Date: 24/6/2019 10:18
0

Athlon Optics 8-34x56. 214066. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (5 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

Only 1 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By addertooth from USA on 2017-11-27 09:25:11

Things I liked: Very clear optics for the price range. Mil turrets and Mil reticle. Passes a box test with flying colors, very repeatable and predictable. On my other scopes I zero and rely upon holdover as their turrets are not as repeatable. If you like holdover shooting, this reticle is one of the best, with the classical "tree" design which makes it easy to get both windage and elevation at the same time. Etched reticle and first focal plane scope makes any holdover calculations a breeze. With a 56mm objective, high mounts are a Must.

Things I would have changed: Illuminated reticle is not super bright, so during the daytime it disappears, but then who would use an illuminated reticle against a bright background? There are no zero stops from the factory, but send the factory an E-Mail, and they will send a washer kit for free, which allows you to set a zero for your elevation. Even under moderate magnification (say 10X) the eye box (sweet spot for where your eye is), is smaller than my other scopes. With as many things as this scope does right, consider getting a scope level for this scope to further enhance your long range accuracy.

What others should know: If you have a 1MOA or less air rifle, this is a great match for your gun's accuracy. It is built stout, and a lot of people use these on their 6.5mm Creedmoor powder burners as well. For the number of features (and great clarity), this scope is a wonderful value.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

By Jeffrey from USA on 2018-12-16 20:27:23

Things I liked: The scope has many features for the price. I really like the reticle.

Things I would have changed: I am unable to lock or zero the windage or elevation turrets. The screws are impossible to loosen. Maybe I am doing something wrong...

What others should know: The scope is heavy. This is fine for bench shooting, which I do, but the weight would bother me if I was a hunter.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2018-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The scope has many features for the price. I really like the reticle.

    Things I would have changed: I am unable to lock or zero the windage or elevation turrets. The screws are impossible to loosen. Maybe I am doing something wrong...

    What others should know: The scope is heavy. This is fine for bench shooting, which I do, but the weight would bother me if I was a hunter.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The optics are crystal clear and bright. Turrets are positive and I don't miss the locking feature as I find that they would be virtually impossible to "accidentally" change.

    Things I would have changed: Inclusion of a side wheel would be very useful since the paralax adjustment is pretty stiff.

    What others should know: Athlon scopes all come with a life-time warranty which bodes well for the confidence of the manufacturer in it's product. I'm happy it did, because my windage turret went belly up about 120 days after I bought it. This is my daily driver so it gets quite a bit of use, but I didn't expect this failure. This is the reason I gave the scope 4 stars instead of a solid 5.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent optics for the price, with good clarity even at the edges. Image is very bright throughout the zoom range, although it does get darker (but still very usable) at max power. While it is a very heavy scope, it is not much heavier than other scopes that are much smaller (such as my very nice 42mm Hawke Sidewinder Tactical), so I dont think the weight is much of an issue for a scope of this size. I find it to be an excellent bench rest scope (the principle reason I purchased it) – I have it on a .22 Air Ranger and at full power at 50 yards I can easily see every detail of pellet holes in the target, including the slightly enlarged hole that results when two go into the same hole.

    Things I would have changed: First, mine does not focus down to 15 yards as listed; it only focuses down to about 19 yards. Given the power of the scope, even at the minimum zoom of 8x images below that are noticeably fuzzy, and it gets much worse fast as I increase the zoom power of the scope. I bought it thinking I could live with 15 yards, but this is almost 20 this was close to a deal breaker and I almost sent it back. Second, the focus wheel rotates in the opposite direction of my other scopes (Hawke Sidewinders and UTG scopes), and I find this frustrating as I use all my different guns often. I don't know if there is an industry standard on this but there should be. This caught me by surprise. While it might seem to be a little thing, it can be very frustrating at times - especially when working at high power as the focal depth is very short and it is easy to get lost as I try to focus – and this is made worse because I sometimes end up going the wrong way.

    What others should know: I love the FFP function that was a huge driver in selecting this scope, and it is my first FFP scope. I definitely will consider more of them in the future. The narrow focal depth of this scope makes it great for ranging, but unfortunately only beyond about 20 yards or so (and it is fuzzy much inside of that). This, combined with a reasonably stiff focus adjustment wheel (not a problem, just solid) also leads to an almost absolute need for a larger scope wheel on this unit unfortunately Athlon does not make one. I did buy an aftermarket 80mm one from Scope-Werks and it is great I just wish Athlon sold one at a much more reasonable price. I also found the sun shade to be a good addition, given the very wide objective if also helps to keep the lens clean and avoid accidental contact, which is easy given how wide it is. I think this scope is a good value for a dedicated bench rest scope, and will mount this on a dedicated BR gun that I plan to buy or build someday.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By addertooth from USA on 2017-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very clear optics for the price range. Mil turrets and Mil reticle. Passes a box test with flying colors, very repeatable and predictable. On my other scopes I zero and rely upon holdover as their turrets are not as repeatable. If you like holdover shooting, this reticle is one of the best, with the classical "tree" design which makes it easy to get both windage and elevation at the same time. Etched reticle and first focal plane scope makes any holdover calculations a breeze. With a 56mm objective, high mounts are a Must.

    Things I would have changed: Illuminated reticle is not super bright, so during the daytime it disappears, but then who would use an illuminated reticle against a bright background? There are no zero stops from the factory, but send the factory an E-Mail, and they will send a washer kit for free, which allows you to set a zero for your elevation. Even under moderate magnification (say 10X) the eye box (sweet spot for where your eye is), is smaller than my other scopes. With as many things as this scope does right, consider getting a scope level for this scope to further enhance your long range accuracy.

    What others should know: If you have a 1MOA or less air rifle, this is a great match for your gun's accuracy. It is built stout, and a lot of people use these on their 6.5mm Creedmoor powder burners as well. For the number of features (and great clarity), this scope is a wonderful value.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Perry from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Clear optics, easy adjustments. Bought this for a high power rifle. Sighted it in at 100 yds. went to our 500 yd. target used the suggested hold over and shoot a 8 inch 5 shoot group the first time at that target. Awesome scope, love it. I have bought 2 more.

    Things I would have changed: I would add turret lock so there was no accidental movement.

    What others should know: These are great scopes for air guns or rifle, I have a 4-16 x44 on my Hatsan Love .25 just plain great scope.

     
Navigation