Date: 21/9/2018 2:54
0

Customer Reviews by Hook from USA

RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct

RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 300ct
Review entered on 2015-09-22 13:50:15

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2015-09-22
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Nice, clean, consistent pellets. I weighed a dozen or so before I found one that varied from the 7 gr. weight and that was was only .1 gr. different. I use these pretty much exclusively in my gamo and winchester rotary magazines and they work very well. Tin is good and seems to stay shut pretty well.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: Good paper puncher and softer target all around pellet. Not much in the way of penetrating power for plinking as they are wadcutters and fairly light, but they do a number on pop cans. Excellent value for the price!

 

Winchester MP4 CO2 Rifle

Winchester MP4 CO2 Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-09-22 14:07:47

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2015-09-22
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: After reading other reviews I was a little nervous about getting this, but I am really quite pleased with it. The weight and feel are very nice, build quality is good, just an overall fun shooter. Efficiency seems pretty good, and with decent power and a bit of "feedback" to the shot. Unsupported offhand at 20' and I'm getting a single ragged hole group without trying very hard. Really looing foreward to pushing the distance out farther when I have more time with it.

Things I would have changed: Maybe include a second rotary mag, but nothing more than that.

What others should know: Seems to me that some are expecting more than what a rifle with a $160 price tag can offer. I have only had 3 jams thus far and they were all operator error. If you partially pull the trigger, follow it through until the shot breaks. If you "short stroke" or partially pull the trigger and then release it this will almost certainly cause a jam. Minor still, just drop the mag and poke out the pellet that will be partiallly pressed out of the rotary mag. Also pay attention to the short pellets only warning. I use RWS diabolo basics and this thing loves them. Buy a lot of CO2 and pellets, a couple of extra rotary mags, and have some fun. Oh, it is VERY easy to spend more in accessories by a large margin than the rifle even cost-this thing has about a mile of picatinny rail.

Sig Sauer 1911 Spartan Full Metal Blowback CO2 BB Pistol

SIG Sauer Sig Sauer 1911 Spartan Full Metal Blowback CO2 BB Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2017-07-26 23:11:16

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Hook from USA on 2017-07-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Fit and finish are very nice. Smells a little funky when you first take it out of the packaging due to the finish but that diminishes after a while and the finish itself seems like it will be durable as compared to other all metal replica guns. The trigger is pretty stiff but has zero creep and feels pretty good. The overall shot quality is very nice, though the recoil isn't as strong as a lot of other blowbacks. The sights look nice, and the checkering on the grip frame is a good touch. The magazine has a strong magnet at the top so there aren't any bbs rolling around during loading. The camlock CO2 loading is interesting but does take a fair bit of grip strength to close. One thing to note this is probably the quietest air pistol out of all that I own.

Things I would have changed: The magazine. It is plastic and seems very fragile. If there is going to be a failure point on this gun, that will be it. It has the pinky swell at the bottom that forms part of the faux magazine, and it feels so flimsy that I think you could rip it off if you brushed by something too hard with it holstered. The slide does lock back after the last shot but only about 5/8" which is a little strange because it actually can travel as far back as a real 1911 would. The extra button on the thumb safety is a little hard to get operate and may be hard to actuate with gloves on. The right side ambi safety lever is non functional. After the first couple of magazines, the accuracy isn't as good as my tanfoglio at this point but that very well could be the result of a little break in being required.

What others should know: I really like this air gun, though with it you do trade some scale realism for slightly improved performance over say a Swiss arms or tanfoglio 1911 as far as efficiency and velocity goes. Over all it's well worth the money and a lot of fun to shoot.

Air Venturi Air Compressor, Electric, 4500 PSI/310 Bar, 110V

Air Venturi Air Compressor, Electric, 4500 PSI/310 Bar, 110V
Review entered on 2017-10-13 09:22:38

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2017-10-13
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating

Things I liked: This thing is amazing for the price. The fit, finish, and build quality are excellent. The form factor is quite small, and even though it is fairly heavy, the hand holds are well positioned so moving it around is not difficult. It is very quiet during operation, I think the cooling system is about as loud as the compressor itself. You can talk over it even in an enclosed garage. It tops off 80cf scuba tanks in a reasonable amount of time, gun tanks fill in a snap.

Things I would have changed: Things I would change are very minor. I would prefer the cooling water tank be a little easier to access as I transport it with that tank empty. Maybe use thumb screws for retaining the side panels. I would also make a slight change to the location of the fill whip or how it comes out of the machine as I see a potential for the front cover to wear a hole in the hose. The big and very disappointing issue I had and am still attempting to resolve is shipping damage. My unit arrived with a severely bent frame. It had clearly been dropped very hard. These are shipped with the anti vibe rubber feet attached and when the compressor is dropped in shipping, which it will be, these feet focus the impact to some thin frame elements. The whole tube frame on mine was buckled to the point the side covers were even bent. Simply removing the rubber feet for shipping would alleviate this problem. Pyramid is working with me to get my unit fixed and have been very helpful in dealing with the problem.

What others should know: If you do any significant pcp airgun shooting and/or paintball, get one of these! You won't regret it. Incidentally, I mounted mine on the larger of the 2 movers dollies sold by harbor freight, makes it really easy to move around the garage!

Beretta 92A1 CO2 Full Auto BB Pistol

Beretta 92A1 CO2 Full Auto BB Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2017-10-25 23:28:45

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

3.0 3.0

By Hook from USA on 2017-10-25
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: The feel, heft, and operation of this gun is really nice. The giggle switch full auto is fun, though I don't use it a lot. It is just a fun all around gun to shoot. For a gun with blowback this strong it is actually very efficient. Given several minutes to warm back up before shooting again I have gotten 5 magazines (loaded at 16 bbs per) on one powerlet, and was 1/2 way through 6 when it couldn't re-cock anymore.

Things I would have changed: The bb follower in the magazine is a little hard to operate at first until you learn the trick. The paint is pretty soft, and the CO2 piercing/cap on the mag is easy to cross thread or strip the hex key socket (shallow when a powerlet is in place.) No windage adjustment.

What others should know: The soft paint isn't really that big a deal to me, kind of gives it a well used look. Using a small allen to push down and engage the bb follower makes this really easy. I made some pen tube speed loaders and I can reload these in seconds. Spare magazines are a little expensive but that's the nature of the good replica guns with the valve in the mag. Be careful starting the piercing screw/cap, it sits at an angle and is recessed so it takes some attention. I have had one mag valve freeze in a cold climate after full auto and vent. Once it warmed back up it was fine. My biggest issue was that the POI was way off to the point of not fun to shoot. About 2" high and 7" right of the bull at 19'. I added an inexpensive clamp on top rail and reflex sight. Can't holster it that way but it will shoot 1" groups at more than 20' now. I have probably 500 shots through it and it's become one of my favorite guns to shoot. For an 18-25' range can killer it's a bllast.

 

Gamo MP9 Blowback CO2 Submachine Gun

Gamo MP9 Blowback CO2 Submachine Gun Air gun
Review entered on 2017-11-02 07:55:44

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2017-11-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I completely love this gun! The look and feel is great, the trigger pull is better than you would think for a sliding trigger. Accuracy is a dime sized hole at 20', which amazed me for a barrel this short. Haven't put it over the chrono yet but I'd guess it at around 500 fps with 7gr RWS basics. I'll update when I've done the test. This has become a go to for me, can't speak highly enough about it!

Things I would have changed: The stock is pretty flexible, not a deal breaker but a little distracting. The molded in sights are mostly useless, but it's got a rail so I put a little reflex on it and it works great. I don't have to lay my head over so far for a sight picture with it so I would almost call a reflex a must. Probably the only somewhat significant issue is the CO2 magazine. It's hard to engage inside the grip, can pop back out under pressure or not engage fully. The only way you really know is that the gun won't fire if it's not engaged fully and it seems that you almost have to slap it into place.

What others should know: I get 3 magazines out of one powerlet, the accuracy is great, it's a blast to shoot! Buy one, you'll like it!

 

SIG Sauer MCX CO2 Rifle, Black

SIG Sauer MCX CO2 Rifle, Black Air rifle
Review entered on 2017-12-05 13:49:24

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2017-12-05
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Things I liked: Just about everything. Indoor accuracy is almost silly, single ragged hole good times. The rifle has good heft, feels good to shoulder and fire. As others have mentioned, buy a lot of pellets-you will need them. It is fairly quiet and I got better velocities than the test data showed. With RWS 7gr I was getting at least a 570 average within the first 100 shots on a new JT 90 gram. Some shots over 600, which usually came after a rest and if the rifle was pointed at the ground during a target walk (hot shot probably came from some liquid CO2.) Trigger is a little stiff but pretty smooth considering it is advancing the pellet belt at the same time. There is plenty of metal on the gun, it doesn't feel like a toy at all. Zero feed issues thus far, I'm really enjoying the MCX.

Things I would have changed: The included vertical grip is a little small and cheesy, but I guess it works. I'd pay $1000 for one of these as a regulated pcp. Give me an integral tank, get closer to 700-800 fps in .177, and let me refill after 60 shots and I wouldn't put it down. Also, I swear Sig has to do one thing on each model to mess up scale realism. A body screw in a recess right through the mock ejection port cover in this case.

What others should know: The keymod on this isn't real keymod and has a few "dead" spots in it due to molded in areas for screws. Actual keymod rail is thinner and has an inner bevel that keymod nuts lock in to. This is thick and has no inner bevel. Picatinny rail sections can be mounted but they will not be as solid as the real deal unless you get creative with some other hardware. It gets close, but I planned on a sling mount and I feel there is a risk of the rail section pulling off; this rifle isn't light. In no way insurmountable, but I wish I had known this before some accessories were ordered. I will try either flat m-lok nuts or some black fender washers and lock nuts to see if I can get a more positive mounting option.

 

CZ 75 P-07 Duty Dual-Tone CO2 Pistol

CZ 75 P-07 Duty Dual-Tone CO2 Pistol Air gun
Review entered on 2017-12-05 14:09:50

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2017-12-05
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I absolutely LOVE this little gun! Groups covered by a nickel at 20ft indoors, POI was right on for me. Enough blowback to let you know your shooting, quiet, takes the asg fake suppressor can, nice weight to it. 5 mags easily (16 rounds per to ensure reliable feeding) on one powerlet and 430 over the chrono. The slight satin finish to the polymer frame looks and feels nice, the finish on the metal slide seems very durable, and the detachable powerlet cover is actually weighted to give it a little more heft.

Things I would have changed: Not one thing.

What others should know: I was skeptical about how this was going to go. I have a duty one blowback that decided to fail immediately after I got the mock suppressor so I got this to replace it in the lineup. Rationalization sure, but that's ok. The duty one had many faults, very difficult to puncture CO2 with that one, even harder to get the empty one out if you didn't wrap it with something. Long take up which messed up the 1911 scale realism and you couldn't cheat and stop the trigger from going all the way forward or it would fire without feeding. While the CZ75 does have the long take up, it is very light and it is readily apparent when you are to the point that the shot is going to break. You can also cheat and ride the trigger a little without the feed issues this seemed to cause with the duty one. This has become one of my favorite pistols to shoot!

 

Smith & Wesson M&P 40, Black

Smith & Wesson M&P 40, Black Air gun
Review entered on 2018-04-10 06:40:39

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2018-04-10
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Weight and feel are great. The accuracy is far better than I expected, this thing beats almost all of the other smooth bore BB pistols I own (around 20). Sub 2" groups at 20 feet without much effort. Point of impact was about an inch low but right down the middle. The trigger pull is long but light, mag dumps are fun! This pistol is easily my top 5 favorites!

Things I would have changed: My complaints are few and very minor. The safety is a little stiff and odd feeling as others have mentioned. The mags for this one are a bit of a thumbnail muncher for loading as the follower doesn't lock down, but nothing close to a deal breaker. Also as others have stated the garish white safety warning print is kind of heart breaking, but if you're into this hobby you sort of get used to that.

What others should know: The takedown lever works and you can strip the pistol but getting it in the right spot for reassembly takes some fiddling. There was a chrome sticker inside the slide whose purpose was probably to reduce the effect of the slide wearing the paint off of the exposed portion of the barrel but it started to come loose and I removed it. The coatings on any of these guns are thin, wear marks happen. As far as efficiency, it isn't great as compared to the cybergun 1911's with the valve-in-mag build type but in warm conditions with warm-up time allowed for the powerlet you'll get about 3 mags with noticeable slowing at the last half of the 3rd. Fairly standard. It's about middle of the road as far as the noise level, louder than the 1911's and the Walter pps, quieter than the TF gold/custom. Very fun to shoot, this one will see a lot of use!

 

HellBoy .177 CO2 BB Tactical Air Rifle, Black

Hellraiser HellBoy .177 CO2 BB Tactical Air Rifle, Black Air gun
Review entered on 2018-06-04 03:50:50

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2018-06-04
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.03 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: It's a metal body 1:1 M4, what's not to like? 20' accuracy is excellent, unsupported offhand groups are ragged dime size and easily accomplished. I removed the carry handle and added a 1" riser and inexpensive red dot, it puts the reflex above the front sight post so it doesn't interfere with the sight picture. Worth noting the irons on the carry handle have a very positive detente click and are high quality. The front sight does rotate against a detente pin also and may actually be adjustable. Velocity testing was quite surprising, considering how quiet this rifle is. With a fresh 12g and a magazine of dust devils I got a first shot of 698fps and a 10 shot average of 669. I followed that with a mag of steel bbs that gave a 639 10 shot avg. Worth noting though, shot number 13 dust devil impacted in 2 pieces. This was my first use of the DDs, hopefully that's a fluke. Loading the magazine is easy. The follower locks down, big plus, and the faux gas tube is a nice scale touch.

Things I would have changed: The selector switch. It's so light to actuate from safe to semi (it is actually 3 position with the 3rd labeled auto but is the same functionally as semi) that inadvertently taking this out of safe is going to be a potential liability. It's that soft. Mine was half way to semi just from bumping around in shipping. The grip looks to be black rifle compatible but isn't without heavy modification. Without accessories the rifle feels pretty light and there is basically no "feedback" to the shot, but that's the trade-off I suppose for better gas efficiency than blowback guns. The magazine does require a bit of a firm shove to lock into place. I get the feeling that the charge handle, which is operable but only serves to knock upon the ejection port cover and only with the magazine in place will probably fail fairly quickly. It also tends to hang up a little bit, but is nice for some scale realism.

What others should know: Milspec stocks will fit but rattle a little bit. The muzzle device is 14mm ccw threads so your airsoft faux cans will fit. There is a silver spacer behind the muzzle device that simulates a crush washer, but it rattles around. I removed it and placed an o-ring behind it to eliminate that. The delta ring is functional so drop in carbine handguards should fit (mine is on the way.) It -APPEARS- that the A2 sight -MAY- be removable in conventional style (drift pins) and there may be enough of an approximation of a barrel nut behind the delta ring that with some modification a free float guard could be mounted. I will say that I opted not to try this as the rifle shot so well that I feel the high potential to destroy the gun in attempting the mod was not worth it at this point.

SIG Sauer MPX CO2 Rifle, Black

SIG Sauer MPX CO2 Rifle, Black Air rifle
Review entered on 2018-06-09 20:48:09

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Hook from USA on 2018-06-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Everything about it. Good weight, great accuracy, easy to go through 300 pellets in one sitting. Indoor 20' accuracy, I don't even use targets anymore. Shoot at repair pasters and hit them 3-4 times before they blow through or fly off the backer board. Loading system is very effective, this thing is ridiculous fun. I use a red dot, but have the factory irons on 45 degree offsets, they are quite good themselves.

Things I would have changed: Not much. I wish you would get another seating tool when you order your spare mags, don't lose it! I'd have to nit pick pretty hard for anything else, maybe no screw hole through the faux ejection port door? As others have stated a sling qd attachment point in the stock would be cool, but I just use a soft strap with a d-ring and clip to that.

What others should know: AR grips -almost- fit, with some filing they could go on. I opted for a pierce grip adapter, turns an AR grip into a 1911. Love those things, have them on both my mcx and mpx. On Amazon you can get the gen 1 Sig rail sections that will fit this, in aluminum. They come with the real steel 5mm screws, you'll need 4mm, but they are nice to have. I also found a very nice 12g adapter on eBay from a british company called best fittings. 45-50 shots if you stay away from the mag dumps. They also sell some other parts for these. I got a .177 cleaning rod from Wal-Mart for about $7 because I heard these were prone to jams. Honestly, my mpx has never jammed, mcx maybe 3 times, all my fault. Short trigger pulls during rapid fire will occasionally jam these. I actually cleared the jams using a piece of copper wire to avoid scratching the bore. Others have mentioned trouble with various brands/sizes of co2. FWIW, I use the JT 90s with no problems, save the first one in the MPX. Hammer was stuck.

 
Navigation