Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Webley Rebel Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2014-05-12 19:05:53

    Things I liked:The good: Very accurate with a scope. Very powerful. At eight pumps it averages 820 fps with a 7.6 gr match wadcutter pellet and one hole accuracy at 10 meters. Very light weight. Less than 5 pounds? Even with a scope I can carry it for hours in the woods. Even with only four pumps delivers 591 fps average with the same pellet and at all velocities, extreme spread runs <10 fps and usually <5 fps. This gun IS capable of taking more than 8 pumps and DOES reach > 900 fps with the pellet mentioned at about 12 pumps. I DO NOT recommend this though!
    Things I would have changed:The bad: Pumping is extremely loud and "clacky"! And it gets progressively harder to pump and the noise level increases with each additional stroke. The ugly: The trigger pull also gets harder with each additional pump. To the point at 12 pumps it is very hard to pull and you could wind up breaking the plastic trigger.
    What others should know:This gun has a lot of plastic/polymer. But it appears to be very sturdy. Once I pumped it to 15 pumps just to see if it was possible and if it would deliver better velocities. DO NOT do this. Yes, I got over 950 fps with the 7.6 gr match pellet. However, I really had to mash the trigger very hard to get it to fire. I was afraid I was going to break the plastic trigger. And after 8 pumps the velocity gain is progressively less for each additional pump, and the effort almost gave me a hernia! At over 800 fps for the .177 with 8 pumps, be satisfied with that and be safe! My efforts were in the "experimental" range. They confirm the gun is very sturdy, but probably will break sooner rather than later if you do this on a regular basis. I am very happy with results at the eight pump level and regularly practice with only 4 pumps, which is easy on my body. POI is different with different power levels for some reason. This is an excellent gun for the money!! Mine worked and performed great!
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By michael lester from USA on 2013-03-22 09:17:18

    Things I liked:i like the bolt at the breech just press the button and it opened up for loading.
    Things I would have changed:everything, this gun is one of the worse i have encountered. it held 2 inch groups at 10 meters with a scope mounted and zeroed in,and that was the average grouping. i sent it back for a benjamin 397.
    What others should know:maybe i got a bad one. but,i wouldn't chance it. buy something else.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2014-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun looks great, the bolt mechanism is really cool. The size is perfect. One hole shooter. Also, Pyramyd air is near Cleveland, and I live in Erie, PA, And when I order stuff it comes the NEXT DAY!
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight is junk. Webley should be ashamed of it and change it to something quality. Fortunately for me I had a Williams peep that fit the dovetail.
      What others should know:This air rifle is ridiculously hard to pump past three pumps. I am looking at it as not just a rifle, but a piece of exercise equipment to work my arms and chest. Only reason I do not return it is because it is very accurate. The threads on the muzzle are 17mm x 1.0, in case you want to screw some sort of muzzle device on it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Erik from USA on 2014-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I was hesitant to purchase the gun b/c of the reports of poor quality and few video reviews. However, I have been very disappointed in my Benjamin 392's accuracy now that they are made by Crosman. So I decided to finally take the risk and purchase the gun...I'm pleasantly surprised so far. I like the composite stock. It feels very durable. I like the weight and easy carbine length. I like the bolt release...it just reminds me of my BSA Lonestar. The accuracy. This is the biggest surprise. My gun likes JSB's 18.1 and 15.8 g the best. I've got the new bug buster 3-9 scope mounted on the gun and at 17.5 yards can consistently get dime sized groups of 10 shot. There are occasional flier but the gun is so much more accurate than my 392. At 30 yds the gun holds 1" or less. The barrel has a plastic sleeve the has a little play, but the barrel is well secured inside and does not move at all. Barrel band is secure. The gun shoots about 16.5 ft/lbs at full power in .22 cal
      Things I would have changed:I just don't like the idea of a composite breech for a scope mount. It feels like very durable material and I have no complaints of the scope marring the composite or it being too soft, I just wish it was metal. The true glow sites are not great for accurate shooting. Wish they were more precise. Also, the rear site is all plastic, even the elevation screw. I can only imagine that over time the plastic threads will wear and not hold well or cross thread easily. No definitive click to help the gun settle at a specific elevation. Can't comment too much on the open sites since I immediately mounted a scope and did not shoot at all with them. The bolt probe has an oring that feels a little rough with closing and my concern is that it may get damaged by the rough edges and need replacing in the future. Replacing it would be difficulty w/o partial disassembly of the gun. So, far it has remained perfectly intact.
      What others should know:I live in Denver but here are my chrony results with 18.g JSB's: 3 pumps: 395 fps 6 pumps: 539 fps 9 pumps: 603 fps At sea level 3 pumps: 416fps 6 pumps: 553 fps 9 pumps: 635fps 13g JSBs: 9 pumps: 720 fps. So far, I highly recommend the gun and have shot about 300 pellets through the gun and it has not had a single problem. I will continue to put it through its paces but I don't anticipate it failing now, if it hasn't already. I feel that with that many shots the pumping mechanism should be broken in well and should have failed by now if it were going to.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pcp4me from USA on 2014-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The good: Very accurate with a scope. Very powerful. At eight pumps it averages 820 fps with a 7.6 gr match wadcutter pellet and one hole accuracy at 10 meters. Very light weight. Less than 5 pounds? Even with a scope I can carry it for hours in the woods. Even with only four pumps delivers 591 fps average with the same pellet and at all velocities, extreme spread runs <10 fps and usually <5 fps. This gun IS capable of taking more than 8 pumps and DOES reach > 900 fps with the pellet mentioned at about 12 pumps. I DO NOT recommend this though!
      Things I would have changed:The bad: Pumping is extremely loud and "clacky"! And it gets progressively harder to pump and the noise level increases with each additional stroke. The ugly: The trigger pull also gets harder with each additional pump. To the point at 12 pumps it is very hard to pull and you could wind up breaking the plastic trigger.
      What others should know:This gun has a lot of plastic/polymer. But it appears to be very sturdy. Once I pumped it to 15 pumps just to see if it was possible and if it would deliver better velocities. DO NOT do this. Yes, I got over 950 fps with the 7.6 gr match pellet. However, I really had to mash the trigger very hard to get it to fire. I was afraid I was going to break the plastic trigger. And after 8 pumps the velocity gain is progressively less for each additional pump, and the effort almost gave me a hernia! At over 800 fps for the .177 with 8 pumps, be satisfied with that and be safe! My efforts were in the "experimental" range. They confirm the gun is very sturdy, but probably will break sooner rather than later if you do this on a regular basis. I am very happy with results at the eight pump level and regularly practice with only 4 pumps, which is easy on my body. POI is different with different power levels for some reason. This is an excellent gun for the money!! Mine worked and performed great!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jho52c from USA on 2014-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:*Good size and weight. *Composite seems rugged. *Easy to pump. *Slightly more power than my Benjamin 392. *Dovetail scope mount included. *Easy to load pellets. *Fair price. *Low recoil. *The rifle achieves the advertised velocity with lead pellets.
      Things I would have changed:*The screw that holds the stock was very loose from Day One and the "Webley Rebel" emblem on the gun was missing. *The fiber optic open sights are poor. Plan to mount a scope if you buy one. If you prefer open sights or a peep sight, go with a Benjamin. *The barrel is coated in soft plastic and mars easily. *The "clacking" noise from pumping the gun is louder than other pumpers.
      What others should know:Chrony testing, all with 8 pumps: Crosman Premier Hollow Points (14.3 gr): 670 fps Beeman Pointed (15.1 gr): 647 fps RWS Super H Point (14.2 gr): 665 fps Daisy Precision Max pointed (14.0 gr): 681 fps I purchased the rifle recently and am still trying to find the most accurate pellet. American reviews of this gun seem hard come by. Please post any questions and then I will try to help.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2014-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: Got one in 22. Accurate and powerful. Short and light, good stout feel even with all the polymer. It's definitely NOT anything like an 880 or 2100. Still working on break-in and finding it's favorite pellet, but it will print ragged one-holers at 15 and 20 yards with either CPHP's or JSB Exact 18.13s when I do my part. Mine shoots CPHP 14.3's at 640 fps, Superdomes around the same, JSB 18.13's average 577, even tried some 25.4 gr. Monsters and did 520 fps for 15 ft/lbs. Tried a couple of shots with the Monsters at 10 pumps got 550 and 553 fps for 17 fpe.
      Things I would have changed: I disliked the open sites. The front post is a little thick for my taste. The fiber optic insert on the front doesn't line up with the inserts in the rear when the post is even with the top of the notch. The rear inserts fell out of the cheap rear site after less than 100 shots. Not a huge deal, the notch still worked and I already had a scope on the way.
      What others should know: When you get one of these that works they work great, but be prepared, some examples do have issues. The first one PA sent me would not hold air past 3 or 4 pumps, and I have read of others getting the same problem. PA took it back no problem and paid for the return shipping. It is hard to pump after around the fifth pump. Be careful not to get your fingers in the wrong place during pumping this thing will break your fingers!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This seems to be an excellent value for a rifle in its class. Open sights were pretty accurate right out of the box, even with the less expensive Crosman 7.4gr wadcutters at 10 yds. I LOVE the feel of this rifle, and it seems well put together for the cost. Plenty of power for the average user, and it would be ideal for younger shooters as well. Trigger's not too bad either and seems to be smoothing our after about 100 shots. Great for indoor use!
      Things I would have changed:The length of the stock could be another inch or so.
      What others should know:I used a Shooterpads Gel-Filled Recoil Pad (also comes with additional inserts) to add to the length/trigger pull. These allow me to use those rifles with "just-a-bit-too short" stock very comfortably. They are a slip-on, one-size-fits-all style.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-06-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and powerful. Surprisingly powerful. Although made with a lot of plastic, the plastic does feel strong and sturdy.
      Things I would have changed:The sights are sort of cheap and loose. Thinking about replacing them. Somewhat hard to pump full 7 times.
      What others should know:For the money, this is hard to beat.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Pete from USA on 2013-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great stock, nice finish and feel of good composite. Good trigger feel.
      Things I would have changed:List is too long! I would not recomend this rifle to anyone, spent an extra $20 for a 397 or 392, had to replace O-Ring on bolt after only 20 shots, needs it again at only 100+ shots, sloppy pin fit, pumps very hard, will not even come close to the advertised velocity <750 fps w/ light 7.4 grain pointed pellets at 8 pumps, groups worse than most spring guns (+5" @ 25 yards) with every pellet I have tried. Oversized thin plastic barrel shroud moves at the slightest touch of your finger.
      What others should know:Don't waste your money on this one. Another China copy of a good design but without the quality to back it up. I wish I could have test shot this prior to purchase, oh well live and learn.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By michael lester from USA on 2013-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i like the bolt at the breech just press the button and it opened up for loading.
      Things I would have changed:everything, this gun is one of the worse i have encountered. it held 2 inch groups at 10 meters with a scope mounted and zeroed in,and that was the average grouping. i sent it back for a benjamin 397.
      What others should know:maybe i got a bad one. but,i wouldn't chance it. buy something else.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By P-Shooter from USA on 2013-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact, recoil-less carbine. Very tough, heavy built synthetic stock and pump arm. Auto cocking pressure valve. Adjustable pump stroke rod. Steel barrel inside plastic sleeve. Sharp Innova design in the 10 to 12 Fpe range for small game hunting. Adjustable trigger.
      Things I would have changed:An alloy receiver and heavier barrel would be the logical upgrades - that would put this rifle up in the Sharp Tiger design range (high end Sharp rifle).
      What others should know:This is an air-gunner's rifle, knowing its design parameters and proper use is the key to success. It can be very accurate with consistent slow loading pumps and pellet loading. The transfer port protrudes into breech that obstructs pellet - roll rifle to its side while closing bolt prevents pellet from jamming against transfer port. Uses any good rifle scope, no need for special recoil proof scope, try a 3x9 variable with wide mounts, no need to over tighten, no worries about scope creep. Never over pump this airgun, it has a pressure closed valve, over pumping will lock up the air valve on the FAC version. There is simply no need to over pump this rifle, it will easily exceeds 700 Fps (177) with 7 strokes. This is a moderately loud rifle because of the short barrel and higher velocities. Learn to live with it - its not a toy. With proper care and use this little rifle is a great at pest control and small game hunting at moderate ranges. Webley has brought the famous Innova rifle back from the grave and Pyramyd Air brought it to my doorstep !
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Shishone from USA on 2013-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Recoiless, accurate, light weight, variable powered pneumatic rifle owning a half decent trigger that when scoped will hold a variety of pellets to 1 inch groups at 60 feet.
      Things I would have changed:Do away with the plastic sights and enlist at least a 4x scope. Would also like to see a metal breach instead of plastic and an extended butt plate to accomodate those of us having a longer reach.
      What others should know:The trigger pull changes proportionately as the rifle is charged up. Stiff pumping becomes much easier with use. The Webley Rebel in 177 makes a fine-FUN plinker and may be an aid those interested in close range, garden pest control. If I were to use a pneumatic rifle to do serious hunting of small game I would definitely go with a 22 caliber.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Everett from USA on 2013-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate with the right pellet. Absolutely no recoil. Adaptable to backyard shooting with a few pumps or hunting small game, pest control with eight pumps. The trigger pull is smooth and predictable with long travel. Scope mounting is simple with a dovetailed receiver
      Things I would have changed:The sights. The loading port is too small for large fingers.
      What others should know:It may be hard for the young or weak to pump. A scope is needed to get the accuracy the rifle is capable of.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Shishone from USA on 2013-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:RECOILLESS-no springs to bounce things around ACCURACY-half decent out of the box and not particularly pellet fusy COMPOSITE STOCK-well balanced for size
      Things I would have changed:Sights are junk-bundle a scope package instead Lots and lots of plastic, too much in fact... Make a REAL operators' manual
      What others should know:My very first impression…“#$%^&*(^&*(). Feeling of HUGE disappointment! Resting there naked in a cardboard box with just an insignificant Styrofoam block protecting the rear site, this rifle looked like a toy! The operator’s manual is more a refresher course in gun safety than it is a use and maintenance guide and the fiber optic so-called “sights” are absolute junk. Considering the cost, Webley would do well to forgo them, packaging instead a cheap 4x32 scope. However, a much desired need to justify my purchase caused me to remember that this was after all a Webley&Scott…single shot, rifled barrel, pneumatic pump up, recoilless rifle…and I thought to own it. The rifle does have a look of power and it is well balanced. Overall sized less than 36 inches from butt plate to muzzle tip and weighing in barely over 4 lbs it’s obviously designed to accommodate smaller shooters. Pumping the Rebel cocks it (8 hefty strokes is maximum). Note: pumping becomes increasingly difficult with each additional stroke. The trigger pull too, proportionately increases in weight as the rifle is charged up. Although sufficient in their job function, the 11 mm dovetail rail, the breach block, the trigger, trigger guard, and safety (a push/pull bar type set into the back of the trigger guard) are disappointingly plasticized. The Rebel does boast a synthetic stock having a slightly raised cheek piece to accommodate right handed shooters and a highly pimpled grip and forend to aid charging of the piece. Its push bolt has a thin, rubbery knob affixed which protrudes slightly from the rear of the receiver. There is a spring loaded bolt lock/release lever (also made of plastic) on the rear right side of the breach, which when pushed down, releases the bolt, giving access to the pellet loading port. Pushing the rubberized bolt cover drives the bolt forward, loading the pellet, and closing the breach. I suppose, as with most lower-priced Chinese produced air guns, these are all compromises that are necessary to make more cost effective products. Still, I expected a great deal more from a product carrying the world famous Webley&Scott company logo. The 177 caliber Webley Rebel, for use as a hunting rifle or as a youth rifle would definitely not make my list of favorites. However, this is not to say that it would not be a fine choice for beginners and even intermediate shooters. Accuracy is not a problem (consistent 1 inch groups at tape measured 55’ shooting 4 pumps and Beeman’s 8.53 grain pointed pellets/with JSB Match Diabolo EXACT 8.44 grains grouping ¾ and less inches)…trigger is manageable and not all that difficult to get use to...and it does have a solid feel…and it is well balanced. Hmmmm, might just make for a good informal plinker, back yard pest rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good solid build. Nice fibre optic sights. Compact quick handling. Good balance. 2 pound pull crisp trigger. Very nice bolt system. With Tasco pro point red dot sight and Webley match pellets shoots one hole clover leaf 1/4 inch groups, standing unsupported at 25 feet, with three pumps. Over 800 fps with eight pumps. Very satisfied. I have had my Webley Rebel for a week, have shot over 200 pellets so far and no problems.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, especially considering the $120.00 price.
      What others should know:Much better in all ways than a Benjamin .177 cal. 8 pump pneumatic rifle with forward scope mount. Accuracy close to Avanti with match Bbl.. Also shoots H&N Match pellets and RWS Hobby pellets very well. A good companion piece for the Webley Alecto pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Everett from USA on 2012-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate, tight groups with a few different pellets. Recoiless. Inexpensive for the level of quality.
      Things I would have changed:The sights. The rear sight is flimsy plastic with sloppy adjustment. The front sight is too large -- it obscures small targets. I had to bottom out the rear sight and it is still high at 10 meters. A scope or red dot might be good for this rifle.
      What others should know:The pumping effort might be too much for young shooters. It's a little loud for back yard shooting.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top