Date: 23/10/2018 8:51
0

Benjamin Varmint Power Pack Air Rifle Kit reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (21 reviews)
3 star1 star
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Old from USA on 2014-09-12 08:19:35

Things I liked: Good feel, size and weight, big thick barrel is easy to grab and cock, nice full size scope rail welded to top of receiver

Things I would have changed: people complain about the scope on here, but it comes with the gun, so buy a better one if you like, my scope works fine

What others should know: Just bought this and there are not a lot of reviews so I figured I would share some thoughts. I zeroed scope with about 25 shots, the first 4-5 I didn't make adjustments, just test fired. I understand from my reading other reviews that these things usually get more accurate after 50-100 rounds? Mine is hitting a quarter size bullseye 4 times in a row at 20 yards before I went to bed after just 25 shots. that'll work, but If it gets better over time, then great! I did run a .22 cleaning rod with a patch and a drop of CLP rifle oil/cleaner through the barrel before I shot it. Barrel was filthy omg, cleaned it with two more clean patches to get any oil out before I started shooting. I will clean it again tonight. It was loud the first few shots, but is supposed to get quieter after it breaks in so we shall see. I was shooting 3/4 in plywood with 1/2 particle board behind that indoors, the 14.3 g crossman hollow points hit hard into the wood and went deep into first board

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Michael from USA on 2018-04-03 11:20:13

Things I liked: Construction is solid...that's about it.

Things I would have changed: The trigger. So much travel but what should I expect for $170.

What others should know: I bought this to keep in closet by the door for quick access when the catbirds are eating my blueberries. Unfortunately, even with a variety of pellets, I have not been able to zero this rifle. Overall, a waste money for me at least. In the future, I will spend the extra money for an RWS.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Construction is solid...that's about it.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. So much travel but what should I expect for $170.

    What others should know: I bought this to keep in closet by the door for quick access when the catbirds are eating my blueberries. Unfortunately, even with a variety of pellets, I have not been able to zero this rifle. Overall, a waste money for me at least. In the future, I will spend the extra money for an RWS.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marc from USA on 2018-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love it and all it does,very fun to use

    Things I would have changed: A little more FPS

    What others should know: Get it its great

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2017-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I read some medocre reviews, so im kind of curious, did i get a good one, or what? Mine is well made, easy to cock and shoot, and awesomely accurate. The stock is fantastic, well balances, solid, and just the right weight. Recoil is just right, it feels like youre shooting a gun, but mild enough to be very comfortable. I cant think of a negative. The scope isnt great, but i will say, mine was loose in the box and had rolled around (not Pyramyds fault) and it still shoots like a laser, just not the clearest, but hey, who cares? Hits hard, takes out groundhogs easily.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger leaves a lot to be desired, BUT, is well designed and easily tuned. Ive had similar problems with guns costing more than 5X this rifle, so im not holding that against the rifle. I tuned the factory trigger, and got a very nice light trigger. Later i added a GRTIII, and it went from very good to grrrreat. With proper, knowledgeable tuning, this trigger can make an amazing trgger. Just get one.

    What others should know: Ive read these are scope killers, but the shot cycle doest seem violent at all, so only time will tell. This is an amazing value, i love this rifle. Makes me wonder how good the NP2 rifles are.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Craig from USA on 2017-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the metal/synthetic ratio. Everything that should be metal is metal and what can be plastic to keep the weight down is plastic. The end result is a solid feeling, well balanced rifle. The metal, fully shrouded barrel is nicely finished. The stock is handsome. It's thinned down a bit where it can be, and beefed up where it needs it. It doesn't feel hollow, although it is, because the solid rubber recoil pad extends three to four inches into the stock. I gave the rifle a neutral/good rating on accuracy because the weather here has not allowed me to venture outdoors as of yet, (I also had to wait nearly four weeks for a new scope). Once the weather breaks I will be out to zero in the scope and will return here to update my review.

    Things I would have changed: I noted in other reviews here and elsewhere that there were complaints about the top rail being welded on at a slight angle. Also, a complaint about the rear barrel screw being loose, (this is a related issue). After initial inspection I noticed the top rail being at a slight angle on mine. This turned out to be a minor QC issue. The action was not properly seated in the stock. This can be an issue with any type of rifle, and one that can and should be addressed if accuracy is to be obtained. A little tweaking and all is well. Looking into trigger adjustment I noticed that it would be difficult to access the small phillips head screw through the one large hole in the trigger guard. I remedied this by simply drilling a smaller hole directly under the adjustment screw. This should make thing much easier adjusting the trigger while out in the field. Speaking of which, if I had one minor gripe it would be that the trigger guard be made of steel rather than plastic.

    What others should know: As most of you already know the included scope is not worthy of this rifle. I replaced it with a UTG 4X32 AO. At the distances I will be shooting, (50-60 yards max.), this is what I consider to be a fine choice. I have also added several accessories that were relatively inexpensive and easy to install... 1.) sling studs, swivels, and a sling, (this rifle has some heft to it). 2.) a UTG bi-pod using the included swivel stud mount, (for target shooting). All in all this rifle is a great value. It's easily upgraded. I consider myself ahead of the game, as I have mounted the included scope, laser, and flashlight on my KWA M4 GBBR, (both worked perfectly with either the push buttons or pressure switches). Thanks PA!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin from USA on 2016-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a fantastic air rifle. This was my first air gun that wasn't a spring and I will never go back. There is a steep learning curve and break in time which had me seriously doubting my purchase. It is quiet enough to shoot in my backyard despite the urban sprawl in which I reside. Looks the part and hits hard.

    Things I would have changed: The scope didn't last long. Instead of the gimmicks of lasers and lights make it cheaper and have the shooter pick what they want. Trigger is sloppy but workable.

    What others should know: Be prepared to spend some time and effort tuning this gun to you. Overall very worth it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2016-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel and heft. Big impact and knock-down power for a pellet gun. I hear the NP2 is even stouter ... :) I just like this gun. It's fun to shoot and feel good in hand :)

    Things I would have changed: The scope had to go. Way to fish-bowl and it finally died. Now have a Hammers AO on there. Big improvement :) The trigger is awful. I finally installed a Charlie Tuna trigger - much better :)

    What others should know: This gun is REAL picky about pellets. I use it to keep tree rats at bay from our walnuts. I went through all sorts of pellets. I even tried the "magic" FTS 5.54's. First cold shot of the day from the barrel was usually high left. If I was just shooting for groups, no biggy. Throw away a "fouling shot" like the CF guys do and you are ready to run. But when you are targeting an animal with the cold shot, you need to know where it'll go, and I didn't... So I ended up buying a PCP to keep the varmints at bay. But, I kept after this one. For well over a year now. And I finally found a pellet it likes. Ruger pointed 1.1 gr. They vary in size from 5.61 to 5.72mm, but seem to shoot pretty well for a field gun with this rifle. 1" group at 20 yds including the cold shot. So that's good enough for squirrel duty around here... I'll keep shooting this rifle as long as it runs. It's just that much fun :D

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard Moyer from USA on 2015-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: After sighting in the rifle is accurate, well built, quiet and powerful.

    Things I would have changed: At this time nothing.

    What others should know: Nice rifle. Pyramid air again was very helpful.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Two words accuracy and very quite. Took it to Ned Giddings house and he brought his airgun out and set up cans and at fifty yards I shot a can and hit it and Ned said he could barely hear it and he was on the other side of the house. Well worth the money for $200.00.

    Things I would have changed: Better scope and sling swivels and a bipod.

    What others should know: I been taking it out in the woods and having fun testing it out and put probably thousand rounds down range with shooting cans and such and going to test it more this winter. My favorite gun in my bug out bag.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Quincy from USA on 2015-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle really does pack some serious stopping power for a $200 airgun. The fit and finish is superior when compared to my Crosman TR77NPS. The trigger on the Benji again when compared to the Crosman felt like a better breed, rifle for rifle. The Benjamin Varmint even came with the stock screws loctited where as the Crosman TR77NPS did not and that caused me a lot of grief in zeroing the latter rifles scope. I am a fan of "black rifles" and I like the synthetic stock concept, but mor on that later. The accuracy is throw the roof and that's with the cheaper Crosman Premier Hollow Points that everyone stocks. The best part about this rifle is the weaver rail and the versatility it provides. I've have shot this rifle with both my UTG 1x32 Red Dot and RWS 4-12x50CI.

    Things I would have changed: Drop the packaged scope & laser/light combo and the price and offer the rifle as a varmint vanquishing base to build on. The CenterPoint scope packaged with this rifle is a throwaway literally and will break just like it did on my TR77NPS. I say this with confidence as they are the exact same scopes. I never used the laser on this setup and actually relegated it to duty on my sons Air Venture Bronco along with the CenterPoint scope. I feel like I didn't lose money because the Bronco was in need of a decent optic anyway. The synthetic stock is a great price saving concept but executed poorly as the finish started wearing off with the first 100 pellets I ran through the Benjamin Varmint. my hands were covered in some sort of rubbery black material. Eventually the finish stopped wearing but initially it was a little worrisome.

    What others should know: For the price this is a great rifle with a few hangups but no real deal breakers. The CenterPoint scope along with the light and laser are better suited for a springer or multi-pump pneumatic. My best advice is to not use on this powerhouse rifle and save it for a rifle that won't break it in the first 500 shots. I installed my GTR-III trigger on the Benjamin Varmint and it's a beast. You don't need a Charlie Da Tuna trigger but once you use it you'll never look back. If you want to enjoy a great inexpensive time plinking and taking out pests get this setup while you have time.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2015-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Heft, length, fire feel, Weaver rail, power (22 cal), reasonably quiet. In hand it's a lot like my center-fire rifles. Shoulder and swing are good and similar to my 06. The shrouded barrel is also very nice in hand when cocking and it helps with the noise - good idea :)

    Things I would have changed: Trigger - in fact I have an after market trigger on order already. Scope - CP not that great, but I new that. I used the factory rings. But installed a few scopes from my pile until I settled on a Weaver steel tube (bluing matches action parts nicely) K1.5-1 Micro-Trac. I chase garden pests so I need a bit bigger field of view - works great :)

    What others should know: Nice all a round rifle. Accuracy started to come in with scope change and maybe 100 pellets through it. Hitting 1" groups off a tree trunk rest at measured 30m with Discovery HP. Expect better with premium pellets. But good enough for critters. I do not use the flash-light or the laser. I may pay with them in the future... But for not this is my "shop" air gun. It replaces a Benji 329 that dies a few months ago (seals) and it will do until that's up and running - maybe longer... I liked it so much, I ordered a 22 Regal for the house air gun, but was very disappointed in the "veneer" stock feel. So that one went back and I ordered a Ruger Youkon for the house air gun. This black rifle stays out in the shop, and that's fine. But the house needs a "pretty" so when folks come over they don't complain about "black rifles" (you know, the Kalifornia Kollective mentallity...). Wish Benjamin actually made a traditional stocked (walnut) real "Regal" - oh well ...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chad from USA on 2015-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: QUIET!!! And accurate

    Things I would have changed: The scope is no good

    What others should know: This gun is really accurate under 20 yds even with the cheap scope it comes with. Just try a bunch of different pellets to find the one your gun likes. mine shoots quarter size groups at 15yds with Beeman fts pellets

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle will shoot good, if you take the time to learn how to shoot it. I am shooting around 1.5" at 40 yards, but this is my first "real" air rifle and I only have about 600 rounds through it. I can shoot centerfire rifles real good, so thats a little frustrating. these are the same groups that I can expect from my .243 at 300 yards. The light is awesome for its size! not a maglight but will light up the barns for shooting rats! the laser works good and holds zero but would work a lot better if it could be mounted closer to the barrel centerline.

    Things I would have changed: laser mount.. not sure how I would change it but I would get it closer to the barrel. The scope sucks. There is no way to sugar coat that. I re focused the objective and the eyepiece so it will maybe get me through the break in but it sucks. It does hold zero, but it is very distorted around the edge. Looks like I'm looking through the first scope ever put on a rifle. I recrowned the barrel on mine, but thats not 100% necessary, I just noticed that after taking the barrel shroud off the crown was cut in the center of the barrel, but the bore was off to the side. This is a common problem with all rifles. The crown should be cut from the center of the bore, but this is harder to do on an assembly line than cutting it from the outside of the barrel. also replace the trigger adjust screw with a longer one. or swap the trigger. gotta get the second stage shorter.

    What others should know: It shoots good if you do your part. Im getting 751 fps average with crosman 14.3 grain HP. Thats with extreme spread of 21 and standard deviation of just 5 fps! That should be enough to say the accuracy is possible. I have found that to shoot accurately I have to squeeze through the first stage, then preload the second stage, line the crosshairs up, and pull through the second stage fast and smooth. If I squeeze until it surprises me, my groups fall apart. I have to tell this gun when to fire, if that makes sense.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything! Bought this gun a month and a half ago, and out of the box it was poerful, accurate, and solid. Other than the 4X32 scope this is a great package. Beast of a .22. Light/laser package is fun and works great. Put a CP 4X16 40AO IR and hit 1" groups at 75yards no problem.

    Things I would have changed: Different Scope.

    What others should know: This is a great gun cant go wrong. Powerful, underrated in FPS/FPE. Blows holes in 1" plywood and sends the pellets another 100ft. This gun is the same as the Regal so if sythetic stocks arent your thing go that route.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sheldon from USA on 2014-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent air rifle, love it. Took it to the range today to sight in the scope and get familiar with it and it did great. Sighted in easily and shot consistently tight patterns. The lighted / laser portion of the optics package is quite nice to play with and works well too.

    Things I would have changed: Make the safety automatic with cocking instead of a manual safety. Not to big a deal, just need to get into a good habit of flipping the safety as soon as you fire.

    What others should know: This is a full-size rifle both in length, weight and power. Definitely an adult rifle for sure. Highly recommended for target shooting and small game hunting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price,power,performance

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Powerful,punching thru one inch plywood at 40 feet,dialed the scope in in 15 shots,quiet love this rifle real nice fit

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rabbi from USA on 2014-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great fun for a good price! Bought this rifle to go on fun little night excursions, but meanwhile, with just an inexpensive Center Point scope put on with the laser and torchlight, this Varmint gun outshoots most of my decent sized selection of air weapons. Hits with one shot knock out, fun to also take out inanimate objects like stacked soda cans, whatever. An excellent product, one which out does a number of Benjamin/Crosman costlier pieces.

    Things I would have changed: I would make all my rifles this accurate.

    What others should know: A very worthwhile weapon in any collection. Totally lives up to any hype and actually beyond IMO. If you can, buy yourself a treat.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great power and a good scope.Set the scope easily. Thank u crosman!

    Things I would have changed: None!

    What others should know: laser and flashlight r great, set everything easily, will enjoy this air rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Old from USA on 2014-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Good feel, size and weight, big thick barrel is easy to grab and cock, nice full size scope rail welded to top of receiver

    Things I would have changed: people complain about the scope on here, but it comes with the gun, so buy a better one if you like, my scope works fine

    What others should know: Just bought this and there are not a lot of reviews so I figured I would share some thoughts. I zeroed scope with about 25 shots, the first 4-5 I didn't make adjustments, just test fired. I understand from my reading other reviews that these things usually get more accurate after 50-100 rounds? Mine is hitting a quarter size bullseye 4 times in a row at 20 yards before I went to bed after just 25 shots. that'll work, but If it gets better over time, then great! I did run a .22 cleaning rod with a patch and a drop of CLP rifle oil/cleaner through the barrel before I shot it. Barrel was filthy omg, cleaned it with two more clean patches to get any oil out before I started shooting. I will clean it again tonight. It was loud the first few shots, but is supposed to get quieter after it breaks in so we shall see. I was shooting 3/4 in plywood with 1/2 particle board behind that indoors, the 14.3 g crossman hollow points hit hard into the wood and went deep into first board

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kelly from USA on 2014-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The LED flashlight and laser that came with the scope are both great accessories that bring a lot of value to this package, that keeps the fun going on after dark.

    Things I would have changed: I like it just the way it is.

    What others should know: I purchased this air rifle package about a month ago and have had a lot of fun with it. It is quiet enough to shoot from my back porch without bothering the neighbors. I paid the $20 for Pyramid Air to sight in the scope and laser. I have only had to make a few minor adjustments to the laser. Both the scope and laser are now accurate at about 50 yards. I think the extra $20 was a good investment. Thanks for the great service, I will be looking to Pyramid Air for future purchases I have on my wish list.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Tank from USA on 2014-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well built, heavy duty and have a lot of power.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is not that good. I changed it.

  • 12 Next
Navigation