Date: 25/3/2019 8:54
0

AirForce Texan SS. U20451. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (12 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jesse from USA on 2018-04-09 08:08:42

Things I liked: Silent, balanced and a blast to shoot

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Awesome

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:4.0

By michael from USA on 2018-08-15 12:36:26

Things I liked: I like the integral suppressor and the loading of the rifle. Its easy and functional for fast reloading.

Things I would have changed: I wish they would publish actual noise output in dB (decibels) to give buyers a genuine understanding of the noise emitted from either the 357cal or 45cal. Also, wish they published maximum effective range for both calibers, so that the buyer could decide what application of hunting and shooting they would use their Texan for.

What others should know: The weight of the unit!

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2019-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Made in the good old US of A ! Quite and good power.

    Things I would have changed: Make the butt pad a little bigger.

    What others should know: I have a Talon SS Condor SS and now the Texan SS all are quite. If they are too loud than your yard is too small to be shooting it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2018-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is deadly accurate at 110 yards as long as its at 3k psi and you use the right ammo and hold technique. It comes to shoulder nicely and trigger pull is better than "acceptable". The gun seems as rugged as all of the condors ive owned over the years so basically bulletproof. The power is there! I also like the fact that although its not a quiet air rifle it still doesnt spook game for a 1 mile radius. I dont think wildlife in my region have associated the sound of this gun to danger yet. They should though (evil grin)

    Things I would have changed: Even though this gun is excellent in most aspects there are a few things that bother me. Number 1 is the "suppressor" cup design. I think it would be much more effective if they were concave or cone shaped towards the rear of the gun or shorter spaced with more cups in the same space. For the size of the suppressor the first shot was very disappointing from a noise standpoint. For what i paid for this gun i couldve bought the regular texan and added a short shroud from hunters supply had more power and range and less noise. Gripe number two is the steel used for the cocking arm and other various bits of the gun. At this guns pricepoint it should be less prone to corrosion ie STAINLESS OR AT LEAST CERAKOTE! You cant easily access the outside of the barrel to whipe it down occassionally so it really needs a good corrosion resistant finish.

    What others should know: With only two shooting sessions with this gun, an initial sight in and then holdover verification at various distances; I went hunting! Ladies and gentlemen i shot my first ever airgun whitetail at 118 laser rangfinder verified yards! 100lbs 3 point spike ran 30 yards and fell for good. 250 grain hunters supply php broadside in vitals got both lungs and exited. Call me an unethical hunter if you want but i wouldnt hesitate to zero this gun at 100 yrds and take 150 yard shots on a regular basis. Its honestly that accurate. And lets face it this gun wouldn't have done any more damage if the deer had been 10 yards away than it did at 118 its essentially a. 457 hole punch all you gotta do is know with 100 percent certainty that you can hit what youre aiming at. The capabilities of this gun have ignited a new level of love for a hobby id almost lost interest in. This is my 3rd big bore previously a benjamin bulldog and a 500cc samyang recluse niether could touch the texanss in accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chago from USA on 2018-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything, very accurate, lots of power

    Things I would have changed: A smaller suppressor

    What others should know: This is my second PCP air rifle I purchase from Pyramyd air, the 1st one is the Evanix Tactical Sniper Rifle which I still have and know the Airforce Texan SS Big bore, this last one is above all my expectations, can wait to start hunting.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By michael from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the integral suppressor and the loading of the rifle. Its easy and functional for fast reloading.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they would publish actual noise output in dB (decibels) to give buyers a genuine understanding of the noise emitted from either the 357cal or 45cal. Also, wish they published maximum effective range for both calibers, so that the buyer could decide what application of hunting and shooting they would use their Texan for.

    What others should know: The weight of the unit!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kirk from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely powerful, very accurate, rugged construction, and well-designed overall. Easy to load and adjust power settings. With a home-cast 300 grain bullet (Lee Mold- TLC460-300-RF), it blew through 7 gallon jugs of water and into a 4X4. Will definitely get used this deer season.

    Things I would have changed: wish it came with picatinny or weaver rails instead of dovetail. A little expensive but I guess you get what you pay for, considering.

    What others should know: Not as quiet as I had hoped. I can shoot my .22 Marauder in my suburban back yard (over an acre,"privacy-fenced" with thick woods in the back half) without disturbing the neighbors.The TexanSS is a little too loud unless there's some other loud noise around, like my lawnmower or 4-wheeler running to help disguise the sound. My next door neighbor said he heard it fire inside his house and initially thought an engine back-fired. thankfully, he was cool about it when I explained, but did ask to shoot it. -LOL

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jesse from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.04 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Silent, balanced and a blast to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Awesome

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate, awesome looking, plenty of power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy a good quality scope if your going to hunt with it. I have taken 2 deer with it so far with a clean pass through on both1 at 50yds and 1 at 85 yds using a 215 grain bullet

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2018-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Silence!, Balance!

    Things I would have changed: A simpler way to carry or transport!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2017-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy and solid platform. Quality construction. Acceptable trigger pull. Not match quality but decent for hunting. Great support from PyramydAir. Package did not come with spanner wrench and Allen wrenches. Called on a Friday and I had them on Monday.

    Things I would have changed: Have it come from the factory with sling attachments and a picatinney scope rail. There are rail attachments out there but it would be nice if the factory included one.

    What others should know: Accuracy with Nielsen .458, 372 grain lead bullet with with power adjuster set on second line, 3 shot groups under a inch at 36 yards. Bullets were lubed with Lee liquid alox and seated using a wooden dowel. No leading after 75 shots. Can get 6 shots in 1.5 inches at 36 yards before significant impact change. With adjuster set on first line round ball 3 shot groups are at an inch if the lead balls are of consistent quality. Would include pictures if I knew how.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alvin from USA on 2017-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Tons of knockdown power.

    Things I would have changed: Better hand grip

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mario from USA on 2017-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Like the power and loading is easy.

    Things I would have changed: The mounting rail should be a pic or for the money come with at least one pic rail.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: weight is good, nice trigger, easy to use

    Things I would have changed: I would put a picatinny mount on it instead of a dove tail to increase options on scope mounts

    What others should know: First, I had to put a thick shim on the rear scope mount so I could get my sightmark day/night scope to sight in within the parameters of the scope. I have no idea if that is a scope issue or a mount issue. I started sighting in with Air Venturi 228 grain and was getting 6 inch 5 shot groups at 40 yards, After going through 50 rounds of these, I switched to Air Venturi 200 gr hollow points and started getting 2 inch groups at 40 yards. More experimentation is needed to find the right ammo, before I feel comfortable hunting with it.. It is best to shoot it with an air tank attached for sighting in or target shooting as I got two shots at best before needing a refill. I had to fill my small carbon fiber tank 4 times to shoot . 60 rounds at a consistent 2600-2800 psi. Thank goodness I have an air venturi air compressor. . My Air Venturi carbon fiber tank will only fill the gun to 2800 psi

Navigation