Date: 13/12/2018 7:7
0

Beeman QB Chief. 1317. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (20 reviews)
3 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Nick from USA on 2017-06-17 09:06:30

Things I liked: Wow talk about being impressed. Great looking air rifle. The wooden stock was awesome and the metal construction was solid. Very powerful and a solid performer. A great buy especially with the combo Benjamin Pump..This is my first PCP and glad i chose this model.

Things I would have changed: I would specify in the description, that use of the hand pump can be strenuous for people over 50. This air rifle can be pressurized to 2000psi . it takes about 100 strokes on the Benjamin pump to achieve this psi. There is an excellent video on YOUTUBE about proper use of the pump and all buyers should review this video. Also the gun must be cocked before filling.Once you do, filling the rifle is much easier..I would also recommend adding a noise reduction shroud as an option.

What others should know: i fired several rounds without adjusting the sights that are provided with this gun. They were well grouped and extremely accurate. The gun when fired indoors is loud and my break barrel of the same caliber makes about the same level of noise. The Chiefs is just more high pitched. A noise reduction shroud would be nice if you intend to shoot indoors or in backyard.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By DOUG from USA on 2018-01-21 19:58:56

Things I liked: Well constructed and solid rifle! Good fit+finish on stock and metal for this price point. The trigger is way above guns that cost much more and very adjustable.

Things I would have changed: More quality control before leaving assembly facility!!! Received rifle and upon inspection found that rifling had been damaged 1/2" down barrel muzzle crown, by what I assume was from the indexed crown cutting tool!!! Customer service at Beeman could be improved immensely! Called explained issue to Peter on 1/11/18, who said he would send out a barrel to me and nothing so far! Granted they had a shot show coming up, but don't make promises if you cannot follow through!!! It's possible that a barrel is/was not readily available but when I called to find out, either no answer or the one time I talked to Pam, she said she would get back to me and nothing.

What others should know: If this issue gets resolved soon I would change my ratings to at least 3's but probably 4's! Hard to tell, as rifling damaged at crown is not worth time spent to sight in! This in no way reflects on Pyramyd Air as I think it was shipped directly from mfg. Will change review if someone from Beeman let's me know what's happening. All I want is to be able to shoot my new rifle sooner than later! Doug T.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2018-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this rifle,its my baby.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy it!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zachary from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air rifle is well balanced and accurate right out of the box what more can u ask for.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art B from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For an entry level rifle, the quality is awesome. Very accurate with the Crossman 14.3 grain pellets. It is louder than most, but it feels like you are actually shooting something. Using the Hill hand pump for fast fill ups.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If your looking for an entry PCP Rifle with a little extra pop too it, I would pick one up here at Pyramyd Air! Rings and a scope will put the finishing touch on this good looking Rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2018-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is strong. For 159.00 I was not expecting its power. I wanted a cheap plinker that was easy on air and had shot count. I got what I wanted and some power. I zeroed the iron sights at roughly 25yd. It was sending the 14.3gn crossman premier HP on top of each other. The trigger isn't even that bad but I will adjust out some creep and lower pull weight. Things I like... THIS GUN. I did opt for the 10 for 10 service on this gun just like I did on my .25 Marauder that is still untouched and unserviced since purchase in 2012. It does not leak either. Pyramyd Air really goes over the gun and makes sure you are getting a good one. That service is worth the coin.

    Things I would have changed: Not much to complain about for the price point its a good FUN gun. Its not my .25 FX Impact or my .25 Marauder. It delivers at its price point.

    What others should know: My bolt is rough and the pellet probe tilts the pellet forward when closing the bolt. It doesn't seem to affect accuracy much if any. This is the gun that gets you hooked. Buy one come shoot with us.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2018-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful stock very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice looking. Extremely accurate. A lot of shots with one full.

    Things I would have changed: Add a shroud to quiet down a little.

    What others should know: This rifle is a great value. For what you pay you get a lot. Gret accuracy, easy to fill, and good small game hunting power.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2018-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fun rifle, super easy to fill with hand pump (I also purchased the G7S), and super accurate. This is my first PCP, so I have nothing else to compare it to PCP wise, but fresh out of the box, scoped and full of air, I was shooting sub 1/2" groups at 25 yards from the bench. The hardwood stock is beautiful and once adjusted the trigger pull is outstanding. The rifle is a little on the heavy side, personally I think it adds to the stability of the platform though. A lot more than I expected from a sub $200 air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I really have no complaints about the functionality of the rifle itself. Not a fan of "Beeman" emblazoned on the stock, it seems cheaply done and takes away from the beauty of the wood. To me it seems like an afterthought, and a not very well thought out one.

    What others should know: Great little inexpensive rifle for those getting into PCPs or to add to your collection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lebron from USA on 2018-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I know this is irrelevant to all you youngsters , but I love how much it reminds me of the crosman 140 that I grew up with back in the 60's. The trigger group is almost a exact copy of the 140...

    Things I would have changed: It's my first PCP , and old dogs are slow learning new tricks, but Im beginning to love this rifle. It leaks a little , but that's not a deal breaker.

    What others should know: Quality is very good considering it's origin. Accuracy is a good as it gets...a 1 inch group at 50 yards is possible if you bench it....also , I just had to customize mine by buffing the satin finish with "flitz" until I had a glossy airrifle...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By rex from USA on 2018-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is everything I had hoped for and more. The Q.B. Chief was more accurate right out of the box. I have been shooting Croman Premier 14.3 grain hollow points and the rifle seems to li them. I was a little nervous about the trigger but what a pleasure it is. Light and smooth and loves a a steady touch. The fit and finish are way above expected. This is a rifle to be proud of.

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Albert from USA on 2018-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The value for the price and accuracy are unmatched! Just make sure to pay the ten for ten to make sure there are no leaks or other issues!!

    Things I would have changed: Better QC on leaks!

    What others should know: Very accurate for the price!

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By DOUG from USA on 2018-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well constructed and solid rifle! Good fit+finish on stock and metal for this price point. The trigger is way above guns that cost much more and very adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: More quality control before leaving assembly facility!!! Received rifle and upon inspection found that rifling had been damaged 1/2" down barrel muzzle crown, by what I assume was from the indexed crown cutting tool!!! Customer service at Beeman could be improved immensely! Called explained issue to Peter on 1/11/18, who said he would send out a barrel to me and nothing so far! Granted they had a shot show coming up, but don't make promises if you cannot follow through!!! It's possible that a barrel is/was not readily available but when I called to find out, either no answer or the one time I talked to Pam, she said she would get back to me and nothing.

    What others should know: If this issue gets resolved soon I would change my ratings to at least 3's but probably 4's! Hard to tell, as rifling damaged at crown is not worth time spent to sight in! This in no way reflects on Pyramyd Air as I think it was shipped directly from mfg. Will change review if someone from Beeman let's me know what's happening. All I want is to be able to shoot my new rifle sooner than later! Doug T.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Build Quality...Accuracy...Easy to fill with hand pump...

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing at this price! Maybe raise the price!

    What others should know: It is a bit loud

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marvin from USA on 2017-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I gave it a 5 star over all because it is a entry level PCP and I knew what to expect . I have had PCP for 13 years . It has a dark rust free blue on the metal and the wood coloring was good as well. Much better than my Discovery . Accuracy is good as well as energy for a .177 at 975 fps with a 9.8 grain pellet . Trigger was easy to adjust from 3.6 pounds to 2 pounds .

    Things I would have changed: Should be tuned with a bell curve out of the box . 2000 PSI fill first shoot 975 fps and then down from there . Shoot 20 800 fps .

    What others should know: This is a entry level PCP and all of them will have bolt jump and breech seal leakage . No matter what make it is .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By FPGT72 from USA on 2017-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price, feels like a "real" rifle, fit and finish, the stock is VERY nice, shoulders well...sounds like you are shooting a GUN. Shot count is really amazing. I would say from 2000-1000 I am getting about 20-ish shots. I have let it get down to around 800lbs, and I am still getting good numbers over the chrony...not sure when it will really fall off the cliff, but the shot count is sure nice.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is pretty horrid, I only have about 200 shots through it so far (review written 10-20-17 rifle arrived 10-19-17) and it is getting better, but I think it will need some help. Hopefully some QB options will work on this guy. Cocking effort is all over the place, sometimes very hard...too hard other times it is like my well broken in QB...I think this will get better as more rounds go down range. It is loud...this thing is not back yard friendly....that means nothing to me I shoot center fire in my back yard, but for someone in town looking to be quiet...this is not it.

    What others should know: So far I am really liking this rifle...I really have just been burning pellets to get it calmed down. Shots over the chrony have calmed down in just 200 rounds....I will likely put another 100 or so through it before starting to work on it and finding a pellet it likes. I gave it 4 stars on the accuracy because I am so early in...I have only been running some real junk pellets in it for the most part, but at the end of the evening last night I did do 4 - 5shot groups using different pellets....I think this is going to be a shooter, I had put up the chronograph by now and out of each I got a pretty bad flyer....but the groups looked like they had promise. I will update this as time goes on.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John C from USA on 2017-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The overall feel of the gun is a solid, it feels like a rifle, not a cheap toy. The open sites were very nice, I removed mine, very easy to see with, but I wanted a scope. Simple to take off, front and rear were both attached with threaded screws/bolts. Large easy to grab bolt handle. I'm at 5'9", this gun shoulders perfectly for me. Rubber stock pad, not some "rest on it" and it'll fall over slick plastic pad. Comes with a degassing tool. The Chief is a perfect fit for my UTG 4-16x50 scope with 2 piece high dove tail rings.

    Things I would have changed: Improve the wood finish. Had to think hard about not giving a five star rating, I really like this rifle. If I could, it would be 4.9 stars. Out of the box, I could only find two small flaws. A tiny scratch/tool mark on the top of the barrel band. A tiny spot of stain missing just inside the stock's screw mounting hole. That was me being picky trying to find any problems to note out of the box. Now, having the rifle for a month, it is very easy to scratch the stocks finish. Added sling mounts, before marking and drilling, I applied low tack painters tape to the stock. The tape took of some of the finish when I removed it. This is the only reason why I'm giving it 4 stars. The bluing has rubbed thin as well while handling the barrel. Refinish will be in its future, but I am having way to much fun shooting it to even bother. It'll get used and scratched allot more before I even think about redoing the finishes.

    What others should know: It's loud! I was a bit surprised at the bark. I would put it under my .22 rim fire rifle, maybe about or slightly more than the volume of a .22 short. The action was gritty, everything needed a good cleaning. The safety feels chunky to me. Tip, If you're taking the stock off, put it to "safe' to tap the safety out of the trigger housing. Check all of the screws out of the box. If you tear down the gun, expect to replace one or two of the three o-rings on the barrel. Burs are plenty on my rifles internals, these took a few nicks out of one of my barrel o rings. Time spent de-burring various parts netted a far better feel to me. 16g Polymags are grouping at less than an inch at 40 yards. Pill bottles are no match for this rifle. 18.3 JSB's are also shooting great, but I feel the Polymag is better fit. I usually hunt Red fox squirrels between 25-30 yards. This gun had me take my first four at 35-45 yards with ease.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gary from USA on 2017-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a nice rifle for the money! I took it straight out of the box no bore cleaning nothing I went outside with a plethora of pellets and got to work. I started by zeroing the scope a centerpoint I got for it from here for 59.95 it is a good scope. then I started shooting 7.0 grain JSB match target pellets JSB sport, JSB heavy, and RWS meisterkugeln they shot of but groups were not real great. I thought well lets see if it likes heavy pellets so I went to JSB exact beast diablo 16.20 gr it did better with these. next up was RWS SUPERMAG FIELD LINE 9.3GR THIS WAS THE TICKET!!!!. I shot a 10 shot group at 20yrds under a dime actuall 0.517". with the trigger on this that is awesome the trigger is eehh. It was now time for the chrony. unfortunately I waited too long in the evening I started with the JSB exact beast diablo I got .663 .663 .666 .671 then I lost light, and my chrony couldn't read anymore.

    Things I would have changed: If you have watched any youtube reviews and read the comments I think its airgun web tv with rick, you see a lot of people talking about the bolt popping up when firing, this is true and happens to mine, the fix would be a thicker o-ring at the front of the bolt I believe the bolt is sloppy, but as rick stated in the comments it does not affect accuracy as you can see by my 0.517" group. The trigger creeps and is a little crunchy it is hard to tell when it is going to break ive put about 150 shots through it and am kinda getting use to it but I don't like it. I have not tried to adjust it yet. I noticed at first pulling the bolt back was crunchy and hard to get the sear to latch this improved with use.

    What others should know: This is a nice gun for $180 and a pcp to boot it needs a few refinements, someone handy can make this a great rifle. The rifle does not like starting out at 2000 psi chrony numbers increased with each shot to 1800 psi so that is were I started filling it to. I am using nitrogen and a 74 cu ft air venture carbon fiber tank, so I don't know how long to hand pump I have one but don't like to use it lol. This gun shoots great accuracy wise straight out of the box, it needs a little break in time, and a few little tweaks, bigger o ring on bolt, and trigger work or adjustment it does not really feel 2 stage it creeps back and then just fires. I say buy it for the money you can not go wrong even if left as is. It also has a very nice stock the raised cheek is nice, and the truglo sights are nice even though I did not use them you can and I'm sure they would work great. Some people have said the barrel band was loose on theirs mine is not it is fine. Start with RWS supermag field line 9.3 gr

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nick from USA on 2017-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.54 ratings

    Things I liked: Wow talk about being impressed. Great looking air rifle. The wooden stock was awesome and the metal construction was solid. Very powerful and a solid performer. A great buy especially with the combo Benjamin Pump..This is my first PCP and glad i chose this model.

    Things I would have changed: I would specify in the description, that use of the hand pump can be strenuous for people over 50. This air rifle can be pressurized to 2000psi . it takes about 100 strokes on the Benjamin pump to achieve this psi. There is an excellent video on YOUTUBE about proper use of the pump and all buyers should review this video. Also the gun must be cocked before filling.Once you do, filling the rifle is much easier..I would also recommend adding a noise reduction shroud as an option.

    What others should know: i fired several rounds without adjusting the sights that are provided with this gun. They were well grouped and extremely accurate. The gun when fired indoors is loud and my break barrel of the same caliber makes about the same level of noise. The Chiefs is just more high pitched. A noise reduction shroud would be nice if you intend to shoot indoors or in backyard.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2017-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.264 ratings

    Things I liked: My first impression was WOW. Felt like a solid gun. Looks great as well. I am of an age where iron sights do me very little good so before my first shot, I put a scope on the air rifle. That is when I found my first issue with the gun. The strap that in on the front of the gun that holds the barrel to air chamber is NOT secured. It can rotate. I tried to tighten the screw but it was already tight. If this part is not stable, and the barrel moves, it is going to move my point of impact every time it shifts. I will not get to shoot the gun for a couple more days but I will be carrying a bottle of super glue with me to get this close to sighted then glue the pieces together.

    Things I would have changed: Have a more secure clamping system between the air chamber and barrel.

    What others should know: Ill update this after I get to shoot the gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kris from USA on 2017-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Didn't expect this for sub $200. Very nice stock. Fills from 1200 to 2000psi easily with hand pump (25 pumps or so). Has a good sturdy feel. I have only had this 2 days & it has impressed. I Didn't have same luck as Rick with 15.89 JSB. They grouped ok at 25yds but not so well at 40yds. The 18.13 Jombo exact however are tack drivers in mine so far tested out to 50yds quater size. They are sinking well over halfway through 3/4 plywood. At 50yrds. I cant wait to dial this in. Will repost in a month or so with pics. So far very happy. Thanks Rick, n thanks PA

    Things I would have changed: So far the only real problem has been pellet loading. Its a PITA to get pellets in breach with scope attached. Have UTG 3X12X44 with high rings. Hopefully i will get better with this over time.

    What others should know: My trigger is set to sponge, factory. I see description says 2 stage adjustable but the adjustments are internal. Haven't got that far yet. The bolt feels to loose and pops up after each shot. Sure this can be fixed. Gun was fairly clean inside n out, 6 patches was all it took. High rings on 3X12X44, 30mm just clear sights, but cant pull scope all the way back or it hits. Overall seriously value for money in my opinion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Garold from USA on 2017-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun not expecting much for the price. Got the gun. Open the gun. I can not believe what I got. It is unreal. All i can say is buy one.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. O yes. if i were pyramid air i would raise the price!!!

    What others should know: Wonderful. Thanks pyramid air.

Navigation