Skenco Big Boy, .22 Cal, 20.37 Grains, Hollowpoint, 100ct reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (9 reviews)
5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
(9 votes)
Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By daniel from USA on 2012-07-05 22:07:27

Things I liked: The size, shape and weight are real nice. They mushroom real nice.. Excellent for hunting small game. About a half inch group at 35 yards not to bad.. Very good hollow point.

Things I would have changed: Again stupid tin design... Wow can they make one any cheaper....they should just sell them in little baggys if they want to be cheap... Why the hell does skenco put them in 100 tins? Ooooo I know to be cheap....

What others should know: They work good in my banjamin marauder.. Try them what do you have to lose, $6.........Save a favorite empty tin you will need it!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By BigUglyHat from USA on 2015-04-19 15:24:02

Things I liked: Nice big fat honker of a hollow point. Clean,perfect fit,zero deformities. All 3 Magnum Hatsans ive used them in shoot these very well.

What others should know: cro mag on roids.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BigUglyHat from USA on 2015-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice big fat honker of a hollow point. Clean,perfect fit,zero deformities. All 3 Magnum Hatsans ive used them in shoot these very well.

    What others should know: cro mag on roids.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mtlemmonrunner from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For some odd reason which I haven't figured out as of yet these pellets literally produce the most and 2nd most energy across two different guns/vendors. I have many different containers of.22 ammo. All of which were highest rated here. To be exact, 19 different kinds. Mostly spread across the weights and diverse across the head types. My two different air guns are an almost 100% modified Crosman 2289 Bugbuster/Backpacker carbine and Umarex Octane rifle. Currently using this Big Boy Hollowpoint pellet @ 15 pumps my 2289 gets 8.13 ft/lbs energy and my stock other than new O-rings/shims and better scope Uma gets 25.25 ft/lbs. So in fps that means 424 fps for 2289 and 747 fps for Uma. That's actually slower fps compared to other pellets its just that the weight of pellet balances it out as more energy.

    Things I would have changed: Make a larger package or 200 pellets or best yet 500 count!

    What others should know: That top pellet for 2289 and 2nd top for my Uma. Uma's top is Beeman Kodiak but these results are most likely unique to my Uma as it does not perform A+ more like A-/B+. When I went to loc-tite my main screw under the trigger it was not only stripped but bent from the factory. To me explains it isn't performing A+ and little off tolerance and alignment.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2014-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Skenko pellets are an odd-ball design that just works! The pellets "tumble" through the air vs spiraling because of the crazy weight distribution of this unusual pellet, and cause incredible damage when poi is reached. I've been using the 25-Caliber Big Boys in my Marauder rifle for more than a year and counting, and they are Plain Jane deadly in all respects, just like the 22-Caliber is. Note the "square punch marks" in targets, and in game killing the exit is just huge.

    Things I would have changed: The case could use improvements, although I like them just because they're so different with their tiny little upward catching clips. Many would like to see a screw can but I think they should simply improve what they have to where it stays shut, and is easy to open.

    What others should know: Don't be afraid of the large and strange heavy-weight pellets out there, if you have the firepower to actually use them. The corollary: don't use this kind of heavy pellet in an inferior rifle or pistol package and then blame the pellet for poor performance!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By andy m. from USA on 2013-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: they are alittle heavier then the crow magnum so they should hit harder and they have almost the same cup but with weight comes fpe.

    Things I would have changed: more then 100 maybe 175 or 200 per tinalso away better tin with screw down cap.

    What others should know: people should compare the heavies in 22 cal and 25 cal the heavies are the same in weight but the 22cal is traveling faster thus more fpe at the end.just compare them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nathan from USA on 2013-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, deadly

    Things I would have changed: Packaging!

    What others should know: Definitely keep a spare tin the package sucks. I have shot birds at only up to 15 yards so far, and they are deadly. At ten yards if you do your part you can shoot them into one hole with my cheap stoeger x10.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bodybag0 from USA on 2012-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice shape and very clean. Perfect HollowPoint for close range.

    Things I would have changed: More pellets in a tin

    What others should know: Works great in My Rainstorm up to 30 Yards. Same poi as the Barracuda's. These are my favorite short range pellet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bodybag0 from USA on 2012-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect shape and weight for my needs. I use them for removing pests. They have the same POI as the Barracudes at close range. I'd say up to 20 to 25 yards.

    Things I would have changed: They need to sell these in 200 count tin or PA can sell these tins in a two pack. That way the over all price is closer to the other popular pellets. That would make the buy 3 get 1 free more efficient.

    What others should know: I tested this pellet only in my Rainstorm. I did notice a larger than usual exit hole. I'm very impressed with these for removing pests.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2012-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The size, shape and weight are real nice. They mushroom real nice.. Excellent for hunting small game. About a half inch group at 35 yards not to bad.. Very good hollow point.

    Things I would have changed: Again stupid tin design... Wow can they make one any cheaper....they should just sell them in little baggys if they want to be cheap... Why the hell does skenco put them in 100 tins? Ooooo I know to be cheap....

    What others should know: They work good in my banjamin marauder.. Try them what do you have to lose, $6.........Save a favorite empty tin you will need it!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ramon from USA on 2012-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I thought that being a "Skenco" product, there might be slight variations in the sizes, but so far all the rounds seem to be almost exactly the same size. Just what you need when your hunting.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I'd change is the packaging. The small plastic container is just to different from most other brands. Get a tin if possible.

Navigation