Date: 13/12/2018 4:50
0

Bear River Sportsman. B1282. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (7 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Art from USA on 2016-09-06 02:48:47

Things I liked: I would invite readers to click "buzz" link at top of page. Tom is a PA pro who gave a indepth review of this rifle. It was enough to get me to bite. The Black Ops is an 880 clone with major upgrades: the 11mm picatinny rail is a master stroke! The thin dove tail on my 880 is a worry, and I make sure not to bang the scope. The Ops rail is thick. The easy to grasp cocking handle feels great and locks down well. The hard sights are much improved from the 880. The front sight also acts as a muzzle guard - sorely lacking on the 880.

Things I would have changed: Change pump hook up! Ok, I have an 880, 77xs, M-4, and now the Black Ops. These are all inexpensive to collect and are serviceable hunting guns. I took the Ops head to head with the 880, and it was a dead heat on power and accuracy. Where old reliable (in production since 1972) still out shines the Ops, is trigger pull and pump behavior. The 880 has a short and crisp release by comparison. The Ops takes a harder pull. The Ops pump makes a loud "snap" because of a button that engages and disengages during pumping. So if you plan on hunting in the open field, anything will fly or run away within 30 yards of that racket. The 880 is silent. Now if you do it like me and prep inside a house, then sneak out to deal with pest animals, that will work. Still, that Ops pump needs to be re-designed for quiet action.

What others should know: Black Ops has a double meaning. It is a cool name, but also I believe it is Gamo covert operations. Check out the Bone Collector Cadet to see the similarities. Gamo, a big company, would not let an upstart firm rip off one of their designs like that. Or maybe that is what happened and Gamo doesn't know. Either way this is a great deal for collectors or a newbie. The little scope never got put on mine because I had a variable power one sitting in a drawer. Unlike $100 magnum springers that cause many buyers heartache, like gross inaccuracy and shattered scopes, for $50 a shooter gets a recoiless gun that is easy to sight in and scope with a basic 40-50 dollar Tasco or Simmons. A Bug Buster right here at PA would look great on this Ops. Either way the gun is a good value and worthy of a scope upgrade. Penny size groups at 15 yds for this shooter. Hammer pellets.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By john from USA on 2016-12-31 22:40:14

Things I liked: The look of the gun is different and nice,it is also fairly accurate with most pellets.

Things I would have changed: It is very hard to load the pellets it is that way for most pump Airguns tho. The scope is totally useless one of worst that I ever have seen.

What others should know: It is only $50 dollars and I think it is better than my daisy 880

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything and it's really accurate !

    Things I would have changed: For the price nothing!

    What others should know: Fun little rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Howard from USA on 2017-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Rock Solid for the Money, and My Son loves it.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from USA on 2016-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The look of the gun is different and nice,it is also fairly accurate with most pellets.

    Things I would have changed: It is very hard to load the pellets it is that way for most pump Airguns tho. The scope is totally useless one of worst that I ever have seen.

    What others should know: It is only $50 dollars and I think it is better than my daisy 880

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art from USA on 2016-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Things I liked: I would invite readers to click "buzz" link at top of page. Tom is a PA pro who gave a indepth review of this rifle. It was enough to get me to bite. The Black Ops is an 880 clone with major upgrades: the 11mm picatinny rail is a master stroke! The thin dove tail on my 880 is a worry, and I make sure not to bang the scope. The Ops rail is thick. The easy to grasp cocking handle feels great and locks down well. The hard sights are much improved from the 880. The front sight also acts as a muzzle guard - sorely lacking on the 880.

    Things I would have changed: Change pump hook up! Ok, I have an 880, 77xs, M-4, and now the Black Ops. These are all inexpensive to collect and are serviceable hunting guns. I took the Ops head to head with the 880, and it was a dead heat on power and accuracy. Where old reliable (in production since 1972) still out shines the Ops, is trigger pull and pump behavior. The 880 has a short and crisp release by comparison. The Ops takes a harder pull. The Ops pump makes a loud "snap" because of a button that engages and disengages during pumping. So if you plan on hunting in the open field, anything will fly or run away within 30 yards of that racket. The 880 is silent. Now if you do it like me and prep inside a house, then sneak out to deal with pest animals, that will work. Still, that Ops pump needs to be re-designed for quiet action.

    What others should know: Black Ops has a double meaning. It is a cool name, but also I believe it is Gamo covert operations. Check out the Bone Collector Cadet to see the similarities. Gamo, a big company, would not let an upstart firm rip off one of their designs like that. Or maybe that is what happened and Gamo doesn't know. Either way this is a great deal for collectors or a newbie. The little scope never got put on mine because I had a variable power one sitting in a drawer. Unlike $100 magnum springers that cause many buyers heartache, like gross inaccuracy and shattered scopes, for $50 a shooter gets a recoiless gun that is easy to sight in and scope with a basic 40-50 dollar Tasco or Simmons. A Bug Buster right here at PA would look great on this Ops. Either way the gun is a good value and worthy of a scope upgrade. Penny size groups at 15 yds for this shooter. Hammer pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By k7uqshooter from USA on 2015-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Things I liked: Good workmanship and materials. Excellent accuracy with pellets at ten meters. not so good at 25 yards due to cheap included scope.

    Things I would have changed: Leave off that embarrassing "Black Ops Junior Sniper Rifle" written in huge white letters. For one thing it is not junior sized. You are going to be a Sniper with a pump up BB / pellet gun ? Target the gun for sales to adults who want a inexpensive, accurate air rifle.

    What others should know: For the money, this is a great rifle. I am surprised more folks have not bought one. I like mine .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By conjruct from USA on 2015-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a fun pump style bb gun. The look is pretty cool, it feels good to hold and shoot. I think it is fairly accurate and has good power. Personally, I like the fiber optic sights better than the scope.

    Things I would have changed: The fake clip makes the handle kind of uncomfortable. I would prefer a more comfortable pump handle. If you have small hand this could be a challenge.

    What others should know: This gun is what I expected at this price range. It is not the most solid, but it is also not $100. Take your time when pushing the bolt handle forward to avoid BB jams. I have to use a tweezers to load a pellet. I enjoy shooting this gun at tin cans.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from USA on 2014-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Rifled Steel Barrel FPS Design

    Things I would have changed: Full size Picatinny rail on upper receiver Change the scope mount

    What others should know: Overall a really great multi-pump gun, save for the scope being off axis from the bore. This caused my POI to be off my 3-4 inches versus using the Fiber Optic sights in which my POI matched my POA.

     
Navigation