Date: 11/12/2018 5:29
0

Crosman 0290 Red. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.0 (76 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Gary from USA on 2014-01-31 09:19:36

Things I liked: I ordered two Crosman 0290 red dot sights. I mounted one on a 1984 vintage Model 1377 American Classic and one on a new Model 2240. The sights were well packaged, mounted easily and both worked properly. They are inexpensive and suit my needs.

Things I would have changed: For the money, I don't have any changes to suggest.

What others should know: The really good thing about this purchase was Pyramyd Air customer service. I originally ordered a Walther red dot sight and through my own fault, I ordered one that would not mount on 3/8 dovetail. Pyramyd Air graciously allowed me to return the Walther and replace the order with these two 0290 sights. Pyramyd Air customer service is great and the reason I will continue to be a customer.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Anthony from USA on 2018-04-29 07:12:27

Things I liked: nothing at all. Very inaccurate. waste of time putting on the pistol

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2018-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Good for the Bug out rifle incresases accuracy and makes it easier to shoot!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2018-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great optics for this pistol.

    Things I would have changed: A more positive and ridgid adjustment system.

    What others should know: I will tighten up adjustment screws with some rubber washers so it will hold adjustment when set.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's in-expensive and works as long as you don't bump it.

    Things I would have changed: Needs adjustable brightness only has on or off. It is not very sturdy and if you lay down the gun so that it 'rests' on the sight it will knock it out of alignment. The up/down adjustment is very touchy and loose.

    What others should know: You get what you pay for.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nothing at all. Very inaccurate. waste of time putting on the pistol

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price, mounts well, and for a cheaper pistol works very well

    Things I would have changed: the up/down knob was very loose, but with screwing in the top Phillips screw it snugged up

    What others should know: This is a very inexpensive item, plastic. But with some fiddeling, it works. Also, there is but one size of RED DOT, which on small targets covers the whole target.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pirate Bob from USA on 2016-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The price allowed me to try a red dot sight with very little investment. It did sight in and allow me to hit spinners at 25 yards.

    Things I would have changed: The adjusting turrets have no clicks

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I had some problems with quality, but Pyramyd Air was great in handling it and replacing the scope. For the low cost, this thing is pretty accurate up too about 75 feet. After that it takes a little intuitive knowledge to keep it on target. A decent scope for a very low cost, and definitely better than the regular pistol sights.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By George from USA on 2016-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well I like the price for sure. I am using mine on a crossman 1377. I have heard complaints about it being to bright and it is bright but for me its ok. once you sight it in it works great . My main complaint is it is not very solid the way its mounted, Its very hard to keep it from turning on the barrel . I have tightened to allen screws as tight as I dare, but still not very solid. I hesitate to put any locktite on the barrel of my gun so I will just have to put up with it i guess,

    Things I would have changed: I would change the way it mounts on the 1377.. The mounts that go on the barrel may be the culprit and could be improved the barrel is round and its hard for the mounts to get a grip. I realize the mounts are not a part of the Red Dot Sight but they must be used to mount it so are worth mentioning

    What others should know: This is a neat sight and it functions good on my 1377 as far as the sight itself is concerned. On this gun its hard to make it a solid fit

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Ric from USA on 2016-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: nothing

    Things I would have changed: I would make it fit and stand Weaver rail.

    What others should know: Because it won't fit a stand weaver type rail I can not use this product.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2016-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really easy to set up.

    Things I would have changed: The vertical and horizontal adjustment wheels need positive click stops. They are too easy to change.

    What others should know: Glare in the viewfinder from the laser tends to obscure small targets. Is there a way to make it less bright?

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By micheljgaudet from USA on 2015-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Cost. They say "You Get What You Pay For", right? Well, this is a prime example. You TRULY should not expect more than what this thing provides for the money spent. And, I did get a true 'Red Dot' sight for the small amount of money. Thumbs Up!

    Things I would have changed: This thing is a piece of CRAP regarding the BUILD. The thing is flimsy. The LED wires are EXPOSED! The knobs for adjusting are too easy to turn, ESPECIALLY the vertical. The top portion (the window) is sort of at a sideways slant, but very slight. Also, the dot is WAY TOO BRIGHT for what I consider typical indoor shooting lighting conditions, unless you have the target singularly lit up by, say, a spotlight or a nearby bright lamp. I am thinking I will eventually open the thing up and install a small 'pot' for dimming down the light. Outdoors in bright light, should not be too problematic. One last thing. I THINK the rated 'MOA' is five - NOT!!! This thing HAS to be closed to about an 8 or 10! If you are thinking of using this for more than fifty yards, fah-get-abaht-it, unless you are aiming at something like a LARGE cardboard box, say 3X3 feet. For plinking cans and such in bright light at 10 meters or less, this will do.

    What others should know: Don't get me wrong regarding this little Crosman 'Red Dot'; it DOES work, BUT... people, save the money and look for a TRUE RED DOT made by a company who makes them for a living, so-to-speak, a company who depends on repeat business, like maybe "BSA". I found one for around $30 (normally about $85-120) and it is WONDERFUL. And be sure to get one with adjustable brightness. Also, red is the standard color, but it is NICE to be able to switch from RED to GREEN, or maybe even BLUE. I would NOT recommend this 'scope' to a friend, unless he or she said it MUST be under twenty bucks, but then I would mention the downsides of it, along with the fact that it IS suitable for bright light plinking at under ten meters.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2015-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: very simple and inexpensive - fun

    Things I would have changed: not such a bright light

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Max Artur from Switzerland on 2015-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: For tje moment nothing

    Things I would have changed: Articles should be checkd before delivery.

    What others should know: Mine did not work. Will have to see how I'll get replacement as I bought it in the USA and am now in Switzerland.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By happybday529 from USA on 2015-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Price, easy to mount, easy to see the dot, dot has surprisingly low parallax for such a cheap RDS

    Things I would have changed: Adjusting the zero is a bit clumsy, battery life is short (about 8-12 hours), top section is a bit wobbly, replacing the battery is a chore (the "dial" in the front is the battery cover)

    What others should know: This sight will slide around on break-barrel springers. Tighten the adjustment screws well, but be careful not to go to much. Also, my switch popped out the first time I dropped it. I was able to glue it back in, but this is not a rugged sight.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I put this on my Crosman Silloutte pistol but could not get it to sight in. The thing is very cheap and a couple of times the light would go out for no reason.

    Things I would have changed: Make the scope a little more sturdy....Make it feel like you actually bought something of value

    What others should know: I don't recommend this scope just from the experience that I had with it. I would recommend spending a little bit more and getting something worth the money.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Simple to install and zero in.

    Things I would have changed: More than one brightness level would be a nice extra-cost feature. The free wheeling elevation adjustment knob is a problem but I discovered it can be held in place by slipping an o-ring over it.

    What others should know: Good value for only $12.00.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2014-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The dot secures well to any dovetail rail.

    Things I would have changed: add atleast two levels of brightness.

    What others should know: The sight wrosk well but I would not recommend this for break barrel airguns. Also my sight has a loose elevation adjustment knob so if I am not careful I sometimes brush the knob and move the zero

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Francis from USA on 2014-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: red dot

    Things I would have changed: Better adjustments

    What others should know: Not worth the money

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Charles from USA on 2014-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The product was easy to mount on my 1377C. I bought the steel replac ement receiver and once installed, the dot sight ran out of elevation adjustment.Initial groups were around 1/4" at ten yards, using this sight.

    Things I would have changed: The windage and elevation knobs should have some kind of resistance. Slightly bumping either resulted in massive poi changes.

    What others should know: Spend a little more money and avoid the disappintment that this product causes.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Newton from USA on 2014-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It .... works. It is light weight.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a more robust battery cover (see below...) Needs an adjustable power dot. This one is just 'on' or 'off'.

    What others should know: Mine came damage in transit. Not a big deal, as it still works as designed. The round battery cover was damaged by crushing (stepped on...?) and doesn't fit as it should. Windage adjustment is quirky - sometimes causes the unit to shut off. Haven't tried it on a gun yet - just got it as part of a package deal with an air pistol (Crosman 1377) which I installed a scope on. I had the original 'Daisy' version of this sight years ago, and remember now why I never used it much. For the price it is a functional optical sight, but do not expect any real quality.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation