Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Weihrauch HW50S Breakbarrel Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2010-07-03 14:11:40

    Things I liked:Excellent workmanship, beautiful bluing, very accurate and consistant. It has a wonderfuly solid, well balanced feel, making it very enjoyable to shoot and even just to hold in your hands. Decent power for such a light and well balanced plinker, averaging 770 fps with both Crosman Premier 7.9 gr and and JSB Express 7.9 gr pellets, with an extreme spread of only 10fps. It does about 660 with JSB 10.5 gr Exact heavies which in spite of being a bit heavy for a medium powered springer, it just loves. Able to hit a 2 inch spinner at 60 yards every time as long as I do my part. At 25 yards it is almost boringly easy to knock the caps off of empty 2 liter soda bottles.When I first purchased this gun, it had a slight twang in the firing cycle but after about 1000 rounds it has really smoothed out nicely to the point where it has a nice thunk with almost no vibration at all and has lost nothing in terms of velocity from day one. Cocking it is very smooth and easy as well. The rekord trigger is fabulous, nice light first stage take up followed by a very crisp second stage let off of around 20 or so ounces. The 50S has become my most used airgun, I pretty much shoot it every day, while my high powered PCP's sit in the case.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:The Leapers 3-9x40 Golden image scope with Leapers Acushot 1inch medium height rings are super on this gun, very nice combo and for cheap money.
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-11 15:11:43

    Things I liked:Finish, weight and overall feel of the gun.
    Things I would have changed:The gun has needed to go in for repairs to correct manufacturing flaws twice in the three months that I've owned it. The internal workings of this gun are not well made.
    What others should know:I would like to give this gun a 5-star review because when it is working it performs well for the money. But I purchased this gun in November and this is the second time I have had to send the rifle back for repair. The first time the trigger adjustment screw would not turn. I sent it back and did not have use of the gun for a few weeks. Today it suddenly lost all it's power and can barely get on paper at 10 yards. The first time I sent the gun back Pyramid covered shipping but I had to pay UPS around $25 for a box. Pyramid sent me a new gun and I used it for another month. Now Pyramid tells me they are seriously backed up and I probably won't get the gun back for another month, AND I have to pay for shipping this time which will probably be around $35 or so. So I'm out $60, a LOT of time, and since November the gun has spent as much time in the Pyramid repair shop as it has spent in my possession. I do not recommend this gun, and my experience with Pyramid Air over this purchase has not been very good.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the second HW50 I was sent, as the first had to be returned for repair. This gun has a great balance to it, and really shoots great. I also own an HW30 which is a great gun, but if I had to get rid of one of the two, it would be the HW30, simply because the HW50 is a great all-around gun. It is very accurate for target shooting, and has the extra ft/sec. and ft./pounds for hunting. The HW30 is more of a target gun.
      Things I would have changed:I would have Weihrauch install a steel muzzle break on the end of the barrel like the Beeman R7. My friend Joe put a steel muzzle break on my HW50, and it really balances it out. The rifle is already heavier than the HW30, and the extra weight at the muzzle end makes it steadier to aim. In addition the muzzle break makes the rifle easier to cock. It is a great rifle.
      What others should know:If you are looking for one air rifle that you want to spend around $400 for, look no further than the HW50. It is a great target gun, as well as a hunting rifle for small game. My particular air rifle is a .177 caliber, and likes the H & N Match Pistol 4.51 diameter pellets. It will easily tear up the orange bull on a 10 meter target at 10 meters if I do my part. I do not own a chrony, but it definitely shoots faster than the HW30 in .177. The checkering on the stock and forearm makes gripping the gun more sure than the slick finish of the HW30. Also, the Rekord trigger is top of the line in this price range of guns; they are superb.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Giovanni from USA on 2014-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The finish on the steel receiver and barrel the wood stock the Rekord trigger everything is beautiful done on the rifle
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:If you are looking for a accurate rifle to add to your collection, and if you do your part with the right pellets this rifle is capable of ONE I SAID ONE HOLE at 10 yards I LOVE MY HW50S.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this gun. After about 1500 shots, I can say that it is a smooth, accurate, well-made gun. I would buy it again, and I wish Pyramyd would stock its other variants (stainless etc). In terms of accuracy, I found 10 different pellets that grouped between .20" and .25" for a ten shot group at 10 yds CTC. Two pellets (the JSB 8.44 and the 7.87gr) shot below .160". That is amazing for a non-Field Target gun.
      Things I would have changed:The break-in will lead you to believe this is a nasty gun. It honked, whined, and moaned, but eventually broke-in as a nice smooth shooter. Additionally, the cocking is harder than advertised. That said adults and teenagers should not have an issue. This is not a kids guns.
      What others should know:Have Fun! This is a gun well worth the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the new hw50s is beautiful - checkering / weihrauch logo on pistol grip and front of stock is nicely done / good looking - definitely a major plus in the cosmetic department . bluing is very nice - dark and even . typical excellent weihrauch quality - should last for many years . nice shooting , very accurate breakbarrel air rifle . moderately light weight at 6.8# - points well . this gun exudes value .
      Things I would have changed:cocking effort - c'mon weihrauch - you been at this air gun thing for a long time - re-engineer the leverage geometry and get the cocking weight down to a more reasonable level [ this is not a magnum powered springer , after all ]. also , while you're at it , polish a few thousandths off the linkage to end this galling issue - two easily fixable small problems to make a really fine rifle even better . even with these 2 issues this is a 5 star breakbarrel .
      What others should know:crosman premier hollow points are a very tight feed into the barrel - they do not go in without a lot of persuasion - sometimes have to not use a particular cphp pellet and substitute another due to production tolerance variation. crosmans do fit better in my hw30s although they still are very tight - occasionally have one that won't go in . i use a pen to seat the pellet in both rifles . jsb 8.4 round is an nicer fit . the cocking effort is NOT the advertised 18# - that is not an accurate claim / fact . the hw30s is advertised 18# and is easy to cock . the hw50s cocking effort IS AT LEAST DOUBLE the hw30s - NOT children/women friendly -it WILL tire you out over a longer shooting session , whereas the hw30s can be shot all day without feeling like you just finished a workout video . galling issue was barely perceptible for 20-30 shots - it is now a non-issue - not a deal breaker .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nowhere near as heavy as a TX200, HW97, or other fixed barrels, or as thick, but just as accurate, and easier, more fun to handle, at half the price. I've owned the AA Prosport, MPR-FT, TX200MKIII, TX200MKIIIHC, and HW97KT. Greatly prefer the simplicity, lightness and precision of the HW50S. All other guns are gone. I can shoot 1/4" groups at 30 yards, and it's not even broken in all the way yet.
      Things I would have changed:Why do all HW's have barrel droop? the trigger is adjusted too heavy out of the box, and turning the adjustment screw all the way down still wasn't enough. Trigger MUST be tuned, don't buy into all that crap about the Reckord being so wonderful. It's not, until fiddled with. Lube the gun better. It twangs and vibrates, and the cocking arm sometimes grinds and has already developed side to side play, probably because of the bearing or pin used in the pivot being cheap metal. Probably will have that replaced with quality parts, and have the trigger tuned, and a good lube job.
      What others should know:I shoot mostly Silhouette, which is from a standing open hand position only. The 50S hit all the right features I wanted in a gun for that sport that all of the others mentioned didn't. I love it and will never look back. After a few weeks of shooting the 50, a friend brought out his TX and HW97, and I couldn't believe how much more effort it took just to hold the guns. Many say that extra weight helps to stabilize the shot, but I don't believe that for a second. I think it entirely depends on your build, strength, and ability to balance the gun properly. The sport is so much more enjoyable now that I don't feel like I'm also in a weightlifting contest at the same time. Heavy guns?...Bah! Shooting 754 fps with 8.6g H&N FTT's. Hold sensitive, so don't give up till' you find the right hold. I had groups at 30 yards go from 1.5 inches to 1/4 inch just by changing my hold. Absolutely the very best airgun value there is.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Finish, weight and overall feel of the gun.
      Things I would have changed:The gun has needed to go in for repairs to correct manufacturing flaws twice in the three months that I've owned it. The internal workings of this gun are not well made.
      What others should know:I would like to give this gun a 5-star review because when it is working it performs well for the money. But I purchased this gun in November and this is the second time I have had to send the rifle back for repair. The first time the trigger adjustment screw would not turn. I sent it back and did not have use of the gun for a few weeks. Today it suddenly lost all it's power and can barely get on paper at 10 yards. The first time I sent the gun back Pyramid covered shipping but I had to pay UPS around $25 for a box. Pyramid sent me a new gun and I used it for another month. Now Pyramid tells me they are seriously backed up and I probably won't get the gun back for another month, AND I have to pay for shipping this time which will probably be around $35 or so. So I'm out $60, a LOT of time, and since November the gun has spent as much time in the Pyramid repair shop as it has spent in my possession. I do not recommend this gun, and my experience with Pyramid Air over this purchase has not been very good.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2014-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit, function,finish,feel.Easy to cock. Accurate beyond belief.
      Things I would have changed:Sights are great for target shooting. Hard to see with dark background
      What others should know:Worth every dime.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By michael from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For a mid priced air gun this very high quality German made gun is a joy to shoot. It is reasonable in weight and shoulders well. The accuracy is superb and my 10 for $10 report showed muzzle velocities right at 830+ fps which is exactly where Weihrauch rates the gun. Cocking and loading is easy and putting 50 pellets thru the barrel is not tiring. An excellent gun with enough power for small game hunting as my resident dwindling population of red squirrels can attest. It is now a valued possession. At the time i ordered the gun PA was offering a 13% off coupon that made the deal even sweeter. Thank you PA...and thanks for moving to within 3 miles of my house, it sure makes the will call deliveries easy. I only wish you had storefront inside your facility for walk in customers.
      Things I would have changed:Hmmm.....I can't think of anything offhand.....but the owners manual could be better in specifying what lubricants should be used to properly maintaining the gun. It seems to refer taking the gun to a qualified professional basically anything.
      What others should know:My gun seems to like H & N FTT the best.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By don from USA on 2013-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight and accuracy
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of anything
      What others should know:I consider this gun to be one of the best all around break barrel spring guns. It has plenty of power in 177 for squirrel or rabbit at reasonable range (35 yards for this gun). While it is not as accurate or powerful as the precharged, it is much more usable. I rarely sit down and shoot 50 rounds in a row. For the occasioal back yard varmint, a springer is the way to go. This gun is a nice weight and shots pretty darn good.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Byron from USA on 2013-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish are excellent. Trigger is the best. Accuracy is great.
      Things I would have changed:I wish Weihrauch would supply quality aperture sights instead of the old buckhorn. The cocking effort is way too much for the velocity produced.
      What others should know:Don't believe the advertised 18 or 24 pounds cocking effort. My HW50s measured 40 lbs. My HW95 measured 35 lbs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2013-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's a Weihrauch, what else needs to be said! I have had an HW30S Deluxe in .177 cal for a couple of years, and my wife and I really enjoy shooting it, but wanted a little larger rifle in .22 cal. The HW50S fits the bill perfectly. Great for shooting targets and ridding our property of the occasional unwelcomed varmint. The engraved checkered stock on this newer version of the rifle is much nicer than the older plain version in my opinion.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Buy one of these from Pyramyd, you will not be disappointed in the rifle or the excellent service this company provides to it's customers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ChrisLJ from USA on 2013-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great quality and engineering, fantastic trigger, beautiful bluing, nice wood with very good engraving, just right rubber butt pad, light weight and fast handling, the best iron sights I've ever used and they're made of all metal. Oh yeah, it's also a precision tack driver.
      Things I would have changed:It has the proverbial thunk/twang of a springer, unlike my HW97KT under lever which is much quieter. Wish it had a smooth gas ram like my Trail NP. Then again I wish the Trail had the Rekord trigger. The stated cocking effort of 24# is definitely bogus. PA says the Trail NP is 33# and the HW97K is 35#, but believe me they are much easier to cock than my HW50s. I actually strained my arm on this thing and had to change my method of cocking. As far as I know there is no mechanical issue because it is smooth with no metal grinding at all. I've heard others state that it is now harder since Weihrauch changed the material of the seals.
      What others should know:Mine really likes H&N Field Target Trophy 5.53mm pellets, and will shoot one hole all day at indoor distances, using the iron sights. I won't mount a scope even though it would be a big help simply because it's perfect in handling and balance without one. I might consider an aperture sight in the future. All in all a purchase I'm very pleased with, and of course Pyramyd Air handled everything fast and efficiently.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2013-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ordering from PA was easy online. Rifle arrived within 5 days of ordering. Brand new, double boxed and in perfect condition.Wood work is great, nicely stained beech stock, excellent bluing. Cocking effort is probably 50% more than the R7. Very accurate with all the pellets I've tried, yet the pellets have noticably different POI. Originally set up with UTG offset mount. This was too high and resulted in POI 4"low at at 10yds. Exchanged for Beeman/Sportsmatch Medium rings, shimmed with one piece of plastic cut from the Crossman pellet package results in good POI and within optical center of Hawke HD Sport 3-9x40 scope. .22 is good for targets and hits hard enough for small game. What a terrific air rifle. Also, it is quiet enough to shoot indoors. Not much louder than R7. Get one.
      Things I would have changed:Of course, it would be great if cocking effort was a little easier.
      What others should know:You get what you pay for. This is an excellent value, and the Weihrauch/Beeman lines are excellent product for the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lawlin from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall package combining quality workmanship, solid construction, accuracy, and value. Stock finish, figure, and fit are first rate. Metal finish and bluing rivals high end centerfire rifles. Max Velocity advertised at 575 fps. Just completed 3 10-shot strings averaging 630 fps (RWS Superdome 14.5 gr.) and 616 fps (H&N FTT 14.66 gr. ). Moderately quiet and smooth for a break-barrel springer.
      Things I would have changed:Understand with open sights barrel droop is a non-issue, however, when using a scope it can be. Would like to see Weihrauch either machine the receiver for a given rifle to compensate for that rifle's barrel droop, or furnish a droop-compensated scope rail. Beeman drooper mount and Hawke scope's significant vertical adjustment just able to bring POI to target center at 10 meters. Weihrauch offer blued steel muzzle brake/cocking handle. Directly contacted Weihrauch to source a muzzle brake like those shown in their Euro catalogue. Referred to Pyramyd Air. Old Beeman muzzle brake no longer offered.
      What others should know:May need to allow $$$ for a droop-compensated mount. This HW50S likes H&N pellets. 9.5mm - 10-shot groups at 10 meters with either FTT or MWCC. Extremely consistent with good fitting pellets (5.55 Head Diameter H&N FTT). Std. Deviation. Superdome Field Line 2.0, H&N Match Wadcutter Competition 2.6. Does not like JSB Exact Jumbo Express Std Dev. 19.3.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Typical of Weihrauch guns is the high quality of manufacture and remarkable accuracy, and the HW50S is no exception to their high standards. The Rekord trigger, with its full adjustability, is among the finest available on an airgun. Compared to lesser guns, the cost may seem high, but in this case, you certainly will get more than what you pay for. There is no substitute for quality, and Weihrauch guns have it in spades.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pete from USA on 2013-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:What a great rifle! Originally I intended to put a scope on mine, but in the end decided that I wanted a rifle with open sights. The sights are metal, not plastic like most rifles made today. Accuracy is superb with a wide variety of pellets. Very nice stock with great looking/feeling checkering. I also like that the front sight is easily removable if I choose to put a scope on it down the road.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing to speak of.
      What others should know:I purchased the 22 caliber model. While very accurate with many different pellets, mine seems to like the Beeman FTS copper-coated pellets the best.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Harold from USA on 2013-05-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have a HW30s. This is a more hefty rifle with nice forearm and hand grip checkering with Weilrauch engraved on both side of the forearm. It has a chisel lock up rather than a ball bearing. Amazingly accurate. Much larger piston than the R7. What a difference for a few dollars more.
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing
      What others should know:This HW50 is between HW30s and HW95, so you can just buy one HW50s instead of 30/95. Once you found good thing, you want to have each one of them. But after a while you end up shooting only one regularly. For me, it is the R7. But then I have also the 50 and 95 and TX200. This one should be all I need in hindsight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Oldgringo from USA on 2013-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well built, well fitted and beautiful workmanship. After several hundred various pellets, she is starting to give dime size groups at 15 meters and quarter size groups at 25 yards off a rest.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, she is fine just like she is.
      What others should know:She does not like to be held; however, she responds well to a light touch on non restraining rest. Pyramyd Air also responded very well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am very pleased with my HW 50S. I use it primarily for shooting in my garage at 10 meters. The open sights are nice and offer several options for the rear notch width and the front post. The fit and finish on the rifle are excellent. The Rekord trigger is very nice and will only get better as it breaks in.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. Initially, there is a little bit of creep in the second stage, but the break is clean and crisp. I am confident it will smooth out, or I will get a bit of lube in there if it bothers me in the future.
      What others should know:This is a great airgun that will work in many situations. It may not have Magnum velocity and energy, but it does not have a lot of hold sensitivity either. It is a proven design that I expect to last many years.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Clean barrel out of the box, nice. The open sights were already dead on for 10 meters, right out of the box! The trigger is delightful and needs no adjustment for me, long, smooth, very light 1st stage followed by a distinct, short, crisp, light 2nd stage. Immaculate woodwork and metalwork/bluing. No vibration or twang, merely a single, quick thump with each shot. Superb bench supported off hand accuracy at 10 meters with a loose hold. I have not yet chronied it as I feel that any springer with fewer than 500 shots will not tell you anything meaningful. Also, I am a LEFTY, and the stock and wrist are completely ambidextrous. The buttstock has identical, shallow cheek pieces on both sides! This rifle oozes quality.
      Things I would have changed:It's a bit loud for its power range, although I'm primarily a basement shooter, so that is OK with me. I will have to wear hearing protection with this one.
      What others should know:Crosman Premier Lights are a slightly tight fit and require the use of a seating tool, although the rifle groups exceptionally well with them. At FIRST the cocking was slightly gritty and probably about 31 to 33 lbs., but after just 10 shots I could feel it start to smooth out and lighten a bit. After 50 shots, I'd guess it is now about 27 lbs., and there is no grittiness at all. I could easily imagine it settling down to about 21 to 23 lbs. of cocking effort after a thousand shots. My particular rifle weighs 6.4 lbs. on my regularly calibrated digital postal scale. This must be unusually light for this model, but my experience is that one chunk of any species of wood varies a LOT in weight from others of the same species because of moisture content and density. This stock is only medium sized, but I believe a variation of up to 20 ounces is possible from rifle to rifle. It is also AMBIDEXTROUS! (See above.)
    • 12 Next »
    Back to Top