Date: 8/2/2016 12:26

Weihrauch HW50S Breakbarrel Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Frank from USA on 2015-10-26 22:35:31

Things I liked: I got my HW50s during a sale and had it dropped shipped to John Thomas in PA for a tune. What I got is the most perfect air rifle I've owned to date. So far I've owned an HW30, 77, and 80 - all fine rifles... but the HW50s is just right for me. I'm big guy shooting recreationally on several acres, plinking 10-30m with open sights and this gun suits me better than any other springer or PCP yet. Finish and appearance is top-notch but I do recommend a tune job on any of these nicer rifles. Mine is smooth and moderate powered, not too heavy or clumsy, but not "too" light like an HW30. It's still stout enough not to be a kid's rifle. But not a beast like the field target models....

Things I would have changed: I've had a couple of tuned and a couple of stock HWs now and much prefer the tuned ones ;-p Out of the box the ones I've had needed a lot of shooting to smooth out.

What others should know: I think most adult males can cock this rifle all day long (put the butt on your thigh) and it delivers enough umph for backyard pesting in .177. Mine likes JSB Exact 8.4gr.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-11 15:11:43

Things I liked: Finish, weight and overall feel of the gun.

Things I would have changed: The gun has needed to go in for repairs to correct manufacturing flaws twice in the three months that I've owned it. The internal workings of this gun are not well made.

What others should know: I would like to give this gun a 5-star review because when it is working it performs well for the money. But I purchased this gun in November and this is the second time I have had to send the rifle back for repair. The first time the trigger adjustment screw would not turn. I sent it back and did not have use of the gun for a few weeks. Today it suddenly lost all it's power and can barely get on paper at 10 yards. The first time I sent the gun back Pyramid covered shipping but I had to pay UPS around $25 for a box. Pyramid sent me a new gun and I used it for another month. Now Pyramid tells me they are seriously backed up and I probably won't get the gun back for another month, AND I have to pay for shipping this time which will probably be around $35 or so. So I'm out $60, a LOT of time, and since November the gun has spent as much time in the Pyramid repair shop as it has spent in my possession. I do not recommend this gun, and my experience with Pyramid Air over this purchase has not been very good.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jackey from USA on 2015-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Have never had an air rifle this easy to shoot--the least hold sensitive I have ever shot, MUCH better than the 2 Benjamin gas pistons I currently have, even a little better than the RWS 34 that I have had for years. Also the least pellet picky rifle I've ever shot--tried 11 different pellets, shot fine with 6, outstandingly well with 2 (and this is after only 600 shots, MUCH quicker break-in than I am used to). At 35 laser-measured yards groups are always under 3/4" and again, this is only 600 shots in, not even what I consider broken in yet. Cocking effort was not bad at all (and I'm a fat 47 year- old, not a 20 something body builder) and was quite smooth out of the box. If you have been considering one of these go ahead--it will not disappoint.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far, and that is quite unusual.

    What others should know: From my limited experience (8 "adult" air guns over the years) this rifle is a true value for the price. Not as fast as a lot of them out there, but a heck of a lot more accurate and easier to shoot in my opinion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2015-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got my HW50s during a sale and had it dropped shipped to John Thomas in PA for a tune. What I got is the most perfect air rifle I've owned to date. So far I've owned an HW30, 77, and 80 - all fine rifles... but the HW50s is just right for me. I'm big guy shooting recreationally on several acres, plinking 10-30m with open sights and this gun suits me better than any other springer or PCP yet. Finish and appearance is top-notch but I do recommend a tune job on any of these nicer rifles. Mine is smooth and moderate powered, not too heavy or clumsy, but not "too" light like an HW30. It's still stout enough not to be a kid's rifle. But not a beast like the field target models....

    Things I would have changed: I've had a couple of tuned and a couple of stock HWs now and much prefer the tuned ones ;-p Out of the box the ones I've had needed a lot of shooting to smooth out.

    What others should know: I think most adult males can cock this rifle all day long (put the butt on your thigh) and it delivers enough umph for backyard pesting in .177. Mine likes JSB Exact 8.4gr.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By don from USA on 2015-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I am a big fan of the HW50 and Weihrauch in general. I have in order of purchase an R1, HW30, HW50, and HW97. The HW50 is the best all around of the bunch. Plenty of power for most purposes in 177 and very accurate. When I bought my gun about 5 or so years ago, the first time I tried to cock it I could not break the barrel. I finally decided to pop the barrel with my hand and was able to cock it. First few times it was a little stiff but now very easy to cock. Not sure why but all is good for many thousands of rounds. I even accidentally left it cocked for a week once. I was very happy to find that it had no effect on the gun. I would say in my opinion this could be the best all around spring gun made. Very light, extremely well made, and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The Beeman influenced safety is poor in terms of ergonomics. Hard to reach, cannot be reset after putting in fire position. It actually broke on my R1 shortly after I bought it. I much prefer the safety on my HW30 non-S model with the Perfect trigger. I can overlook this flaw but I think Weirhauch could improve it.

    What others should know: Crossman Premier domed 7.9 in the 1250 cartons work great. Not the tins as they seem to be different pellets for some reason?? JSB exact work great in my 97 which has a tighter bore than the 50. I'm sure the JSB would work well in the 50 too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super quality, great fit and finish, ease of cocking, quality metal sights (not plastic).

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great item!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-10-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are flawless - this is a beautiful rifle! Very high quality, smooth. Bluing is very rich, and even a family member who doesn't like guns said it looked like a piece of finely finished furniture. Trigger is incredible, and I'm still using it at the factory setting. Very accurate, and as I gain experience with it (only my second springer), I know there is more accuracy than I'm capable of getting right now. Rear sight has three different notches (different widths) and a V-notch. Light and compact, recoil is a soft bump; not too loud.

    Things I would have changed: Not much; at first I thought I'd change the automatic safety, but it didn't take long to get used to it.

    What others should know: I will be using this for target shooting, so I put a Williams peep (FP-AG-TK) on the rear, only beginning to see how accurate this rifle really is. Cocking was somewhat hard at first, but I backed off the breech bolt 1/4 turn (recommendation of someone who knows these guns very well - loosen right side 3/4 turn, then left side 1/4 to 1/2, then tighten the right while holding the left) and it made quite a bit of difference. One thing that interested me was that other reveiwers said this was the gun they most enjoyed shooting, and I can see why. First order of business was to clean the barrel, which took about six cleaning patches. Haven't tried many different pellets, but getting some good results with JSB Match Diabolo S100 8.26gr wadcutters, also will try RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle. I seem to be getting decent results "just holding it normally" - it doesn't seem as sensitive to hold as perhaps some of the magnum springers are.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well-built and solid, but relatively light and easy handling. Very nicely finished wood and metal. Relatively calm recoil and easy to shoot accurately, but still feels alive and has hunting and pesting power. Excellent HW barrel. Very smooth cocking and easy to shoot all day long. Rekord trigger is crisp and light. I have had many good guns, UK BSAs, Webleys, AA, and other HWs, and this is as accurate, well-built, and enjoyable to shoot as any of them. It is a wonderful welterweight sporter.

    Things I would have changed: If I were to nitpick, I would would prefer Allen screws instead of the flatheads that hold the stock to the action. A resettable safety would be nice, although the stock safety can be reset by re-cocking. I wish it were less twangy in stock form, but most spring rifles, even expensive imports, are twangy out of the box. However, this platform is certainly worthy of the investment in a spring kit or pro tune.

    What others should know: Loctite your screws right away- I use Gun-tite. Do not overtighten the rear trigger guard screw. I put an aftermarket spring kit in mine and it feels like a tunes rifle and makes good power- about 11 ft-lbs after 2000 shots. Off a bench with a 6.5-20x scope on a calm day, I can shoot dime sized groups at 35 yards all day long- granted, I need to focus to do it- it's not a PCP. It can hit soda cans consistently at 100 yards. It shoots most pellets well but seems to do its very best with JSB 7.87 and H&N FTT pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2015-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: From the minute I took this out of the box I was impressed ! Very deep rich bluing . Very smooth cocking with a positive crisp click when cocked . Due to its light weight it is very easy to shoot off hand . Love the sights . I like the safety placement and function . The rifle is very well built and very tight .

    Things I would have changed: Really nothing but I would not mind 1 or 2 more inches of barrel length .

    What others should know: I have three other Air rifles all RWS springer's which I love . 54 air king .177 , 34 compact .177 , 350 magnum .22 cal . This rifle was recommended to me by Greg at PA ( Thank you Greg you were right on point )This HW50S is the one I grab most of the time when I want to do some back yard plinking . It is just plain fun to shoot ! Mine loves the Meisterkugein rifle 8.2 gr . With those it shoots around 750 fps . It is a very accurate . I am getting dime size 5 shot groups at 18 yds with the iron sights and 56 year old eyes . I thought about putting a scope on it, but it is just to fun to shoot with the iron sights . The trigger is awesome and great out of the box . I adjusted mine out counter clockwise ( to lighten trigger pull ) slowly a little bit at the time about 3/4 of a turn total and it is perfect for me now . Go ahead and get you one you will love it !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like a German scalpel. Crisp. Sharp. Slick. Perfect. Higher quality than ANY real FIREARM in the gun cases at your local "Wally World." My first Weihrauch. It is a tribute to the lost art called Craftsmanship. ...shot 300 pellets in 2 days. Can't put it down. Its made so well it seems like it will take a thousand more just to break it in. Notchy. Clicky. Crisp. Tight. Slick. ...and no plastic here!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe include some "Weihrauch Sport" stickers in the box? I don't know. The gun is beautiful as it is.

    What others should know: I can confirm that this gun is not "easy" to cock. That is the only thing that I would warn a friend who might be considering one. Now don't get me wrong, when I was 12, I was determined enough, and most likely capable of cocking this thing. Seems to be nearly as hard to cock as other powerful springers that I've dealt with. That being said, I'm a normal man and I can fire off a string of 20 shots in a few minutes, no problem. This gun is high enough quality that you can get enjoyment from just looking at it and admiring it. And it shoots too!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent for off hand shooting with very smooth cocking and firing actions; great Rekord trigger; quite obvious German quality and build; unblemished stock with checkering; complete ambidexterity; open sights included!

    Things I would have changed: ????NA

    What others should know: did not need a droop compensator mount on my HW50s; @22 cal moves 22 rimfire spinner target adequately;

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2014-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a nice, quality .22 air rifle. I love the stock & checkering of Pyramid's offering. Of course the gun is accurate and the metal work is beautiful. Not too big or small.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Some reviews say it is harder to cock than the 24 lbs. in the specs. I tend to agree. It takes more effort than I would like considering this is a 12 ftp or less rifle. However, after about 100 shots it is smoothing out quite nicely and it should be getting better & better as time goes on.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: What a great air rifle! Looks great. Great size and weight. I love the options of the multiple front inserts. The stock is beautiful. The trigger is awesome. Balances well when shooting.

    Things I would have changed: It was a bit gritty and twangy out of the box. I cleaned and polished up the internals, and I also installed a Vortek kit and now it shoots absolutely amazing. Now it is quiet and smooth and producing just over 11 ft/lbs of energy. I removed the rear sight and put on a Williams aperture sight. I love this set up.

    What others should know: This is still a great great rifle even without the tuning kit. You will not regret buying this rifle. You really do get what you pay for.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the second HW50 I was sent, as the first had to be returned for repair. This gun has a great balance to it, and really shoots great. I also own an HW30 which is a great gun, but if I had to get rid of one of the two, it would be the HW30, simply because the HW50 is a great all-around gun. It is very accurate for target shooting, and has the extra ft/sec. and ft./pounds for hunting. The HW30 is more of a target gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would have Weihrauch install a steel muzzle break on the end of the barrel like the Beeman R7. My friend Joe put a steel muzzle break on my HW50, and it really balances it out. The rifle is already heavier than the HW30, and the extra weight at the muzzle end makes it steadier to aim. In addition the muzzle break makes the rifle easier to cock. It is a great rifle.

    What others should know: If you are looking for one air rifle that you want to spend around $400 for, look no further than the HW50. It is a great target gun, as well as a hunting rifle for small game. My particular air rifle is a .177 caliber, and likes the H & N Match Pistol 4.51 diameter pellets. It will easily tear up the orange bull on a 10 meter target at 10 meters if I do my part. I do not own a chrony, but it definitely shoots faster than the HW30 in .177. The checkering on the stock and forearm makes gripping the gun more sure than the slick finish of the HW30. Also, the Rekord trigger is top of the line in this price range of guns; they are superb.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Giovanni from USA on 2014-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The finish on the steel receiver and barrel the wood stock the Rekord trigger everything is beautiful done on the rifle

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you are looking for a accurate rifle to add to your collection, and if you do your part with the right pellets this rifle is capable of ONE I SAID ONE HOLE at 10 yards I LOVE MY HW50S.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this gun. After about 1500 shots, I can say that it is a smooth, accurate, well-made gun. I would buy it again, and I wish Pyramyd would stock its other variants (stainless etc). In terms of accuracy, I found 10 different pellets that grouped between .20" and .25" for a ten shot group at 10 yds CTC. Two pellets (the JSB 8.44 and the 7.87gr) shot below .160". That is amazing for a non-Field Target gun.

    Things I would have changed: The break-in will lead you to believe this is a nasty gun. It honked, whined, and moaned, but eventually broke-in as a nice smooth shooter. Additionally, the cocking is harder than advertised. That said adults and teenagers should not have an issue. This is not a kids guns.

    What others should know: Have Fun! This is a gun well worth the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2014-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the new hw50s is beautiful - checkering / weihrauch logo on pistol grip and front of stock is nicely done / good looking - definitely a major plus in the cosmetic department . bluing is very nice - dark and even . typical excellent weihrauch quality - should last for many years . nice shooting , very accurate breakbarrel air rifle . moderately light weight at 6.8# - points well . this gun exudes value .

    Things I would have changed: cocking effort - c'mon weihrauch - you been at this air gun thing for a long time - re-engineer the leverage geometry and get the cocking weight down to a more reasonable level [ this is not a magnum powered springer , after all ]. also , while you're at it , polish a few thousandths off the linkage to end this galling issue - two easily fixable small problems to make a really fine rifle even better . even with these 2 issues this is a 5 star breakbarrel .

    What others should know: crosman premier hollow points are a very tight feed into the barrel - they do not go in without a lot of persuasion - sometimes have to not use a particular cphp pellet and substitute another due to production tolerance variation. crosmans do fit better in my hw30s although they still are very tight - occasionally have one that won't go in . i use a pen to seat the pellet in both rifles . jsb 8.4 round is an nicer fit . the cocking effort is NOT the advertised 18# - that is not an accurate claim / fact . the hw30s is advertised 18# and is easy to cock . the hw50s cocking effort IS AT LEAST DOUBLE the hw30s - NOT children/women friendly -it WILL tire you out over a longer shooting session , whereas the hw30s can be shot all day without feeling like you just finished a workout video . galling issue was barely perceptible for 20-30 shots - it is now a non-issue - not a deal breaker .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nowhere near as heavy as a TX200, HW97, or other fixed barrels, or as thick, but just as accurate, and easier, more fun to handle, at half the price. I've owned the AA Prosport, MPR-FT, TX200MKIII, TX200MKIIIHC, and HW97KT. Greatly prefer the simplicity, lightness and precision of the HW50S. All other guns are gone. I can shoot 1/4" groups at 30 yards, and it's not even broken in all the way yet.

    Things I would have changed: Why do all HW's have barrel droop? the trigger is adjusted too heavy out of the box, and turning the adjustment screw all the way down still wasn't enough. Trigger MUST be tuned, don't buy into all that crap about the Reckord being so wonderful. It's not, until fiddled with. Lube the gun better. It twangs and vibrates, and the cocking arm sometimes grinds and has already developed side to side play, probably because of the bearing or pin used in the pivot being cheap metal. Probably will have that replaced with quality parts, and have the trigger tuned, and a good lube job.

    What others should know: I shoot mostly Silhouette, which is from a standing open hand position only. The 50S hit all the right features I wanted in a gun for that sport that all of the others mentioned didn't. I love it and will never look back. After a few weeks of shooting the 50, a friend brought out his TX and HW97, and I couldn't believe how much more effort it took just to hold the guns. Many say that extra weight helps to stabilize the shot, but I don't believe that for a second. I think it entirely depends on your build, strength, and ability to balance the gun properly. The sport is so much more enjoyable now that I don't feel like I'm also in a weightlifting contest at the same time. Heavy guns?...Bah! Shooting 754 fps with 8.6g H&N FTT's. Hold sensitive, so don't give up till' you find the right hold. I had groups at 30 yards go from 1.5 inches to 1/4 inch just by changing my hold. Absolutely the very best airgun value there is.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Finish, weight and overall feel of the gun.

    Things I would have changed: The gun has needed to go in for repairs to correct manufacturing flaws twice in the three months that I've owned it. The internal workings of this gun are not well made.

    What others should know: I would like to give this gun a 5-star review because when it is working it performs well for the money. But I purchased this gun in November and this is the second time I have had to send the rifle back for repair. The first time the trigger adjustment screw would not turn. I sent it back and did not have use of the gun for a few weeks. Today it suddenly lost all it's power and can barely get on paper at 10 yards. The first time I sent the gun back Pyramid covered shipping but I had to pay UPS around $25 for a box. Pyramid sent me a new gun and I used it for another month. Now Pyramid tells me they are seriously backed up and I probably won't get the gun back for another month, AND I have to pay for shipping this time which will probably be around $35 or so. So I'm out $60, a LOT of time, and since November the gun has spent as much time in the Pyramid repair shop as it has spent in my possession. I do not recommend this gun, and my experience with Pyramid Air over this purchase has not been very good.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit, function,finish,feel.Easy to cock. Accurate beyond belief.

    Things I would have changed: Sights are great for target shooting. Hard to see with dark background

    What others should know: Worth every dime.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For a mid priced air gun this very high quality German made gun is a joy to shoot. It is reasonable in weight and shoulders well. The accuracy is superb and my 10 for $10 report showed muzzle velocities right at 830+ fps which is exactly where Weihrauch rates the gun. Cocking and loading is easy and putting 50 pellets thru the barrel is not tiring. An excellent gun with enough power for small game hunting as my resident dwindling population of red squirrels can attest. It is now a valued possession. At the time i ordered the gun PA was offering a 13% off coupon that made the deal even sweeter. Thank you PA...and thanks for moving to within 3 miles of my house, it sure makes the will call deliveries easy. I only wish you had storefront inside your facility for walk in customers.

    Things I would have changed: Hmmm.....I can't think of anything offhand.....but the owners manual could be better in specifying what lubricants should be used to properly maintaining the gun. It seems to refer taking the gun to a qualified professional basically anything.

    What others should know: My gun seems to like H & N FTT the best.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By don from USA on 2013-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything

    What others should know: I consider this gun to be one of the best all around break barrel spring guns. It has plenty of power in 177 for squirrel or rabbit at reasonable range (35 yards for this gun). While it is not as accurate or powerful as the precharged, it is much more usable. I rarely sit down and shoot 50 rounds in a row. For the occasioal back yard varmint, a springer is the way to go. This gun is a nice weight and shots pretty darn good.

  • 123 Next
Navigation