Date: 17/12/2018 6:14
0

Mantis 3-9x40 AO. S0020. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (9 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By joseph from USA on 2016-08-19 18:37:57

Things I liked: Exceptional quality scope for the money. Very easy to sight in. My shooting has been from 28 yards. Results were very good from my Hatsan Sniper Torpedo 150

Things I would have changed: Nothing. No complaints.

What others should know: I purchased the UTG mid height weaver rings to put this on my Hatsan. I had to remove the rear sight to mount. The high weaver rings on this rifle would eliminate the need to remove rear sight.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

By PiperFlyer from USA on 2018-09-04 00:43:11

Things I liked: The things I like: - The full knob sight adjustment knobs. Much better than the COIN OPERATED type. -The Mil-Dot Reticle. -The light transmission of the 40mm -The size is an inch or so shorter than models of similar power (minus the Bug Busters)

Things I would have changed: The reticle is not perfectly straight. I do not mean that it is canted, I mean the verticals line a slightly bowed. I expected a few degrees of cant so I prepped a wall level and mounted a bubble level on the tube. The cant is negligible but there is a slight bow. Since I am a backyard and short range shooter (Mostly under 30-yards) this is not a big issue but it exists and I notice it every time I shoot. Also, the tube is not as strong as a more expensive scope. I put small crimps in the side of the scope tube torquing to normal scope mount specs. Could be a little sharper at 8-9x zoom. The fringes get a little blurred at max zoom. I used it at 5-6x mostly.

What others should know: Overall, you get a lot for the money with this scope. I got it as a Combo with my Beeman R7 and have since moved it to my Gamo Maxxim Swarm since I like shooting the little R7 with globe sights. It has turned the Gamo into a half-inch grouper at 25-yards. If you want a perfect scope, pay more. For this amount of money, you get a good scope that holds zero and makes even a Gamo a single hole shooter. Speaking of holding zero, I have shot two-to-three-hundred rounds through the Swarm since putting it on and I have not had to rezero it.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It a lot of scope for the money and it works well !

    Things I would have changed: No !

    What others should know: I have three I can not find a better scope for the money anywhere !

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2018-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: adjustments easy, tight adjustments, looks good, price, no electronics or exposed knobs, parallax adjustable, shock resistant.

    Things I would have changed: Not much for the price.

    What others should know: I have used it about 500 rds with a R9 and haven't broken it yet. Next I am trying it on my R1. We'll see. I seem to bust many scopes on medium to magnum springers. These are not dial up scopes. Not many are. It would be a fantasy to think that at this price range you can just adjust your scope by target measurements. No doubt a good way to start but scope still needs to be shot in to the new adjustment, and play it by ear while slowly easing into your desired zero. Publications are recently filled with rifle shooters dialing in their targets and holding right on. Many, and I mean many of us, do not feel this is the best way to go (ever). Get the scope where you want it, leave it alone and hold accordingly. Range and adjust for wind as needed by holding off target, but don't mess with your zero. If this is the way you operate, and I feel it is the best method, this scope seems to fill the bill at a affordable price. Medium rings were tight but even with the adjustable objective cleared

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By PiperFlyer from USA on 2018-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The things I like: - The full knob sight adjustment knobs. Much better than the COIN OPERATED type. -The Mil-Dot Reticle. -The light transmission of the 40mm -The size is an inch or so shorter than models of similar power (minus the Bug Busters)

    Things I would have changed: The reticle is not perfectly straight. I do not mean that it is canted, I mean the verticals line a slightly bowed. I expected a few degrees of cant so I prepped a wall level and mounted a bubble level on the tube. The cant is negligible but there is a slight bow. Since I am a backyard and short range shooter (Mostly under 30-yards) this is not a big issue but it exists and I notice it every time I shoot. Also, the tube is not as strong as a more expensive scope. I put small crimps in the side of the scope tube torquing to normal scope mount specs. Could be a little sharper at 8-9x zoom. The fringes get a little blurred at max zoom. I used it at 5-6x mostly.

    What others should know: Overall, you get a lot for the money with this scope. I got it as a Combo with my Beeman R7 and have since moved it to my Gamo Maxxim Swarm since I like shooting the little R7 with globe sights. It has turned the Gamo into a half-inch grouper at 25-yards. If you want a perfect scope, pay more. For this amount of money, you get a good scope that holds zero and makes even a Gamo a single hole shooter. Speaking of holding zero, I have shot two-to-three-hundred rounds through the Swarm since putting it on and I have not had to rezero it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Travis from USA on 2017-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The lenses produce a nice crisp image. Out of the box I only had to dial it in a little. Scope is light for the size and felt really well made. I got this as part of the RWS 34P Striker combo and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the scope. Image was clear at 5 and 25 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Not really anything to change.

    What others should know: According to the manufacturer the scope was designed with airguns in mind.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By ivan from USA on 2017-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Really nice scope for the price, the mil- dot is really nice

    Things I would have changed: It stated was rugged unough to handle magnum air rifles, that was not the case with me but my .25 cal Benjamin XL can penetrate a pig scull no problem at 30 yards away so this gun is a jack hammer!

    What others should know: It did not handle the recoil of my Benjamin XL .25 but that gun is a beast! It held groups for a couple shots but the gun was just too much for this scope. I was bummed because this is an amazing scope. my scope may have been defective but this was just my luck. Anything with less recoil should be no problem.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2016-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the second Mantis scope I've purchased. The clarity and the mil dot reticle is excellent. Windage and elevation adjustments are precise and accurate. All around this is a great value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.

    What others should know: You will need high or extra high mounts as the adjustable objective makes this the profile of a 50mm scope.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent for Spring Rifles. Good clarity. For price can not beat it.

    Things I would have changed: None

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Clear, sharp edge-to-edge image. At 60 yards I could see small pebbles near my field target. I could see pellet strikes. Overall appearance of high quality fit and finish. Mil-dot reticle allowed precise adjustments resulting in kill zone hits.

    Things I would have changed: At this price, this scope delivers high performance, so I have no changes to suggest.

    What others should know: After 500 shots on my HW95 .20 rifle, this Mantis 3-9x40 scope is holding up. There is no shift between aiming point and pellet strike. The optical quality for a scope in this price range is impressive. The Mantis scope is not bulky and looks good on my HW95.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Exceptional quality scope for the money. Very easy to sight in. My shooting has been from 28 yards. Results were very good from my Hatsan Sniper Torpedo 150

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. No complaints.

    What others should know: I purchased the UTG mid height weaver rings to put this on my Hatsan. I had to remove the rear sight to mount. The high weaver rings on this rifle would eliminate the need to remove rear sight.

     
Navigation