Date: 16/10/2018 11:29
0

Beeman R7 Elite Series Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (21 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Matt Barger from USA on 2008-10-23 14:09:00

Things I liked: Trigger, compact size, weight and feel, scope, easy cocking, very accurate, bluing, stalk, every thing on this air rifle is awesome.

Things I would have changed: The scope is mounted as close as possible to the rifle at the base and just behind the insert that covers the space where the open site would normally be. So close in fact that there is not enough room to put the dust cover on the scope at the objective lens. This is of no concern though, the plastic is very thin on the cover so I simply cut a grove about 1/3 in. wide and 3/4 in. long on the bottom of the front dust cover and now it works perfect, a very easy fix and in no way effects the operation and performance of the dust cover and what its function is. As a matter of fact I prefer the scope line of site to be as close as possible to the plane of the barrel with out touching. It would have been nice if this cut was made from the factory however some smaller shooters may want to move the scope back a little for eye relief and would not need to slot the cover. This is a very minor concern though and does not detract from the performance of the rifle what so ever.

What others should know: I used to shot on my ROTC target team in high school, 4 position match so I wanted accuracy over power. This air rifle offers target grade accuracy out of the box. I use Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed and it WILL shot one hole in to the last at 10 meters if I do my part. Also its easy to cock, not quite as hold sensitive as a magnum and smaller size make it easy to manage even for youth or those smaller in stature yet at 6 feet tall and 250lbs. I do not feel restricted in any way. Every one that has shoot this rifle falls in love with its characteristics. My dad who is an 85 year old ex WW2 vet had no problem cocking and shooting this air rifle. He used to shoot target on our local NRA team so appreciated the trigger and accuracy this rifle offered. I had some trouble getting it back from him! With the right pellet this rifle would probably work for small vermin up to 20 to 30 yards all though I will probably use it only for target practice. The scope is also very nice and suits the rifle well offering clear optics and plenty of eye relief. The trigger is extremely smooth, what they say about the Record is true and feels as good as or better than my old 22 target rifle, fully adjustable in 1st and second stage, length and weight with no creep. It was perfect out of the box and I had no need to change a thing. If target grade specs are your game with easy manageability, this is the rifle for you. If you want to dispatch vermin I would look for some thing with a little more power. My buddy shoots an RWS 48, for about the same price as this unit you could out fit the 48 with a scope and have plenty of power for vermin. Its larger and heavier, more hold sensitive and harder cocking means its not quite as easy to manage but its very accurate and has plenty of power for vermin. Over all I believe this is probably the best target grade air rifle on the market for less than $600 dollars, being a close second to the Air Arms TX200 MkIII that is probably the best springer ever made.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By PiperFlyer from USA on 2018-08-18 12:32:07

Things I liked: I had serious accuracy issues with this Beeman R7. The problem I was experiencing was inconsistent pellet speeds that caused scattered patterns or vertical shot strings up to 4-inches! For two weeks, and over 500 shots, I waited for the R7 to break in and start shooting right! At the height of my frustration, I considered sending the rifle back within the 30-day window. Instead, I submitted a ticket and STACEY H replied, It sounds like the issue would be with the lock up mechanism.  Are you placing the rifle on a rest when shooting? Could it be possible that sometimes you place it a little more firmly and maybe the barrel is starting to break back open, causing the loud shot and air escaping before the pellet?” I thought, “There is no way that is the problem!” So, I went home and tried shooting while “gently” laying the R7 onto the bean bag and immediately started shooting acceptable groups at 25-yards. Since then, I have shot another 300 rounds and the R7 keeps grouping well.

Things I would have changed: Out of the box, nothing if you want to keep a classic a classic. But for those that want to modernize it, in addition to Vortek kits, I would like to see a gas piston aftermarket upgrade. I think it would make this great little gun even smoother and more consistent. Even using the hold technique and proven pellets, the decades old spring design is a little inconsistent in temperature changes and as the pellet count increases in a shooting session; more on that below. The Mantis 3-9x40 Scope is fantastic but overkill for this little springer. I am considering swapping it with a 3-9x32 on one of my more powerful air rifles. It is so big that it makes the rifle a little top heavy meaning that a shooter needs to be aware of rotational torque as the rifle completes its firing cycle. Also, I removed the iron sights as they made cocking a little painful and they were just in the way when using the scoped. I wish they offered a muzzle break version with the scope kit.

What others should know: If I shoot 20-30 shots in rapid succession it seems like the tube, piston, spring and seal start to heat up and cause minor inaccuracy issues. It feels like to me that if I shoot 10-shots then let the gun rest for a moment, I can keep my run of sub 1 groups going without an odd flyer. I found that my R7 does not like,JSB Match Diabolo Exacts 8.44g! It does like RWS Hobby and Meisterkugeln a lot! Second it likes H&N Sport and Field Target Trophy. I picked the Beeman R7 due to the checkered stock and Im glad that I did. I really like the additional grip when standing and shooting off-hand and adds grip to the small stock. If I had to do it over again, I would have had Pyramyd Air install the Vortek kit, not for additional power but for better power regulation due to better spring consistency. I will install one myself but for the same amount of money, they would have done it for me before shipping.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By PiperFlyer from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I had serious accuracy issues with this Beeman R7. The problem I was experiencing was inconsistent pellet speeds that caused scattered patterns or vertical shot strings up to 4-inches! For two weeks, and over 500 shots, I waited for the R7 to break in and start shooting right! At the height of my frustration, I considered sending the rifle back within the 30-day window. Instead, I submitted a ticket and STACEY H replied, It sounds like the issue would be with the lock up mechanism.  Are you placing the rifle on a rest when shooting? Could it be possible that sometimes you place it a little more firmly and maybe the barrel is starting to break back open, causing the loud shot and air escaping before the pellet?” I thought, “There is no way that is the problem!” So, I went home and tried shooting while “gently” laying the R7 onto the bean bag and immediately started shooting acceptable groups at 25-yards. Since then, I have shot another 300 rounds and the R7 keeps grouping well.

    Things I would have changed: Out of the box, nothing if you want to keep a classic a classic. But for those that want to modernize it, in addition to Vortek kits, I would like to see a gas piston aftermarket upgrade. I think it would make this great little gun even smoother and more consistent. Even using the hold technique and proven pellets, the decades old spring design is a little inconsistent in temperature changes and as the pellet count increases in a shooting session; more on that below. The Mantis 3-9x40 Scope is fantastic but overkill for this little springer. I am considering swapping it with a 3-9x32 on one of my more powerful air rifles. It is so big that it makes the rifle a little top heavy meaning that a shooter needs to be aware of rotational torque as the rifle completes its firing cycle. Also, I removed the iron sights as they made cocking a little painful and they were just in the way when using the scoped. I wish they offered a muzzle break version with the scope kit.

    What others should know: If I shoot 20-30 shots in rapid succession it seems like the tube, piston, spring and seal start to heat up and cause minor inaccuracy issues. It feels like to me that if I shoot 10-shots then let the gun rest for a moment, I can keep my run of sub 1 groups going without an odd flyer. I found that my R7 does not like,JSB Match Diabolo Exacts 8.44g! It does like RWS Hobby and Meisterkugeln a lot! Second it likes H&N Sport and Field Target Trophy. I picked the Beeman R7 due to the checkered stock and Im glad that I did. I really like the additional grip when standing and shooting off-hand and adds grip to the small stock. If I had to do it over again, I would have had Pyramyd Air install the Vortek kit, not for additional power but for better power regulation due to better spring consistency. I will install one myself but for the same amount of money, they would have done it for me before shipping.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By plp on 2018-08-17
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Walked into a gun store back in the early 1980's looking for a cheap bb gun and after an hour of persuasion walked out with a R7. The salesmen swore I'd use my R7 more than any other gun I own and 30+ years later he was right. I'm suburban with neighbors on both sides but we all back up to high power line fields so we get lots of unwanted chucks, squirrels, possum, deer, etc. No one has ever heard me shoot my R7 from my back windows/porch. Easy to cock, very accurate, great trigger. My eyes are getting worse so I just bought an unmagnified Red Dot scope (FieldSport RD-D002RG-DOVE) and it's heaven. Great air gun, great scope. So 30+ years with this R7 and I'm real glad I got talked into it. I don't see how I could have made a better choice.

    Things I would have changed: This is a great selection in and of itself but really shines in you're in a suburban setting where you don't want to be seen or heard. Nothing needs to be changed on this air rifle.

    What others should know: Been using 5g pellets and they work ok. I'm going to try a little heavier next. The scope I mentioned is only $24 so that might be a cheap option for your first scope. The R7 is not the fastest, lightest, meanest looking air rifle out there but you might not be able so find one which is more fun to shoot. I've never had to replace anything on this air rifle and the spring seems to have as much kick as the day I bougtht. If I was just starting out today with air rifles I'd put this at the top of the list but I'd also check out some of the NP2 air rifles. Never shot one but the NP2 technology seems like a better design than a spring?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2018-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like everything about my Beeman R7! It is lightweight, compact, balanced and fun and easy to shoot! It is very accurate with most high quality pellets. It has a light cocking pressure and therefore invites long shooting sessions. It won't wear you out cocking it! It is very well made and exudes quality with great wood and good bluing. So totally happy I bought it and would buy it again in a minute!

    Things I would have changed: absolutely nothing

    What others should know: This is an absolutely great first air rifle for all ages!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By doug from USA on 2016-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything! Great little rifle. Bought two for my kids and I can't stop shooting them. Light, accurate and easy to shoot. Also fairly quiet as we shoot them in the back yard mostly. Might just buy one for myself.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a stock options for longer L.O.P. besides that I would not change a thing.

    What others should know: Out to 30 yards these are more than accurate enough. And for the money the scope is a great deal.Offhand at 20 yards I can hold 1.5 inch groups.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James L from USA on 2016-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything but scope. Nice light comfortable rifle. Really nice wood and bluing. Great trigger and shoots everything I've put in it so far. Still breaking in nicely. This is an all day shooter.

    Things I would have changed: A better scope would be nice. I don't believe a 4x12 is needed with a rifle of this limited power.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is what I've been looking for, a perfect back yard target rifle. Not too powerful for my spinners not too loud and very accurate. And the feel of true quality in the hands.

    Things I would have changed: To my novice sensibilities it's perfect. Not a thing.

    What others should know: Nope

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rodger from USA on 2015-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I ordered this gun after sending back a Hatsan 95 vortex. The gun just didn't have the accuracy I was looking for. P.A. customer service was great. After looking at many guns and reviews I decided on the R7. I absolutely love this gun. I'm 62 and I wanted something easy to cock and shoot. I can punch holes in paper and shoot spinners all day. After only about 300 rounds I can consistently shoot 5 shot groups at 10 meters you can cover with a dime. I know this gun does not have the power of a lot of guns but it is perfect for me. The fit and finish of the gun is beautiful and the Bushnell scope is fine for my use. I know this is not a hunting rifle but I have already eliminated several nuisance birds and a gopher,all between 15 and 20 yards. I don't think it would do much beyond that but that's O.K. If I seriously want to hunt I'd use my 22 rifle. If you are looking for a fun gun to shoot,that doesn't weigh a ton and most of all is VERY ACCURATE then you won't be disappointed.

    Things I would have changed: I know the price seems high but keep in mind this is a quality Germain made precision air rifle.

    What others should know: For me this gun is the perfect backyard and basement plinker.If hunting is your main focus I'd probably get the R2 or R9 instead.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Oldgringo from USA on 2014-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything! I'm glad I waited for her to become available. I'm impressed with the clarity of the Bushnell Banner scope.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Eight clicks up and eight clicks right and she was dead on right out of the box. Thus far, 7.3 gr. Air Falcon pellets seem to be her favorite and she propels them at 640 fps.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2013-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything. This is my first air rifle, and I'm very happy with it. I usually shoot .22 rimfires, so that’s my point of comparison. Excellent build quality, feels very good in the hands, good weight, excellent trigger, accurate and smooth. Bottom line- high quality rifle for indoor shooting and target practice to 25 yds, maybe a little more.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I’m 6’1” and 200 lbs and it fits me fine. I use it for 25 yd outdoor target shooting and it's pretty near perfect as an indoor shooter due to its low power. At 8.5 meters (around 28 ft), it puts a .177 7g pellet into duct seal just about 1/4 inch, so the pellets are easy to pick right out with tweezers. The Rekord trigger is extremely light- feels like it’s around a pound or even less as it came set up and I haven't felt the need to adjust it one way or the other. The trigger is a little variable in how it feels hitting the second stage- occasionally not noticeable at all and goes right to fire, but most of the time I can feel that very slight stop. Really has me spoiled now. I feel like I need to do trigger jobs on all my rimfires that used to feel pretty good. It does not seem hold-sensitive to me, though I tend to have a light hold to begin with. Not hard to cock but your elbow can get sore after a few hundred shots if you don't rest the butt on your thigh. My wife and an 11-year old boy at the range had some difficulty cocking it, but managed. The Bushnell Banner scope is fine for a low-end scope: clear enough, not finicky about eye placement, and has held zero after thousands of shots (except I had to adjust it slightly after one time when cocking the barrel my hand slipped and it didn’t catch and snapped back into position). The dust cap on mine goes on the objective lens okay but rubs the rail.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas J from USA on 2013-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Clean lines, you can see and feel the quality.

    Things I would have changed: A better scope, an XLT Bushnell would of been tops for this rife. The Banner model supplied is OK

    What others should know: A deadly rife at 100 feet

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2013-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is very accurate. Extremely easy to cock. I can shoot for hours without fatigue. Although this gun is designed as a target air gun only, I was able to easily take down squirrels humanly with headshots inside 30 yards with .177 caliber pellets. The Bushnell Banner scope that comes with the combo is well made and very clear.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it came with open sights.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2013-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made german air rifle that will last a very long time.Do yourself a favor and save money to buy one.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Shoot all day and never tire.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2013-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is an excellent rifle!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2012-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just about everything. I have a large number of air rifles but was looking for the perfect back yard plinker. I researched it for weeks and talked to several Pyramyd technicians. The R7 kept showing up over and over again. When it arrived, I took it out back and shot about 50 through it. Easy to cock, beautify made, and feels great in the hand. I brought it inside to sight it in. I secured it in my Lead Sled gun rest and fired one shot at 10 meters at a competition target, but I couldn't tell where it hit. I thought IU missed it all together! When I went and checked the paper target, the only thing missing was the 4.5mm black dot in the center. Spot on right out of the box. I credit this to Beeman and the folks at Pyramyd Air who ran it through their 10 shot test. Bravo!

    Things I would have changed: Just one thing, and it's not a big deal. If I could redesigned this rifle, I would rather turn the safety off by a forward trigger in front of the main trigger rather than where it is. You get used to it quickly, but you do tend to turn the safety off before you are set with the target sighted.

    What others should know: No. Go buy one. You'll be glad you did.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2012-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a German made precision airgun. Accuracy and workmanship are as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: The Bushnell scope has to be a bottom of the line product. Parallax and focus are VERY finicky closer than 25 yards. This airgun deserves a MUCH better scope.

    What others should know: Accuracy during break-in will vary. Action screws must be tightened regularly while the stock is still drying out. At times I would have to re-torque every 10 shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2011-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Build quality, styling and accuracy are all excellent. This is the perfect backyard plinker and target air gun. It is also very capable as a short distance hunter or pest control gun. Light, not hold sensitive and capable of stacking pellets at 25 yards or less. It is quiet and easy to cock and shoot all day. I've put at least 2,000+ through my .177 and have not touched a thing inside. I bought a gamo whisper for $325 before the R7. IMHO, that was a waste of $$$. The beeman is a much better value.

    Things I would have changed: An option for a larger stock would be nice.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2011-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the air rifle I have been looking for. Extremely well constructed and very easy to cock and load. A great rifle for target practice and plinking.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger from USA on 2011-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love everything about this gun. You know it is quality when you pick it up. I purchased the 177cal for my wife. This gun fits her perfectly. This gun is a smooth shooter and very forgiving. And is extremely accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I have an R9 which is an awesome gun. I was shooting the R7 to help my wife brake it in. I could not put it down. 1/4 inch groups at 20 yards are the norm for this gun. It shots several pellets well. The falcon 177cal 7.33gr the crosman 177cal hollow points the H&N field target trophy 8.64gr. Be ware if you buy one for your wife or kids this gun will hook you very quick.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By donald from USA on 2010-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I own a Beeman R7 and it is a joy. I only bought it because I took a class from Dr. Beeman in college and had some interest in air guns. But knock me down it is a pleasure.Beeman mined the best european air gun technology to put together his line and he did a good job. Well, he was a pretty good professor as well...

    Things I would have changed: nope

    What others should know: This is a great light weight air gun. Today everyone has the 1000 fps plus rifles, but this is just a sweet, sweet easy to grab and shoot weapon. When it places shot after shot on target don't be surprized. And pick a good pellet. I am shooting 0.20 caliber and it seems to prefer domed and pointed pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matt Barger from USA on 2008-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Trigger, compact size, weight and feel, scope, easy cocking, very accurate, bluing, stalk, every thing on this air rifle is awesome.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is mounted as close as possible to the rifle at the base and just behind the insert that covers the space where the open site would normally be. So close in fact that there is not enough room to put the dust cover on the scope at the objective lens. This is of no concern though, the plastic is very thin on the cover so I simply cut a grove about 1/3 in. wide and 3/4 in. long on the bottom of the front dust cover and now it works perfect, a very easy fix and in no way effects the operation and performance of the dust cover and what its function is. As a matter of fact I prefer the scope line of site to be as close as possible to the plane of the barrel with out touching. It would have been nice if this cut was made from the factory however some smaller shooters may want to move the scope back a little for eye relief and would not need to slot the cover. This is a very minor concern though and does not detract from the performance of the rifle what so ever.

    What others should know: I used to shot on my ROTC target team in high school, 4 position match so I wanted accuracy over power. This air rifle offers target grade accuracy out of the box. I use Crosman Premier Light .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Domed and it WILL shot one hole in to the last at 10 meters if I do my part. Also its easy to cock, not quite as hold sensitive as a magnum and smaller size make it easy to manage even for youth or those smaller in stature yet at 6 feet tall and 250lbs. I do not feel restricted in any way. Every one that has shoot this rifle falls in love with its characteristics. My dad who is an 85 year old ex WW2 vet had no problem cocking and shooting this air rifle. He used to shoot target on our local NRA team so appreciated the trigger and accuracy this rifle offered. I had some trouble getting it back from him! With the right pellet this rifle would probably work for small vermin up to 20 to 30 yards all though I will probably use it only for target practice. The scope is also very nice and suits the rifle well offering clear optics and plenty of eye relief. The trigger is extremely smooth, what they say about the Record is true and feels as good as or better than my old 22 target rifle, fully adjustable in 1st and second stage, length and weight with no creep. It was perfect out of the box and I had no need to change a thing. If target grade specs are your game with easy manageability, this is the rifle for you. If you want to dispatch vermin I would look for some thing with a little more power. My buddy shoots an RWS 48, for about the same price as this unit you could out fit the 48 with a scope and have plenty of power for vermin. Its larger and heavier, more hold sensitive and harder cocking means its not quite as easy to manage but its very accurate and has plenty of power for vermin. Over all I believe this is probably the best target grade air rifle on the market for less than $600 dollars, being a close second to the Air Arms TX200 MkIII that is probably the best springer ever made.

  • 12 Next
Navigation