Date: 17/8/2018 22:51
0

Benjamin Jim Shockey Steel Eagle Air Rifle, NP2 Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (6 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

Only 1 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Charlie from USA on 2017-12-13 10:03:09

Things I liked: Great hard hitting and fairly quiet i live in the country and use it for everything pest (three nights ago i dispatched a possum it took two shots my first shot was a little off due to me trying to hold a flashlight and shoot at the same time at night lol) and i regularly squirrel hunt and rabbit hunt this is a good gun for 30 yards and less i can hit things like cans and beyond that but for best chance of a clean kill i don't shoot beyond 30 yards i use the Amazon 3-9x40 hammer airrifle scope great combo and has held up to the abuse of this gun. Reason of purchase is my old original benjamin np1 trail finally died will have to say this one shoots flatter than the np1 :)

Things I would have changed: mine came with rifle sling and scope but no scope rings no big deal as i had another scope to use but i could see how another person would be upset (crosman's side of qc not pyramid air)

What others should know: My breech seal had a hairline crack in it upon opening and i replaced before shooting the gun

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Keone from USA on 2018-05-09 22:14:07

Things I liked: I waited awhile before adding my review. I wanted to shoot this rifle and give my honest opinion. I have a .22 model and after 300 plus rounds, the accuracy was ok with the center point scope that came with the rifle but not great. I have change the scope to a UTG 4-16X44 30mm scope. Now this rifle is very accurate, I get a quarter size 10 shot grouping @ 25 yards with predator polymag 16.0 gr. This rifle is quiet, I'm able to shoot off of my back porch and my neighbors don't even know.

Things I would have changed: Trigger is ok but could be better. I'm still looking for a aftermarket trigger. Offer a better scope.

What others should know: Loctite the scope mounts. Chat or call pyramid air with questions, I did and got all my questions answered.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keone from USA on 2018-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I waited awhile before adding my review. I wanted to shoot this rifle and give my honest opinion. I have a .22 model and after 300 plus rounds, the accuracy was ok with the center point scope that came with the rifle but not great. I have change the scope to a UTG 4-16X44 30mm scope. Now this rifle is very accurate, I get a quarter size 10 shot grouping @ 25 yards with predator polymag 16.0 gr. This rifle is quiet, I'm able to shoot off of my back porch and my neighbors don't even know.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is ok but could be better. I'm still looking for a aftermarket trigger. Offer a better scope.

    What others should know: Loctite the scope mounts. Chat or call pyramid air with questions, I did and got all my questions answered.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dale from USA on 2018-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I entered the modern era of pellet rifles due to a squirrel infestation. This Benjamin Steel Eagle is proving to be perfectly suited to the task at hand. I tested quite a few different pellets and found it performs exceedingly well with H&N Barracuda Hunter Extreme pellets at 18.52 grains and a clocked 702 fps. This is enough energy to literally knock the squirrel right out of the tree! The hollow point works well and results are as expected. :) Crossman copper round dome pellets are also very accurate for target shooting. PBA pellets (alloy) clocked around 1000 fps and of course have a higher point of impact accordingly. The included scope wasn't so great. I bought a 3-9x 40AO Magnum by Hammers and it's working very well for me. I was a handgunner many years ago, never shot a rifle, never used a scope, so all this has been a learning curve but it's been fun and this Benjamin has been an excellent choice. Thanks Pyramyd Air!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is pretty bad on this air rifle. Way more pressure than should be. So I ordered some Wolff gun springs and cut the proper spring to length, replaced the stock coil spring that was responsible for the horrible action. MUCH better now, for a $10 investment and a nice pack of various springs left over. I'd like to see a longer barrel, maybe just do away with the suppression bits as the actual whack of the piston makes more noise than anything. I have modified my rifle by removing the suppressor and making a silicone manganese bronze adapter to thread onto the barrel, with an attached thick walled anodized aluminum tube about 2" longer than before. This helps make cocking even easier so a target shooting session of 100+ pellets is not a big deal. ;)

    What others should know: This is a long, heavy air rifle. It feels like a serious gun in hand and should of course be treated as such, with a power level capable of severe overpenetration and ricochet's. BE CAREFUL. Stay aware of backdrop and potential ricochet issue that could deter a pellet in an unexpected direction. Fun as all get out shooting this very accurate rifle but keep safety in mind.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Czeseng from Malaysia on 2018-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ok

    Things I would have changed: Ok

    What others should know: Ok

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ira from USA on 2017-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The air rifle is very accurate. Longest shot on a squirrel so far is 53 yards and it smacked it hard enough I had a pass thru and it did not go far. Easy to cock and load. Very quiet, shot two squirrels that were only 10 yards from each other, one went down, reloaded then the other. Was impressive.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel shroud does come loose if you do not watch it. Trigger is horrible, too much creep and there is nothing that you can do about it. Scope would not hold, replaced the scope and everything is OK.

    What others should know: If you place pressure on the forearm while shooting it will change your point of impact. I zeroed using a rest then off-hand it was hitting low. Re-zeroed off hand and now I am good. Shoots all ammo very well but the alloy pellets will go faster than the speed of sound and give a distinct crack if you shoot then, almost like a .22 rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Charlie from USA on 2017-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great hard hitting and fairly quiet i live in the country and use it for everything pest (three nights ago i dispatched a possum it took two shots my first shot was a little off due to me trying to hold a flashlight and shoot at the same time at night lol) and i regularly squirrel hunt and rabbit hunt this is a good gun for 30 yards and less i can hit things like cans and beyond that but for best chance of a clean kill i don't shoot beyond 30 yards i use the Amazon 3-9x40 hammer airrifle scope great combo and has held up to the abuse of this gun. Reason of purchase is my old original benjamin np1 trail finally died will have to say this one shoots flatter than the np1 :)

    Things I would have changed: mine came with rifle sling and scope but no scope rings no big deal as i had another scope to use but i could see how another person would be upset (crosman's side of qc not pyramid air)

    What others should know: My breech seal had a hairline crack in it upon opening and i replaced before shooting the gun

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have never had a gun be this accurate out of the box. At 25 yards, first 5 shots in the 9-10 area. This thing has a PUNCH. I shot about 5 hours straight and I could have shot more if the sun would have stayed out longer. This gun is quiet. I have neighbors close and I bet they only knew I was shooting due to the pellets hitting the targets. I put at least 200 pellets thru and I never lost accuracy. Tried a few shots at 50 yards. Shot at a piece of 1 1/2' DWV schedule 40 drove into the ground. Punched thru and left a nasty hole on the reverse and left a big crack around exit hole. With a lil Kentucky windage, I shot to the very edge of property line at a pie pan tacked to a 4X4 post. All 4 pegged the pie pan. The scope IS clear and stayed in place. I put index marks between scope and rings. NO MOVEMENT, The gun is well balanced and there isnt that shock at the point of flying pellet. I'm not that great of a shooter, but this gun makes me look good.

    Things I would have changed: My ONLY complaint is the trigger. Ive got 3 Crosman's and they dont creep like this. I realize this may change over time. Depending on your movements in cocking the gun, the shroud will loosen a bit, not bad, but its something to keep in mind.

    What others should know: With all new guns the first thing I do is patch the barrel. Mine actually had liquid. After about 10 patches, she was clean. I went ahead and removed stock and checked all points of motion for trigger, anti bear trap, and the barrel hinge. I used just a lil bit of gun oil and reinstalled the stock. I did notice that the screws were not snug when I first took the gun apart. I installed my scope to the rings and used the zig zag pattern when tightening screws down on rings. I used Crosman 14.3 g hollow point and the domes. I also used the H&N Crow Magnum with great results. There is a big difference in power, accuracy and quietness of this gun. The NP2 is the way to go

     
Navigation