Date: 10/12/2018 9:19
0

Colt Python 2.5". 2280087. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (21 reviews)
1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Bill from USA on 2017-01-09 15:12:43

Things I liked: Bought this because I was a bit bored with winter, it's about the size of my wife's pistol (she needs the practice) and the price was cheap. I had little hope for a good shooter. I was definitely wrong. This is a great little gun. Fits my medium size hand, easy to sight in, and its extremely accurate. Do to my limited basement space I was only able to shoot at about 18 feet on a standard pistol target with crosman pellets. Out of 60 shots 52 went into the 9 or 10 ring. I still had quite a bit of CO2 left at that point but wife was yelling dinner so I quit. I can not vouch for the sights at the moment because I generally shoot without them. More point and shoot as I learned long ago. See my problem with the sights in the things to change section. Using it as a single action seems to be more accurate for my style of shooting. I have not tried the BB cylinders.

Things I would have changed: I'm old and my eyes seem to be older. They no longer see sights they way they did 60+ years ago when I got my first gun. If I use dollar store 2.50 cheaters I see much better. The problem, the front post is black and the rear sights are black and I have a tough time distinguishing one from the other. I used a paint pen to color the front sight white and now I think I can actually use them.. I also think the lower part of the cylinder lock lever - the short part of the "L"- could be a bit deeper. It's easy to trip.

What others should know: If you are looking for a nice, simple, accurate fun gun this is it. I have approximately 20 pistols and this seems to provide me with more enjoyment then a lot of the other "better" spelled expensive guns.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Sherry from USA on 2017-02-11 11:41:03

Things I liked: I liked the feel

Things I would have changed: Pallets would not Stay Loaded into the cylinder Clips they fell out and I felt when I was shooting it that the pellets were tumbling through the air ripping the paper

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carl from USA on 2018-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Realistic look and feel. Like that it fires bb's and pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Clifford from USA on 2018-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels like the real thing

    Things I would have changed: awkward to load bb's. would change the way it loaded but can't think of how it could be done without taking away from how it looks

    What others should know: No, good gun for the money

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Herb from USA on 2018-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sure it's a bit light - so is a Ruger LCR! Took my time after cleaning bbl and checking it out. Use a small Allen wrench to just press pellets enough to seat - at first kinda slow but after a few hundred pellets I get 10 loaded in less than a minute. Used enamel paint on front/rear sights. I'm into it maybe a 1000 shots after a couple weeks and often hitting in the 1"-2"ish range at 45'-50' targets. Don't mess with BBs in this one. Averaging about 60 shots at the aforementioned range per CO2 powerlet.

    Things I would have changed: It is what it is - not bad for the $. Ok change to a Ruger LCRx .22 for $50! LOL

    What others should know: A tiny dap of oil on every third or fourth CO2 powerlet. Try some Gamo Hunters and Match in it too - kinda surprised me after shooting the ammo that costs 2-3 times as much! LOL

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very realistic looking. Feels good in hand. I drop one star for the weight (too light). Shot daisy flat nose pellets. Took 50 shots, still have co2 for more fun. Accurate (short range shooting in living room). Trigger feels great in single and double action.

    Things I would have changed: Only the weight. Too light.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Comfortable fit in my, hand, accurate out of the box, very good trigger, easy load, 2x ammo, price.

    Things I would have changed: Exactly what I expected, and I'm happy about it. A top rail would be nice, for maybe a small laser, but the open sights are fine with a small drop of white paint added.

    What others should know: This is a garage shooter with excellent 15-20 foot accuracy. It s a 2 1/2" barrel and that what you can expect. Maybe Superman could do further distances than that. You're a daisy if you can do it. This pistol is a nice value. Buy it for shooting fun. Careful waving it around, not for kids.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2018-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Realistic feel & look. Shoots both Pellets & BBs.

    Things I would have changed: Include a holster

    What others should know: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: this is a very accurate pellet gun good for target practice from15 to 30 feet. feels good in the hand and built good , not cheap feeling.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: you get a lot of shots for one co2.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bryan from Canada on 2017-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice and light and the rotary magazines are deep enough to take the longer and polymer pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Dots on the sights are always good !

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2017-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Short, smooth trigger pull (in double action), which is all-important to me. Adjustable rear sights, my all-important second place. Accuracy so-so out of the box at 30', but will report back after adjusting the sights. Some reviewers say the gun is too light, but I say it's just fine for a small air gun at this price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for me, but the metal pellet magazines may be an issue for others. See below.

    What others should know: The pellet magazines are made of metal, not polymer. As a result, you can't push (squeeze) the pellets into their chambers, you can only drop them in. That makes it easier to load a magazine, but if you flip it past vertical before inserting it into the gun, the pellets will fall out to the rear. So forget about carrying around extra loaded pellet magazines. (The BB magazines are made of polymer, so that's not an issue for BBs.)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vincent from Canada on 2017-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ergonomic, awesome grip feel, superb mechanism for the hammer, great finish, simple mechanism, rotary clips looks nice and are easy to load, the gun is verry accurate and group verry tight, rear sight is adjustable for elevation and windage, but does not required a big adjustment, shoot perfect out of the box. a pure joy to shoot, in my top 10

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: i'm using RWS R-10 Match pellets, verry consistent grouping

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Sherry from USA on 2017-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I liked the feel

    Things I would have changed: Pallets would not Stay Loaded into the cylinder Clips they fell out and I felt when I was shooting it that the pellets were tumbling through the air ripping the paper

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2017-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This pistol although not a replicate is pretty realistic. It is easy to load CO2. It shoots well and I get about 80 shots per co2 cartridge.. The accuracy with pellets is good for the short barrel. The trigger pull is surprisingly crisp and it shoots well in double and single action. I do not have a chronograph but the power seems very good. Pellets will punch through a steel soup can at 20 feet.. The feel in the hand is good although it is a little light because of the plastic construction. Overall if you want a short barrel revolver this is a good buy for the money.

    Things I would have changed: I could not get BBs to shoot well in this gun. They did not fit well in the magazine and the accuracy was very poor with BBs

    What others should know: This is a good pistol for pellets. It does not shoot BBs well

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2017-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: it feels good in you hand. shoots great with pellets and a little less with bb's. Not very loud. The sight helps get you on target. Great little gun for the money

    Things I would have changed: none

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By 103David from USA on 2017-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I give this a five star review, not because it's perfect but because it's superb value for the money. I mean really, better than reasonably accurate, multi-BB/pellet friendly, several rotary magazines included, to entertain BBs or pellets, pretty darn good trigger-pull in both single and double action, spare magazines available at very reasonable pricing, and all for half a C-Note. What's not to like? A particularly close copy of a "real" 3" Python. PARTICULARLY close unlike the all-metal BB launchers the are more like Quasimodo replicants in appearance...(look up the more politically correct reference if necessary.) I got this as an indoor/winter trainer..Yes, I have a "real" one. Happily so, and pellets are ever so much cheaper than launching .357/.38 Specials downrange.

    Things I would have changed: This would be much more realistic/useful were it not so light. Way TOO light. The short barrel is much more amenable and balanced compared to the whippy six-inch version ( which I also have) but both versions could well do with some additional ballast in the barrel area

    What others should know: Comparison photo to follow.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lewis[Tom] from USA on 2017-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This one really hit home for me, i like short barrels, i have the 6" also, but this one is mine, and either BB or Pellet, that is great,money well spent.

    Things I would have changed: nothing, absolutly nothing.

    What others should know: if you want an accurate gun, this is it, one of my targets is the cape off a watter bottle hanging on a string at about the distance inside a garage, it gets hit regularly.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the feel of this gun. It's got great balance/weight ratio.

    Things I would have changed: Offer other grip options, i.e. pearl handle,wood handle

    What others should know: Accuracy gets very poor when CO2 is low.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2017-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought this because I was a bit bored with winter, it's about the size of my wife's pistol (she needs the practice) and the price was cheap. I had little hope for a good shooter. I was definitely wrong. This is a great little gun. Fits my medium size hand, easy to sight in, and its extremely accurate. Do to my limited basement space I was only able to shoot at about 18 feet on a standard pistol target with crosman pellets. Out of 60 shots 52 went into the 9 or 10 ring. I still had quite a bit of CO2 left at that point but wife was yelling dinner so I quit. I can not vouch for the sights at the moment because I generally shoot without them. More point and shoot as I learned long ago. See my problem with the sights in the things to change section. Using it as a single action seems to be more accurate for my style of shooting. I have not tried the BB cylinders.

    Things I would have changed: I'm old and my eyes seem to be older. They no longer see sights they way they did 60+ years ago when I got my first gun. If I use dollar store 2.50 cheaters I see much better. The problem, the front post is black and the rear sights are black and I have a tough time distinguishing one from the other. I used a paint pen to color the front sight white and now I think I can actually use them.. I also think the lower part of the cylinder lock lever - the short part of the "L"- could be a bit deeper. It's easy to trip.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a nice, simple, accurate fun gun this is it. I have approximately 20 pistols and this seems to provide me with more enjoyment then a lot of the other "better" spelled expensive guns.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2017-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Shot it for the first time yesterday. VERY nice. Its a BIG gun and feels great in hand. Yes it doesn't have the 'bullets' and such as some of the other revolvers have now. But its still realistic enough. Its more accurate than I am but I was shredding soda cans at 21 feet in my wood shop and it has plenty of power for target shooting. Very nice gun at a very nice price. Buy it, you wont be sorry. Also I shot it for some time and still had plenty of CO2 left in the cartridge when I had to call it a day and get back to work, LOL

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really, I had a problem with the magazine spring but it started to work ok. Probably just stiff from being new. I will put a drop of oil on it. A fiber optic front sight would be nice. Or one that is painted white but I can paint it myself.

    What others should know: It seems to be a good value for the money and if you can purchase it with free shipping its a good deal. The duel ammo is a nice feature and the fact that it comes with four disc 'magazines'.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mort from USA on 2017-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great replica: very well made; has a realistic feel. Price is outstanding!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dick from USA on 2017-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: 2.5" Barrel .... small package. Realistic look and feel. 10 round magazine. CO2 loads like a Peacemaker

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. This gun is well styled. For the price, you get a lot for your money. After my first try out, I like it so much that intend to buy the 4" model to go along with my 5.5" 357 model.

    What others should know: I was surprised at how great this gun looks when you first open the box and take it in hand. The look and feel is very realistic. I did not expect to like it so quickly because of the unusual magazine style and non-rotating cylinders. However, I changed my mind very quickly when handling it for the first time. Shooting was very accurate for a 2.5" barrel. I had no trouble holding shots into a 6" black bulls eye at 20 feet right out of the box. I will need to tweek the rear sights to compensate for a little shooting to the left but overall, I had no trouble after the first few shots. I bought three extra magazines each and put 90 rounds into the target before the velocity dropped off too far to continue. In my opinion, this gun is a great value at $50 price point. Construction is all metal except for the magazine. I have not had a chance to try pellets yet, but I'm very pleased with the results from my first time out with BBs. Go for it. It's a great intro to Magnum shooting.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation