Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Express EXP20 Shotshells, Fits Viper & Shadow Express Shotguns reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

    By RONALD from USA on 2008-09-08 11:38:10

    Things I liked:Very much fun to play with. I have reused the plastic shells over and over again with various loads--mostly 8 shot instead of 9--and cotton etc. to keep things together.
    Things I would have changed:Price <sigh>. (But whatcha gonna do about that except whine?) I remain very glad that Gamo decided to design and produce the Viper Express for me to play with.
    What others should know:As I have said, you can reload the little plastic shells with just about anything you want--use your imagination!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2009-01-03 20:33:55

    Things I liked:Gets a really good pattern at about 10 yards. Any farther and you might as well close your eyes, you won't hit anything, unless you're lucky. You might as well throw a hardful of shot at a flying bird; it will do the same damage and be just as accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Bigger shot and more of it. The pattern is not dense enough to cause damage, and it is really expensive. Gamo should sell a reloading kit because this ammo is hard to find in stores.
    What others should know:Don't try to kill anything bigger than a sparrow with it. A squirrel might be killed if it is 3 yards away from the muzzle of the gun; the pattern is small and dense, which will dish out pain. PLEASE GAMO MAKE DIFFERENT SHOT SIZES!
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By bruceypoo from USA on 2014-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The idea and the function!
      Things I would have changed:less expensive, quality control
      What others should know:Two of the shells, out of the 4 boxes I got, had the back plastic, that holds the shot in, twisted letting it out. First time I've had this problem, the boxes are sealed so it's a factory defect. I've patterned them out to 20 yards and I was getting two of the sand sized shot IN a two liter soda bottle filled with water. There were spots where other shot bounced off. So that tells me 20 yards maximum range for just wounding a bird, like a dove, that's airborn (which I have not attempted nor plan to). These are more effective for killing rats or other pests smaller than a rabbit at 10 yards and closer. Velocity/knockdown power just isn't there for ethical/distance hunting. I use them to train newbies on shotgunning in the backyard without the loud bang. Throwing water bottles and cans up in the air. For that, it works perfectly.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

        By anthony from USA on 2014-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:As compared to a reg shotgun, mine is pretty quiet. Although the price is way too high for only 25 rounds. About same cost for reg 12 ga. shot shells. It's a shame that Gamo gauges us on price. They should think about the next sale... or not.
      Things I would have changed:price! Or at least provide at least 50 rounds per box for this price.
      What others should know:It's a pretty straight shooter to about 30 yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Cody from USA on 2013-05-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Actual buckshot for a pellet gun, they carry a great tight pattern at about 30-40 feet and spread fairly and evenly over good distances, you can also place a .22 round ball in the end and have a multi-sized shot, you can even use the empty cartridge as an adapter-but, you will loose around 25fps.
      Things I would have changed:Packaging.
      What others should know:These only fit in the Gamo Shadow & Express series .22 pellet rifles, which are becoming hard to find.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:fun to shoot, powerful at close range, easily takes rabbits, squirrels, gophers, dangerous insects out at close range 5-10 yards. I have even killed a small rattlesnake with a well place headshot!
      Things I would have changed:Put more pellets in shell, Put more shells in package like 40-50 count instead of 25 count. Drop price more or add extra shells.
      What others should know:Careful what you aim at as some pellets in shell may ricochet, use at close range, clean your barrel at least every 5 shells as the plastic sticks to the barrel somewhat. I do not recommend for reloading as it may damage the airgun! HAVE FUN!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Cy from USA on 2012-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Reasonable spread. People have mentioned they're reloadable, but I have yet to try.
      Things I would have changed:I'd make them a bit cheaper. Or more easily reloadable.
      What others should know:Only used these for plinking so far, no varminting/pest removal. That said, they're pretty fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Darren from USA on 2011-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shell work great for control of mice and rat in our barn. Does no damage to interior.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:expensive
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:These are the best varmint ammo in my arsenal. I can pop a chipmonk at 50 feet with no problem. Pyramid haz the best prices on this ammo.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, perhaps make a reload kit for the shells...
      What others should know:This is worth the investment!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2011-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:They are re-loadable and for their size do pack a pretty good punch.
      Things I would have changed:I'm still disappointed that Gamo has decided not to market reloading components for these shells.
      What others should know:Short range for any effective penetration. Most but not all of the shot will penetrate two layers of cardboard at 10 feet so you need to be close. Still a lot of fun. Try shooting a full water bottle with the cap removed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Thought I would have a hard time finding these shells. I've shot about 20 with no failures.
      What others should know:Surprising penetration
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Frank Talbot from USA on 2011-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For an air powered shot gun it has nice range and power. A pie plate size pattern at 30 feet,,,awesome.....
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Nice close range varmint gun, wherever you live...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:they load easy in my shaddow express. I haven't had much luck hunting with it though. I doubt this is an efective hunting round. it's more a novelty than anything else. These are what I use if I have nothing else to fire, and that's not likely. I stay well stocked.
      Things I would have changed:for the price, there needs to be more per pack.
      What others should know:these are a good novelty thing for gamo's shotguns, which I really don't take too seriously.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:That they are available at all, and they work better than pellets at short range on squirrels and other pests. Of course they're meant to be used only on Gamo's two air shotguns, since their barrels aren't rifled. Don't use these in your .22 rifle.
      Things I would have changed:We all wish they were less expensive, but if ever there was a niche product, this is it. It would be nice if Gamo would sell those white plastic rear seals for reloading, but I doubt that they ever will, since they will need to recoup their manufacturing cost on the shells.
      What others should know:The rear seal is a white plastic disc with seals that extend behind it, like an extruded can lid. While a Q-tip tip might work for reloading, something that seals better would probably push the shot out with greater force. I'll try foam board, which is thick enough to seal properly. I'll see if it's possible to make the seals by working the front end of a shell casing back and forth against the foam board. The front seal is molded into the shell casing, with three breakaway tabs. A Q-tip tip would work as a reloading replacement here, or another foam board seal would work. I took one shell apart and found that it contained 17 pieces of #9 shot. I'll try the same amount (by weight) in #8 shot, as well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By bolocoludo from USA on 2009-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like how this shot shell is moderately effective on birds in close range (around ten yards), and how like a shotgun, you don't have to be the best shooter in town to hit a small target (i.e mouse, sparrows, and snakes). In summary I would use this (with my viper express of coarse) like I use 22 caliber rat shot, if anything this might be better since this uses #9 shot vs #12 shot.
      Things I would have changed:The price....Wow, I mean, this is highway robbery, I have no idea why this thing is so expensive, it's like buying silver plated bullets...I mean come on, why would pellets be cheaper and come in larger quantities yet this ammo is mostly plastic, yet it's way more expensive. I think the should be around a penny each at the most. Real 22 ammo is less than a penny a piece, yet air gun ammo is like gold.
      What others should know:Besides the fact that only one air 'shotgun' is compatible with this ammo...Nothing else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2009-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's great for shoting small things.
      Things I would have changed:I think the price is a little to high. It should be five dollers.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Bartholomew from USA on 2009-05-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very unique product, use it to control pests, including carpenter bees when you don't want collateral damage.
      Things I would have changed:MORE SHOT SIZE OPTIONS! (like #12) and plugs to help reload. I would rather purchase than reload, but I would at least like the option to reload (need plastic plugs, will try to cut off ends of plastic pellets)
      What others should know:Great product, but limited range, which is fine if you understand this.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

        By Tyrone from USA on 2009-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice to be able to use as a shot gun
      Things I would have changed:the price is much much to high ... they just cost to much come one give us our moneys worth PLEASE
      What others should know:Gamo is cool
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By krunchnik from USA on 2009-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Keeps a close pattern from my rifle,decent power they actually penetrated the first side on a peach steel can and dented the other side at fifteen feet.
      Things I would have changed:possibly a few more rounds for the cost.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Richard from USA on 2009-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gets a really good pattern at about 10 yards. Any farther and you might as well close your eyes, you won't hit anything, unless you're lucky. You might as well throw a hardful of shot at a flying bird; it will do the same damage and be just as accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Bigger shot and more of it. The pattern is not dense enough to cause damage, and it is really expensive. Gamo should sell a reloading kit because this ammo is hard to find in stores.
      What others should know:Don't try to kill anything bigger than a sparrow with it. A squirrel might be killed if it is 3 yards away from the muzzle of the gun; the pattern is small and dense, which will dish out pain. PLEASE GAMO MAKE DIFFERENT SHOT SIZES!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By mjs767 from USA on 2008-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well this is an overall great product just to play with, but for its size it is amazing, i sat at the back of our place one day and killed 3 dove. and this product i found is great for snakes.
      Things I would have changed:i wouldn't change anything besides make differnt size shot for the shells .
      What others should know:before you buy these things you should know they are very small, about 7/8th of an inch long, but it is a very good buy if you can afford it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By RONALD from USA on 2008-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very much fun to play with. I have reused the plastic shells over and over again with various loads--mostly 8 shot instead of 9--and cotton etc. to keep things together.
      Things I would have changed:Price <sigh>. (But whatcha gonna do about that except whine?) I remain very glad that Gamo decided to design and produce the Viper Express for me to play with.
      What others should know:As I have said, you can reload the little plastic shells with just about anything you want--use your imagination!
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top