Date: 16/8/2018 9:58
0

Crosman MTR77 NP Scoped Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (42 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:3.0

By John from USA on 2017-03-25 10:10:05

Things I liked: This is a fun little gun. Feels like the real thing. Not super heavy and good price for it.

Things I would have changed: I am thinking the only thing I'd do differently is sell it as a combo with a hard case but then again I feel all gun should be sold w/case

What others should know: It will not take much to get this gun broke in wear safety glasses and have fun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Robert from USA on 2013-07-02 08:43:02

Things I liked: rifle is OK, scope is very poor

Things I would have changed: better scope and a good set of open sights

What others should know: don't bother with scope, it will not hold its adjustments

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice AR15 replica, has sling attachments. Good weight for all the composite and plastic used, I like that it shoots best with a firm hold against the shoulder.

    Things I would have changed: The supplied scope developed a loose recticle after 100 shots, so the scope went to the trash bin. I would have preferred it equipped with a front sight and removable carry handle attached to the rail.

    What others should know: Plan on replacing the scope and weaver mount rings, the ones supplied with the MTR77 will not last. The plastic faux ammo clip always rattles and is irritating, I may put a turn or two of black duct tape around it to stop the plastic-on-plastic rattle. The shoulder stock is short, plan on mounting your scope as far forward as you can to get reasonable eye relief.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: everything, wanted one of these since i was little, im a vietnam baby.

    Things I would have changed: open shights in stead of scope. grandpa siad scopes are for cheaters who dont know how to shoot.

    What others should know: you must be able to lift at least 100 pounds or you will be to weak too cock this gun not for girly boys. sounds like a 22 or 25 when shooting lead free pellets(awesome)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2018-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've had this rifle for a couple years now and like it so much I decided to leave some positive feedback... Its accurate and built like a tank..very reliable.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing... obviously the scope is just to get you started, you're paying for the rifle, not the scope.. Probably should come with carry handle and sights.

    What others should know: Extremely powerful break barrel rifle...NOT FOR KIDS!! REQUIRES FAIR AMOUNT OF STRENGTH TO COCK THE NITRO PISTON...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2017-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I absolutely love the look and feel of this rifle. This is by far the best 177 caliber air rifle that I own Crossman really nailed it with this one. Right when you pick this rifle up you can tell by the feel of it if this is going to be a good gun. It is extremely accurate, and I normally shoot anywhere from 30 to 50 yards. With the nitro piston it gives this rifle more than enough power in any shooting circumstances that you would purchase this gun for. I very highly recommend buying this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The biggest problem and complaint that I have with this air rifle is that the fake magazine rattles a whole lot and it is kindly noisy. I suppose a feller Could probably stuff some napkins or toilet paper in it enough to keep it from rattling. And it might be hard for a elderly person or someone that is not very strong to cock it, Maybe , Maybe if it came with an extension bar to put on the end of the barrel, it would be a lot easier for someone that has less strength to own and operate.

    What others should know: This is a very very powerful airgun it is so powerful that a pellet travel through a 24 inch deep cardboard box that is stuffed plum full With other cardboard, and the pellet continued to travel through 1/4 inch paneling and still traveled on through two sheets of 5/8 inch sheet rock and then imbedded itself in a wooden door. Use caution with this rifle and pay attention to what is behind your target of impact.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun is fantastic it's very realistic and it looks awesome with the new scope and the laser and light I put on it very good job Crosman excellent

    Things I would have changed: The only things I would change on the gun would be I put a better butt stock on it and I put a little bit more working features on it to make it look even more realistic

    What others should know: I highly recommend this gun it's very powerful and very accurate and it looks great and is a ball to shoot

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful, very realistic, reminds me of my military days. My first gas piston rifle and I like it. Being made in China would not be my first choice however I have about 1000 rounds through it and no problem.

    Things I would have changed: IGet rid of the cheap scope. I put a Hawke on it and it works fine I also bought iron for it and they work well. I would like to see it available in .22.

    What others should know: The trigger is like a double action revolver. It is long but fairly smooth and not too hard. A little getting used to for offhand but I have encountered much worse. I did have to Locktite (Blue) some of the screws on the receiver. The recoil of a gas piston is somewhat different from a metal springer. Overall I like the rifle and would not hesitate to suggest buying it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2017-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought this rifle a week ago and It's " Cloneship", t0 a genuine AR-15 By looks, Weight balance, etc. is absolutely amazing I am awestruck at the realistic look feel and handling of this rifle. I searched and researched looking for this rifle for two months and came across it by accident. THANK GOODNESS I FOUND IT.

    Things I would have changed: The Only improvement this rifle requires is to PRODUCE IT IN .22 caliber. and Lose the scope ! This rifle deserves far better. and decent open sighs would be an upgrade. Let the Buyer determine the scope he or she wants on it...if any. It has the power and ability to be the best most enjoyable pellet burner on the planet if it is produced in .22 caliber or at least offer us a replacement barrel to upgrade our existing .177 versions. I would love to have the .22 version when it arrives and will be thrilled wiht my MTR77 " SET "

    What others should know: It appears to me to be absolutely rock solid and is just a pleasure to shoot... The 45# cocking effort is the cost of having premium performance and not a del breaker for me ( even at 75 years young) And If anybody want's to chat with me about it, feel free to contact me at diamond@easyliving.com I'm a true bonifide owner/user of this rifle and several others ( Beeman's) over the past 30 years An afternoon spent with this rifle is the most fun you will ever have with your clothes on !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a fun little gun. Feels like the real thing. Not super heavy and good price for it.

    Things I would have changed: I am thinking the only thing I'd do differently is sell it as a combo with a hard case but then again I feel all gun should be sold w/case

    What others should know: It will not take much to get this gun broke in wear safety glasses and have fun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2017-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I love this guns look, the AR-15/M16 look makes it look amazing and real. It is louder than my other guns and has some recoil, making the gun even more realistic. The power of the gun is awesome, I was able to shoot through 8 tin cans and knock off the 8th one.

    Things I would have changed: Scope, either have more carry handles in stock or change the scope.

    What others should know: Scope isn't the best, just a basic duplex and it is not as clear. Has two adjusters for horizontal and vertical. And the back part of the scope can adjust the zoom. Scope does not come mounted. -Scope has to be adjusted when you first get the gun -Is very loud when a blank is shot -Strong arms required to break the barrel -Barrel is broken with a smack, no need to hit it hard

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Caleb from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight is almost exact to the real thing, it has the most power out of the three airguns I own, and is absolutely fun jack. I've had this rifle for about a year now and is my go to gun when I have to shoot the crows out of the corn :)

    Things I would have changed: I would have two of these if they made a .22, please make one crosman!

    What others should know: It isn't a toy, good for small game and looks like the real thing, so be careful.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Victor from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Looks great well built it's a good straight shooter it's got accuracy and power shoots several different pellets accurate can't beat the price

    Things I would have changed: The second stage of the trigger is a little tight I think you will need to adjust it right Out the box but when you get use to it it's fine

    What others should know: I put a different scope with heavy duty ring mounts the ones that come with it are a little light for this gun it's got a little kick

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a sweet shooting good looking air rifle...not a toy it is a hard hitting accurate rifle, first nitro piston rifle I have purchased and I am rather impressed, not very loud and a pleasure to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: This gun does have a few minor things I would like to see changed.... the balance is not the best, it is nose heavy and to off set this issue I have filled the butt stock with foam.. it does 2 things adds a little weight and pulls a little more of the recoil out of this rifle.

    What others should know: This gun works very well with the recommended jb exact diabolo pellets, I also have been using benjamin pellets and at 125 feet shooting less than 2 inch groups, I am sure it is me holding back the tighter groups.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very nice replica of the M16. I am very familiar with the M16 as I spent 8 years in the Army and had to carry my weapon all over the place. It looks the same even up close. In particular the handguards seem to be made of the exact solid plastic as the real thing. The weight is about the same, and when I shoot it, the kick is about the same as a real M16. It is also very fun to shoot with the scope as well as the open sights, which I had to buy separately. I bought a UTG low profile front sight along with an AR15 Carry handle sight, and that combination works well on this rifle. I am so happy with the power of this rifle and the fact that I can actually shoot it in my basement, which I cannot do with a real rifle. So when people ask me what my M16 was like, I can show them my MTR77 and they get the idea.

    Things I would have changed: First thing that I would change are the scope rings. There have been many complaints about the accuracy of the scope and some are not able to zero, but I think this is due to the low quality scope rings that come with the scope. I bought some UTG High Profile Heavy Duty scope rings and my scope seems much better. The next thing I would change is the trigger, which had many complaints. The trigger pull is way too long and requires too much force and this really takes away from the accuracy of the rifle. There are some trigger mods that you can do that will greatly improve the trigger pull. I don't know if anything can be done about this but the cocking force for the break barrel is 45Lbs of force, which is a lot but its still way better than a 10-pump.

    What others should know: This can be a very accurate rifle with the trigger modifications and new scope rings. It is the most powerful air rifle I have ever used.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I love everything about this amazing air rifle! Crosman made a winner with this AR15/M16 lookalike. Instead of adding a scope or sight I decided to order real front and rear AR15/m16 iron sights, and i also bought a full metal ar15 carry handle/dual aperture peep sight...it is nice to switch the carry handle for the ar15 rear sight for a change...for the front sight I bought a pack of seven different KNS Precision sight posts and the ar15 sight tool, which isn't the same as the stock Crosman sight tool. As far as shooting is concerned, this air rifle is a straight shooter and once I got used to the trigger I found nothing troublesome about it and my accuracy is improving every time I shoot this air rifle. It is my first gas ram break barrel rifle but I've had the Benjamin trail np air pistol for a year or so.

    Things I would have changed: I would rather this air rifle came with a .22 caliber version! I would have liked to have a removable stock with the option of putting an M4 adjustable stock on it, like the Crosman m4-177

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john a. from USA on 2016-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: well made,solid gun .very accurate once sighted in.good looking replica shoots as hard as my hatsan mod 95

    Things I would have changed: gun is worthy of a better scope

    What others should know: I put a bugbuster scope with high rings on it.the higher rings provided more elevation adjustment. the rings provided with the bugbuster are not high enough for this rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By On Target Air Guns from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a GREAT gun for the $. The guns looks are awesome and it is super accurate. From a short distance people have thought this gun was real AR-15. I have owned this gun for well over a year and I have had 0 problems.

    Things I would have changed: The Trigger.

    What others should know: I did not mount the scope. I had a new Leapers waiting for it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ron from USA on 2015-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I spent several months looking at different air rifles before buying this one. I like the looks and power of this rifle. I added a red dot scope because the one that comes with it doesn't do the job. One thing I did was use the Crosman trigger fix to give it a smoother trigger pull. You can find how to do this by using Google. The last thing I did was to replace the butt pad with a new M16/AR15 one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Stout...This thing feels solid. Looks and feels great. I've mounted a UTG 3-9x32 Compact CQB Bug Buster scope on it...Perfect for this rifle. I never even mounted the scope that came with it. I also purchased a carry handle and UTG low profile front sight for it which gives it a more traditional look. This thing is quite powerful. I took a squirrel out from about 50 yards offhand with the scope. One shot to the head, clean kill using a H&N crow magnum hollow point. I bought it on a whim and it has far exceeded my expectations!

    Things I would have changed: a rubber butt pad would be nice. I added a limbsaver pad I had and it keeps it from sliding on hard surfaces if you stand it up by the buttstock.

    What others should know: initially cocking it can be tough...but you'll get used to it and it becomes easier.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kaleb from USA on 2015-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very high quality rifle and has great accuracy and velocity. It is very rugged and is heavy in the hand. Very good rifle for pest control, and plinking.

    Things I would have changed: I would've liked the rifle to come with a bigger better scope.

    What others should know: This is a must buy for anyone that loves realistic accurate replicas.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Virgil from USA on 2015-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Looks like and feels like real M16, is very accurate and improving with age. very powerful it will drive a pellet thru 3/8" thick pine board shooting at 25 meters...lot of bang for a buck!!!

    Things I would have changed: I can't say change anything except, put a slip on rubber butt pad on the gun.

    What others should know: This is a break barrel gun and the initial break might prove difficult following the printed instructions...A call to Pyramyd Air resolved my issue there and I opened her right up as we talked.Pyramyd Air is the AAAl supplier in service and options.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation