Date: 9/12/2018 22:4
0

Benjamin Fortitude PCP. BPF77S. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.0 (26 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By jerry from USA on 2018-09-30 10:13:34

Things I liked: mine is a .22, very light, well built, very accurate, my at44 is quiet the fortitude is half as loud. it isnt pellet fussy at all im shooting jsb 15.89 low 722 high 729 fps. fpe. 18.56, crosman 14.3 low 742 high 760 fps. fpe. 13.75. 50 yards 10 pellets in half inch group. jsb a little better than crosman. i due pest control for nut farmers so far furthest squirrel down 109 yards yes 109 no bull that took 5 shots to get hit. fine gun. shot count from 2800 to 1500 psi 60 shots per fill nice. i would say its a very good 75 yard gun for pest control.

Things I would have changed: bolt is stiff , but getting a lot better . trigger leaves something to be desired . but can be re worked without any cost mine is great, and i have been spoiled by my at44. turned single stage into two stage.

What others should know: now the bad news it leaked out of box. over night from 2800 to 2500 over and over again , didnt make since still had pressure but no leak past 2500. after 350 pellets approximately, and silicone oil added to fill port 2 times , dont over due oil 4 to 6 drops each time, leak stopped . for 300.00 dollars you cant go wrong.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By John from USA on 2018-09-30 10:42:47

Things I liked: Light weight and power are near spec.

Things I would have changed: Gun #1: SN 818120301, Gun #2: SN 818120344 Severe leaks right out of the box on original and replacement gun. 1st one also had a defective regulator. 2nd one has very hard bolt probe to barrel interference. I'm experienced with Prods, and this probably has a warped breech. The included accuracy card with the first showed a 1/2" group at 10 yards. Testing on my basement range with AA 10.3g confirmed that grouping. I consider that poor accuracy, but a call to Crosman customer service says that is considered passing. Card in second gun shows a 0.475" vertical string. Returning gun for a third try.

What others should know: Wait until crosman cleans up their act on out the door quality. Two brand newly released guns that had severe leaks and other problems.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2018-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My rifle exhibits wonderful accuracy and consistency in point of impact resulting in no change in zero when changing ammunition. I am getting the same impact point using 7 different pellets weighing from 14.3 gr. to 18.0 gr. at 25 yards. Better still, pellets from 14.3 gr. to 16.0 gr. are impacting the same zero at up to 50 yards. I am able to consistently place Air Arms 16.0 gr. domed pellets into 5 shot groups of less than 1-1/2" at 75 yards! Velocity is extremely consistent from shot to shot from 3000 psi to 2000 psi. I see no long range drop in my shots due to pressure drop, so the regulator is really paying off in that. I had no problem with scope alignment or zeroing. In fact, I needed very little adjustment to be dead on after mounting. I did not find the trigger to be all that bad as it came. It did have more travel before releasing than I preferred. I modified it with an aftermarket kit and added an additional adjustment screw to adjust sear engagement without stock removal.

    Things I would have changed: The stock. I have submitted a picture of my Fortitude in a refinished Discovery stock. It was a drop in with no alteration needed and weighs no more than the original stock. Quality control: I am saddened to see such a great concept for a lightweight repeating air rifle diminished by the lack of quality control before they leave the factory. I bought my rifle direct from Crosman and it had the very stiff bolt operation that is a fairly common complaint. I found the cause of the stiff bolt to be grossly over-tightened rear receiver screws that created a condition of bolt drag. Once loosened and properly tightened, the bolt travel was greatly improved. I also found that the striker spring was very stiff, I presumed to provide adequate force to open the valve reliably at 3000 psi until I remembered this was a regulated rifle. I experimented and found another spring that gave much smoother operation while producing 774 fps avg. velocity, identical to the performance of the factory spring.

    What others should know: I can not say enough about what I term the "surgical" accuracy of this rifle. Shot placement is so consistent and precise (benched) that early on in my initial sight in at 25 yard using Benjamin Discovery HP pellets I was getting sub 1/2" groups for 5 shots and small scope adjustments gave me the ability to walk the group into the exact center of the bulls-eye. When I moved the target out to 50 yards, I fell in love. The barrel continued to shoot in and my groups were sub inch at that distance. (This pellet turned out to not be the most accurate either!) By this time I was now so confident in the rifle that I placed a single pellet in the magazine and set a pecan on a railroad tie that was part of my backstop. I walked back to my bench 50 yards away, settled in and fired. I was not surprised when I saw the pecan shatter. Since then, using the Air Arms 16.0 gr. domed pellet which is the most accurate as of now, I shot a pea sized bead, again with one and only one shot. I love this gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Goldie from USA on 2018-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight, hand pump friendly, price, accurate, American made.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull and bolt cocking force, both are too heavy.

    What others should know: Trigger fix was easy; two 1/8 inch screws and a little adjustment. Bolt is smoothing out over use. Crosman's new barrel really works!! When pulling a patch worm through, the barrel is obviously choked, a common practice in higher priced air rifles. Seems to prefer 5.52 head size pellets.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Chet from USA on 2018-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Affordable, shrouded & quiet, light weight regulated repeater with lots of shots and sling mounts.

    Things I would have changed: The quality control has got to improve before these guns are released for sale. I had to send two back for various issues, among them being very hard to cock, warped breech, mediocre accuracy, running out of scope alignment even when shimmed, and a nightmare trigger that I did expect since I own discos.

    What others should know: This gun could have been the gun many of us have been waiting for if only it worked properly. I was hoping for a lightweight, accurate, repeater with the power of a disco, about 25FPE. There will be a niche that this gun will fill when the problems are worked out since it provides many shots and is backyard friendly and not too powerful, about 17FPE in 22. It is not going to be compatible with many maxi/disco parts for modding and is not going to be very adjustable since it has no hammerspring adjustment.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle shot great! Had it dialed in with a Barska 4x plinkster scope in 40 shots, using Benjamin Discovery 14.3 gr., and Diablo Jumbos. My best group at 40 yds could be covered with a nickel!! I highly recommend this as a great starter PCP rifle!

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see it shipped w/a single shot tray along with the magazine.

    What others should know: Might want to emphasize the need for taller scope rings to clear the magazine. I cant use the mag until I get some taller mounts.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I believe this rifle to be the best 300 dollar range PCP rifle. PERIOD. As mentioned by others: barrel band, lightweight, High shot count, regulated, etc. This IS a Benjamin product, you get what you pay for.

    Things I would have changed: nothing, anything that can be changed will be available in due time through the forums and tuners like any Benjamin product.

    What others should know: Bolt and trigger are exactly as described by others. Still worth it.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By John from USA on 2018-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight and power are near spec.

    Things I would have changed: Gun #1: SN 818120301, Gun #2: SN 818120344 Severe leaks right out of the box on original and replacement gun. 1st one also had a defective regulator. 2nd one has very hard bolt probe to barrel interference. I'm experienced with Prods, and this probably has a warped breech. The included accuracy card with the first showed a 1/2" group at 10 yards. Testing on my basement range with AA 10.3g confirmed that grouping. I consider that poor accuracy, but a call to Crosman customer service says that is considered passing. Card in second gun shows a 0.475" vertical string. Returning gun for a third try.

    What others should know: Wait until crosman cleans up their act on out the door quality. Two brand newly released guns that had severe leaks and other problems.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jerry from USA on 2018-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: mine is a .22, very light, well built, very accurate, my at44 is quiet the fortitude is half as loud. it isnt pellet fussy at all im shooting jsb 15.89 low 722 high 729 fps. fpe. 18.56, crosman 14.3 low 742 high 760 fps. fpe. 13.75. 50 yards 10 pellets in half inch group. jsb a little better than crosman. i due pest control for nut farmers so far furthest squirrel down 109 yards yes 109 no bull that took 5 shots to get hit. fine gun. shot count from 2800 to 1500 psi 60 shots per fill nice. i would say its a very good 75 yard gun for pest control.

    Things I would have changed: bolt is stiff , but getting a lot better . trigger leaves something to be desired . but can be re worked without any cost mine is great, and i have been spoiled by my at44. turned single stage into two stage.

    What others should know: now the bad news it leaked out of box. over night from 2800 to 2500 over and over again , didnt make since still had pressure but no leak past 2500. after 350 pellets approximately, and silicone oil added to fill port 2 times , dont over due oil 4 to 6 drops each time, leak stopped . for 300.00 dollars you cant go wrong.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2018-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: weight, regulated

    Things I would have changed: not sure

    What others should know: I bought 1 and returned it because the chamber leaked big time. i returned it for a replacment. the seceond one leaked but not to the extent that the first did but it still would loose most of the air within a couple of days. I did cock and de-cock several times and it was not hard to me. I do think that Crosman needs to quit production of these until they get the problems resolved with the fortitude although I do believe if the problems were solver it could be a great addition to the air rifle world.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2018-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight (it's very light!). It looks like a rifle, accuracy, shot count, regulated. It's also very quiet! I have a HATSAN At44 QE and a Benjamin Discovery with a TKO silencer. The fortitude is the quietest of the three. Also, I haven't measured the FPS but it seems adequate. For us backyard shooters this is important... being quiet so not to disturb neighbors and not overpowered so in any case, the pellet will not go thru wooden or brick fences.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a bit heavy but not terrible. It's repeatable. You get used to it.

    What others should know: I'm not sure why there are so many complaints about the cocking force of the bolt. It takes some force but nothing really to cause blisters in the fingers, as some people is describing. That is crazy! You grab the bolt with 2 fingers and pull it having the butt of the stock on your shoulder.. Mine is a 22 and really don't have a problem cocking it every single time.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerome from USA on 2018-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate! Once I found the right hold and pellets it was all but matching my tricked out Gauntlet. Be patient and find the right combinations. My Fortitude did not like Crosman Pellets but loved JSBs. Light weight. It took a bit to get used to such light weight benchers but it worked out well accuracy speaking. Great for a cary gun. I believe this will be a small game delight. Built in Foster probe. I have NO problem with the "plastic". Anyone complaining about that didn't read the LARGE print. It is plastic just like the Gauntlet, only light!

    Things I would have changed: THE BOLT ON MINE GAVE ME A BLISTER and took 2 HANDS to cock it. I wish I could show a picture. The trigger is crap, heavy (I'm betting 5+lbs because I have a Benjamin Mayhem which is less) and not all that predictable, not to mention a piece of plastic and NOT adjustable. Why in the world would Crosman/Benjamin allow this when the competition has a decent trigger which easily becomes truly good. Big mistake which may be difficult to overcome in the market place (of course there are tons of mods out there, but my mod for the Gauntlet was a damn ball point pen spring and turning a couple screws).

    What others should know: If you want this as a gun that is not a "project gun" GO FOR IT! BUT don't settle for the bolt I got. For a project gun, I question that since there are many out there either the same price or much cheaper that have huge followings and equal accuracy. Pyramyd will gladly help with selection. If you think this is "American made", check where the parts are manufactured. It is assembled here and that was my main desire to buy. Watch Southern Gunner review. He tears it down and exposes it well AND likes it. I would have kept it if it were not for the Bolt action which he showed was not upgradeable. I sent mine back and got a prompt refund from Pyramyd. They are the best, period. I was offered a swap and even after that a return. I chose another direction for now as I build my collection (Custom built gun). I buy a lot from them (not my FX Streamline since they do not yet carry FX). I will wait for iterations of this gun (improvements). I might just go for the Marauder.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that its really lightweight and I mounted a Leapers 3-12x44 side AO ,mil-dot accushot scope on it and it is really accurate with the JSB match Diabolo exact 22 ,18.13 grain pellts,the only pellts I have tried so far,it is really quite and I shot 50 good shots from 3000psi. down to 2000 psi.I wanted to shoot more but I got a bad blister on my finger from cocking it ,it is so hard to cock not like my MROD.

    Things I would have changed: Make cocking not so hard to cock,it takes all the fun out of shooting,when I bought the Diana Stormrider from PA I thought that was hard to cock but the Fortitude is harder to cock,if I would ve known that I don't think I would ve bought it ,but im hoping it will get easier overtime.Now I have to wait till my blister heals so I can shoot again.

    What others should know: Its a great gun and fun to shoot ,but the cocking has to be improved.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great PCP design. Tack driver

    Things I would have changed: Checked BEFORE it ships from the factory.

    What others should know: It leaked air right out of the box badly. Sent it to Crosman for repair under warranty.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Roy from USA on 2018-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight , accuracy , and regulated

    Things I would have changed: Trigger has to be reworked and have not found a cure for the cocking bolt which is also too hard , i'm sure a young person would not be able to use this gun because of it.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerome from USA on 2018-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Impressively accurate. Matched my Gauntlet for accuracy. Light and easy to maneuver. Shot count at 70+/-

    Things I would have changed: Trigger was terrible for me. I struggled with it. Reviews said it as high 4 lbs. mine was at least 6 as I compared it to my Benjamin Mayhem. The worst was the bolt on mine. I got a blister cocking it. The bolt is small and short, but it took 2 hands for me to engage the sear. I would show both finger and targets if I could upload pics.

    What others should know: It seems my 177 bolt was abnormal but I was not interested in trying another gun because I felt the trigger was a non starter.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2018-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got the .177 like the Weight, accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is tough but will get use to it / mod it

    What others should know: Added a cheek pad and butt pad to give the back end a little weight, bit longer LOP and a more comfortable cheek weld . Definitely worth the $300 and actually LOOKs like a rifle.. ;o)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SeungY. from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: multi shot, light weight,good looking rifle and price

    What others should know: so I have added new trigger which is giving you light trigger and using crosman premier 22cal dome are shooting well with my rifle. and I had put some sticker between main tube and stock with that giving me better accuracy.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Darrell from USA on 2018-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My Fortitude was delivered by UPS on 9-5-2018. Because it will not hold air (it leaks air badly), I have not been able to test it. I do like like the appearance, the weight, the FACT(?) that it is advertised as regulated and the fact that it does have sling swivel studs. I do like my Marauder rifle and pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Crosman's quality control. The pressure required to cock the rifle and perhaps more after I can actually fire the rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bill on 2018-09-10
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm still getting to know my Fortitude, however I am holding a group of about 1.5 inches at 50 yrds. and a lot tighter at 35 yrds. (.22cal) It is quiet fun to shoot. and I am getting about 60 shots per fill. Okay gun for a beginner.

    Things I would have changed: definitely hard to pull the bolt back for loading. disappointed in the range you won't get more than 50 yrds out of it.

    What others should know: I get more power and distance out of my Benjamin Maximus

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Yeng from USA on 2018-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: regulated, air pump friendly, light weight.

    Things I would have changed: trigger, cocking system, sound,

    What others should know: super hard to cock, super hard to pull the trigger, still too loud for backyard shooting or pest control. Mine wasn't hold good group beon 25yds. I would pay more for Marauder instead. Disappointed purchase. In my opinion, this is not good gun for beginner and old people like me.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Guy from USA on 2018-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight and accurate even thou barrel wiggles in front mount

    Things I would have changed: You have to be Arnold Schwarzenegger to cock this thing!

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation