Date: 20/8/2018 8:40
0

Benjamin Jim Shockey Steel Eagle NP2 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (29 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

Only 1 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By John from USA on 2015-12-28 08:25:00

Things I liked: Sweet shooter after trigger was adjusted. I did not mount the included scope but rather opted for a Nikon Monarch 4x12x40mm AO scope I had on an old deer rifle. As of this review I've only put around 300 rounds of Crossman Premiere hollow points and I'm getting really good groups. Have already popped a few squirrels as well. Fairly easy to cock. If it's shooting this good now, I can't wait to see what I can get out of it once it's broke in and I try some other pellets.

Things I would have changed: Trigger. Trigger could be improved. Feels rough. Easy to adjust put first stage is not smooth and getting that perfect break from the wall can be a little tedious. I'm going to look into some aftermarket triggers.

What others should know: It's a bit heavy. If running and gunning in the field, you will definitely want to get a good shoulder strap. Younger shooters would have difficulty holding this gun up.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Joshua from USA on 2015-12-29 17:24:52

Things I liked: Has good power and FPE

Things I would have changed: The scope is really cheap on it. The stock is very awkward. A solid barrel needs to be mounted instead of a shrouded tube. An auto safety should be added also.

What others should know: Although this gun has great power and FPE I couldn't get it to group after 2.5 hours of shooting and adjusting at 20 yards on a very calm day and various pellets tested (my Beeman Kodiak only took 30 min tops shooting nickle to dime size groups at 25 yards). Also the "barrel" shroud kept coming loose on me. The scope was a very cheap insult to be honest, for the price it should of had a much better scope on it, i couldn't get it to focus and at distance it got worse. All in all I was extremely disappointed in this rifle especially being made and built here in our great country. Maybe i just ended up with a real sour lemon but it left a bad impression on me to tell you the truth. Ultimately i had to return it and got a Ruger Impact instead (much happier). I hope this helps those who want to know what can go wrong with this rifle this was by no means a bash review, just what i experienced from the one i had.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2018-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Grip, polymer stock, and accuracy. Even though I haven't shot the recommended for break-in the Steel Eagle is extremely accurate with quarter size groups at 30 yards.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change anything.

    What others should know: Very easy to cock and the trigger can be adjusted to make it lighter, which I did.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun is easy to cock,easy to carry and shoots. Very well.It has great nock down power on small game. THIS is the 2nd one I own and shoots as good as the 1st one. Buy a good scope for it and you be pleased.

    Things I would have changed: Put a good scope on it!

    What others should know: Had cocking problem with 2nd one but pyramid air was excellent at replacing it. You can see how much I like this gun.sharp looking too!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2018-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel and weight of the rifle. It feels like I have control of the rifle due to the texture of the stock. I can group shots within one inch at 30 yards on a regular basis is the wind is calm and quite a few time with in 1/2 of an inch. I have the sling which also adds to the control while standing(which I seldom do) even though the rifle weighs around 8 lbs.The 3x9x40 scope works just fine but still ordered a new one and will give this one to my son who has a cheep 4x on his pellet gun.

    Things I would have changed: Like everyone else..better scopes and mounts/rings. Also, Crosman should make the baffle stronger since it is on the end and is in the area where one would grab the barrel to cock it. I think this added to the stress on the end of the baffle and is a large part of it failing.

    What others should know: After a few shots one of the scope mount screws broke.(I probably over tightened it). I went out and purchased new Weaver mounts and they work great. The baffle in the end of the barrel broke 1 year after my purchase and 600+ pellets. I emailed Pyramyd Air telling them my issue. They referred me to Crosman and the next day I received an email stating 2 new baffles were on their way (free of charge) even though the rifle was out of warranty....Can't say enough about the excellent customer service. I also purchased two other rifles this Christmas. One for my son and one for my wife. We have had a fantastic New Years Day shooting in the back yard (until the baffle broke). This is a great family activity for all ages with proper training.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great value. Accuracy. Quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Scope could be better, but I've been managing tight groupings from rest and free hand. I have the .22 and .177. They came with different 3x9x32 centerpoint scopes. Neither great, but I've managed accuracy.

    What others should know: I have both the .22 and .177 in the Steel Eagle. (.22 bought at PA and .177 at local store at couldnt pass up deal.) Both are tack drivers at 30 yds from rest, even with the included "cheap" scopes. Free hand shooting, I am within 1-1 1/2 shooting, at 30 yds. Also, was able to use for small game (PA just allowing pellet hunting this year) still within minutes of squirrel head (MOS). Now with winter I can only shoot 20yds in my basement, great practice. Artillery hold helps, but most importantly, a relaxed grip and stance.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the stock profile and the insets. The suppressor is good, almost as quiet as the Gamo 2-stage ones, but it feels more solid and it's easy to remove when cleaning the barrel. It's a different sound, It's about like a solid door closing but not much louder than a Red Ryder BB gun. The accuracy steadily improved during the first 500 shots. At this point with .22 pellets it likes, groups are quarter-sized @ 20 yds.

    Things I would have changed: The package would be better with a 40mm scope. the "lawyer" trigger was gritty at first. It smoothed out after 250 shots, but it's a heavy trigger with creep. It would be nice if the front sling mount was something that would support a quick disconnect like the back one.

    What others should know: I cleaned the barrel with dry patches before firing. It had a fair amount of manufacturing oil in it that probably would have abraded out after the first couple of hundred shots, but it would have made the accuracy variable during that time. Mine prefers Crosman Premier Hollow Point 14.53 gr. and H&N Baracuda Match Heavy 21.14 gr. As other writers have mentioned, the accuracy has steadily improved with use. I'm at about 500 shots now with quarter-sized groups. Since it has begun to settle in, I may install a trigger kit and upgrade the scope. Maybe someday I'll upgrade to a Marauder, but at this point the Shockey package NP2 is an accurate choice for pest control or target shooting at about 1/3 the price.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2017-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Love the stock look and feel. The cocking effort is light. This riffle is pellet sensitive. Be prepared to buy different brands and grains. Once you find the right pellet this riffle is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is ok but a nicer scope would be good. The recoil is kinda hard for an air piston riffle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the feel of this gun... it took very little to get it sighted in. I also have the Trial Np2, and this Steel Eagle has been my go to gun on hunts.. love it!

    Things I would have changed: The scope is junk... and i wish for the money I spent it would have csme with a sling

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By todd from USA on 2017-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything,but the scope that came with it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: After upgrading the scope to one that had an adjustable objective and more power I was hit the bulls eye after the first six or seven shots. Would suggest cleaning the barrel before shooting as it had some oil in it and it may have said this it he the owners manual

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Adam from USA on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great break barrel! I've had mine for over a year about 3500-4000 pellets put down range. I've shot all sorts of stuff biggest was a 30 pound coon. Put it behind his shoulder knocked him right out of the tree. Ran about 10 yards and was done. I have great accuracy with it my max I will shoot game is about 50 yards depending on size of the game. Dropped a ground squirrel at 62 yards (with a rangefinder) with a clean head shot.

    Things I would have changed: Notta....

    What others should know: Lots of reviews complain about accuracy so try many different pellets and find the one it likes. The second thing to know is is not a deer rifle so stop holding it like one. Try different holding methods and just like the pellets the will be a preference in the hold style as well.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By smellslikeadults from USA on 2016-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I really liked the weaver scope rail actually after using that I wont go back to dovetail. If a rifle has a dovetail I buy an adapter and jb weld it on .... I like the stock and pistol grip the trigger was acceptable and it was accurate until I had my issues with the rifle

    Things I would have changed: The lock up on the barrel

    What others should know: I had this rifle for about two months and even was fine. Then the barrel started to loosen up and it would be dead on then hit two inches to the left then dead on again. I tried and tried to tighten it but ended up trading it for a gamo bone collector I know benjamin makes good rifles and I just got a lemon bit after that it soured me on this particular model. I still love benjamin and still recommend them as a whole but I've never had that problem before on none of my hatsans or gamos or beeman before so idk what was wrong

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By basicblur from USA on 2016-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Things I liked: Made in USA, appears to be quality built (time will tell), accurate, quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Offer the option of lower price without scope so customers can select the scope they want. The trigger isn't bad (after finding a video on how to adjust, which is much better than the included instructions), but there's always room for improvement. I have no problem with the trigger pull weight, but it just doesn't feel as crisp / tactile as something like my Savage AccuTrigger rifles.

    What others should know: Long time shooter, but this is my first pellet rifle - I had a squirrel problem that required less power than a conventional rifle. After my initial learning curve and adjusting the trigger, every shot is a hit! Only pellet I'm using so far is H&N Crow Magnums - this combo seems to be darn accurate and produces a hit 99% of the time.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I 've had my Steel Eagle for two weeks now. I immediately ordered a Barska 3-12 40 AO scope because of all the negative comments about the stock scope. When it arrived, I went ahead and mounted the stock scope and sighted it in. After about 40 pellets I had a pretty good grouping... that's when I saw the ground squirrel at about 25 yards by my fence. I took careful aim and dropped it with quite an impact. I am used to shooting my .177 and was really impressed with the difference. My Barska came a week later and I sighted it in. I found the Barska a bit more difficult to sight in, but it is really a great scope. Today I heard my dog barking in the back and saw she was barking at a very large jackrabbit. The rabbit was 30 yards, but the power of the rifle was awesome and dropped the rabbit in it's tracks. Ground squirrels and Jack rabbits are pests and I would never shoot an animal for grins. Overall, I'm very impressed with my Steel Eagle.

    Things I would have changed: I did change the scope due to all the negative comments.

    What others should know: For the money, it's a really good gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: So I've had this air rifle for a little over a month,and after about 250 rounds of various ammo the accuracy has really improved especially with the predator polymag ammo, ( no real fliers to mention ) I've been able to shoot dime sized groups dead center at 20 yards with no problem using a tru-glo 4 x 32 scope, power seems to be quite acceptable for small game and varmints. So far I have had zero issues with air rifle, glad I decided on this one.

    Things I would have changed: I would have like to have seen a better scope and possibly a bi-pod mount.

    What others should know: I can't stress this enough, clean the barrel before first use...this will greatly improve accuracy. The trigger takes a little getting used to, but really not a big deal if your shooting fundamentals are there. I've read a lot of folks complain about the weight of the rifle and cocking the rifle. This one does not seem to me to be any heaver than any other rifle I own. And as for cocking effort doesn't seem to bad to me, but this could just depend on the person I guess I regularly shoot 25 to 30 rounds at a time with little fatigue.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By julio from USA on 2016-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful and really accurate nice feel solid also quiet i have the trail XL in .22 as my first from PA i still choose this one i got the 10 for 10 chrony i think was around 840 fps with rws hobbys

    Things I would have changed: Camo version would be nice. Free sling like Hatsan also

    What others should know: Easy to cock Silent Powerful Little heavy

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2016-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.65 ratings

    Things I liked: Little longer LOP than my trail NP2,easy cocking,removable shroud for cleaning,quiet, Rail scope mount,conventional stock,adj. trigger,reliability,sling mounts,accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Scope: usable but upgrade needed to get best from this rifle which is capable of great accuracy when shot correctly Trigger:CBT breaks clean but is heavy and not as smooth as should be for best Trigger control

    What others should know: The 4 stars is for the trigger smoothness and pull weight. Though the NP2 intro Had a somewhat rocky start,I have found this to be an excellent rifle,well designed And accurate.Learning a hold that gave the best groupings did take a while(and trigger Finger placement and pull through),but I can now put ten rounds through a hole aspirin Tablet size and smaller at 10M with almost boring regularity.I actually hold the gun Firmly and moderately pull it into my shoulder with a firm cheek weld and looser grip Near the front of the stock. Have stayed with JSB 18 gr though others group well. If time is taken to break in and learn how it likes to be shot most people IMO Would really come to love it. Have bought several rifles from Pyramid and quite a few Acc.,cannot say enough good about service. pellet deals are great,10 for 10 great. Shipping great,.HIGHLY recommend!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2016-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Attention to detail in the design. Ease of scope mounting - I'm running a Centerfield 4 X 16 now, (the Benjamin Bulldog kit scope), I'm happy with the way it's settling in. It'seems very easy to cock this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Put an ISO standard part number in the manual for the barrel O-ring. Include a mounting surface for a bipod into the sling swivel.

    What others should know: This gun is settling in with Crosman Premier Hollow points. Ruger Super points were all over the place, 3 different Gamo pellets (TS-22's, the BB head 22, and Raptor Gold) were impossible to seat easily; and other than the bb head giving unacceptable accuracy. The "Red Rockets" with the plastic tail gave acceptable accuracy, but were hard to seat. Crosman Piranhas and Destroyers were quite good, but the Premier Hollow Points are in that wonderful pellet pen.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2016-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Conventional stock,about 1/2" longer LOP(compared to my Trail NP2),accuracy,fitted for sling,scope mount,removable shroud to clean barrel,though it looks nose heavy found Balance is good for my shooting style,stock screws came loctited,thought overall finish And fitment was very good for the price

    Things I would have changed: Scope and trigger.Scope: no AO on package scope of course but probably servicible until better can be had.I installed a Centerpoint 4-16x40 I'll mil dot. Trigger is bigger problem for accuracy. Mine was heavy and gritty. Trigger pull is lot heavier than my Trail NP2(spring changed??).I fixed mine by disassembling and polishing contact surfaces and lubing and installing lighter spring.Absolutely butter smooth at 2 lbs. However SAFETY first . If you not sure what you are doing,find someone who does or do not do it,an unsafe gun is not worth the reward.

    What others should know: This gun ( actually the NP2 series) unfortunately got off to a rocky start. It really is capable of amazing accuracy and has proven very reliable.Didn't care for the Trail stock but also very accurate,but no complaints on the Steel Eagle in this regard. Groups several quality pellets well but had great luck with JSB 18 gr.Will shoot as many pellets(usually ten) as I care to shoot into hole smaller than an aspirin tablet at 10M.Have been shooting out to 50yd and able to consistently hit spinners at that range. This gun can shoot,but hold is everything barring scope/trigger issues.Just be prepared to learn the rifle and you will love it. Have bought three rifles from Pyramid ,all w/10for10, in past couple years and had great experience as well as with pellet orders.Can highly recommend!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2016-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle is a pleasure to shoot. Less than 200 rounds through it when the rains came back, I'm still sorting out which pellets it prefers. It handles very nicely with a Gamo 3 X 9 X 40 scope installed. Cocking it isn't even in the same class as a springer.

    What others should know: Excellent addition to the 22 caliber collection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I am 68 years old and thought I would give it a try from regular rifles and shotguns. PyramydAir recommended it to me in .22 cal since that is the cal I was look wanted. The rifle is not that hard to cock for me or my friend and I think it is well balanced. I had PyramydAir test the rifle before shipping it to me. I ran a bore snake down the barrel before I started shooting it to make sure I started out with a clean barrel. The first fifty or so shots were not a tight group as I have read it needs to be broke in first. After about 100 shots we could see the groups start to come together to about a quarter size at 20 yards from a bench rest shooting Gamo Materpoint .22 Cal 16.20 Gr pellets. I will try other pellets after it is broke in to find the best for this rifle. I could not really feel any kick from the rifle. My friend is now considering purchasing one after shooting mine. Very nice rifle and satisfied.

    Things I would have changed: I think for me I would lessen the pull weight on the trigger as I find it not that smooth at the breaking point but I plan to play with that later.

    What others should know: Glad I had PyramydAir test shoot the rifle before shipping it to me as it made me feel more confident in the workings of the rifle. Worth it!

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I chose this .22 cal. based on the good reviews for accuracy. When I received the rifle it would not shoot. Cocked it, loaded a pellet, and the trigger would not fire as if safety was still on. Double checked everything with same result. Reboxed it to send back for a replacement, along with a note that I would purchase the. 20 for $20 option this time around. Will write another review based on PA's performance and new product

    Things I would have changed: Scope

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation