Date: 25/9/2017 23:10
0

Customer Reviews by Monte from USA

Crosman Outdoorsman 2250XE

Crosman Outdoorsman 2250XE Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-10-14 18:05:39

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Monte from USA on 2013-10-14
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Previous reviews mentioned poor quality of the wood finish. However, my gun was flawlessly made. Gorgeous to look at, light enough to shoot for hours, and more accurate than I could have expected. I'm shooting at 25 yards and only my lack of skill keeps me from getting quarter-size hits. On a rifle rest (which I use to sight in the scope), I can consistently hit the bulls-eye of a paper target. Fairly quiet and no kick. Very easy to load. I think the trigger is actually better than that of my Beeman R7 rifle, which is known to have a superb trigger. I'm getting 30+ accurate shots from one CO2 cartridge. I'm using Crosman Premiere Ultra Magnum pellets and honestly there is no reason for me to ever change. I sold the included Centerpoint 3-9x32 scope to get one of higher magnification and because the crosshairs of the Centerpoint were somewhat fuzzy when using the illumination feature. Nice of Crosman to include a high set of rings because they were definitely needed. The only issue was that the handle was a bit loose and tightening the two screws which attach it to the stock didn't do the trick. I called Crosman, whose Customer Service is excellent (no wait time, informed tech support person)). She told me what to do and the fix took about two minutes. As for buying from PyramydAir, I got delivery in two days with free shipping. Rifle was packed extraordinarily well.

Things I would have changed: Crosman should include a better quality scope. The one it comes with (a Centerpoint 3-9x32) sells for just $50 at PyramydAir, which tells you something of its quality. I would also like to see the safety automatically engaged after each shot. Lastly, Crosman should improve their quality control, in that they should never have packed my gun without checking the handle first and tightening it before packing and mailing it.

What others should know: Overall, a phenomenal rifle -- light, accurate, and beautiful.

 

UTG 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

UTG 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
Review entered on 2013-10-14 18:10:19

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Monte from USA on 2013-10-14
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I bought this scope to replace the Centerpoint 3-9x32 scope that came with my Crosman 2250XE rifle. First, the Quality of this scope is top-notch. You can tell wight away from the look and feel of it. Adjustments for elevation and left-to-right are easy due to the large knobs. Whereas other manufacturers make you unscrew a cover that allows access to the adjustment knobs, UTG uses a locking nut that you easily loosen and then turn the knob to make the adjustment. After zeroing in the scope, UTG allows you to set your new positions to zero using the supplied allen wrench. Very easy to sight in. Flip-up lens caps are top quality. Using the illumination feature generally works well, as it's easy to turn on and off, and the one-touch buttons are much nicer than turning knobs. I like the fact that the scope remembers your previous setting the next time you turn it on, and that it will turn off automatically in an hour if you forget to do it manually. Nonetheless, the system is effective and easy to use. All told, this is an excellent scope especially for the price I paid.

Things I would have changed: My only gripes are that the scope is a bit heavy (23 oz.) and that the colors are no way as bright as the manual or the PyramydAir description would have you believe. For example, I am unable to duplicate the bright yellow and orange as the manual shows.

What others should know: This scope is a great replacement for the scope provided with the Crosman 2250XE and for the money, a great scope to choose for any rifle.

 

Gamo PR-776 CO2 Revolver

Gamo PR-776 CO2 Revolver Air gun
Review entered on 2016-11-11 20:00:23

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Monte from USA on 2016-11-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The Gamo PR-776 is a remarkable gun. It's definitely well made and finished beautifully. It has some mass but is perfectly balanced so it doesn't feel heavy. The grips are plastic because they need to swing out the expose the CO2 chamber, but they are very comfortable in my average to large hands. I bought six extra clips to go with the two that came with the gun, so I load up 64 pellets at a time which is almost the capacity of the 12-gram CO2 cylinder before the shots start to drop. The gun shot a little high, but adjusting the sights fixed that in no time. On a gun rest all of my shots were within a one-inch circle at 35 feet. Off the rest and shooting in single action mode, I'm able to do the same. The sights are good, with the white dot on the front sight being a big help. The safety works nicely, the barrel opens easily, the clip fits in the barrel perfectly, and the rod to push out the clip works flawlessly. Definitely more fun than my Weihrauch H45 and Chiappa FAS 6004.

Things I would have changed: I'd love to see a real wood grip on this gun. Otherwise, just about a perfect gun at a ridiculously low price.

What others should know: The sound level is much lower than Pyramydair would have you believe. Its website specifies a loudness of 4, medium-high. But in fact the sound level is considerably less than the Beeman P11, for which Pyramydair claims a level of 3-Medium. I would probably rate the sound level a 2. What I found out quickly was that not all pellets fit well in the clips. The first ones I tried were Crosman Ultra Magnums (10.5 grain). They wouldn't fit into the clips at all. Then I tried H&N Sport Field Target Trophy pellets (8.64 grains). These fit better, but not completely flush. I found that one to three pellets misfired out of the eight loaded onto the clip. Then I tried the RWS R10 Match pellets (7.0 grains). These fit perfectly. I haven't had a single misfire using these pellets. Just buy extra clips, load them up and have a blast!

 

Beretta CX-4 Storm Air Rifle

Beretta CX-4 Storm Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2017-08-12 23:37:10

2.0 2.0

3.0 3.0

2.0 2.0

By Monte from USA on 2017-08-12
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: Very well made, relatively light even with the heavy CO2 canister installed, great concept to allow 30 shots to be fired without reloading, grip can be installed by adding a bottom rail, well made custom fitting case, easy to load magazines, zero misfires when you use the special tool to set the pellets, reasonable price for what you get, works great with inexpensive RWS Hobby pellets.

Things I would have changed: Would include more than one magazine (as they cost $25 each), would include a bottom rail so that I wouldn't have to spend $50 to get one so that I can install a grip, would pay for shipping back to the factory if a repair was needed under warranty. I'd also like to see some semblance of accuracy beyond 150 shots. There's plenty of air left to propel pellets, but the gun shoots about six inches low at 25 yards after that.

What others should know: I bought this rifle because it was so different than the other airguns I own. The concept is great. The gun looks and feels great, and is made of very high quality materials. BUT. . . you will blow the seals if you unscrew the tank too fast while it still contains air. That's what happened the first time I used the gun. The accuracy dropped so dramatically after 150 shots that I decided to not waste more pellets and put in a new tank. But there was so much air left in the tank and I probably unscrewed the can too fast that it blew the seals. I had the gun repaired by Umarex under warranty but I had to pay ($38) to ship the gun to them. My biggest pet peeve is that the gun loses so much accuracy after 150 shots shat it becomes useless at that point. I'm talking six inches low at 25 yards. I paid for the gun but also a red dot scope ($85), a bottom rail ($50), a grip ($40), three extra magazines ($75), and spare canisters ($80) plus pellets. I'll sell this gun now at a loss.

 
Navigation