Hyper-Velocity Field Pellets, Type 1 for Standard Guns, .177 Cal, 5.4 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 200ct reviews - page 4

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Norm from USA on 2010-05-28 14:11:52

Things I liked: lead-free, price at PyramydAir.com, no metal contact with barrel, accurate, versatile, excellent penetration

Things I would have changed: better quality control

What others should know: Examine these pellets before shooting: 1. About one pellet in 300 has a bent sabot that can jam an airgun. Properly dispose of these evidently defective pellets. 2. About one pellet in 6 has its metal nose not firmly seated into its plastic sabot. To understand this problem, remove the nose from one pellet. Notice that the back end of the nose is flat, thus acting as a piston in the cylindrical bore of the sabot. So with a pellet in which the nose is not firmly seated into its sabot at the factory, when this pellet is shot, the sabot will catch up to the nose, and the nose will bounce forward and separate from the sabot after leaving the barrel. Neither sabot nor nose is stable separately. The sabot can be seen to spin off to one side, while the nose tumbles forward --as other reviewers have commented. (I am not recommending anything other than examination of this product; PyramydAir.com prohibits recommendations for product alterations.) Next, notice that the front end of the nose is pointed, as is suitable for a field pellet. If the pointed end of the nose were in the sabot, the piston-cyclinder bounce would be eliminated, and the flat end of the nose would cut a crisp 0.125" hole in target paper. 3. Further, notice that the metal nose is hard and could potentially pose a ricochet hazard. Finally, properly dispose of the pellet parts that you have examined.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Size/Shape Distribution:4.0

By Patrick from USA on 2010-12-08 16:44:19

Things I liked: The way the pellet looks!

Things I would have changed: Would start with making the pellet more accurate. I cant even get a 3inch grouping with these.

What others should know: Beware because these pellets are the furthest thing from accurate.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jason from USA on 2015-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: size and shape, longer than most pellets so easier to put in my bolt action airguns and offers good velocity & penetration

    Things I would have changed: make head diameter the same width as the plastic casing. The head is smaller and this may affect accuracy?

    What others should know: kinda pricey and were not that accurate in my Umarex Fusion & Powerline 880 compared to many other pellets but may work well in other guns. Does increase velocity though with good penetration but not much expansion. These are meant for speed but I like accuracy better so will stick to JSB's & H&N's but they were fun to try out. Your guns may do better than mine with these. Worth a try

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Ironnerd from USA on 2014-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice idea.

    Things I would have changed: Most of it.

    What others should know: I have used these in a 1377 as well as a Nitro Venom. They are more accurate from the 1377. It seems like they tumble out of the Nitro Venom (maybe too fast?). Groups out of either gun are pretty broad. Definitely NOT for dispatching critters, just no way to ensure a humane kill. Not really great for plinking either due to accuracy issues. I normally hit bottle caps from about 18-19 yards with the Nitro Venom and the 1377 (with regular Crosman pellets), but I can't do that with these.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alec from USA on 2013-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very fun to hear that sonic crack from something other than a firearm, there actually a lot more accurate out of my gun than i thought

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Just the usual be careful what you aim at especially with these i shot at the ground but just at te right angle it ricocheted off of the dirt and thankfully hit a tree

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, hit hard, good speed

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By adam from USA on 2012-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Amazing accuracy, velocity, and penetration power, perfect for small game hunting and pest control.

    Things I would have changed: heavier grain options

    What others should know: merry christmas and a happy new year!

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2012-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty good shooting pellet. They definately shoot fast, thats for sure. Not a bad price either.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really, they shoot ok at short ranges which is just what I bought them for.

    What others should know: Be careful what you shoot with these. I shot a pine board and had the sabot fly back at me, though the metal pellet did penetrate quite well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gustavo from USA on 2012-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good penetration

    Things I would have changed: accuracy could use improvement, but its penetrating power makes up for its faults.

    What others should know: This is a good round for small game.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Russell from USA on 2012-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very lite round with some good knock power. Hitting rabbits at about 200 feet and stopping them in their tracks. Like the way the plastic sleeve breaks away on impact and the point punches thru the hide.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is a good round for small game.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ironnerd from USA on 2012-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Cool factor. They're "Different". Great concept. Plenty of penetrating power. Reasonably accurate.

    Things I would have changed: 1: Lead or other soft metal core 2: Hollow-point 3: A little tighter quality control.

    What others should know: I shoot these through a 1377 and M417. They load fine in both, and are usually nice and accurate, but seem to have a few fliers. The faster they fly, the better they seem to work. I fired a few into a raw potato (about 2" thick), at 20 yrds, with 6 pumps from my 1377 and M417. The sabot stopped about an inch into the tater, and the core went straight on through and dug into the stump behind. They are not "match" grade, and not really for hunting (unless you hit brain or heart), a bit too pricey for just plinking. They are a cool little pellet, but maybe need to be refined to find the right niche.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By scott from USA on 2011-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love these things. They are fast, accurate, and devastating to anything they hit. Great pellet.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldnt change anything, but I would offer a little heavier choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2011-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Penetration is INSANE! Rip right through a raccon @ 976fps. I think that the tip must separate and then tumbles, as that coon had a nickle sized exit hole in him. I did have to adjust my zero with these (HIGH) however since I've been tack driving.

    Things I would have changed: Bigger tin 500 would be great! Make them just a tad shorter. They work great in my Sheridan SS and Archer QB78. How ever they are to long to fit into a crosman rotary clip. Wanted to try them out in the 1077 but their just to long.

    What others should know: According to the croni I pushed and additional 100fps both my QB and SS!! And quadrupled my penetration over H&N Neue's I've been using.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By claymoh from USA on 2011-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: These consistently seal in air chamber and are very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Color would be nicer if available in brown (blends in to dirt) and was maybe also biodegradable

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terrence from USA on 2011-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: lead free, shape, overall plinking fun.........

    Things I would have changed: nothing................

    What others should know: great fun to use...........

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cory from USA on 2011-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: good penetration for wood and steel can targets, makes even lower powered pistols into soup can destroyers. airgun version of AP round (armor piercing) looks like sabot tank round. leaves barrel clean, its lead free and can be handled with out hand washes. price is great.

    Things I would have changed: accuracy could use improvement, but its penetrating power makes up for its faults. would go from zinc formula to tungsten tips.

    What others should know: does well for accuracy more in pistols, any ultra light pellet is not for long range accuracy in riffles that break sound barrier (1100 fps) tests show tumble of the pellets on target.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2010-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The way the pellet looks!

    Things I would have changed: Would start with making the pellet more accurate. I cant even get a 3inch grouping with these.

    What others should know: Beware because these pellets are the furthest thing from accurate.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: They are unusual shaped and lead free. Since Michigan special interest enviromentalists are trying to ban lead in fishing tackle and ammo, I am investigating lead free ammo. Needless to say, but I will anyhow, I tried these. I noticed a few things that make me not take these pellets seriously. They fly well, but not at any hypervelocity. First, the orange plastic acts as a air brake slowing down the pellet. Second is the fact they do have a deep penetration... sort of.... at close range. When the pellet hits, the orange plastic stops dead cold but the metal continues on. This sabot effect is nice but what penetrates the target is so small a diameter I can't see how these could be used as a hunting pellet unless the metal is surgically placed in a heart and it travels to a brain and causes a serious stroke or something. (I never tried hunting with them.) If you are looking for a hunting shot, these aren't it.

    Things I would have changed: Nice point blank range but not a guud flier. Perhaps if the orange plastic had a taper to blend the 2 parts together would help as well as gluing the pieces together.

    What others should know: Might be good for 10 meter target. Not good for hunting or field target.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mattfish from USA on 2010-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Punches right into a 55gal. steel drum at 25 ft.

    Things I would have changed: They never did go hyper... so make them heavier to get even more penetration.

    What others should know: Fit well in my Big Cat & Silent Cat.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Rick from USA on 2010-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: Price and accuracy

    What others should know: Price is quite high for pellets and accurracy was poor in Daisy 853 and Hammerli Storm Elite. Were taliking 1+ inch groups at 10 meters.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2010-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the original shape and the looks of this pellet. Good accuracy and awesome penetration. Overall an awesome pellet to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: make this same shape in a heavier weight.

    What others should know: Works best in air guns with FPS of 500 or more.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By scott from USA on 2010-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: clean(no lead),easy to see your shot grouping,good penetration.

  • 123 Next
Navigation