Date: 19/7/2019 6:57
0

Daisy 1938 Red. 991938-603. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (80 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2011-01-04 19:48:29

Things I liked: It was more accurate then i thought it would be. It took mee back to ten and on the farm that was 52 yrs. ago.

Things I would have changed: NOT A THING

What others should know: I and takes you back to basic & is cheap to shoot

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By MIKE on 2018-09-08 06:14:57

Things I liked: NOTHING

What others should know: THE DAISEY BB GUN SHOT 12 BB, NOW IT WON'T PUMP UP OR IS PUMPED UP AND WON'T SHOOT. A WASTE OF MONEY

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kristine from USA on 2019-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is an excellent weight and fit.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe upgrade the sights.

    What others should know: Keep them in stock. : - }

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin from USA on 2019-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: A great and wonderful teaching tool. I bought this gun for my grandsons to teach them the basics of gun safety, and basic shooting skills. I t has been a complete success. There has been no greater joy in my life to see them shoot their first target! That in itself far exceeds the cost of the gun. It is accurate. It will ricochet steel BB's even an occasional lead BB as well so shooting glasses are a must. This is the perfect gun for young girls and boys from age 8 and up. I love it.

    Things I would have changed: For what it is made for nothing.

    What others should know: Use lead BB's and safety glasses! We shoot the gun maximum about 25 feet. It will still sink a steel BB into our old fence. We have success old prescription bottles, paper targets, old soda cans, all with success. I can't say enough about teaching our children the basics and dangers of loaded weapons. Without exception this is the key to stopping accidental shootings in the home. Teach your children and grandchildren folks. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. When children learn gun safety at an early age they learn the value of life. Their curiosity of what a gun is has so much worth to it. I would not exchange on minute of fun this Red Ryder has brought into our lives.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bev from Canada on 2018-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: We love our new Daisy Red Ryder , compared to the old Red Ryder we had, this one is way more powerful , Course the old one was over 50 years old... It is lighter then the old one .

    Things I would have changed: It could use a little bigger slot/hole like the old red ryder to Pour the pellets in - this one you need to put them in by hand - not so easy to pour from the spout of the bottle of pellets

    What others should know: These are not for kids , and even adults need to be careful with them. The Daisy has a safety latch on it - which is good as the old Red Ryder sisn't have that feature.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By MIKE on 2018-09-08
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: NOTHING

    What others should know: THE DAISEY BB GUN SHOT 12 BB, NOW IT WON'T PUMP UP OR IS PUMPED UP AND WON'T SHOOT. A WASTE OF MONEY

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Curtis from USA on 2018-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very light, fast handling, fast loading and cheap to shoot. You can literally shoot hundreds of shots almost as quickly as you can cock the lever and it will only cost you a couple of quarters.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy is pretty marginal. Sights are only adjustable for elevation. I would gladly pay $150 more for a more accurate B.B. gun that I dont have to feed individual bbs from the muzzle. Make a hybrid Red Ryder/Avanti and Id order one in a heartbeat. Stock, while wood, looks like it was cut from a 1x4, (the sides are literally flat), and its too big for many children. This can be easily remedied with a saw however. For an adult its a little small, but Im a 6 footer and it doesnt bother me at all.

    What others should know: This is the perfect tool for practicing instinct shooting. Hang a golf ball on a string, stand back 5 yards or so and shoot it repeatedly as quickly as you can. Your first shot will set it swinging and then it becomes a challenge. Accuracy is marginal and gets considerably worse with distance At 5 yards its pretty good. Expect about 1.5 inches at 10 yards. 20 yards is about the maximum range. Trigger is pretty good and given the accuracy limitations there is no reason to improve it. Same thing for the sights. The basic notch and post sight is great for fast instinctive shooting. It should however be adjustable for left and right. Mine was off about an inch at 10 yards. I bent it a little and that seemed to do the trick. Power is pretty anemic, but if thats important to you, then you should buy something else. Its made for hunting pop cans and power is adequate for that.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2018-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Complete newbie here and I got a RR because as a kid I shot them at summer camp. I'm 58. And because my girlfriend was a US Army sharpshooter in the Gulf War. She bought one too. We knew we would like to do backyard plinking and target shooting in my one car garage and had realistic expectations. Our expectations have been greatly exceeded. The accuracy in particular had shocked us. Tight target groupings at the length of the 1-car garage and I have been able to hit...and split...those small plastic soldiers with only a very rare miss. My GF then placed an earplug in the hole that was the bullseye of our target...and I nailed it on the first shot, with the BB embedded in the earplug. I was worried that the lack of a windage sight adjustment would be an issue, but not so. At the present time we don't feel the need to upgrade to anything more substantial because the RR is all we need for our small back yard and one car garage "range".

    Things I would have changed: Maybe I got an exceptional sample but a windage adjustment would be a good idea.

    What others should know: Just buy it. The low velocity makes it useful for fun shooting in situations where more powerful guns wouldn't be appropriate. and BB's cost a tenth of a cent.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas Atkinson from USA on 2018-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: looks like the one I had as a kid [10-13 years old-----------I am now 74 years young]

    Things I would have changed: I find that it is hard to load

    What others should know: I have not shot this rifle----------------not sure if I will, I can't rate the accuracy--------it is in my rifle display case for others to view.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Larry from USA on 2018-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice starter gun for all those young hunters or those that are learning about guns and how they should be treated. Great father-son gun.

    Things I would have changed: No power but that is not what it was designed for. It appears to have relatively inexpensive materials because of the rifle's light weight. I dont expect it last too many firings.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bugar from USA on 2017-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Reliable, shoots ok, Decent B.B. gun

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, good enough, it shoots good, looks good

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Cameron from USA on 2017-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Not much.

    Things I would have changed: Horribly innacurate. A terrible tool to try to teach a young person to shoot with.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By pavo6503 from USA on 2017-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: The most fun you can have with a BB gun for under $30. Rugged and can be customized if you're willing to put in the work. Buy 6000 BBs and some toss some soup cans in the back yard and you're ready for a shooting contest with your kids. The gun is tack driving accurate at 5 yards, I can easily shoot a sub-dime sized group with zinc plated BBs. You'd be amazed at how accurate it can be out to 25 yards. A pie tin doesn't stand a chance! Of course there will be some generous application of Kentucky windage to do it...

    Things I would have changed: Make an in between model of this gun. Give it a dovetail to mount custom sights and a longer stock. Maybe a longer barrel or a little more power?

    What others should know: We REALLY need to push Daisy to make an adult version of this gun, it really is that good. I'd pay double what this gun costs for one sized for adults. I did some tests in my back yard and used the voice recorder on my phone to record the sound of me shooting and the "plink" of the BB hitting my target at 5, 12.5 and 25 yards. A little math and some help from my sound editing software shows (at least my gun) is capable of shooting at 348fps at 5 yards. At 12.5 yards the BBs were going 334.8fps and at 25 yards the dropped drastically to 290fps. Chrony tests are great for speeds out of the muzzle but a little extra works will give you a great idea of what any gun is capable of.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Randal from USA on 2017-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Inexpensive, but provides hours of serious plinking fun. Seems pretty well built. The rear sight is mounted a bit further forward than the Daisy Model 25, for example, which makes the sight picture more clear for my aging eyes.

    Things I would have changed: For lefties like me, the saddle ring and leather strap interfere with trigger access. Even without the leather, the ring is still bothersome. It would be nice if Daisy eliminated this, although some purists might be offended. The lever opening is also a little on the small side.

    What others should know: I bought the RR to compare to my Model 25. Velocity from the Model 25 is about 10 FPS more than the RR. Other sources report this slight advantage as well. Both shoot well below the advertised 350 FPS (270 and 260 for the Model 25 and RR, respectively). Accuracy and precision are fairly comparable for me when shooting from an unrested, standing position at 7 yards. Both will shoot a 2.5 inch group, sometimes better. I do have to pay attention to trigger access with that blasted loop in the way or the RR groups will open up. Definitely get the Pyramyd Air 10 for $10 test. You get the chronograph testing-plus this weeds out the occasional lemon from reaching your doorstep.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2017-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Awsome!!! It took me back to boy hood all over again. My wife fussed at me for buying one so i bought another one lol .its a lot of fun to shoot and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing its perfect just like it is. But i am curious about what it would do if the barrell was rifled??

    What others should know: If you are a serious air gunner you need to get one. Ive also ordered the 25 pump but have not gotten it yet. Caint wait.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Denny from USA on 2016-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the ICON in the BB GUN Industry. The classic a Christmas Story featured this timely classic. This is also good, to take to shows and get it signed by cast members. I purchased this before, I knew about Pyramid Air and their great prices.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have a wee bit more power, but then, it may not be the Red Ryder.

    What others should know: If you collect or your a shooter or BOTH, add this to you collection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STEPHEN from USA on 2016-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Fun, fun, fun! That is what I like best about this BB gun. I also like the materials (real wood and metal). I like the fact that it can hold a lot of ammunition (less time spent reloading). It is a great value for the money. The accuracy is great. Very satisfied.

    Things I would have changed: Not much. Perhaps a metal cocking lever? But the plastic one seems sturdy enough.

    What others should know: I recently purchased a Daisy Model 25 pump action BB gun (see my review) and this Red Ryder compares favorably. The actions function differently and the guns look different, but the power and accuracy seem to be almost identical. From that perspective it is like they are the same gun internally. But it is fun having both for variety. For the price, these Daisy BB guns are a great value. They are reasonably well put together, are made of decent materials (wood and metal) and in my opinion are pretty darn accurate for smooth bore BB guns. And most importantly they are fun. I find myself going through a lot of BBs these days, and a lot of empty soda cans!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2016-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This little BB rifle is everything you need to teach gun safety and practical skills. In my 35yrs of shooting I have yet to come across a gun that is not accurate; a good marksman evaluates themselves before placing blame on the gun. This Daisy is no exception. I've personally have shot 60-80(10 shot) points standing at 5meters, and that's considering the horrible iron sights, short sight radius, and extremely short length of pull...and I'm 6'2". This little BB gun gets underrated too often due ridious expections, and/or poor shooter abilities. It is completely accurate within it's range, under 15meters. I shoot clays out to 40yards no problem...without sights, into intuitive sighting. Furtermore, the cocking of the lever has been fine for every child that's come to shoot it. I can only hope Daisy NEVER stops making these...not that I expect them to.

    Things I would have changed: Metal lever would be nice, die cast even... How about an adult size?

    What others should know: Range capability...keep your expectations under control. Highly incourage others not to put dirty BB's in any gun. I've had this happen and had to break it down to remove...you DO NOT want to take it apart. Anything past 12-15meters the sights are no good. I shoot clays out to 40yards no problem...without sights, into intuitive sighting. At further distances, use intuitive shooting...same as primitive bows

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: An American icon

    Things I would have changed: Made overseas (like most of Daisy's products these days) Make the rear sight adjustable for windage.

    What others should know: Not much to say about this rifle other than I truly believe it is the best gun for teaching children. It's not gonna break easily, it's made of wood and metal so children get that it's not a toy, its not powerful enough to shoot long ranges and get your child in trouble, but it's accurate enough for them to learn the fundamentals and appreciate shooting. Just buy a ton of cheap bbs, oil where it says from to time, and enjoy the next big step from your children shooting nerf guns.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I recieved my current Daisey bb gun as a Christmas present in 1950 and taught my two 6 year old grandsons to shoot with it this past week in 2015! It is certainly a value product for the money and target market!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By William from USA on 2015-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: All good to give as first rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Denny from USA on 2015-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is the best starter rifle for the youngsters in your family. A real Daisy BB Gun at a very affordable price. BBs are also very inexpensive to shoot, and can be shot in your backyard with a proper setup.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing...................It is perfection at its price point and purpose

    What others should know: Mine lasted a very long time, an yours will also

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation