H&N Rabbit Magnum II .177 Cal, 15.74 Grains, Cylindrical with Round Nose, Solid, 200ct reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2010-06-09 01:47:23

Things I liked: These are not pellets. They are bullets. They are also very nicely crafted.

Things I would have changed: Though these pellets must bite the rifling hard since they are entirely dependent on the rifling twist for stabilization, I think they could be a bit less snug to lessen friction and gain a little more velocity without affecting accuracy. It would be nice to see P/A include rifling twist rates in the product specs. Two things I have not seen listed in any airgun product catalog for many years are pellet seats and pellet sizers. I would like to see them make a come-back.

What others should know: These are specialty pellets and not compatible with all air rifles. I would not consider them for air rifles with a delicate action. Direct access to the breech would be best. These pellets fit so snugly I use a high tech pellet seat (an1/8" pop rivet on a makeshift handle) to insert them to a uniform depth in the bore of my 25 y/o RWS M45. Accuracy was not as good as I had hoped for but I cannot put a bum rap on these beautiful pellets. I suspect that my old rifle just did not quite have a fast enough twist rate to stabilize them fully. These pellets are not a "diabolo" (wasp-waisted) design so there is no aerodynamic drag at the rear of the pellet to help them fly true. A good diabolo pellet is inherently accurate and will shoot accurately even from a smooth bore air gun due to this rear end drag, however it also puts the brakes on like a dragster with the parachute out. The Rabbit Magnums may start out with a lower velocity due to the weight and friction, but will conserve momentum more efficiently and carry much farther than a diabolo type pellet, which is an important safety consideration. So if your "adult airgun" (as Beeman used to call them) was made at or before the dawn of magnum pellets try the heaviest pellet you can find with a skirt and you should be fine. I have a tin of Eunjin pellets that I have not tried or commented on yet, however they look identical to the old Beeman Silver Ace that always shot fabulously from my tired old air rifle.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:4.0

By IsraelHands from USA on 2013-06-07 00:08:48

Things I liked: Shape and mass of pellet. Looks like a small bullet.

Things I would have changed: Fit. Pellets were tight in my old school '82 Crossman 760. 6/6 pellets jammed. Wouldn't fire with maximum pumps. Couldn't use these.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shape and tight fit/seal

    Things I would have changed: offer larger tins and and a hollow point similar to there grizzly 357 pellets

    What others should know: I've read the reviews of others who couldn't get them to group. With my RWS 350 magnum I' getting 1/4 inch groups at 25 yards. That's after firing about 1/2 a tin. Looks like it will be great for hunting if you have a high power gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Impressive Penetration in soft targets. Not affected by wind very much. Good for magnum airguns. Very good long range energy retention.

    Things I would have changed: Slightly decrease pellet diameter for a better fit.

    What others should know: These pellets are like the slugs elephant guns use: slow, little to no expansion and extreme penetration. I tested some of these pellets on some large frozen pumpkins and they made a complete passthrough of not one but four whole frozen pumpkins, which is insane for a .177 caliber pellet. The pumpkin rinds when stacked on top of each other were about 10-12 inches thick and frozen solid.After each shot with these pellets, I could hear the pellet richocet off the trees in the distance. I imagine you could shoot a rabbit front on and nearly penetrate the entire rabbit with these pellets. I would also like to mention NEVER shoot these out of low powered springers, because you'll be out a gun barrel since these will get stuck in your gun, and stuck tight!

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By bobby from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hit very hard after you get them into the barrel.

    Things I would have changed: Adjust to proper size

    What others should know: I have 3 .177 air rifles and these pellets fail to fit properly in any of them, I have to use a tool to get them into place

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2014-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nicely formed, uniform weight, screw-on lid.

    Things I would have changed: Offer it in a weight range of 10.5g to 12.0g. That might work in the Benjamin Discovery.

    What others should know: This pellet simply will not produce any semblance of grouping in the Benjamin Discovery. In both the standard barrel and a Lothar-Walther Match barrel it sent wild flyers in all directions. This pellet resembles a bullet and must need a faster rate of rifling twist than the 1 in 10" or 1 in 12" I tried.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2014-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the shape as they are kinda like a mini ball.

    Things I would have changed: maybe try to make them in a PBA that might help with lower power air guns still shot them. and more for the money.

    What others should know: I knew they, were heavy but still tried them in my 1377 1st phase and they shot fine, but not so much in my 1377c,as I had to repump it another 10 times to get it to clear the barrel.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By lance from USA on 2013-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: A truly heavy pellet for varmints in .177. Single round fired into heavy modeling clay showed deep channel but virtually no expansion with Beeman P-1 pistol. Travel in clay was nearly 2".

    Things I would have changed: These things need to come with a pellet sizer (a rare commodity these days). I happen to have a Gilles sizer and reworked a tin of these that were given to me by a friend who could not get these to work on in a Benjamin XL Nitro Piston rifle. My friend didn't have a sizer.

    What others should know: I note that the disappointed reviewers all sought to size these large diameter pellets using some form of pellet seat tool. One actually needs a sizer to fit these to the breech properly. Good luck finding a sizer these days!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By IsraelHands from USA on 2013-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shape and mass of pellet. Looks like a small bullet.

    Things I would have changed: Fit. Pellets were tight in my old school '82 Crossman 760. 6/6 pellets jammed. Wouldn't fire with maximum pumps. Couldn't use these.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fahad from Kuwait on 2013-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Shape and mass! But, BECAREFUL! Dangerously inaccurate!

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy! Accuracy! Accuracy!

    What others should know: Dangerously inaccurate with my AirForce CONDOR! with in 20 meter target! I will post some pix of the target shortly!

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Joe from USA on 2012-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was wanting a heavy pellet, and it is. I will try another type next time.

    Things I would have changed: The .177 cal needs closer quality control. I've shot about 100 of these and every one had to be forced into the barrel. If I didnt use a a piece of brass to finish pushing in, and closed the action it would deform the pellet base. That would seat it but you had more flyaways. Micrometer measurements, head =.1780"-.1793" and tails=.1815"-.1831 on 20 pellets.

    What others should know: Using a Gamo Hunter rated 1000/1200fps. Also I think some of shots made must have been below 400 fps, asides from being all over the place at 25yds. SAme shooting the copper FTS ammo shoots a dime at 25yds every time.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By stealdynamix from USA on 2012-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The shape

    Things I would have changed: To heavy for a .177 the pellet would drop over 50 ft badly which made me hit a car

    What others should know: Not got for far away hunting only for like close ranges

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Sam from USA on 2012-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Tight bore fit, high mass

    Things I would have changed: Needs to fly straight

    What others should know: Dangerously inaccurate with my Daisy 880 pump. Could not consistently hit the backstop, could not find target paper much less the bullseye. I would like to know exactly what guns can actually use this ammo - its not the 880

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Roland from USA on 2012-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: they look cool , almost like a bullet.They do penatrate deeper than EUN JIN pellets because of the pointed tip and the lead is harder than the eun jins.

    Things I would have changed: The price seriously expensive , and terrable accuracy . I donno why they so inaccurate because they look so well made.i usualy get like 2 good shots then a flyer .so lower price improve accuracy !!

    What others should know: please dont use heavy 15+ gr pellets in springer air guns!they dont benafit form they weight of these pellets all you gonna get is the same energy out of your gun with a massive point of impact drop!!!!! unless you have a GAMO hunter or a springer that could break your sholder off.Seriously though if you want a heavy pellet with alot of energy Rather go for EUN JIN pellets MY dynamax loves them but hates these Rabbits .

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bradley from USA on 2011-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look nice.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe pellet shape to make these more accurate.

    What others should know: These pellets did not group very well coming out of my Benjamin Discovery .177. Like the tin shows, Precision is only a 3 out of 5. I also shot the Eunjin 16.1's and the grouped way better then these rabbit magnum's.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By JULIAN from USA on 2011-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: look nice..

    Things I would have changed: shape?

    What others should know: I cant get a decent group with this pellet and my Talon at 760 fps. It get a BIG groups at 10 yards (almost 1"). Im Dissapointed about this pellet I prefer Eunjin

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Ken from USA on 2011-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have had no luck with these pellets, even out of my Crosman Challenger groups were over an inch at 10 meters. Out of the QB 78 and the Crosman 2260 SE The groups got even larger. They penetrate well because of their size and weight but that's no good if you can't hit what your aiming at.

    Things I would have changed: The shape ?

    What others should know: Thes might be fun if you like to experiment but that's the only good thing I can say about them. Ken Wilson

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Richard C from USA on 2011-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Bought these as try-out in an RWS P5 springer - didn't work at all! I like the shape concept, if they worked!

    Things I would have changed: These a too large in the skirt dia. to fit down the bore of an RWS P5 springer. Possibly a listing of the head & skirt dia.s in the advertising description.

    What others should know: These required the use of a seating tool to insert into the breech of the bore on an RWS P5 springer. When shot, these did not even clear the bore, they had to be removed from the barrel with the use of a ram-rod. (My micro indicated an aver. skirt dia. of .1842 in. - for what that's worth.)

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bangban2011 from USA on 2011-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: only fit in my gamo rifle

    What others should know: it did't fit in Benjamin Trail NP XL

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2011-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Impact was great.

    Things I would have changed: Diametrical tolerance didn't seem to have the same quality as other H&N pellets.

    What others should know: After getting great groupings from the 10.65gr, I was expecting the same from these heavier pellets and didn't get it after over 100 shots.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By michael from USA on 2011-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing.

    Things I would have changed: To heavy, does not load easily, can't hit a target at 60 feet

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Scotty from USA on 2011-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Shape, weight, the overall look

    Things I would have changed: they are slightly too big for my crosman storm xt as well as my crosman phantom

    What others should know: i was not grouping them at all at 15yds. worst pellets ive ever bought

  • 12 Next
Navigation