Date: 21/10/2017 23:11
0

Beeman P1 Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-05 09:22:26

Things I liked: The P1 is incredibly accurate. It will out-shoot a standard M1911A1 pistol at 50 feet. It has the same grip as the standard 1911A1, and is therefore a wonderful trainer. The gun has 2 power levels in .177, but not in .22. The trigger is adjustable and is light and crisp. The gun is easy to cock for the power it delivers. The build quality is excellent, but don't start taking it apart unless you know how to work on an aluminum-framed gun. It's easy to make the pin holes too large if you use the wrong drifting technique.

Things I would have changed: The adjustable sights are excellent, but the 11mm optical sight rail could be cut deeper. It doesn't grab onto dot sight bases well. Also, there needs to be a positive scope stop built into the top rail, as the front sight gets peened by serving as an ad hoc stop.

What others should know: Don't use the lower power setting. Just shoot on high power or your gun will start dieseling. The velocity with RWS Hobby pellets is more in the 550-560 f.p.s. range. 600 f.p.s. is out of reach for anything except trick pellets like Raptors, and they're inaccurate.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Joel from USA on 2007-09-16 16:02:40

Things I liked: I like the HW45 better than this... and it was cheaper than the Beeman.

Things I would have changed: Sights are terrible, almost no range of adjustability. The recoil is pretty strong, but it IS a springer, so you should expect that. Beeman should not be allowed to ruin nice airguns the way they do, just to turn a quick buck.

What others should know: This is a cheap copy of the HW45, and for some reason, costs MORE than the gun it is poorly imitating (??) Neither is a tack-driver, the accuracy of a spring-piston powered pistol (with no dampening engineering) is never going to compete with that of a pneumatic or a CO2 match pistol. This is meant to be a fun plinker, and it is, but the HW is the REAL deal, and it is - what? - like $100 cheaper?

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mike from USA on 2017-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The fit and finish are heirloom quality!! Awesome shooter, smooth cocking and easy to load! AWESOME GUN!!!

    Things I would have changed: I typically target shoot on low power..1/2 stroke..and it's very accurate now at this setting. When you go to full power..full stroke of cocking lever...it shoots much lower. Wish there was a mechanism that compensates for this at the 10 yard range without having to readjust the sights. This isn't a complaint as it a wonderful piece...I'll come up with something to aid in this!!

    What others should know: If you want a VER HIGH QUALITY and very accurate gun...then spend the money and buy this heirloom piece! You won't be sorry!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased the .20 caliber P1 to go along with my much older Sheridan Blue Streak rifle which is .20 caliber. Nice feel to the grip and fits my hand nicely.

    Things I would have changed: The front sight is black and lacks contrast with the black rear sight. While it can easily be fixed with a little paint, this is something that Beeman should take care of.

    What others should know: The information that Pyramyd Air has on it says this has two power levels. The owners manual that came with the P1, which is generic for all three caliber P1's and other Beeman products, doesn't address how to achieve the different power levels. Cocking the hammer only releases the pump handle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very solid, well built air pistol with excellent accuracy. I'm sure it will last a long time and get handed down to my grandson.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the .22 version, which I own, actually had two power levels. It does not.

    What others should know: Despite being an excellent air pistol, it really isn't anything like the Colt 1911 pistol. I own and shoot seven 1911 style pistols in three calibers (9mm, .38 Super and 45 ACP). The only thing this pistol shares with a 1911 is the handgrip which closely matches the 1911-A1. It is not a particularly good substitute for practice shooting with a 1911 pistol either. I have an airsoft copy of the 1911 (sold on Pyramid's site) that is much better for that purpose.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Renzo from USA on 2016-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid build, natural, balaced feel. Accuracy, feel, looks, power.

    Things I would have changed: Safety lever is held by an allen screw. One of them (ambidextrous) gets loose every so often.

    What others should know: Owned this one for close to ten years. 1,000 rounds through, superb accuracy. The trigger is fantastic, super crisp. I use a 2X20 magnification scope. Seven grain pellets work good for this .177 caliber airgun in subtropical weather. People in colder climates might benefit from an eight grain pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from Canada on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: the weight of this pistol, how incredibly accurate, and how much it quiets down after 1000 plus shots. The fact that they tell you the break in period. Once it was shot the suggested number of times the groups became so tight i was putting pellet on top of pellet.

    Things I would have changed: Explain that this pistol is not for the beginner. It is everything and more; than what it is advertised as. With that said the gun is extremely sensitive. That is why it is for the accomplished shooter who is looking for something more in a target pistol.

    What others should know: This tool works flawless, its accurate, powerful, and once broke in is surprisingly quit. I have shot 8 different types of pellets of different weights and head configurations. They all shoot very respectfully accurate. Great pistol cant say enough.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought a Beeman Webley Tempest in 1985 for pistol training practice while in College. I remember how much I wanted the Beeman P1 back then. I also recall how much fun I had with the Tempest and how it really helped my shooting. Turning the clock forward to a few years ago, I started to get back into Airguns. The Tempest came back out of hibernation and I found it was still as fun to shoot today as it was back then. I decided it was about time I got the Beeman P1 and was very pleased it has stood the test of time and is still available today. There is nothing like rekindling the fires of youth like chasing down the coveted things of yesterday and finding them. This has been a wonderful journey. The Beeman P1 is a super fine airgun. I just got it yesterday and put nearly 250 rounds through it before my wife came home from work. My arms are tired and my wife is home today and so I am writing this review.

    Things I would have changed: My chief complaint is that I waited 30 years to get one. I could barely afford the Tempest in 1985 and the price of the P1 was beyond me then, but today, I can chase these things down and get what I want. The joys of finding the P1 to be not only exactly as it is advertised today, but also everything I had thought it would be over the last 30 years is pretty satisfifying. Not much in this world is like that and it pleases the hell out of me that my hobbies can make me smile like this. I wish I had a better idea what pellets (.22 caliber) to use, but I will learn. I have been using 14.3 Crosman domed in the 500 round tins because I needed a place to start. It is great having a gun that has such a potential as this one does.

    What others should know: Waiting 30 years is a mistake. I wish I had gotten this airgun then. It would be broken in by now and I'd be a lot closer to the bullseye with it. I feel great in knowing this gun will go the distance with me like the Tempest has. I feel great in knowing that I will get better shooting it. That my skills will improve. That my skills will be transferable to the Shooting Range. I really love shooting pellets in my basement and this Beeman P1 will get a workout over the rest of my life. I would like to join some sort of e-mail list or club where I can get info on pellets etc., without having to reinvent the wheel or try to figure out what the rest of you already know. Please point me towards an active group of fellows who are shooting these things today.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Prior to purchasing the P1, I read that it was considered the "holy grail" of spring piston pistols. How true!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2015-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: High quality fit and finish. Power. Accuracy. I would recommend it!

    Things I would have changed: Standard target sights are adjustable but it would be nice if the front blade could be more easily differentiated from the rear sight. In all likelihood I'll eventually install a mini red dot.

    What others should know: The adjustable trigger pull is nice. I think trigger dicipline and a steady hand are essential with this pistol if consistant accuracy is your goal. Even more so than with a standard firearm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: IT IS WHAT IT IS! A VERY FINE PISTOL THAT IS A KEEPER! ONE THAT YOU WILL KEEP AND PASS ON! IT IS ACCURATE AND HAS A WONDERFUL SMOOTH TRIGGER RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. IT IS WORTH EVERY BIT OF YOUR BUCKS. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR.....GET ONE! IT IS INDEED WHAT IT IS!!!

    Things I would have changed: PROVIDE A SPECIAL SIZED AND GROOVED WASHER TO REPLACE THE SAFETY LEVER ON THE SIDE NOT USED AS TO ALLOW FOR A BETTER GRIP.

    What others should know: YEAH...GET ONE!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By romulo from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I would say, I like everything about this gun. It is accurate. It is to cock, that was the reason why I chose this gun in the first place. It is built to last. The trigger is superb. The looks like a gun, NOT a toy. All parts are functional, and did darn very good. Overall design, is what German engineering is all about. First, I was looking for a Single-stroke pneumatic. But almost all products are very hard to cock, for an older man like me. Save for one, the Weihrauch HW 75 which is not available yet. Made by the same German manufacturer with the Spring Pistol Beeman P1, (which is by the way, but very easy to cock). I looked around the Spring Pistol category, but as a lefty, the grip panel and spring swivel are mostly designed for right handed. In the end, I settled for Beeman P1. NO regrets though. Just but it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Others complained with the length, but I think there would be a trade off with the power and accuracy if the length is shorter or longer than it is. I think, the designers considered everything before they come up this masterpiece. Besides, it's German engineering, which is arguably the best in the world in this category.

    What others should know: This gun is solid metal, save with pieces of wood on the grip panel. I am not a shooter, but it's very accurate. It is pricey, yes, but it worth every penny. One more thing, PA people, keep up the good work. My business experience with you was very good. I would certainly do more business with you guys. Thanks.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Has a nice, solid balance in hand, along with being a superb shooter. Out of the box the trigger is about as good as you'll find, and a relaxed grip offers excellent accuracy. I'm very pleased with this fine pistol.

    What others should know: For those who plan to mount a scope, I would suggest a BKL one-piece mount. This is because the dovetails are wider than normal, and since BKL mounts are self-centering, the scope will be on center. With normal dovetail mounts the scope will be slightly off center. Expect some smoke from dieseling when new. My cellar smells like an old flathead Ford that needs a ring job.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The weight is nice. It has a great feel to it. I can shoot it all day without getting tired since the cocking effort isn't bad. I like the power and the realism. It has a little kick back which I like.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: it is costly, but you know the pistol will always work and with a little upkeep the gun will last forever.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2015-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy! Accuracy! Accuracy! This thing is crazy accurate. Nice looking also. The grip angle is same as .45 auto, so it is good to practice indoors for my .45. The trigger is wonderful and can be adjusted to suit your preferences. This gun will shoot 1 hole 10 meter groups rested all day long, both 5 and 10 shots. Ten shot group is just a tad larger than 5 shot, but all are <.25" ctc, some <.15" ctc! I have had several 5 shot groups measure .04" ctc! Most 5 shot groups are <.15" ctc and many <.10" ctc! I shoot with a very fine dot red dot sight on the gun! Works great!

    Things I would have changed: Not much. This is a quality gun. Would be nice to lower the price $100. But if they did that, would quality suffer? I mean you can buy nice real firearms for less than this costs!

    What others should know: I owned a .177 P1 years ago, but alas it was stolen from me! About 25 years later bought one off classifieds arrived in parts and needed tlc. It is a .20 caliber. It had a broken main spring and came with 2 new ones, one factory, and the other a Jim Maccari. I tried both. The Maccari was smoother shooting, the factor spring gave higher velocity, so I settled on the factory spring. Once repairs were made and some touch up paint used, it looks and performs great! I got this gun with a little horse trading for $200, and beside the spring, had to replace the compression ram seal. But now it is great and I have the true bargain P1. Love these guns and was glad I was able to reacquire one for way less than retail! Even at retail it provides a great shooting experience and will last a lifetime.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2014-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This pellet pistol is the best one I have ever handled. Excellent quality. Absolutely beautiful and accurate. Workmanship is superb.

    Things I would have changed: Not one thing would I change.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Longship from USA on 2014-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality of construction, solid build. Great for indoor shooting. I have put about 500-1000 pellets thru the pistol, and have found it is generally tolerant of pellet type. Cocking effort is very manageable for me. Very consistent. Only shooting for fun, plinking cans and targets at short range to improve my target hold and trigger feel. Occasionally I sit down to shoot a target set, and did a 20 shot group a few days ago...short range ~17 feet, but managed all 20 into about an inch, zero fliers, and with just the iron sights can barely make out that I am on the same exact target so I'm happy with that.

    Things I would have changed: narrower front blade sight and appropriate rear sight. if it could be an air/inert gas piston, I'd pay a premium for that. maybe a higher power option (build more muscles) **for me when the safety is in fire position, it disrupts or annoys my trigger finger.

    What others should know: Interestingly, since it comes with two power "settings" you would expect the poi to change. However, the poi for the lower power is higher than the poi for the higher power. I have the .177 and at the low power setting, it fires about 2" higher than the high power setting, same target point, ~17 feet target range. this is not an issue, but makes it necessary to stick to one power setting while shooting or making a significant adjustment in target point when switching.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2014-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Adjustable sights that do not move, repeatable accuracy in .20 caliber with Beeman match 10.03 pellets, unique action.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe include a set of rubber grips?

    What others should know: I own a nitro piston .177 and can barely hit anything at all and it is inconsistent and gets tiring to shoot. I have had this .20 for only 3 hrs and have hit a Nos energy can at 15 yards when sighted in twice. German Beeman products are excellent in looks, accuracy and durability and if you can afford it buy the P1 .20!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2014-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made all metal construction, Grips will interchange with a real 1911, Two power levels is a nice feature, Tight grouping at 75 feet

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of any. Sorry

    What others should know: You won't be disappointed!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rob from USA on 2013-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: accurate...well built...quality

    Things I would have changed: Method of loading pellet...akward to load upside down

    What others should know: I would highly recommend !!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2013-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: There are so many things I like about my P1...where do I start? The build quality is almost unbelievable especially in this day & age...this is an heirloom quality pistol. All metal & wood & with extra quality touches like a finely blued compression tube & cocking links, sharply checkered walnut grips(mine came with tiger striping), no casting seams anywhere on the pistol frame(not even on the hammer) etc. etc. Besides the aesthetic charm of this pistol you also get an HW barrel & trigger that have to be considered among the best you will find on any production sporter class gun. I could go on & on.... Even under close scrutiny I can't find any faults with this pistols build quality & materials. My P1 truly exceeded my expectations...even for the price.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the white lettered "Warning read the owners manual..." disclaimer on the right side of the pistol frame...other than that I wouldn't change a thing.

    What others should know: Before I ordered my P1 I already had a set of aftermarket finger grooved walnut combat grips picked out to replace the factory grip panels with. Now, after seeing the factory grips that came on my P1 in person, I won't be ordering the aftermarket grips. The factory walnut grip panels that came on my P1 have a beautiful grain, are tiger striped & have some of the finest checkering I've ever seen... That scenario about the grip panels actually sums up my expectations & experience with my P1 in general. It simply exceeded my expectations in every way. Do you like premium high quality wood & metal guns? Do you like fine triggers & precision barrels? Been looking for a powerful springer pistol? Do yourself a favor & don't deprive yourself of this one...yep it is that good!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2013-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy the trigger the ease of use the sites the weight. Everything about this gun is great. The German build quality is fantastic.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It might seam a little pricy but its well worth it.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation