H&N Hollowpoint .25 Cal, 26.23 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By remingtonben from USA on 2010-04-21 15:59:20

Things I liked: expanision, accuracy, low cost.

Things I would have changed: The accuracy is not anything great, but the expansion makes up for it. If H&N could improve the accuracy the Crow Magnum would have a rival.

What others should know: These pellets are powerful! They are weighted just right for a hollowpoint, i have killed a dove with my Walther Falcon Hunter at 45 yards, the wound it blew out of his back was about 4 inches by 3 inches. I also killed a pigeon freehanded from about 25 yards, i hit him low but the sheer bullet size and expansion let him only fly around 15 yards before giving up the ghost. Overall great pellet for money, good one to buy if cant afford the crow mag

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:1.0

By john from USA on 2014-06-27 13:04:23

Things I liked: Don't fit in any of my .25's

Things I would have changed: Smaller head size and skirt

What others should know: Just buy 1 can to see if they work in your rifle

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joel from USA on 2015-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: omg omg omg my marauder.25 cal loves these at 30 yards I got a a perfact clover in 7 shots 1 shot was a flyer this so far has been one of the best shooing pellets I have gotten, even at 50 yards it was holding the same group I have yet to shoot them at 75 but when I get a new scope I have a great expectations for them

    Things I would have changed: nothing there rather clean good casting and domes well I have been thinking I might try to open the drill point a bi and see if that helps the dome

    What others should know: none

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Mauricio from USA on 2014-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good weight. Clean and nice looking pellet

    Things I would have changed: Better flying trayectory. Poor accuracy, at least on my Hatsan QE

    What others should know: Unfortunately this pellet did not do well for me. I would not us it for hunting.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By john from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Don't fit in any of my .25's

    Things I would have changed: Smaller head size and skirt

    What others should know: Just buy 1 can to see if they work in your rifle

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By john from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Don't fit in any of my .25s.

    Things I would have changed: Smaller head size and skirt

    What others should know: Just buy 1 can if you have to try them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Antonio from USA on 2012-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this is a real good pellet.Nice and heavy good accuracy and a lot of takedown power

    Things I would have changed: No dislike real good pellet

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The tin has a screw-on lid. The pellets are clean and well formed.

    Things I would have changed: I do not like the flat rim that surrounds the nose of this pellet. I test all my pellets for downrange velocity retention and this pellet lost a lot of velocity by the time it had traveled just 20 yards. Many other domed or Hollow point pellets retained velocity much more efficiently than this pellet and I believe it is the rimmed nose that cuts down on its ballistic performance.

    What others should know: Very fine grouping out of my Benjamin Marauder after I changed the tension on the barrel shroud to try to improve the initial groups of 8 shots into .960" at 25 yards. My improved groups were only .568" center to center. I consider this to be a fine hunting pellet within 40 yards. Others have far better remaining velocity, especially for longer ranges.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2012-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is in my opinion and experience the best .25 cal pellet money can buy

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Try a tin and see

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lee from USA on 2010-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Packs a punch and has very little drit. No problem hitting what I aim at and a good amount in a tin

    Things I would have changed: Make a 500 count

    What others should know: Buy plenty you will go through these fast if you targeting I did 400 in one setting a day

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joyce from USA on 2010-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Can not find a better pellet at any price for the walther Falcon Hunter

    What others should know: just load point hold on and shoot hit a dime at 50 feet very consistant,just remember you dont hold the falcon hunter like any air rifle you hold it like a gun. I forgot that after shooting other rifles for a while and I was all over the place and then it hit me OH I forgot this is the Beast so I shoot her just like a 12 ga shotgun and she hits dead center with this pellet. Give it a try.this is also a good pellet for other rifles too

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2010-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They penetrate well and expand, very accurate,cant beat the price,

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: consistant 650 ft on the chrony after breakin (new gun) . I shot a 1 gallon milk container full of water at 60 ft with clean exit so it still travelled quite a bit. Cant see anything surviving this at 20 yards,, groups were from overlapping actually touching to 1/4 inch at 60 ft very nice

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Talisker55 from USA on 2010-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Same as the Kodiak Silver Bear. I get a better price under the H&N label. In a BSA Lonestar .25 cal set at 60 joules energy. It outgroups the Crow Magnum by a considerable margin. I get around 1" 5-shot groups at 50 yards if the wind is calm. Impact on game at close range is higher than a Kodiak/Baracuda due to the extra speed.

    Things I would have changed: Since this is the best grouping hollowpoint I have found in .25 cal, I think there is nothing to change with the pellet. Some soft foam in the can helps to keep things quiet while hunting, and as always H&N needs a screwcap on their pellet can.

    What others should know: Not good at long range, especially in windy conditions. These show keyholing at 100 yards, but not at 50 yards, in my BSA Lonestar. The Crow Magnum is showing keyholing at 50 yards. At 100 yards all I will hunt with are Baracuda and JSB Exact King pellets. Hollowpoints have horrible ballistic coefficients and need to be used at close range to have enough retained energy to get a good smack on game and pests. Hollowpoints are safer to shoot around homes and farms to clear pests as there is less risk of collateral damage due to misses, ricochets and pass-throughs. Banish the thought of using hollowpoints for long range game hunting, but great for pests at close range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By remingtonben from USA on 2010-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: expanision, accuracy, low cost.

    Things I would have changed: The accuracy is not anything great, but the expansion makes up for it. If H&N could improve the accuracy the Crow Magnum would have a rival.

    What others should know: These pellets are powerful! They are weighted just right for a hollowpoint, i have killed a dove with my Walther Falcon Hunter at 45 yards, the wound it blew out of his back was about 4 inches by 3 inches. I also killed a pigeon freehanded from about 25 yards, i hit him low but the sheer bullet size and expansion let him only fly around 15 yards before giving up the ghost. Overall great pellet for money, good one to buy if cant afford the crow mag

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2010-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Darn good groups from my Marauder.

    What others should know: I got pretty good groups trying these out. I wanted heavier pellets though and the H&N Baracuda pellets have better groups and are heavier.

Navigation