Date: 23/10/2018 13:17
0

BSA Meteor Evo Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (5 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Daniel from USA on 2016-06-27 11:05:26

Things I liked: I like this rifle, fells good at 6lbs, sights are very good and visible in low light and trigger is smooth and crisp. A little hefty on the break but a two hand technique makes it manageable, Balance is just right with the shoulder and pistol grip giving good support. I shoot indoor sporter rifle targets at 50ft with 8's 9's and 10's . On the bench it's mostly 10's with a BSA red dot scope. At half the price of similar models it's a very good value for the money.

Things I would have changed: None.

What others should know: I wanted a lower velocity target rifle for indoor and chose the .22 cal. also for the bigger hole. Use quality ammunition and you will not regret buying this rifle for indoor target or close in outdoor hunting.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Jon from USA on 2018-03-17 15:29:00

Things I liked: I liked the size and weight of the rifle,seems well made except for the plastic breech .Fit and finish was pretty good , blueing was good and wood finish about average,nice this Rifle comes in .22 .

Things I would have changed: The plastic breech was problem for me,I could just not get over that, I do not like a lot of plastic used in my guns - gun was returned for a full credit ,Pyramid Air was great on returning an item I was not happy with .

What others should know: Would like to shoot one of these BSA Airguns and that might change my mind on the plastic breech,the reviews are pretty good for a lower cost .22 light weight airgun.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jon from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I liked the size and weight of the rifle,seems well made except for the plastic breech .Fit and finish was pretty good , blueing was good and wood finish about average,nice this Rifle comes in .22 .

    Things I would have changed: The plastic breech was problem for me,I could just not get over that, I do not like a lot of plastic used in my guns - gun was returned for a full credit ,Pyramid Air was great on returning an item I was not happy with .

    What others should know: Would like to shoot one of these BSA Airguns and that might change my mind on the plastic breech,the reviews are pretty good for a lower cost .22 light weight airgun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By AngryBuddha from USA on 2018-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight. Inexpensive. Easy to break open and my gun is surprisingly easy to cock for its power. H&N High Speed wadcutter 7.5 grain is shooting at 981 fps, JSB Exact 8.4 grain is shooting at 902 fps. Another surprise is the smooth firing cycle for such as cheap gun, no "Twang", no "buzzing" and sadly no "thump", very little recoil and muzzle jump.

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger weight adjustable. Gun is loud, make it backyard friendly or machine a 1/2" UNF at the muzzle.

    What others should know: I purchased the ,177 caliber from Pyramyd Air. Many Plastic parts, including the Breech Block, trigger, open sights and end cap. Trigger weight is NOT adjustable. The only adjustable part is the 2nd stage travel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice looking rifle for under $200. Firing cycle is different than all my spring airguns, it has no twang, no buzzing and no thump or puff; the internals are quiet and all you hear is just the report that sounded like a bang. Unlike my Diana, HW and FWB break-barrel air rifles that need a hard slap or a hard pull to break the breech open, the BSA Meteor was surprising easy to open. Breaking it open and cocking can be one smooth motion. This makes the rifle very pleasant to shoot. JSB Exact 8.4 grain averages 904.7 fps (15.27 ft-Lbs) and Beeman Kodiak 10.3 grain averages 786.1 fps (14.14 ft-Lbs). The ease of cocking is a surprise. The power it produces is also a surprise producing 15 to 16 ft-Lbs., For such a light weight gun with 15 ft-Lbs of power it has surprisingly little recoil and muzzle jump. this gun like so I just pick JSB Exact. First stage trigger pull is long and the second stage breaks at 4 Lbs, but trigger break clean like the HW Rekord.

    Things I would have changed: Allow the trigger pull weight to be adjustable. Finish the wood stock like shown in pictures which is lightly color stain and glossy finish.

    What others should know: The breech block is not made from metal; it looks like plastic. The cocking arm links and pins are not plastic like one reviewer here claims; they are metal. Many plastic parts to make this rifle light weight Breech Block, Receiver End cap, trigger. The inlet of the wood stock doesn't look like it is cut for the Meteor but for another airgun. The inlet cut made in the fore-end looks like it is cut for a barrel band, so most likely it is for a PCP or Co2 air rifle. Check the guns accuracy using its open sight at 10-meter. I shot two 5-shot groups in the FT sitting position using JSB Exact 8.4 grains. I don't know which ammo this gun like so I just pick JSB Exact. Both 5-shot groups show a vertical pattern less than 0.9 from top to bottom. I expect this shot pattern because I use the 6 O'clock hold and cannot distinguish the front sight being a little high or low when shooting. If I mount a scope, I will get a very small group. I am surprise to learn how accurate this cheap gun is.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By flygun from USA on 2016-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.05 ratings

    Things I liked: Mine is in 177 - Nice looking gun, nice light weight stock that is very well made, the trigger is a little heavy, but with very little creep, very nice for a gun in this price range, easy to cock, does have a little recoil though, doesn't have a springy sound, not very loud, overall it is fairly light and easy to shoot all day. The sites are plastic and fiber optic, not really all that bad. The gun seems solid and passes the shake test without hearing something loose.

    Things I would have changed: The blueing is what you expect in a gun of this price range with blemishes and specs, and the writing on the barrel and main tube is some kind of gold etching or paint and is hard to read and hurts the looks of the rifle. The barrel is steel but runs into some sort of polymer and is made into the cocking mechanism , it seems to work ok though

    What others should know: I fired several name brand pellets, and got some pretty big groups, but you realize the gun is not broken in yet, but I did come across a couple that performed fairly well, the H&N field target trophy shot good, ragged one hole groups at 35 yards, and the H&N barracuda hunter extreme shot actually a little better than they did, Overall I'm fairly pleased with this rifle, it is a full sized adult gun and would be great for some one just getting into air guns for low price and doesn't want to break the bank.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2016-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.85 ratings

    Things I liked: I like this rifle, fells good at 6lbs, sights are very good and visible in low light and trigger is smooth and crisp. A little hefty on the break but a two hand technique makes it manageable, Balance is just right with the shoulder and pistol grip giving good support. I shoot indoor sporter rifle targets at 50ft with 8's 9's and 10's . On the bench it's mostly 10's with a BSA red dot scope. At half the price of similar models it's a very good value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: None.

    What others should know: I wanted a lower velocity target rifle for indoor and chose the .22 cal. also for the bigger hole. Use quality ammunition and you will not regret buying this rifle for indoor target or close in outdoor hunting.

     
Navigation