Date: 18/8/2018 21:58
0

Air Venturi Dueling Tree Airgun Target reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (19 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2017-12-22 14:44:30

Things I liked: Easy to assemble. Adjustable tension for paddles is nice. Paddles are thick, should take a pounding. Looking forward to trying it at longer distances.

Things I would have changed: Nothing. Great item, fun to shoot.

What others should know: 3" paddles are nice for sticking on pasty targets too.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Brandon from USA on 2017-12-28 15:11:27

Things I liked: It is a nice concept of spring loaded design, rather than paddles that flip willy-nilly in the wind. It weighs exactly 7lbs 4.2oz assembled. The base measures 13.5" by 6.25" and is heavy/sturdy enough that it will not fall over when hit. Total height assembled is 19" so it is fairly compact, which I like. The gongs flip back and forth with authority and it is a lot of fun to watch hits in your scope. Flip tension is adjustable, but not by a whole lot. With tension up all the way, the gongs require 8oz and about 3 inches of travel to get to spring on over.

Things I would have changed: Assembly of the paddles took 20 minutes and is slightly tedious with fat fingers. This could have been done already and still fit into the same packaging. You'll need to provide your own 8mm and 10mm wrenches for backup on the nuts. A Phillip's bit and wrench for one of the two sizes of bolts is provided. The paddles are 2.4mm thick (including paint) and will slowly deform when hit with more than about 10 foot pounds of energy. The paint flakes off both the front (expected) and the back (not expected) of the paddles when hit with 21 FPE. The brackets that secure the spring tension assembly WILL break off rendering the target useless. I don't care if you're using a 5 foot pound rifle; the "welds" are faulty. They appear to be pressed on with heat rather than actually spot welded. I will have to drill some holes and use nuts and bolts to secure those brackets on and make them work. I don't think I am proficient enough with a welder to weld the thin metal without burning holes through it.

What others should know: Because I was one of the few to receive this item for shipping based on the honor system to provide a review, I have been thorough and precise in providing information. As the product sits, I would not spend my money on it at this time. Wait until it has been redesigned. To be fair, the lowest power rifle I have currently is a .22 FX Wildcat. Because it is 32 FPE at the muzzle with 18gr JSB, I set the gong at a lasered 55 yards. Making impact energy 21 FPE. 1 FPE less than the recommended maximum rating of 22 FPE. AT 55 yards aand 21FPE, EXACTLY 1 hit to each gong has destroyed the target.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i like everything

    Things I would have changed: it would be nice if you have 4-5 feet tall of that and more target

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By earl from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: its perfect for two friends or family members to compete with one another. assembly was easy. i compete with my grandsons and usually lose. i felt the price was right on the mark.

    Things I would have changed: wouldn't change anything.

    What others should know: very happy with this target. would recommend it to anyone.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By mark from USA on 2018-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The basic concept is great

    Things I would have changed: The bracket should have been welded instead of a simple spot weld

    What others should know: After 6 shots the spot weld broke and a second one broke after 10 shots rewrlded all of them with my mig welder

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2018-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got this during a special promotion just before Christmas. Just got a chance to use it... It's a ton of fun. My 12 year old grandson enjoyed going against me.... and winning... more than once... LOL

    Things I would have changed: Somehow make it easier to put together and swap out the paddles if needed???

    What others should know: It's a little tricky to put together with the small machine screws and nuts, but it's managable with the right tools. Socket, set, driver, pliers, etc. all came in handy.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2018-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the stability and concept. Good construction materials. Works well.

    Things I would have changed: There is a bracket that is welded on each of the 4 sets of paddles. The first unit I had, one of the welded brackets popped off. This made that one set of paddles inoperable. This should be a stronger weld or screwed instead of welded. Just don't shoot at it too close or with too strong a gun/pellet and it should be ok.

    What others should know: PA was very good about replacing the first unit that broke.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's easy to assemble, small, and light

    Things I would have changed: I would not change anything. It is a light duty duelling tree and works flawlessly

    What others should know: I received this product in December and finally had a chance to take it out and run it through it's paces. I was pleasantly surprised by how well it worked. My Crosman 140 knocked the plates over with authority. I had the spring adjustment set about half way. I would definitely not exceed the recommended maximum energy though, my 140 was dimpling the plates at 15 yards. It's hitting right about 8 lb/ft. Don't be surprised when the white paint flakes off the plates, you will definitely need a can of spray paint after a shooting session. That is to be expected from any metal target. It's perfect for a little plinking in the back yard. Just keep shooting, no running back and forth to the target. Targets are perfect size to practice your off hand shooting. Would definitely recommend to any airgun shooter. Well worth the price.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It was great . . . until it broke. The welds on the back failed under pressure of the pellets hitting it. However, in Air Venturi defense, I did not see the 22ft/lbs warning on the PA site (I received this as a Christmas present) or on the box. No ones fault but my own. I will own it. Upside, I have a good friend who welds.

    Things I would have changed: Overall, the weight and design, the function worked well. It was a lot of fun! I think they could of upped the ft/lbs restriction to 30ft/lbs for a few $$ more.

    What others should know: Pay heed to the 22 ft/lbs at the muzzle warning! My first 10rnd magazine were Crossman Premier, 14.30grn pellets out of a M-Rod (figure 850fps = 22.9ft/lbs at the muzzle according to ChairGun) @37yrds. Then I had some loose pellets laying around and they were of mixed weights. Hence it broke.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything, fun to shoot with a buddy or the kids and wife,

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It's so much fun if you have kids and 2 air pistols, u can make bets with the lids to do chores if u win lol it's a win win.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2018-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fun, light, small active target for backyard plinking. Pretty easy to set up in about 15 minutes. The target functions as described. I normally shoot at paper and cans - this was a welcome upgrade for target shooting. It's fun to shoot without having to reset targets!

    Things I would have changed: Most .22 cal break barrels and PCPs are too powerful for this according to the manufacturer's specifications - I wouldn't buy this for anything over the 22 rated ft-lbs because it wont last long. I feel like a lot of people buy .22 cal in that power range so I wish they would have beefed it up a little more to accommodate that huge section of the market - the only airgun I had weak enough to shoot the target with was my Marauder Pistol. The assembly was slightly annoying when attaching the arms to the stand. The nuts were hard to secure in the tight space they were located which made what should have been a 5 minute assembly a 15 minute one - no big deal but I think it's an easy fix.

    What others should know: If you have an Airgun with less than 22 ft-lbs of power this target is absolutely worth it. It is a blast.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall, good construction, but very poor quality on the construction of the unit.

    Things I would have changed: No spot welds, use rivets or screws to hold it together better.

    What others should know: The unit that holds the paddles together is pretty cheap. We shot maybe 20 times at the target our first time out and one of the supports that was spot welded on fell off making that target useless. Better be a good mechanic to fix them as they break. I used a rivet to put it all back together. Noticed one of the other welds is also already broken. Check the nut on the back of the paddles after every session as they loosen up since there is no lock washer to keep them tight.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2018-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: What a hoot! Took about ten minutes to put this together, and a few more to get it set up outside. My 11 year old son and I soon had it pinging, and clinking, and smiles all around. We love the fact that it resets itself, and it's as much fun at 10 meters as it is at 30. Lower powered airguns will struggle however to flip the targets. We found that out as our CO2 guns got low. I did come across one paddle that had a bent mechanism that prevented the paddle from seating correctly. It was at an angle compare to the others. I was able to bend it back though.

    Things I would have changed: Suggested Improvements: 1. increase thickness of paddles so they will handle up to a healthy .25 caliber. I now have more .25 airguns, and they are my go to, for fun. 2. include Stainless Steel or galvanized hardware. I tend to leave my targets outside, and we have rain now, and my target is already rusting.

    What others should know: It's a hoot! Since I shoot a lot of rats, I now want a rat target to practice on. I think Pyramyd has one. Hope it'll handle .25 as that is my rat gun.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2018-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall, good piece for the right use.... Paddle flip seems to work well with appropriately powered hits.

    Things I would have changed: Paddle attachment is awkward (two screws each into threaded holes plus backing nuts to Strengthen it??) Backing nuts probably do help, since I did break a paddle off the mount with a .22 PCP at 35 yards. Looks like the screws stripped even while the arm bent a little.( I overpowered the target and tried to skip the backing nuts on this one).

    What others should know: Paddles are big. 3" even at 50y (or even 75y) is big for many rested PCPS. So I see this more suited for offhand use for any appropriate pellet gun at equally appropriate distances. I do feel like I should snug up the nuts on this one from time to time, it's lightweight hardware. For my use, I might be finding/making smaller paddles. (( Please note that I received my target as part of a holiday promotion and only paid shipping ))

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Odinbreaker from USA on 2018-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to adjust

    Things I would have changed: Assembley was a bit difficult could use one more set of targets

    What others should know: works well worth purchase nice not having to set up targets

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sam from USA on 2018-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Hi quality, very well made. Looks like it will handle what it was designed for for many years. Works well too. If you are using low or max powered guns (for the unit design) you can adjust the targets resistance to swinging.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

    What others should know: The nuts holding the targets are a little difficult to install and tighten. Not a defect in any way- just a heads up.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Alan from USA on 2017-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This thing is a blast to shoot. The sound and reactivity makes it a whole lot of fun by yourself, and dueling with a friend is even better! It is made so that it can be used by simply setting it on level ground, or it can be anchored to a hard surface if desired. With appropriate power levels, the paddles flip smoothly. The paddles seem sturdy enough for the advertised application.

    Things I would have changed: The design seems good for the most part, but the manufacturing is questionable. One of the holes in the paddles was warped in such a way that I could not fit the machine screw through it until I filed it down a bit. Some of the threads were a little ragged. The wield that secures the brackets to the back of the paddles looks a bit thin, since that area kind of takes the brunt of the hit when the paddle swings, but so far it's holding. It is a bit of pain to assemble, due to the 16 machine screws and nuts and the small space into which the nuts must be placed. But hey, you only have to do that once, hopefully, and it's not complicated, just tedious.

    What others should know: I would definitely recommend 10+ FPE at the muzzle. Sadly, my Wildfire will not flip it consistently, as it's shooting around 9 FPE. I tested 12 (PP700SA), 14 (RWS 34), and 18 (custom Crosman repeater) FPE guns and they all flipped the paddles nicely. I think an ideal gun for it is the Marauder pistol, since it's a repeater in the 14-15 FPE range, or perhaps an Air Arms S200. I also suggest buying a couple of colors in spray paint for touching up the paddles and giving them some variety past the flat white.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2017-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It is a nice concept of spring loaded design, rather than paddles that flip willy-nilly in the wind. It weighs exactly 7lbs 4.2oz assembled. The base measures 13.5" by 6.25" and is heavy/sturdy enough that it will not fall over when hit. Total height assembled is 19" so it is fairly compact, which I like. The gongs flip back and forth with authority and it is a lot of fun to watch hits in your scope. Flip tension is adjustable, but not by a whole lot. With tension up all the way, the gongs require 8oz and about 3 inches of travel to get to spring on over.

    Things I would have changed: Assembly of the paddles took 20 minutes and is slightly tedious with fat fingers. This could have been done already and still fit into the same packaging. You'll need to provide your own 8mm and 10mm wrenches for backup on the nuts. A Phillip's bit and wrench for one of the two sizes of bolts is provided. The paddles are 2.4mm thick (including paint) and will slowly deform when hit with more than about 10 foot pounds of energy. The paint flakes off both the front (expected) and the back (not expected) of the paddles when hit with 21 FPE. The brackets that secure the spring tension assembly WILL break off rendering the target useless. I don't care if you're using a 5 foot pound rifle; the "welds" are faulty. They appear to be pressed on with heat rather than actually spot welded. I will have to drill some holes and use nuts and bolts to secure those brackets on and make them work. I don't think I am proficient enough with a welder to weld the thin metal without burning holes through it.

    What others should know: Because I was one of the few to receive this item for shipping based on the honor system to provide a review, I have been thorough and precise in providing information. As the product sits, I would not spend my money on it at this time. Wait until it has been redesigned. To be fair, the lowest power rifle I have currently is a .22 FX Wildcat. Because it is 32 FPE at the muzzle with 18gr JSB, I set the gong at a lasered 55 yards. Making impact energy 21 FPE. 1 FPE less than the recommended maximum rating of 22 FPE. AT 55 yards aand 21FPE, EXACTLY 1 hit to each gong has destroyed the target.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2017-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This review is just about the construction of the device, its quality and the assembly process. I will add more when I can actually use it if it ever stops raining... Opening the box you notice it is quite heavy for a relatively small box. The tree requires you to fasten the actual metal targets on with a screw and nut. It also requires you to fasten the tree to the base in the same way. It is simple but since there are 8 targets it is time consuming. It took about 20 minutes for me. The instructions are just a picture and it is simple. But you need a Phillips screwdriver and a 5/16 open ended winch for the targets and an adjustable wrench and I assume a metric open ended wrench smaller than 7/16. I used a 7/16 and it worked but it slipped sometimes. The end product feels very well built and sturdy. Way better that the Walmart targets I have. The bare metal seems to be stainless and the painted or coated surfaces seemed to be well done.

    Things I would have changed: Not everything is machined properly. I had one of the threaded receivers for the target was improperly threaded and one target was not bored out completely, but neither was so bad that you could not complete the assembly. It would be nice to have the tools necessary listed. Or even a small wrench provided. Finally, only the exact number of screws and nuts needed are provided, so do not lose any!

    What others should know: It is better construction than most I have seen, and the mechanical operation is solid. I would stick to the listed use though. I dont think using a 25 caliber gun on this would be wise as is. But I think it is pretty neat!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2017-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The stand was nice and sturdy and main post is solid with a V shaped front to deflect shots that hit it.

    Things I would have changed: Make it easier to assemble, include everything necessary to put it together, replace paddles with more robust ones that don't start to dimple after 15 hits, include a better mechanism that works at the recommended energy levels or change the product description, make the target sturdy enough that it won't fall apart in the first 30 minutes of use.

    What others should know: Putting the nuts on the back of the paddle arms is like a finger torture device. The bracket on the back of the paddle is hard to work around. The target came with hex key, phillips screwdriver and tiny wrench for the bolts on the base, but it didn't come with a tiny wrench that fits the nuts to attach the paddles. You need to supply your own 5/16" wrench to complete the assembly. I adjusted the spring tension to the weakest setting possible and tried shooting it with several .177 caliber airguns. With a weak .177 in the 7-12 ft lb range you couldn't tell you hit it other than the sound. With a stronger .177 shooting 12-14 ft lb it would only flip about 1 out of 3 times. A weak .22 around 15 ft lbs got the paddle to flip about 2 out of 3 times. A .22 shooting almost 17 ft lbs flipped the paddles with every hit. That was until two of the actuator brackets behind the paddle had weld failures and the parts fell off making 2 of the paddles useless after about only 15 hits each.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2017-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to assemble. Adjustable tension for paddles is nice. Paddles are thick, should take a pounding. Looking forward to trying it at longer distances.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Great item, fun to shoot.

    What others should know: 3" paddles are nice for sticking on pasty targets too.

     
Navigation