Gamo Express EXP20 Shotshells, Fits Viper & Shadow Express Shotguns reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By walter shipman from USA on 2015-05-19 04:26:52

Things I liked:Sturdy construction, albeit plastic. Reloadable. Quiet in your pocket or pouch - no metallic jingle, as with pellets in tins, metallic cartridges, and so on.
Things I would have changed:Might be nice if they would come out with a metal version, say of brass. A small reloading kit would be nice.
What others should know:Reloading these things is a hoot. All you need is some foam sheet (2mm works for me) from your local hobby store (a couple sheets will do a LOT of shells), a handheld paper punch, and shot. The procedure is as follows: 1. Punch two circles of foam for each shell (one for the base wad, and one for over shot wad). 2. Place the shell base down on a hard surface and insert the base 'wad' into the mouth of the shell and press it down with the eraser end of a pencil, dowel, etc. Make sure that it doesn't escape the other end. 3. Insert the proper number of pellets (see below). 4. Carefully insert the overshot wad on top of the pellets. 5. Optional: Run a bead of nail polish around the mouth of case to ensure the wad stays in place. Size:Shot Chart Shot Shot Size Count #9 23 #8-1/2 18 #8 13 #7-1/2 12 #7 10 #6 9 They will take out those little Shatterblast targets, too. Range and hold being spot on.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:1.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2015-06-28 15:58:16

Things I liked:I like the concept of having a shotgun option for airguns.
Things I would have changed:The ammo quality. I have gone over the other reviews and did not see one which dealt with discovering what is in the factory load. What I found when I dis-assembled one of these was a total lack of quality and a revealed that these are not as advertised. The shotshell contained 20 pellets ranging in size from .059" to .088". (# 9 shot has a nominal diameter of .079"). The actual weight of the shot charge was 9.2 grains. Only 6 of the 20 pellets could be remotely considered as # 9. The average diameter of all 20 pellets was only .069" , and many of those 13 pellets were considerably smaller than that. The point is, the pellets used to make up the shot charge here are apparently not standard quality #9 shot, but a mixture of all sorts of shot with no uniformity at all. The predominance of smaller shot makes the killing power of the charge all the more ineffective at any range beyond 5 yards. The weight variation of the shot charge was also found to be large when I weighed the shotshells.
What others should know:There is no reason these should be as costly as they are. They seem filled with reject shot of all sorts. I am reloading my hulls with # 8-1/2 shot which weighs out at an actual shot charge of 17.5 grains for 18 pellets. The factory shells with that actual shot charge of 9.2 grains gave a velocity of 814 fps. My reloads were considerably slower at 551 fps but considering the limited range and killing power, I do believe the much heavier payload will be more effective than the factory offering. The factory load showed reasonable shot density at 10 yards for hitting a squirrel sized target at that range, but not enough for any reasonable expectation at killing it. My reloads did just as well in pattern density with the larger and heavier shot of uniform size, but I still have no confidence in reliably killing a squirrel sized target beyond 5 yards.
Sort by:
  • 12 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jerold from USA on 2015-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy to load. Very effective for close range shooting. Good at Rodent and pesty bird control at close range.
    Things I would have changed:Would make a longer shell to hold more shot. Have different shot variety sizes.
    What others should know:Very easy to load. Good pattern at close distances.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Randall from USA on 2015-07-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:convenience
    Things I would have changed:sell the shot cups so we can reload. They are difficult to find after they are used, but if you can find them you can reuse them. Why make us scrounge when we are gladly willing to pay you for these back seals/shot cups
    What others should know:The shells can be reloaded so don't throw them away like Gamo wants you to do. You can reload with different size shot, even sand or tiny glass beads.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Airgun Papa from USA on 2015-06-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the concept of having a shotgun option for airguns.
    Things I would have changed:The ammo quality. I have gone over the other reviews and did not see one which dealt with discovering what is in the factory load. What I found when I dis-assembled one of these was a total lack of quality and a revealed that these are not as advertised. The shotshell contained 20 pellets ranging in size from .059" to .088". (# 9 shot has a nominal diameter of .079"). The actual weight of the shot charge was 9.2 grains. Only 6 of the 20 pellets could be remotely considered as # 9. The average diameter of all 20 pellets was only .069" , and many of those 13 pellets were considerably smaller than that. The point is, the pellets used to make up the shot charge here are apparently not standard quality #9 shot, but a mixture of all sorts of shot with no uniformity at all. The predominance of smaller shot makes the killing power of the charge all the more ineffective at any range beyond 5 yards. The weight variation of the shot charge was also found to be large when I weighed the shotshells.
    What others should know:There is no reason these should be as costly as they are. They seem filled with reject shot of all sorts. I am reloading my hulls with # 8-1/2 shot which weighs out at an actual shot charge of 17.5 grains for 18 pellets. The factory shells with that actual shot charge of 9.2 grains gave a velocity of 814 fps. My reloads were considerably slower at 551 fps but considering the limited range and killing power, I do believe the much heavier payload will be more effective than the factory offering. The factory load showed reasonable shot density at 10 yards for hitting a squirrel sized target at that range, but not enough for any reasonable expectation at killing it. My reloads did just as well in pattern density with the larger and heavier shot of uniform size, but I still have no confidence in reliably killing a squirrel sized target beyond 5 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By walter shipman from USA on 2015-05-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Sturdy construction, albeit plastic. Reloadable. Quiet in your pocket or pouch - no metallic jingle, as with pellets in tins, metallic cartridges, and so on.
    Things I would have changed:Might be nice if they would come out with a metal version, say of brass. A small reloading kit would be nice.
    What others should know:Reloading these things is a hoot. All you need is some foam sheet (2mm works for me) from your local hobby store (a couple sheets will do a LOT of shells), a handheld paper punch, and shot. The procedure is as follows: 1. Punch two circles of foam for each shell (one for the base wad, and one for over shot wad). 2. Place the shell base down on a hard surface and insert the base 'wad' into the mouth of the shell and press it down with the eraser end of a pencil, dowel, etc. Make sure that it doesn't escape the other end. 3. Insert the proper number of pellets (see below). 4. Carefully insert the overshot wad on top of the pellets. 5. Optional: Run a bead of nail polish around the mouth of case to ensure the wad stays in place. Size:Shot Chart Shot Shot Size Count #9 23 #8-1/2 18 #8 13 #7-1/2 12 #7 10 #6 9 They will take out those little Shatterblast targets, too. Range and hold being spot on.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Edward from USA on 2015-04-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These little shotshells have all functioned as expected and without any failures.
    Things I would have changed:Pricing seems a little high, possibly because of a small volume produced or because of a lack of competition. I would like to see them offered in a selection of shot sizes OR I would like to see the necessary components for reloading the shotshells offered for purchase. This would enable reloading with the proper components rather than using field expedients such as 7/32" plugs cut from flexible materials to retain the shot which do not always function properly when fired
    What others should know:Do a little experimentation for penetration at various ranges BEFORE attempting to hunt or shoot varmints because, depending on what you are after the pattern may be a little too large to ensure an adequate number of hits to ensure a kill.. most animals REQUIRE a goodly number of hits with this small shot before they will go down - one or two pellets isn't enough.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2015-03-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These turn a Gamo "Express" into the only affordable air shotgun on the market. Easy to insert and remove from the breech.
    Things I would have changed:I wish these were available with slightly heavier shot loads. While I'm dreaming, how about an Air Force Talon barrel chambered for shotshells.
    What others should know:You wouldn't think that 17 grains of #9 shot at 725 fps would do much, but these really do pack a punch. Shot goes through both sides of a soda can.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2015-03-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:muti shot.
    Things I would have changed:better shells. some explode when fired and makes gun really loud.
    What others should know:too expensive.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Norm from USA on 2015-02-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Slightly cheaper at Pyramyd than anywhere else I've found. Safe. Convenient to use. Very effective at close range. Lots of fun to shoot such a small caliber "shotgun"!
    Things I would have changed:For those into reloading the parting line OPPOSITE the small flat on the rear flange tends to separate on about 30% of spent shells rendering them unfit for reloading. Too, I have to wondered how much pressure (power) may be lost during the actual shot when this happens?
    What others should know:Lots of fun to shoot. Very effective but you must remember that these are very specialized shells. They are for close-range use only. They seem to pattern very effectively up to about 45'.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Robert.C from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They have the #9 shot instead of the #71/2 that were in some shells
    Things I would have changed:Make the casings reloadable
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2014-12-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Likes. . . .shotgun/shell concept in an air rifle, ease of use, close range(5-10-15-20 feet) accuracy & knock down power, clean shotshells, decent packaging.
    Things I would have changed:More shotshells for the $$ paid.
    What others should know:The shotshells will be used 99.9% in the Gamo Viper Express NP Shotgun from PA for my primary shooting purposes. Shotgun capabilities is why I purchased this rifle. Other rifles will be used for single shot .22 & .177. For purposes intended, these shotshells perform as expected, considering there is nothing else available in which to compare. Cost per box of 25 may prohibit extensive use so I plan to use wisely for close range pest control. All in all. . .excellent concept and will purchase more as needed. PA packs & ships in a secure and expeditious manner.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By lance from USA on 2014-12-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the novelty of having an air shot gun. I have owned one since the first release by Gamo. It is amazingly accurate and hard hitting with the pellet adapter in spite of it being a smooth bore. The shot shells are fun to use.
    Things I would have changed:The beef that I have (and most everyone else) is the price of the shot shells. I purchased several boxes of them when the gun went out of production in order to have a supply. I do reload them utilizing a .25" hole punch available at craft stores (paper punches don't work - they're too big). I use 2mm hobby foam for the rear/driving wad and parchment paper for the front. I load a few more shot than the standard load in the shot shells. I wish Gamo would make driving cups and some kind of front wad available. At least the rear cups. It is fun to reload and I would like to try different shot sizes.
    What others should know:It's a great air gun and is fun to experiment with. Just wish Gamo would get on the ball and offer shot shell components for those of us who reload.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By bruceypoo from USA on 2014-09-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The idea and the function!
    Things I would have changed:less expensive, quality control
    What others should know:Two of the shells, out of the 4 boxes I got, had the back plastic, that holds the shot in, twisted letting it out. First time I've had this problem, the boxes are sealed so it's a factory defect. I've patterned them out to 20 yards and I was getting two of the sand sized shot IN a two liter soda bottle filled with water. There were spots where other shot bounced off. So that tells me 20 yards maximum range for just wounding a bird, like a dove, that's airborn (which I have not attempted nor plan to). These are more effective for killing rats or other pests smaller than a rabbit at 10 yards and closer. Velocity/knockdown power just isn't there for ethical/distance hunting. I use them to train newbies on shotgunning in the backyard without the loud bang. Throwing water bottles and cans up in the air. For that, it works perfectly.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By anthony from USA on 2014-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:As compared to a reg shotgun, mine is pretty quiet. Although the price is way too high for only 25 rounds. About same cost for reg 12 ga. shot shells. It's a shame that Gamo gauges us on price. They should think about the next sale... or not.
    Things I would have changed:price! Or at least provide at least 50 rounds per box for this price.
    What others should know:It's a pretty straight shooter to about 30 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Cody from USA on 2013-05-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Actual buckshot for a pellet gun, they carry a great tight pattern at about 30-40 feet and spread fairly and evenly over good distances, you can also place a .22 round ball in the end and have a multi-sized shot, you can even use the empty cartridge as an adapter-but, you will loose around 25fps.
    Things I would have changed:Packaging.
    What others should know:These only fit in the Gamo Shadow & Express series .22 pellet rifles, which are becoming hard to find.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-08-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:fun to shoot, powerful at close range, easily takes rabbits, squirrels, gophers, dangerous insects out at close range 5-10 yards. I have even killed a small rattlesnake with a well place headshot!
    Things I would have changed:Put more pellets in shell, Put more shells in package like 40-50 count instead of 25 count. Drop price more or add extra shells.
    What others should know:Careful what you aim at as some pellets in shell may ricochet, use at close range, clean your barrel at least every 5 shells as the plastic sticks to the barrel somewhat. I do not recommend for reloading as it may damage the airgun! HAVE FUN!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Cy from USA on 2012-06-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Reasonable spread. People have mentioned they're reloadable, but I have yet to try.
    Things I would have changed:I'd make them a bit cheaper. Or more easily reloadable.
    What others should know:Only used these for plinking so far, no varminting/pest removal. That said, they're pretty fun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Darren from USA on 2011-12-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Shell work great for control of mice and rat in our barn. Does no damage to interior.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:expensive
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2011-08-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are the best varmint ammo in my arsenal. I can pop a chipmonk at 50 feet with no problem. Pyramid haz the best prices on this ammo.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, perhaps make a reload kit for the shells...
    What others should know:This is worth the investment!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By John from USA on 2011-08-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:They are re-loadable and for their size do pack a pretty good punch.
    Things I would have changed:I'm still disappointed that Gamo has decided not to market reloading components for these shells.
    What others should know:Short range for any effective penetration. Most but not all of the shot will penetrate two layers of cardboard at 10 feet so you need to be close. Still a lot of fun. Try shooting a full water bottle with the cap removed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Eric from USA on 2011-01-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Thought I would have a hard time finding these shells. I've shot about 20 with no failures.
    What others should know:Surprising penetration
  • 12 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top