Date: 22/3/2019 17:14
0

Beeman P1 Air. 411000. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (58 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-05 09:22:26

Things I liked: The P1 is incredibly accurate. It will out-shoot a standard M1911A1 pistol at 50 feet. It has the same grip as the standard 1911A1, and is therefore a wonderful trainer. The gun has 2 power levels in .177, but not in .22. The trigger is adjustable and is light and crisp. The gun is easy to cock for the power it delivers. The build quality is excellent, but don't start taking it apart unless you know how to work on an aluminum-framed gun. It's easy to make the pin holes too large if you use the wrong drifting technique.

Things I would have changed: The adjustable sights are excellent, but the 11mm optical sight rail could be cut deeper. It doesn't grab onto dot sight bases well. Also, there needs to be a positive scope stop built into the top rail, as the front sight gets peened by serving as an ad hoc stop.

What others should know: Don't use the lower power setting. Just shoot on high power or your gun will start dieseling. The velocity with RWS Hobby pellets is more in the 550-560 f.p.s. range. 600 f.p.s. is out of reach for anything except trick pellets like Raptors, and they're inaccurate.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Steve from USA on 2018-08-09 23:02:48

Things I liked: Fairly accurate. All metal and wood construction. Weighs about the same as a real firearm, and has a nice loud sound and the recoil is comparable to a 22 caliber firearm due to its heavy spring, which makes it a good air gun to use as a practice pistol between trips to the gun range, since it feels more like firing a real gun than an air gun.

Things I would have changed: The newer models (after serial number 310911) seem to have a problem with the breech seal coming loose every few shots. If you aren't careful to push it back into place with your finger every shot, then it can get pinched in the action and destroyed. The breech seals cost about eight dollars a piece to replace, and they are hard to find. At the time of this review, Pyramid is out of stock and has been for some time, although they do have breech seals for older P1s with serial numbers before 310911in stock, but those breech seals for the older P1s apparently do not fit in a P1 with a serial number after 310911. Beeman's customer service isn't great either as I have sent them a couple of messages and they have not responded.

What others should know: Other than the breech seal problem, it's a fine gun. But having to check to make sure the breech seal is properly seated every shot is annoying and not being able to get a replacement from Pyramid because the breech seals for this model and serial number are out of stock is even more annoying. I expected more from a $430 air gun. I have several other break barrel air guns that cost half as much and never had a problem with the breech seal coming loose on any of them. Given the cost of the P1, I am pretty disappointed that it has this problem and I would have to think twice before buying another Berman air gun.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By CSA from USA on 2019-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great build quality, looks cool, and shoots great. I've been wanting one of these off and on for many years. The accuracy is tough to comment on, as it's still in its break-in period, and I've beed shooting at 10 yards, freehand. That said, I'm keeping reasonable groups. BUT .....

    Things I would have changed: Breech seal problems! I just got my P1 on 12/25/18, and I'm already on the spare breech seal. The native seal got a small nick within the first 20-30 shots. Maybe a pellet wasn't fully seated, not sure. Then I put in the spare seal, and noticed that after every shot, it pops out at the bottom. Not all the way out of the recess, but it is definitly proud of the recess. To me, this is a problem, and should not happen. I can't really figure out how it's happening .. but if you cock the pistol, latch the barrel, and un-cock it, the seal is now flush. Perhaps the hammer catch doesn't hold the barrel down all the way, maybe .020" shy. After its latched, you can push the barrel/shroud down a bit: there is some play there. Maybe this causes the air pressure to push out the seal at the bottom, because it's not fully faced with the breech. The transfer port SEEMS to be centered with the barrel after its latched, but that is really hard to measure other than by eye.

    What others should know: Great pistol, but this breech seal annoyance and likely manufacturing defect is definitely a problem. It could very well be a quality problem with a certain lot of the pistols, because this is a trend in recent reviews. I've commented on them as well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Germany quality. Built like a tank. Feels like you are holding and shooting a .22 target pistol with heft. Mine is in .177 caliber. Great accuracy. I shoot mostly at low power setting for indoors.

    Things I would have changed: nothing to change.

    What others should know: Air gun diesels (puffs of fumes). Found out this is normal until airgun is fully broken-in. (about 1000 rounds)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2018-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 1911 style grip and weight for training; German quality build; mine has "blackened" sights are more Classic versus fiber optics; Trigger is ADjustable and accessible under the grip panels; standard 1911 grip mounting screws; IT IS Spring Piston!!!

    Things I would have changed: NA; nothing yet........:)

    What others should know: Easy to whiten the front sight...I used white auto touch up paint; usual spring piston smoke initially; I added more trigger pull to simulate MY 45ACP pistols; High power seems more consistent at early break in period; Very good initial break in accuracy with 7 grain RWS wads; added 30W oil (mini drop) to each pivot point ONLY; awaiting Back Order on Weihrauch HW 75 :)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vin from USA on 2018-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've wanted a P1 for years but never pulled the trigger, pun intended. Well worth the wait. Great pistol and managed to get a pretty good deal from Pyramid. An extremely well made pistol. I haven't put a lot of pellets through it yet but I'm very satisfied with it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing that I can think of.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter from USA on 2018-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super accurate, super powerful. Wonderful fit and finish. Great grip & trigger...... very much like a 1911.

    Things I would have changed: Breech seal problem is a real annoyance. Mine was torn after ~100 shots. Ugly. This was one of the 2 reasons (other being price) that kept me from buying it for so long. Air guns don't have to aspire to look like firearms, in my opinion. I much prefer my Cometa Indian: it's an air gun, it knows it's an air gun, and its design shows that it knows and is proud if the fact. Price is a bit high. Worth it but still.

    What others should know: I also have the breech seal coming loose problem another review mentioned. I wasn't aware at first and it must have gotten torn somewhere between 1st and ~100 shots. I have replaced it with the backup seal, added a little Silicon oil to make it smoother (so less likely to be caught and torn again), and got into the habit of checking if the seal comes off every shot. This gun is a keeper, and the minor annoyance of checking the seal every shot is worth it to me. But having to use the backup seal only 100 shots in really sucked.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Made very well solid and strong Figures it's from Germany... Very accurate very powerful would like to see it more powerful at least up to 800 feet per second

    Things I would have changed: The spring strength

    What others should know: None

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By KC from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: German made quality. Looking forward to it.

    Things I would have changed: price

    What others should know: Fine German craftsmanship

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fairly accurate. All metal and wood construction. Weighs about the same as a real firearm, and has a nice loud sound and the recoil is comparable to a 22 caliber firearm due to its heavy spring, which makes it a good air gun to use as a practice pistol between trips to the gun range, since it feels more like firing a real gun than an air gun.

    Things I would have changed: The newer models (after serial number 310911) seem to have a problem with the breech seal coming loose every few shots. If you aren't careful to push it back into place with your finger every shot, then it can get pinched in the action and destroyed. The breech seals cost about eight dollars a piece to replace, and they are hard to find. At the time of this review, Pyramid is out of stock and has been for some time, although they do have breech seals for older P1s with serial numbers before 310911in stock, but those breech seals for the older P1s apparently do not fit in a P1 with a serial number after 310911. Beeman's customer service isn't great either as I have sent them a couple of messages and they have not responded.

    What others should know: Other than the breech seal problem, it's a fine gun. But having to check to make sure the breech seal is properly seated every shot is annoying and not being able to get a replacement from Pyramid because the breech seals for this model and serial number are out of stock is even more annoying. I expected more from a $430 air gun. I have several other break barrel air guns that cost half as much and never had a problem with the breech seal coming loose on any of them. Given the cost of the P1, I am pretty disappointed that it has this problem and I would have to think twice before buying another Berman air gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well built. Good adjustable rear sight. Good adjustable trigger. I still am using the factory setting. Good power for an air pistol. The gun looks awkward and unbalanced but I find it to be lighter than I expected and nicely balanced. Cocking is not to hard for an adult.

    Things I would have changed: Better accuracy. It is good for a spring powered air pistol but not match accuracy. I get tighter groups from an old RWS 5g. Will have to try more pellets.

    What others should know: I should have bought this gun years ago when the shoulder stock was available for it. Probably the best spring piston air pistol made today.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Damon from USA on 2017-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything. Beautiful craftsmanship.

    Things I would have changed: I prefer fiber optics but the iron sights look better in my opinion.

    What others should know: I just ordered this so Ill be updating my review once I recieve the piece. I already own an hw45 black star version in .22 and its by far my favorite spring pistol. Im hoping the beeman version from pyrmaid air compares. Ive had few complains w pyramid air thus far so Im sure Ill be pleased. I own currently the rws 34p, rws 54 air king, browning 800 express and hw45 black star all in .22 and all are fantastic air guns. I have no doubts that the p1 will be a great addition to the collection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mike from USA on 2017-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fit and finish are heirloom quality!! Awesome shooter, smooth cocking and easy to load! AWESOME GUN!!!

    Things I would have changed: I typically target shoot on low power..1/2 stroke..and it's very accurate now at this setting. When you go to full power..full stroke of cocking lever...it shoots much lower. Wish there was a mechanism that compensates for this at the 10 yard range without having to readjust the sights. This isn't a complaint as it a wonderful piece...I'll come up with something to aid in this!!

    What others should know: If you want a VER HIGH QUALITY and very accurate gun...then spend the money and buy this heirloom piece! You won't be sorry!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased the .20 caliber P1 to go along with my much older Sheridan Blue Streak rifle which is .20 caliber. Nice feel to the grip and fits my hand nicely.

    Things I would have changed: The front sight is black and lacks contrast with the black rear sight. While it can easily be fixed with a little paint, this is something that Beeman should take care of.

    What others should know: The information that Pyramyd Air has on it says this has two power levels. The owners manual that came with the P1, which is generic for all three caliber P1's and other Beeman products, doesn't address how to achieve the different power levels. Cocking the hammer only releases the pump handle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very solid, well built air pistol with excellent accuracy. I'm sure it will last a long time and get handed down to my grandson.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the .22 version, which I own, actually had two power levels. It does not.

    What others should know: Despite being an excellent air pistol, it really isn't anything like the Colt 1911 pistol. I own and shoot seven 1911 style pistols in three calibers (9mm, .38 Super and 45 ACP). The only thing this pistol shares with a 1911 is the handgrip which closely matches the 1911-A1. It is not a particularly good substitute for practice shooting with a 1911 pistol either. I have an airsoft copy of the 1911 (sold on Pyramid's site) that is much better for that purpose.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Renzo from USA on 2016-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid build, natural, balaced feel. Accuracy, feel, looks, power.

    Things I would have changed: Safety lever is held by an allen screw. One of them (ambidextrous) gets loose every so often.

    What others should know: Owned this one for close to ten years. 1,000 rounds through, superb accuracy. The trigger is fantastic, super crisp. I use a 2X20 magnification scope. Seven grain pellets work good for this .177 caliber airgun in subtropical weather. People in colder climates might benefit from an eight grain pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from Canada on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: the weight of this pistol, how incredibly accurate, and how much it quiets down after 1000 plus shots. The fact that they tell you the break in period. Once it was shot the suggested number of times the groups became so tight i was putting pellet on top of pellet.

    Things I would have changed: Explain that this pistol is not for the beginner. It is everything and more; than what it is advertised as. With that said the gun is extremely sensitive. That is why it is for the accomplished shooter who is looking for something more in a target pistol.

    What others should know: This tool works flawless, its accurate, powerful, and once broke in is surprisingly quit. I have shot 8 different types of pellets of different weights and head configurations. They all shoot very respectfully accurate. Great pistol cant say enough.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought a Beeman Webley Tempest in 1985 for pistol training practice while in College. I remember how much I wanted the Beeman P1 back then. I also recall how much fun I had with the Tempest and how it really helped my shooting. Turning the clock forward to a few years ago, I started to get back into Airguns. The Tempest came back out of hibernation and I found it was still as fun to shoot today as it was back then. I decided it was about time I got the Beeman P1 and was very pleased it has stood the test of time and is still available today. There is nothing like rekindling the fires of youth like chasing down the coveted things of yesterday and finding them. This has been a wonderful journey. The Beeman P1 is a super fine airgun. I just got it yesterday and put nearly 250 rounds through it before my wife came home from work. My arms are tired and my wife is home today and so I am writing this review.

    Things I would have changed: My chief complaint is that I waited 30 years to get one. I could barely afford the Tempest in 1985 and the price of the P1 was beyond me then, but today, I can chase these things down and get what I want. The joys of finding the P1 to be not only exactly as it is advertised today, but also everything I had thought it would be over the last 30 years is pretty satisfifying. Not much in this world is like that and it pleases the hell out of me that my hobbies can make me smile like this. I wish I had a better idea what pellets (.22 caliber) to use, but I will learn. I have been using 14.3 Crosman domed in the 500 round tins because I needed a place to start. It is great having a gun that has such a potential as this one does.

    What others should know: Waiting 30 years is a mistake. I wish I had gotten this airgun then. It would be broken in by now and I'd be a lot closer to the bullseye with it. I feel great in knowing this gun will go the distance with me like the Tempest has. I feel great in knowing that I will get better shooting it. That my skills will improve. That my skills will be transferable to the Shooting Range. I really love shooting pellets in my basement and this Beeman P1 will get a workout over the rest of my life. I would like to join some sort of e-mail list or club where I can get info on pellets etc., without having to reinvent the wheel or try to figure out what the rest of you already know. Please point me towards an active group of fellows who are shooting these things today.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Prior to purchasing the P1, I read that it was considered the "holy grail" of spring piston pistols. How true!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2015-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: High quality fit and finish. Power. Accuracy. I would recommend it!

    Things I would have changed: Standard target sights are adjustable but it would be nice if the front blade could be more easily differentiated from the rear sight. In all likelihood I'll eventually install a mini red dot.

    What others should know: The adjustable trigger pull is nice. I think trigger dicipline and a steady hand are essential with this pistol if consistant accuracy is your goal. Even more so than with a standard firearm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: IT IS WHAT IT IS! A VERY FINE PISTOL THAT IS A KEEPER! ONE THAT YOU WILL KEEP AND PASS ON! IT IS ACCURATE AND HAS A WONDERFUL SMOOTH TRIGGER RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. IT IS WORTH EVERY BIT OF YOUR BUCKS. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR.....GET ONE! IT IS INDEED WHAT IT IS!!!

    Things I would have changed: PROVIDE A SPECIAL SIZED AND GROOVED WASHER TO REPLACE THE SAFETY LEVER ON THE SIDE NOT USED AS TO ALLOW FOR A BETTER GRIP.

    What others should know: YEAH...GET ONE!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By romulo from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I would say, I like everything about this gun. It is accurate. It is to cock, that was the reason why I chose this gun in the first place. It is built to last. The trigger is superb. The looks like a gun, NOT a toy. All parts are functional, and did darn very good. Overall design, is what German engineering is all about. First, I was looking for a Single-stroke pneumatic. But almost all products are very hard to cock, for an older man like me. Save for one, the Weihrauch HW 75 which is not available yet. Made by the same German manufacturer with the Spring Pistol Beeman P1, (which is by the way, but very easy to cock). I looked around the Spring Pistol category, but as a lefty, the grip panel and spring swivel are mostly designed for right handed. In the end, I settled for Beeman P1. NO regrets though. Just but it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Others complained with the length, but I think there would be a trade off with the power and accuracy if the length is shorter or longer than it is. I think, the designers considered everything before they come up this masterpiece. Besides, it's German engineering, which is arguably the best in the world in this category.

    What others should know: This gun is solid metal, save with pieces of wood on the grip panel. I am not a shooter, but it's very accurate. It is pricey, yes, but it worth every penny. One more thing, PA people, keep up the good work. My business experience with you was very good. I would certainly do more business with you guys. Thanks.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation