Date: 18/12/2018 11:20
0

Air Venturi Williams. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (99 reviews)
Add to Cart

Only 5 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Joseph from USA on 2010-09-10 07:49:00

Things I liked: I like the fact that the Crosman 64 sight fits older models of Benjamin 397's despite the claim that it only fits models made within the last five years. I currently own a Benjamin Model 397 that I bought in about 1994, and I affixed this sight to it without any problems. This sight is well-made, is tiny in size, and it works very well.

Things I would have changed: Nothing except perhaps to remove the disclaimer abot this sight fitting only Benjamin/Sheridan air rifles made in the last five years.

What others should know: Yes, to remove the original sights on the Benjamin Model 397/392, I recommend these following actions: (1) get yourself a flat-edge screwdriver at least 1/4"-wide by about 8"-long. Also get a rubber mallet or a small ball-peen hammer. Bring these items close to you. (2) Make sure the rifle is unloaded. (3) Stand you 397 so that the stock rests on a hard surface with the barel pointing upwards. (4) Ask an assistant to hold the rifle with his/her hand located towards the front sight area. (5) Using the screwdriver and mallet/hammer, gently--GENTLY--tap one of the two rails that holds the original rear sight in place until it moves downward from its original position. You want to move this rail at least 1/2 - 3/4". (6) STOP. (7) Switch sides: tap the other rail gently so that it moves about the same distance as the first. (8) STOP. (9) Repeat these actions until both rails drop free. Make sure you gently tap the rails with the hammer and screwdriver. Failure to comply could easily result in you damaging the rifle beyond repair should you break the solder connection between the barrel and the pump chamber. SO BE CAREFUL!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By mark from USA on 2015-06-20 13:49:11

Things I liked: Technically it "fits" my Benjamin 397. The screw holes align. Unfortunately without modification it won't even get on the paper at 10 meters.

Things I would have changed: How about not saying that it fits a model of airgun when you cannot get on the paper without major material removal. I took so much off the thing is a just a shiny metal object and it is still 6 inches high at 10 meters with several weights and types of .177 pellets.(at least it is consistently bad)

What others should know: Based on other reviews, this obviously works well for some models. For my newer 397 it was a waste of money and my limited leisure time. Pyramyd has a 30 day return policy so be sure to try it out before that period. I should have sent the thing back after first use.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect for the 393 and accurate. Adjustments made easy as was installation.

    What others should know: Purchase with the 392 as open sights such for us more mature shooters with bifocals and progressive glasses.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Howard from USA on 2018-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The peep sight looks great on my old Benjamin 397PA. It is much older than the 5-years recommended in the description by manufacturer. (approximately 1990 era made in Racine, Wisconsin before Crosman bought them out) It gets my groups at 10 yards as close as the optical sight I put on the gun a few years ago. With the peep sight I don't have to place my chin on the stock to get my eye in line with the scope, so I can now use the rifle with my cheek on the stock which is more comfortable and reliable for sighting in. The aperture that comes with it is .093 inches in diameter, but you can get interchangeable ones at .05 inches which will squeeze the groups even more. The packaging calls this the Williams 5D series not the Williams 64 peep sight. It is the same and does fit my Benji very well. No problems with P.O.I. being too high as others have stated, and no mod. to the sight needed. The screws that fit the holes in the side of the gun were a fraction too long, see below for fix.

    Things I would have changed: 1. As stated above, the screws were two or three turns too long. That caused the screws to bind against the bolt and not allowing it to move. This was easily fixed by wrapping some small amount of washer packing below the head of the screw and screwing it back in. The screw heads did not extend beyond the body of the sight and did not interfere with the elevation mechanism, as the second screw is under it, nor bind the bolt any more; thus problem solved. This could be easily corrected by the manufacturer supplying a slightly shorter screw. 2. Possibly Pyramid Air could carry the smaller aperture as an accessory.

    What others should know: The peep sight is more accurate than the manufacturer's fixed open sight. It is easier to get target acquisition than the original sight, and may aid older eyes like mine. The original rear sight on the gun must be removed, which is not a problem. Just tap the front edge of the rear sight with a hammer and block of wood knocking it rearward and it will release from the side rails and fall off. Save the side rails and rear sight for later replacement (which you probably will never want to do after using the peep sight. Zeroing in the sight does require you to loosen screws for horizontal (which I did not have to do as it was perfectly centered on the barrel when installed) and loosening one screw for elevation and turning another to raise eye piece. Once zeroed, you are good to go without changing a thing until you change distances. Others have wanted a quicker means of zeroing in, possibly if they are using gun for hunting and having to change distance often, but most of us will not.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TennX from USA on 2017-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent sight for the money...zero install problems and took only a moment to sight in at 25 yards

    Things I would have changed: Maybe some instructions , but easily figured out..

    What others should know: I mounted this on 1994 397P with no problems

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By ryan from USA on 2017-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It is a nice sight. Good picture, easy to install and accurate. Groupings shrink. It even starts off looking nice.

    Things I would have changed: For the money I spent on it, I shouldn't have to disassemble, get out a file and paint- there is a ridge that prevents the sight from adjusting all the way down. File, file, file... reassemble, disassemble... Well, you get the picture. Quality control!!!

    What others should know: The windage and elevation adjustments are crude, but effective. There are not many other open sight sight options for the 392/397s, and once you have the sight on and in it really is very effective with a significant shrinking of groups. This review may be a little on the negative side, but I would definitely buy this again, but for almost $40 I think they can step it up a little.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fits the Benjamin 392 (.22 cal.) nicely.Easy to put on. Tightened the group size compared to the factory sights.

    Things I would have changed: Make it click adjustable sight adjustments for both windage and elevation. Should come from the factory already installed on the rifle. Maybe a slightly smaller viewing hole in the rear sight or alignment marks on the rear sight .

    What others should know: Due to the negative comments I read about the sight and rifle combination I hesitated to buy it. The sight installed on my rifle had plenty of clearance between the bottom of the sight and receiver. Once sighted in the elevation was two marks above the lowest possible setting. The windage setting was two marks to the left of the center mark. There should be enough adjustment left for any pellet I might use at any distance that I might shoot at.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Lloyd from USA on 2017-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made and fits air rifle correctly. Very easy installation.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a taller front sight and a higher mounting.

    What others should know: As a normal adult, when this sight is mounted, the front sight is too short. The rear sight must be elevated a great distance to get a proper cheek weld on the Benjamin 392 and still see the sight picture. I have had to go to a scope mount and a red dot sight as I am stuck with old eyes and can no longer use open sights.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: perfect fit, a quality product. I have had several Williams products through the years.

    Things I would have changed: nothing!

    What others should know: a Benjamin Airgun, with a Williams peep....I hit my target every time!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By paul from USA on 2016-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: All metal. It's very adjustable and was easy to install. It's much more accurate than the iron sights installed on my Benjamin 392. I'm getting groups half the size I was before.

    Things I would have changed: I would have liked a longer height adjustment screw. I'd pay an extra dollar or whatever for a screw to allow longer shots at lower velocities.

    What others should know: Lots of talk that it was easy to strip the screws. I used the right tools for the job and had no issues. It's a precision instrument so treat it like one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I added this to a Sheridan Blue Streak that already had a drilled and tapped receiver. This is an excellent sight which I added to overcome the fact that I can no longer focus on the notched rear sight. Re the complaints of over-torqueing: just be careful (use a very small precision screwdriver) and you won't over torque. You might want to put a little lube (penetrating oil) on the threads if you think the threads in your receiver might be rough or corroded. Mine threaded in just fine and my rifle was bought in the early 80's. YMMV.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Access to the front mounting screw is possible after loosening the elevation screw (the front screw in the silver ring) and slipping off the elevation assembly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clint from USA on 2016-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I mounted this sight on a Benjamin 392 .22 cal. and its a much better sight than what came from the factory. Mounting the sight and sighting it in was no problem, except stripping the vertical alignment screw..............

    Things I would have changed: It really needs a longer bolt on the vertical adjustment.

    What others should know: Be prepared to tap some new threads, the sight is all aluminum and if you tork on it much it will strip out pretty easily. As I said above, its a superior sight to the factory sight and with the help of a new bolt and a little lock-tight you'll be a happy shooter.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2016-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: i was concerned on how stable this would bet mounted on the side but its rock solid. the hole in the peep is not too small for me and if you want a bigger you can unscrew the peep and use the housing. Evan with my old eyes i can see great with this.i would buy another.

    Things I would have changed: i did have an issue with the elevation screw stripping out but used the longer mounting screw and found another screw to mount it.

    What others should know: i seen some people talking about having to file to get it to sight in but i had no problem with mine. its about a 1\4 space between the receiver.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By mark from USA on 2015-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Technically it "fits" my Benjamin 397. The screw holes align. Unfortunately without modification it won't even get on the paper at 10 meters.

    Things I would have changed: How about not saying that it fits a model of airgun when you cannot get on the paper without major material removal. I took so much off the thing is a just a shiny metal object and it is still 6 inches high at 10 meters with several weights and types of .177 pellets.(at least it is consistently bad)

    What others should know: Based on other reviews, this obviously works well for some models. For my newer 397 it was a waste of money and my limited leisure time. Pyramyd has a 30 day return policy so be sure to try it out before that period. I should have sent the thing back after first use.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Terrific complement to my Benjamin 392. With little prior knowledge I was able to dial in with no problems. I love the sight picture this affords!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2015-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It does work once you finagle the adjustments.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions would be nice. A slim driver included would be better.

    What others should know: So, only newer model Benjamin 392/397 rifles can use this product. This model can actually be a fixed-declination device, because only the absolute bottom of the vertical will put you on zero. Windage is a matter of unscrew and push over the eyepiece. After playing with it, ALOT, it will put you on zero at 25yards with 14.5 grain pellets, in 22 caliber. Heavier pellets will drop dramatically after 15 grains. That is my experience so far.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2015-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to install, and it greatly improved the accuracy of my Sheridan .22 air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Needs instructions, and it could be easier to adjust.

    What others should know: You just need a couple of good screwdrivers to install.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clay from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy installation on my Crosman/Benjamin 392

    Things I would have changed: Add witness mark for windage reference. Increase downward travel range for elevation adjustment. Too many of these shoot high including mine. Just reduced number of pumps to compensate. Change from flathead screws to allen head screws.

    What others should know: My Williams 64 sight is labeled 5D-SH

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joshua from USA on 2015-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to installed small and its cost left and would you could squeeze out of it from accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Needs adjustment knobs. Because anytime you need to move the sight anywhere to any spot you need a screwdriver and no one has time to keep a screwdriver to adjust a sight for windage or elevation

    What others should know: to squeeze more accuracy out of it you may need a smaller aperture because the one that's comes with it is very large but it gets me half inch groups at 25 yards. without a rest

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I highly recommend the Williams 64 peep sight. It provides excellent target acquisition and pinpoint accuracy without any of the bulk of a scope. It is "old time" in appearance and therefore goes well with the classic Benjamin pump pellet guns, Models 392 and 397. I installed this on my Benjamin 392 within a matter of minutes. To tap off the installed buckhorn sights use a rubber mallet and block of wood. First remove the screws and gently tap the sight downward until it falls free. On the range the peep sight needed two modest adjustments to bring the group up a few inches and slightly to the right. My final group was continuously dead center in the bulls eye, shooting offhand at 8 yards. Since this was after less than two dozen shots with a new, unfamiliar rifle, I have the greatest praise for this rifle/sight combination! Finally, this item was made in America, so if you buy it you will be supporting your neighbors and not our enemies.

    Things I would have changed: The example shown in the Williams packaging was of a different or generic model, and there were no obvious instructions. The item, itself, was pre-assembled and two screws were provided to attach the sight to the gun. The rest of the process seemed intuitive enough for someone reasonably handy. Not everyone is equally competent with tools and processes. Nor does everyone own tools of the type, quality, or precision sufficient for gunsmith-type work. Any written guidance or precautions on the installation or adjustment of the product would be appreciated and might prevent some unnecessary buyers remorse.

    What others should know: I recommend Blue Loctite for installing the Williams 64 to the brass receiver. Apply Loctite to the screw threads and use a firm, but not crushing force when tightening the screws. You will appreciate having no screws work loose and having no stripped threads. Also consider using Loctite on the threads on the aperture (eyepiece), to keep it from loosening and falling out. I have read many other comments here about this sight seriously lacking sufficient adjustment depth to correct excess shot elevation. My gun was brand new, and I had absolutely no issues with having to grind the peep sight hardware down to further lower the elevation adjustment. My gun was actually shooting several inches low at the lowest elevation setting, so I had to raise the elevation adjustment just a bit (4 click marks)to raise the zero on the sight into the core of the bulls eye. Peep sights are trouble-free. They stay zeroed and there are no glass surfaces to clean or break.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Karl from USA on 2014-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Worked without modification on a newer Benjamin 392.

    Things I would have changed: More travel to right and down.

    What others should know: Moved all the way right and all the way down but has the proper sight picture.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Maciej from Poland on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Makes my 397 an ultimate killing machine. Way better then the standard rear sights.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe the sight hole could be a bit smaller. Though it would be more precise with "needle made" front sight.

    What others should know: If you have B 392/397 just buy it and use it, You won't regret.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation