Date: 17/10/2018 19:35
0

Crosman Vantage Nitro Piston Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (82 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Derek from USA on 2013-10-13 01:24:54

Things I liked: Nitro piston. Very solid build quality. Chisel detent. Great accuracy. Easy to tweak trigger. Man-sized length of pull. Great power. I own 14 air rifles, most much more expensive, and if someone were to come to me asking what they should buy, I would point straight to this one. I don't have any airguns for double this price that will shoot with this one. The long trigger pull (an easy fix) and the stiff cocking (a given for the power this makes) are the only things that keep this from being perfect for everyone. If you have good arm strength to cock and shoulder this rifle and don't mind tinkering to tune the trigger, this is the best deal going in a budget air rifle. Hunters should also really enjoy it's flat shooting characteristics, as well as the nitro piston that performs so well in cold weather, can be cocked for prolonged periods without spring wear (because there isn't one), and is pretty quiet too. I just can't say enough about this wonderful rifle. Buy it, shoot it, love it. This rifle just exudes quality that shouldn't be attainable at this price.

Things I would have changed: The trigger pull has a VERY long second stage even with the adjustment screw all the way in. I substituted the screw for a one a bit longer and adjusted the second stage for a lot shorter travel. Be aware that the second stage is actually the only real stage of the trigger pull. The first stage is just taking up a spring that has no role in moving the sear, so do make sure to leave a decent amount of engagement for the sake of safety. It did not take a lot to get a very crisp trigger pull, even though it is a bit heavy. I haven't measured it, but probably around 4 lbs. It should also be noted that this rifle is pretty stiff to cock and breaking the barrel from lock is tough too. I don't find it unreasonable, but I am 6'2" , 190 lbs, and am pretty strong. Women and younger guys will have a very tough time cocking this rifle, and some may just not want to put up with the effort. My girlfriend cannot even come close to cocking this rifle, even though she can cock my gamo rocket with a bit of effort. My Gamo CFR has the same nitro piston, but I find it MUCH easier to cock. Of course, this rifle seems to hit with more force than my CFR, so it might be more powerful as well.

What others should know: This is an absolute steal of an air rifle. I wanted an open sight shooter without any frills. No thumb hole stock, no composites, no tactical looking accessories. Just a solid platform that could be tuned up a little and deliver good accuracy. I deliberated between this rifle and the Ruger blackhawk (an rws 34 copy). I have heard nothing but good thing about the ruger, and many recommended it over this crosman. The biggest difference mentioned was the quality of the trigger. Well, I knew that I could get the trigger where I wanted after finding out it was a copy of the old-style gamo trigger, but I heard that the ruger was a bit twangy. Having the nitro piston in my CFR, I knew that I would not be able to tune up the ruger to shoot as smoothly as the nitro piston allows (I don't have a whole machine shop at my disposal, just regular hand tools), so I put my money down on this crosman. I could not be happier with my purchase. There was zero dieseling or smoking from the first shotm, or any after. The accuracy fresh out of the box is on par with the accuracy of my CFR fresh out of the box. Now, this is comparing the two using the factory supplied open sights, and I know with my 24x scope and a good rest that the gamo will do 10 shot .25-35" groups at 25 yards with gamo hunters, but with either rifle my open sight groups are around .50" at 25 yards. I suspect that I could see even better groups from the crosman with a scope, but I doubt I'll ever find out.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By AirHead from USA on 2015-05-16 22:04:55

Things I liked: Nice wooden stock, price, open sights, powerful, easy to load, trigger didn't bother me.

Things I would have changed: More quality control testing. Crosman should recommend a heavier pellet like JSB 15.89's.

What others should know: I wouldn't use Crosman or Benjamin 14.3's in this rifle. They are just too light for a rifle with this much power. A pellet around 16 grain would work better. Mine shot way to the right with CP's even after adjusting windage all the way left to compensate. All the squirrels were laughing at me. I'm going to spend more money next time. You get what you pay for. Lesson learned

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By torquefrk from USA on 2018-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks...Nice fit and finish. Cocking and shooting are on par with my various spring piston guns..(Crosman Quest and Daisy 1101WS) This might be a bit quieter and have somewhat less recoil than either. Power seems good, knocking my twist tie attached 4x4 steel plate off the trap regularly. Overall very happy with the purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy with the factory sights is still a crapshoot since I only have about 30 shots through the gun so far. Trigger has a LOONG first stage but is decent otherwise.

    What others should know: Great deal at the price. I'll be updating this review in the future.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Dave on 2018-10-05
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Feels tight. Less recoil and bounce than our Beeman. Somewhat quite too.

    Things I would have changed: 1. Trigger pull is too long 2.Accuracy is a shot gun pattern ....book 3. Can't rate the scope because the pellets are flying everywhere. It normally takes me ten shots to sight in a gun but I've gone through 100 and I'm scratching my head. * I was using light weight Winchester dome pellets though. I guess I should have just used my kids air soft bb's. Just like the one true review on this gun out of the 80 said...." The Squirrels were laughing at me" Hopefully with time we'll be able to get our pattern in a decent range.

    What others should know: Learn more about these break barrel guns before buying one. Seems there is really a lot to them. Our Beeman Sportsman Series 2 with two barrels kicks like a mule. Hopefully someday we can we find a decent break barrel....so far 0 for two.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Dave on 2018-10-05
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Feels tight. Less recoil and bounce than our Beeman. Somewhat quite too.

    Things I would have changed: 1. Trigger pull is too long 2.Accuracy is a shot gun pattern ....book 3. Can't rate the scope because the pellets are flying everywhere. It normally takes me ten shots to sight in a gun but I've gone through 100 and I'm scratching my head. * I was using light weight Winchester dome pellets though. I guess I should have just used my kids air soft bb's. Just like the one true review on this gun out of the 80 said...." The Squirrels were laughing at me" Hopefully with time we'll be able to get our pattern in a decent range.

    What others should know: Learn more about these break barrel guns before buying one. Seems there is really a lot to them. Our Beeman Sportsman Series 2 with two barrels kicks like a mule. Hopefully someday we can we find a decent break barrel....so far 0 for two.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mcgilder from USA on 2018-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: My crossman vantage .22 caliber is a very great gun!! I am very tired of people giving the original crossman trigger a very bad name!! As a very trained Rifle instructor you have to also have very proper finger pull and finger placement on your trigger as well. Most people don't realize this. Mine hits very hard the .22 caliber predator poly mags and the nitro piston is very great!!! Thank y'all very much pyramid air and i will be ordering very much more very fine crossman products from Y'all in the future. And people if you don't want to get a lemon gun always get the 10 for 10 deal. God Bless Y'all!!!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred S. from USA on 2018-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nicely made. Well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I have had this rifle for over one year and am very pleased, though it took quite a while to find a pellet that it liked, consistently. The Beeman Kodiak works best in this rifle. With a scope it is easy to get nickle sized patterns at 25 yards and even quarter sized patterns at 50 yards on a good day. Use a soft bench rest. Mine is an MTM Front Rifle Rest with a heavy cloth between the rest and the rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brad Debelleval from USA on 2018-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: good open sites, ease of breaking barrel.

    Things I would have changed: safety is a little tricky to get finger into release

    What others should know: Great gun, no need for cheap scope that comes with other guns...spend a few $ and grab a decent one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pierce from USA on 2017-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This air rifle feels solid. A spring-powered air rifle makes a "thwomp" type noise, but the gas-piston in this gun produces a clear and quiet "thud." I can shoot this gun in my backyard without scaring squirrels away (which is great for hunting!). I bought this gun without the scope, and used a scope that I all ready had. I could not scope this rifle in with my favorite pellets, the Crosman Premeir Wadcutters. I tried the Crosman Premeir Hollow points, and BOOM, 1.5 inch groups at 100 feet. I expected that this rifle might not be the most accurate, because of its very modest price, but boy was I wrong. I am very happy with my new rifle!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe just stain inside of the main 2 screw holes (one on each side) a little better, as a little bare wood is exposed.

    What others should know: You really need to find the right pellets for your air rifle in order to get the most out of it. If your air rifle is shooting flyers, it could be because of the pellets you are using.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the overall quality of the rifle. You get an awesome airgun for the money. This air gun is accurate once it gets broke in and you find the right pellet for your gun.I like the sights even though they're plastic.i also like them being fibre optic.I like the wood stock .I like being able to get a trigger upgrade that makes the gun more accurate.

    Things I would have changed: I would make it less pellet picky if there was a way to do that.

    What others should know: before you judge this airgun make sure you have fired at least 500 rounds for the gun to break in.I fired at least 500 rounds before I got the one hole group accuracy I had heard these guns are capable of. Ive fired around 1500 thru mine and I feel its just now brok in. It is also easier to cock. Be sure to tighten the stock every 25 rounds or so because the screws work their way loose.Wipe the gun down with a silicone cloth after each use to keep rust from the blueing. be sure to use silicone chamber oil for the compression chamber

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price is about as low as you can get for a gas piston .Its got very good accuracy esp w pellets at15gr or more and not pointed.Its light weight, its less than the 7.1lbs advertising. mine w out scope is 6.6lbs,love it.Ez to cock n load.not very noisey. ps.you must fire at least 400shots before nice consistency.gettin 750-760fps w gamo Redfire 15.4gr pellets and 2in groups at 50yrds with my buddy shooting. I can barely keep 3in myself but im working on it.i do better w cphp at 40yrds.can get 1-1&1/2in at 100ft.others will do better.im still working on my gamo magnum shooting. This vantage .22 is worth buying any day.Hell its under a hundy.oh and the wood on mine looks nice.no scratches and dents.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is terrible, loose and wobbly. Not even close to being tight enuf.i wanted to use this gun w open sights only but stock one is the worst ive seen and tried to use to date .For 80$ -10% not anything else to bitch about.

    What others should know: If you really want bullseye you will need a better sight.I put a red dot reflex and got good results.then a lite weight mini scope 2.5-10x40 and got even better.again.accuracy set in nicely after approx 400+ shots.its not as strong as my gamo .22 magnum but much less workout when just target and plinking paper cans and bottles.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: accurate right out of the box , this gun for the money is a real beast, and at least as powerful as my hatsan striker edge.although some complain about the crosman trigger, this one was very good, I have at least 5 other break barrels and a collection of multi-pump guns so I'm not new to this sport good finish on the wood stock. over all a great bargan but a good gun that is better than the price would indicate get one in .22 I did its great!

    Things I would have changed: for this price not much thank you pyramid air this was a great deal ! im hitting 1/2 inch groups @ 25 meters, not even brokn in yet!

    What others should know: I got the kit without the scoope, im going with the open sights right now . but I plane to try a red dot sight for plinking . have fun and be safe

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By m. paul from USA on 2017-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate and powerful enough for hunting small game and pests to reasonable range (30 yards) with open sights. Also good for cheap practice for your firearms with open sights. Good cheek weld for the open sights and solid feeling stock. Very very happy with this inexpensive airgun, but do not expect to get anything fancy for such a low price. PA had best price around by far.

    Things I would have changed: If the sights were metal instead of plastic I would use it for carrying in the woods, but as is I use only for shooting on our property out of concern that the plastic sights could get knocked off zero easily. No intention of putting a scope on so others can comment there, but there appears to be a variable barrel droop and the scope is mounted aft of the break barrel so that could be problematic with a scope.

    What others should know: Most accurate pellet tried is 22 cal crow magnums, giving 1/2" groups at 20 yards with open sights. Velocity at muzzle is 655 FPS, for muzzle energy of 17 and shoots pretty flat from 7 yards to 30 yards. Make sure the stock screws are tight and use lock tight on them to keep accuracy. Must learn artillery hold for this rifle - just do not grab the stock tightly. Once you zero them, mark the plastic sights with paint or something so you will know if they are moved as they do not secure well. There is a way to make the trigger quite good, with a long first stage and light short second stage - search youtube for that video.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cole from USA on 2017-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Being the 3rd Vantage I bought on here, I haven't been disappointed in them yet. I modified the others after the warranty, with different sights and scoped one of them. This one I bought this month is a really good rifle. It only required to adjust the elevation on it for 10 meters as it was set for 20 meters dead on. I cleaned the barrel out first thing, and made sure all the screws were tight. No sonic boom on first pellet as it was a clean barrel, shot straight, not hold sensitive like my spring piston guns. The weight makes a big difference in the way this gun shoots, the size is perfect and the weight distribution leads to a good point of balance. A good solid gun with more than enough power to handle pesting or plinking.

    Things I would have changed: For the price point there isn't much to complain about. An eighty dollar price tag, for a gas piston, wood stock, and plenty of power. Nothing to complain about here.

    What others should know: The first thing you should do is clean the barrel. There is a lot of gunk in there from manufacturing. Then tighten your stock screws snugly. You will get a better sense of accuracy this way and will group with the right hold very well. A bit ofblue lock tight is recommended to keep your screws tight, no need to bathe them in it. Clean the threads in alcohol,then just a bit on the threads and let it cure over night. For all the new people to air rifles, study the artillery hold and you achieve more accuracy.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Grover Butler from USA on 2017-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun seems to be well made - it functions well - have not used it much - cannot get anything but a shotgun pattern out of it fro accuracy - working on that more.

    Things I would have changed: Heavy - and for a pellet gun it is BIG - my hands are not small, but they overflow with this gun??

    What others should know: just give me more time with it for now - now I got the scope cemented down with blue screw lock

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scottie from USA on 2017-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Iron sights work, shoots straight and true, feels rugged

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight feels cheap but works

    What others should know: If you don't use the iron/fiber sights that much, make sure to check the rear sights often because my rear sights fell off after shooting the Vantage with just the scope. And as always tight the bolts holding the frame and power plant. It's got some good recoil to shake them loose. RWS Superdome/Superpoint and Crosman Premier Dome works very well with this gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JOSE from USA on 2017-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The wood stock is awesome. The power is amazing. The accuracy is OK. I was able to group many shots on target practice and I kill all the black birds in front of my house. The price tag is within budget @ $100

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you are new to air guns or a come back user like myself then read as much as you can, watch some videos about safety, maintenace and setups before you start shooting. For example, after I received my rifle I re-tight all screws and lubricate it completely. I put WD-40 inside the chamber of the nitro piston and after the first two shoots it start exploding like a .22 caliber. Then I learned that I was not supposed to do that and I should only use silicone chamber oil for the nitro piston. Shoot safely and good luck.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Fred S. from USA on 2017-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Rifle is not broken in yet, but is getting more accurate at 20 yards. Will determine what pellet it likes. So far the H&N FTT Power, Beeman Kodiak and Beeman Kodiak DG seem to be the most accurate.Does not like Crosman Ultra Magnum nor Crosman Hollow Point.

    Things I would have changed: Terrible trigger. Tried one trigger fix, which helped and will do another.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TOM from USA on 2017-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Durable wooden stock. Very accurate! Made in the USA. Very little barrel jump.

    Things I would have changed: Better trigger assembly.

    What others should know: Dollar for dollar this is a great value!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Sal from USA on 2017-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Got this as a bug out gun. Intended on putting it in truck. I have to say this is an awesome rifle! Yes made in China but with Crosman quality. Precise no tooling marks. Locks up consistently and is very accurate with open sights. Shoots crosman domes 14.3grain at 745-750 fps. The wood stock is nice too. I decided to keep this in the gun locker and ordered a shockwave for the truck.

    Things I would have changed: Wish the sights were simpler lower and without fiber optics. The style like on a winchester lever action would be great. Bulky plastic is bound to get caught and break. Trigger-used the two washers that hold the action to the stock rather than the ball bearing mod. Feels better with barely a second stage.

    What others should know: Gets better as you use it. Also quite quiet! My hatsan 95 in 22 is much louder and shoot a exactly the same speed. Highly recommend this gun!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Swamp Angel from USA on 2017-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Chinese airguns have come a long way. They're just as good now as the Spanish or Turkish ones. This one is smoother, lighter and way more powerful than my old German HW35E, both in .22 cal. Accuracy is about the same, ~.5" groups at 10M. Fit and finish is very good for such a cheap rifle, and the wood stock looks better than the plastic ones. Normally I don't like Tru-Glo sights, but this gun has the best I've seen, not fuzzy. Rubber butt pad grips the shoulder. Very little noise.

    Things I would have changed: The lawyer trigger didn't have enough adjustment, so I replaced the screw with a longer one. It is hard to seat the .22 pellets fully by hand. This can affect accuracy, when the skirts are distorted when the breech is closed. I use a pen to seat them.

    What others should know: 1) This is a very powerful air rifle, equal to some PCPs. It would be hard for weak people to cock. 2) Do not buy powerful spring guns from a big-box store. There is a good chance that someone there has dry-fired it; the worst thing that you can do with these.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wade from USA on 2017-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very durable well built gun, I have cycled over 5,000 shots threw mine. Power, clean and maintenance as required, and will stay consistent @ 870 fps. with lead shot. Easy to cock. Comes with sights and is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Needs to be a tad bit shorter and lighter. Front sight is to high, I need to max out the elevation on the rear sight to compensate. Stock padding should offer more cushion and be shaped better. Also stock should have a bit less girth in the narrow behind trigger and some grips would be nice, yet at this price I can't afford to be to picky.

    What others should know: This is a great gun at the price, yet a bit heavy and long especially for kids under 16. Shoots best w/ a 14.3 gr. pellet. My accuracy claim is between 25 to 48 yards with a scope from a bench rest passion using a resting pad.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation