Date: 23/7/2019 8:31
0

Crosman Shockwave NP. CSNP7SX. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (13 reviews)
2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Alex from USA on 2016-02-05 20:14:03

Things I liked: I have been shooting all my life and this is my first air rifle. Don't ask me why I waited so long to get one. This rifle is awesome, plenty of power and after only 35 pellets I was getting groups at 15 yards in a nickel. This rifle felt and shot so good that I just bought a Benjamin Trail NP2 and can't wait to take it out.

Things I would have changed: I agree that the scope should be upgraded if you are going to do some serious shooting. I personally don't have a problem with the trigger, just remember the basics and you will be fine.

What others should know: All I can say is, boy have I been bitten and thank you Pyramyd Air.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By James from USA on 2018-07-10 21:42:00

Things I liked: a simple sturdy gun. rear scope mount has locking pin to prevent shifting due to recoil.

What others should know: takes a major effort to cock. has hard recoil and loud report. scope mounting grooves very shallow. scope does not attach well and can come loose.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2019-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Mine's .22. I like open sights, so with the exception of how ridiculously fragile the plastic rear sight is, I like that it has them. I really like how simple, lightweight, powerful, accurate, and aside from the rear sight, how otherwise very durable the rifle is. I also like that it doesn't compromise accuracy by trading inches of rifled steel barrel for the ever popular bulbous plastic sound suppressor hype that's getting so hard to dodge at this price point. Shoots the cheap stuff just fine. And I downright applaud crosman's comprehensive online parts lists and freely available diagram resources. Don't have to jump through hoops to get a part like my RWS rifles, so I'm not so apprehensive about chucking it in a cargo hold or whatnot.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is atrocious out of the box, but no complaints as it's easily fixed match grade light by adding a 10 cent washer. All in all, I'd say if they produced a (much) more durable rear sight, I'd not only give it a five star across the board, but probably buy a couple more non-suppressed crosman break barrels.

    What others should know: I'm not advising it, just sayin. If you trust yourself to never pull the trigger on an open breech, the anti beartrap slider linkage isn't necessary for operation, and without it breakdown and reassembly is a ten minute affair.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2018-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: a simple sturdy gun. rear scope mount has locking pin to prevent shifting due to recoil.

    What others should know: takes a major effort to cock. has hard recoil and loud report. scope mounting grooves very shallow. scope does not attach well and can come loose.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2018-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Tough. Accurate. Well priced when I bought it a year ago.

    Things I would have changed: The adjustable trigger requires some attention... mine now is usable. The stock is too short, but with a scope it is ok. The standard scope did not seem to work well for me. I put a cheap scope on it & it is a favorite of mine.

    What others should know: Pick a pellet with consistent results. My best .22 pellets are H&N FTT & Crosman premier domed ultra magnum. (H&N have superb QC of their product. Crosman are cheap BUT they are clean, their skirts are strong enough to resist damage, and their consistent patterns make me very happy.)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Armory203UW from USA on 2018-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Just had twins and I can't shoot my powder burners on a whim anymore. I didn't just want to quietly put holes in things, I wanted to smack them around a bit. This was the only .22 rifle in stock when I was ready to impulse buy something and so here we are. It's accurate and reliable and it scratches all the right itches. I like that it's a little loud and I like that cocking takes some effort. It's got just enough brutality to be cathartic. This thing has been a gateway drug into the world of air gunnery for me. Its marginal deficiencies have got me interested in tinkering and in more premium brands and models. If you want to dip your toes into the hobby without risking too much capital, the Shockwave is for you.

    Things I would have changed: The scope stopped adjusting for windage after about 500 shots. I've never been into optics so I don't really care and the open sights work well enough despite their flimsy appearance. But, if the inclusion of a scope is important to you, be aware that this one is pretty meh. The cocking mechanism was ridiculously tight at first. Like, hard enough that I thought I was doing something wrong. It has lightened significantly over time but it's still going to be a struggle for some.

    What others should know: Even if you're already an enthusiast, this thing is a great buy. The nitro piston setup brings the sass even in our frigid Michigan winter and it has sat without problem through several humid thaw cycles. No surface rust, no loss of lubrication. Hang your German steel and Turkish walnut in the house and keep this fella out in the shed for those quick taking-the-garbage-out pot shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bryon from USA on 2017-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The 22 caliber. The length of pull is quite short so if you are a youngster or you want a short quick point riffle that's kinda "tactical" this one is good.

    Things I would have changed: The open sights are kinda flimsy, especially the rear sight but I use scopes, and the one it comes with isn't up to par with what I use it for. Like all guns sub $400 bucks it needs some smoothing out or long break in period but way smoother than any coiled spring in its price range by far

    What others should know: Get a good multi magnification 32-40mm AO scope I'm using a bugbuster 32mm. Sight to 20yrds. Stays flat from 20-35 yrds. I use mine for rockchucks and pest bird control. I used it for quail last fall. It's a good 30 yrd gun any further I use my 117

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By josh from USA on 2017-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rifle is very powerful, well balanced, and solidly built. The scope included is excellent - high quality and perfectly suited to target shooting, plinking, and small pest control.

    Things I would have changed: More granular adjustment of the two stage trigger would be nice.

    What others should know: This is a great rifle for all levels of shooters, although a little heavy for younger shooters. Cocking/charging takes a fair amount of effort but gets easier with more use.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2017-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great rifle. I've take about 3 dozen squirrels now mostly body shots with the .22 up to 75 yards away. I sighted in at 25 yards and got a dime sized 3 shot group with Benjamin discovery pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Not a whole lot. I'm not a huge fan of the stock it feels a bit wobbly but for a $100 22 rifle what can I say

    What others should know: Excellent gun. It compares very well to my Benjamin trail np2

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I just received my Crosman Shockwave a week ago and once got the scope sighted in I'm shooting quarter size groups from 25 yards. For those who mention about the scope, I myself find it just fine and holds zero after 500 shots. I'must be lucky with the scope I received as others called it junk. I'm happy with it and that's all that matters. I'm using the Crosman premier hollow points 14.3 g which have a nice flat trajectory and makes nice clean holes. Just waiting on my opportunity to take out some woodchucks that have taken up residency under my shed.

    Things I would have changed: I would probably add some eyelets for a sling, but other than that I'd leave it just the way it is

    What others should know: There are some mods to the trigger on YouTube which will correct the long trigger pull. Relatively cheap and worth looking into. I'm surprised that Crosman didn't incorporate this into this trigger. It makes the rifle abut more accurate in my opinion.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very rugged, accurate and powerful

    Things I would have changed: The sights be mounted a little bit higher

    What others should know: I have had gun now for about 2 weeks and it is very accurate and powerful I would recommend this gun to a beginner airguners. Customer servise is great to with nice and helpful employees and fast order processing and shipping

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dale from USA on 2016-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: the weight, gun is very accurate rugged and well built

    Things I would have changed: scope is ok but? trigger needs refinement.

    What others should know: works well on critters up to woodchucks one shot job done crosman Destroyer works very well and is very accurate in this gun. it is not a toy gets the job done very well a little loud and takes some effort to cock . I limit my shots to 40 yards

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Looks, functionality.Durability!

    Things I would have changed: The safety is funky. Hard to get used to....

    What others should know: Hard to pump. Maybe it will get easier after several hundred rounds?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I have been shooting all my life and this is my first air rifle. Don't ask me why I waited so long to get one. This rifle is awesome, plenty of power and after only 35 pellets I was getting groups at 15 yards in a nickel. This rifle felt and shot so good that I just bought a Benjamin Trail NP2 and can't wait to take it out.

    Things I would have changed: I agree that the scope should be upgraded if you are going to do some serious shooting. I personally don't have a problem with the trigger, just remember the basics and you will be fine.

    What others should know: All I can say is, boy have I been bitten and thank you Pyramyd Air.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tristan from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is very quiet and comfortable to shoot. Accuracy is great out to 30yds ( that is as far as I have shot it and i got a 1.5 inch group )

    Things I would have changed: I would change the trigger ( it needs some work/ shorten the pull it's long ) I would like to see a better scope with this/ not the clearest glass.

    What others should know: It is a fantastic gun for the money, expect to test some pellets for this gun and look for a better scope.

     
Navigation