Date: 26/9/2016 4:32
0

Gamo .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Round Lead Balls, 250ct reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By David from USA on 2012-08-10 12:24:04

Things I liked: I like the packaging, precise diameter, and price. These relatively inexpensive lead roundballs functioned perfectly in my UMAREX STEEL STORM. After I made a barrel change to get more power and speed, I needed a precision round lead projectile to match the new barrel. It needed to be .001" smaller than the new smoothbore barrel, and the GAMO round fit the bill exactly. Further,they come in a screw-top lidded can avoiding the irritating spills associated with pry-top cans.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: I like to add a few drops of TEFLON/silicon lubricant to the can to prelube the ammo.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Size/Shape Distribution:3.0

By John from USA on 2016-02-05 11:03:27

Things I liked: This pellet did not have any performance characteristics that would convince me to purchase this one again. The attraction for me was that it was round and is actually a lead BB. In my opinion, by this pellet being round and not shaped to have a skirt was the flaw with this pellet. I believe that without the skirt, when shot, compressed air could get around this pellet due to it not being perfectly round, causing it to have a high extreme spread. In half of the breach loadings, the pellet would move almost a quarter inch down the barrel. I would lightly tap the bottom of the butt, after closing the breech, to move the pellet back towards the breech opening.

Things I would have changed: Nothing you can do with a round lead ball.

What others should know: I tested this pellet shooting 10 shot groups from 4 different .177 air guns. I also chronographed each shot over a Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono. The temperature was 38 degrees and overcast skies and calm to no wind at all. The air rifles used and the 10 shot group results are: Gamo Hunter "220" had an average velocity of 657.6 fps with a low of 604 fps and a high of 801 fps for an extreme spread of 279, Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 697.1 fps with a low of 593 fps and a high of 751 fps for an extreme spread of 158, Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 752 fps with a low of 694 fps and a high of 803 fps for an extreme spread of 109 fps, and the Ruger Air Magnum averaged 796.1 fps with a low of 670 fps and a high of 880 fps for an extreme spread of 210 fps. Overall I did not have any enjoyment shooting this pellet at a 12"x12" target with a 1" bullseye, that was why I gave it 1 star in performance and accuracy, pellets were all over the target with 5 hits out of 40 on the bullseye

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kirk from USA on 2016-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect ammo for my recently purchased Daisy 880 air rifle, being .177, the Gamo round lead ball.make use of the 880's rifling and though not as accurate as a diabolo pellet, they really "pack a punch"!!!

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing...they are well suited for my Daisy 880/

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pellet did not have any performance characteristics that would convince me to purchase this one again. The attraction for me was that it was round and is actually a lead BB. In my opinion, by this pellet being round and not shaped to have a skirt was the flaw with this pellet. I believe that without the skirt, when shot, compressed air could get around this pellet due to it not being perfectly round, causing it to have a high extreme spread. In half of the breach loadings, the pellet would move almost a quarter inch down the barrel. I would lightly tap the bottom of the butt, after closing the breech, to move the pellet back towards the breech opening.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing you can do with a round lead ball.

    What others should know: I tested this pellet shooting 10 shot groups from 4 different .177 air guns. I also chronographed each shot over a Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono. The temperature was 38 degrees and overcast skies and calm to no wind at all. The air rifles used and the 10 shot group results are: Gamo Hunter "220" had an average velocity of 657.6 fps with a low of 604 fps and a high of 801 fps for an extreme spread of 279, Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 697.1 fps with a low of 593 fps and a high of 751 fps for an extreme spread of 158, Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 752 fps with a low of 694 fps and a high of 803 fps for an extreme spread of 109 fps, and the Ruger Air Magnum averaged 796.1 fps with a low of 670 fps and a high of 880 fps for an extreme spread of 210 fps. Overall I did not have any enjoyment shooting this pellet at a 12"x12" target with a 1" bullseye, that was why I gave it 1 star in performance and accuracy, pellets were all over the target with 5 hits out of 40 on the bullseye

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: #1: SCREW ON TOP! Thank you Gamo! Price was good for taking a chance. A ton of Bullseye Bucks bought me 2000 rounds balls - 1000 in .177 and 1000 in .22 and shipping, so I did not pay a dime. I am waiting on my brother's .22 Benji so we can try them out, but the .177 are nice and pretty uniform. They shoot great from my CP1-M CO2 pistol and penetrate well. They seem to flatten out better when used against hard targets than the JSB pellets of similar weight (clocked at about 500FPS - I have not had time to chrony the round balls, but I would say they are running a bit faster) and are less prone to ricochet.

    Things I would have changed: So far so good.

    What others should know: The .177 look pretty good (round and uniform). The .22's look a bit rougher and not as uniformly round. I will be updating if I have a chance to shoot the .177 ball with the Marauder and I will post a review of the .22 caliber balls, although I must admit I am not confident that they will shoot well given the rough casting and surface irregularities.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Lee from USA on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great idea, but not so great on the execution. They are easy to load in my 1377, but they are mostly out of round and not really accurate. They make a big splat when you do hit though. First shot knocked the target sticker off my swinging target! Where I get 2 inch groups with pellets, I was getting 6-8 inch groups with these round balls. Fun for plinking, easy to load, just not accurate enough for my taste.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2015-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like how much easier round balls load into my 1377c than skirted pellets ...you can load them blindfolded. I like the damage they cause when shooting tin cans!

    Things I would have changed: I would like it if they were not so dirty...my finger tips get coated with lead dust after loading 4-6 round balls.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Perfect

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: N/A

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Virgil from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Change of pace from steel BB's in some airguns. I like them in the Winchester, Ml4

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Don't try to reuse any bounce backs or grounders. After a shot and impact they are deformed...

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: being able to find them for sale.

    Things I would have changed: Do not know.

    What others should know: Not as accurate as skirted pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gary from USA on 2014-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shape .

    Things I would have changed: Size

    What others should know: Good price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By davidahill from USA on 2014-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These work great in my RWS model 34 pellet rifle, they hit hard. I also use them in my 1929 Daisy No 11 model 24 BB gun, it's designed to shoot lead BB's. Dave.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scarecrow from USA on 2014-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: they shoot well.

    Things I would have changed: more per tin.

    What others should know: they shoot well in smooth bores as well as rifled barrels and they are a snap to load...haven't tried the .177 for range yet but the .22's do wonders at 35 yards from my 1322 pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good finish / uniformity.

    Things I would have changed: None.

    What others should know: I glue these in the skirt pocket of .25 Eun Jin 43grn to make 52grn slugs. Works great if your gun can shoot 'em.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William Davis from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They shoot good out of several of my pistols. Good penetration and fairly accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe some with copper coating ...

    What others should know: Just like the .22's they are handy to load in the dark or with cold fingers. Cheap enough to shoot alot if you like them ...

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SpiceMan from USA on 2013-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A novelty! Really cool to have. I use them for lots of things. Not too accurate, but fun and useful to have (read below)

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, I think they're great.

    What others should know: So, sometimes when a CO2 bb pistol has an out of whack magazine (guys you know what I'm talking about, you load up the mag with bbs and then they spill out all over the place when you release the spring clip?)... well, you can load the mag minus one from full capacity. The nature of the lead and variety in size makes it perfect to top load into the mag and prevent the rest from spilling out. I've used this method on a few different guns and there's not ever a jam or a misfire. They are heavier and hit a lot different than a steel bb.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2013-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hit harder than steel BB's.

    Things I would have changed: Improve ball size consistancy. Some balls are slightly larger than others.

    What others should know: If using these balls in a Dan Wesson cartridge load revolver, don't force balls into bullet tips as the slightly larger balls will enlarge BB seat.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By John from USA on 2013-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hit a bit harder and penetrate deeper than standard BB's.

    Things I would have changed: The size of each lead ball should be the same size as regular BB's. Some tend to be larger rather than smaller.

    What others should know: Less accurate than regular BB's.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate at 10 to 15 yard. I have not tried long distances. Not much deforming after hitting a can at 10 yards,Penetrated both sides and not much deforming.

    Things I would have changed: Add a copper coating.

    What others should know: Good penetration power on thicker cans. Don't load in a crosman pellet clip. Use use BB port if there is one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from USA on 2013-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Something no one mentioned is that the solid lead balls out penetrate ANY other pellet in same caliber. I have tested extensively the other heavy pellets but the round lead balls always penetrate the most. I dispatch coons and foxes in traps on my chicken farm with .177 magnum pellet rifle and these round balls always penetrate the skulls and into the brain the best from nearly point blank distance.

    Things I would have changed: I have not had the problem with them rolling out the barrel but if they did I would have to stop using as I am always pointed down. RWS 48 .177 and Daisy 1000 .177 rifles used.

    What others should know: I notice that some of the german round lead balls come in slightly different diameters... That makes me wonder exactly what the diameters of these are ? ? ?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2013-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to load (Crossman 2300 S) , as accurate as pellets at 10 meters.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By misfitsailor from USA on 2013-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These are heavy. They are 160% the weight of a steel BB. It's a nice alternative for .177 pellet guns and some BB guns.

    Things I would have changed: Make them harder, such as adding antimony to the alloy, or plate them with copper.

    What others should know: These are soft. They will deform and jam in some guns. They seem to work better in rotary magazines than inline ones. They work fine in the Dan Wesson revolvers.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation