very good. Trigger is excellent straight from the box. The operation of the integral safety is both effective and convenient to deal with. Repeatable accuracy superb.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight could be a bit more robust and have more refinement but this could add to the cost. The top rail could be more like the lower one and accommodate scoping other than dots. Even just a second cross groove would help a lot.
      What others should know:2 pumps give adequate velocity/energy for many closer targets but 3 pumps are ideal. The 3rd pump takes a bit more effort but is not a dealbreaker. The Alecto is a BIG pistol yet the use of quality polymers make the weight a non-issue. If you want "metal" in other than the necessary mechanism, look for a different pistol. Great value for the price point.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Yuriy from USA on 2013-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice pistol, easy enough to cock, but requires getting used to load pellets. Very powerful – the .22 pellets from 10 meters go into a wood bar completely. Trigger is amazingly good. The pistol shoots precisely right from the box. I’m not a perfect shooter, but from 10 meters I got about 1” cpc from the first attempt (using the rest, shame on me).
      Things I would have changed:The only problem I found was the grip – I have an average size hand (size 10 gloves), and for me the grip is too large. That’s the only reason I returned the gun. Another thing to mention is rear sight without any dots on it and not very contrast dot on the front one. You have to have good lighting conditions to shoot with these sights, but it can be easily fixed (re-painted) by owner.
      What others should know:You won't be disappointed if you have large enough hand for the grip of this pistol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chris from USA on 2012-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:. I love this pistol it packs a wallop and is very accurate and the 3 pumps are no problem. Pay no attention to the reviewer that seems to think there are parts made of plastic on the inside there simply black metal like the barrel if he had his hands on 1 he would know that I hate when stupid people review products especially in great length. If you want a very powerful accurate pistol this is the 1. I like the older version because it's faster than the standard model. You can tell by looking at the picture but the extra long barrel has a sleeve that slides over the barrel inside and is removable the sleeve that is not the barrel what I did is fabricate a replacement sleeve with a weaver mount on top and what I did was Mount a mini laser called laser max micro it puts the path of the bullet and the laser less than a half inch apart so I have a lot longer range of accuracy. The laser wasn't cheap and granted not most have the capacity to make a mount that fits on the end of the gun but trust me it's awesome I can simply hold a gun without even looking down the site anywhere from 10 feet to 80 feet away and hit the target.
      Things I would have changed:The only downside I can think of is the extended barrel makes it difficult to find a laser or flashlight that will mount underneath the gun without interfering with the full cocking motion granted I mounted my mini laser max to the end of the barrel I would still like to find a small flashlight to mount underneath the gun but I have had a hard time finding 1 small enough.
      What others should know:Only that you better be sure whatever excess you Buy to mount underneath the gun will fit because there aren't many that will
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roy from USA on 2012-08-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the ease of cocking. The grips are are SUPERIOR! The trigger is very crisp and the automatic safety is an excellent feature.
      Things I would have changed:Loading is quite complicated in low light levels. Loading can be a chore if your fingers are big or you are old like me.
      What others should know:This kit does not come with pellets and Pyramyd does not carry the Manuals recommended pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2012-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one accurate pistol, I really like this gun, great trigger, easy single pump and a very nice set of sights. Don't have a chrono, but velocity is not a problem here.
      Things I would have changed:I don't see anything at this time.
      What others should know:You probabaly can't use the bottom rail with the ultra's long barrel, but that is not a problem for me. It loves Premier Super Match and shoots Beeman hollow points very well. 3 pumps tests your manhood. Really a very nice pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Davinderjit Singh from India on 2012-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very power full and accurate
      Things I would have changed:Trigger should be a bit hard
      What others should know:Third pump is very hard
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By strobach from USA on 2011-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight, no recoil, great trigger for an air pistol!
      Things I would have changed:Soften the grip.
      What others should know:The Walther Night Force Flashlight & Laser does not work on this pistol. The barrel hits it preventing it to fully open even when mounted all the way back.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Pat from USA on 2011-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The shape of the grips, fits well in a large hand like mine. I'm 6'2", big person with large hands and I slid the trigger back as it was too far away for a good pull. Not for children or younger teens. The adjustable trigger is nice although it feels a bit cheap when you are adjusting it. It is difficult to mate the star wrench to the star heads of the trigger adjustment screws as they are recessed inside the gun, you can't see them. You must be extremely careful not to strip the star heads of the screws. As you turn the adjustment screws for the trigger, the position of the screw changes on the vertical and always leaves you wondering if you are stripping the screw head, or it is adjusting properly. The star wrench can freely wiggle inside the holes that are accessed to adjust the trigger so finding the mating position for the star wrench and the head of the screw is difficult.
      Things I would have changed:Use of plastic piston in the pump is pretty crazy, it's very deceptive. Use of plastic housing for valve assembly, (all advertising media that shows the Alecto or Ultra open shows all metal parts for the pump and valve powerplant). Advertising is quite deceptive. And don't tell me that any type of plastic is stronger than metal, and don't tell me it's carbon fiber, blah, blah ... it's plastic internals and NOT glock grade plastics. A model that has no "relief" or "bleed" valve for the U.S. market, it's just another component at the heart of the powerplant to wear out or fail. It is quite difficult to access the "bleed or relief valve" and the proper tools and tool skills are needed for disassembly and reassembly. Also, if the pistol is disassembled to adjust the "bleed or relief" valve, then the warranty is voided, so that's really bogus. The crown on the Ultra's barrel could be much better. It appears from photos offered here and other places that the crown on the Alecto model, (shorter barrel), may be more standard and precise. When paying for the $10 for 10 test, put the resulting certificate inside the other media that is shipped with the pistol instead of cramming it inside the case and smashing the pistol down on top of the certificate. My $10 for 10 certificate is a mess.
      What others should know:The blade of the rear sight wiggles forward and backwards along the longitudinal axis of the pistol and affects accuracy greatly. This usually indicates the screw holding the blade into the rear sight is not the correct diameter or poorly manufactured. If you shake the pistol back and forth hard, you can hear the loose rear blade rattle a bit. For $350 bucks, that is ... absurd. No "ragged one hole" groups at 10 meters from this pistol unless it is mounted in a vice. Then it's difficult to test because you have to pump it while it's in a Ransom Rest or vice. The poor quality of the rear sight demands that some other type of sighting device should be mounted on the pistol, ($$$) Red dot on tall, front sight blade is useless. Use the smaller, pointed sight and put the bull on the top of that. Requires a break in period. Groups tighten up significantly after running a bit of solvent on a patch through the barrel after 30-50 rounds. Once the barrel gets dirty the groups start to suffer a lot. Initially shot well at 10M after about 20 rounds with CPHP, groups opened up as barrel got dirty. The $10 for 10 test indicated about 521fps with an 11.6 grain 22 caliber pellet, while the chrony test from Atak/Webley indicated 571fps with a crosman 14.6 grain pellet so ... somebody is lying. And I'm so tired of the over-inflated feet per second claims the air gun MARKETERS claim. When somebody lies about guns, to me, that is a serious character flaw, (what else are they lying about)
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2011-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made. good set of sights. Although I am using a BSA red dot Scope. As with all multiple pump guns, the pumping can get a bit tiring. I only use two pumps most of the time, Trigger is very good. No a true two stage as my Anchutz pistol has but really decent. The lack of recoil took a little getting used to, but I like it.
      Things I would have changed: The molded plastic grips can be a little hard on the hands during cocking. Maybe soften the edges with a bigger radius at the edges.
      What others should know:Shoots anything you stick in it. I get the same groups (dime size) at 10 meters with match grade as I do with Diabolo basic It is BIG I owned and shot a Desert Eagle for years and this is every bit the size of the Eagle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:You will fall in love with the handgrip.Not to mention the balance between the barrel and the postion of your grip.With the 3 inch barrel,hitting the bullseye is made easy.It displays outstanding power.Best pump on the market!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the saftey could be lowered to be above trigger.
      What others should know:be safe
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-09-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality
      Things I would have changed:The weigh (lighter will be better)
      What others should know:Third pump takes more effort but powerful !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ken from USA on 2011-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: trigger was just right for me out of the box. on paper in the black out of the box. grip fits my size 7.5 hand perfectly for point shooting! easy pump with no loss of spot weld. The case it came in has a cutout that fits a under barrel laser sight. hole for pellet tin also. very quiet for 2am practice.
      Things I would have changed:trit sights maybe...
      What others should know:don't load till the last pump.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:EXCELLENT accuracy aspecially with a "RED DOT" sight mounted...VERY powerful even at one pump ! Three pumps is difficult BUT the power is fantastic ! I will recommend this to anyone looking for an accurate powerful air pistol,,,
      Things I would have changed:THe rear open sight is difficult to use..It needs to colored white for better visibility or fiber optic sights would be much better....However the "RED DOT" sight works very very well...
      What others should know:I believe this pistol is a great buy for the money...It shoots as well or better than my "RWS LP8 MAGNUM" pistol !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Harry from USA on 2011-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great pistol. Very accurate and powerful. The case that comes with it is high quality, with molded places for pellets, oil, cleaning rod. With 3 pumps it will send a pellet through 3 cans filled with water. It is much lighter than the large size would indicate. My girlfriend has no trouble shooting it, although she can only pump it once. It takes some effort to get the 2nd and 3rd pump, but for targets one is enough. Very quiet and no kick. This has become my favorite gun.
      Things I would have changed:Make the handle rubber, instead of the hard plastic.
      What others should know:It takes some practice to learn how to load and pump it without pinching yourself, but after a while it is 2nd nature. Wadcutters are the most accurate with this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2011-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very good balance. everything is adjustable including the front sight. Decent trigger good grip nicely contoured for your hand. You are not going to shoot the right hand version with your left hand and after a couple of hours of shooting your hand will get sore from some of the hard protrusions in the grip. this would be from the cocking effort. I put a BSA red dot on it (bolted right on by the way) so I can't say much about the sights that came on it except they are fine and black.
      Things I would have changed:Soften some of the hard edges on the molded grip
      What others should know:I tested the gun with crosman "Destroyer EX 7.9 gr" pointed and H&N finale match rifle 8.18 grain wad cutter From a rest at 10 meters, there was very little difference. I found the H&N to be tight in the chamber. I had to use a seating tool. Mine was a quarter. When you seated the pellet you could feel and hear it snap into the chamber. I have seen some talk on forums about the ultra being able to go to four pumps. My instructions say 3 max. If you are looking for a quiet gun, this ain't it. It has a definite crack to it especially with three pumps in it. I used two pumps for all my testing and playing today. I think I would have been exhausted shooting a 100 rounds at three pumps. I tried a couple of shots at 25-30 yards and found with 2 pumps, the drop was only about 6 inches. Don't have a crony so I can't say how fast we are going.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top