Date: 15/10/2018 5:37
0

Diana Chaser CO2 Air Rifle Kit reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (46 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Mark from USA on 2018-07-19 10:11:15

Things I liked: Material build quality, above expectations for the price point. Handling, as a Carbine its light years ahead of previous attachment style handles in the price point. Readily modifiable, parts are readily exchanged from pistol to the PCP repeater.

Things I would have changed: The trigger design is simplicity itself keeping the price low, it does limit the user's tunability. The magazines, I just find a bit touchy to deal with the single shot tray is my preferred loading method. That said for field work and carry it is awesome, just be sure to work out the kinks before you go out and risk frustration with a pellet loading issue via magazine.

What others should know: It benefits from some simple mods and attention out of the box. A good swabbing of the barrel using the normal soft methods has been helpful on the half dozen of this series I have bought. An abrasive rubber point, breaking the sharp edge on feeding the pellet into the barrel behind the O-ring seal smooths entry. Filing/sanding a radius off the plexiglass sharp edge facing the magazine can help with the nicked fingers. A lighter trigger spring helps to reduce side pull tendencies. This is just a thoroughly enjoyable moderate priced outfit, easily a first choice introduction to offer a child or new shooter.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Hector from USA on 2018-09-09 09:29:31

Things I liked: Sadly, nothing. The rifle when received, did not accept the .22 pellets, both barrels you could not load them , I verified with Daisy and Crosman pellets and was the same, you have to really push hard on the bolt in order to load it and when it fires the speed was very slow, I checked the barrels for obstructions and nothing, the machining was not accurate, also the silencer is not removable, then why you have threads on the smaller barrel? I already have the RMA # and in the process of returning this junk, the Quality Control of the barrels sucks. BTW I checked my pellets in other .22 rifle that I have and they load fine, just in case.

Things I would have changed: The Quality Control of the guns. Improve it....

What others should know: I still want to believe the Diana could improve, I am a retired Quality Control Engineer, I will request a replacement, I hope this time they improve, but I need an interchangeable silencer! Quality Control , adhere to specifications!!!!

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lyle from USA on 2018-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight in the rifle configuration. My chaser is extremely accurate at ten yards using JSB Jumbo exact pellets, 18.13gr and a Center point red dot scope with a coast,red/white lens flashlight mounted to the suppied mount. Had this gun for about one week and it has proved itself to be a super pest control gun around the farms that I have permission to shoot on. Within the first week I dispatched fifteen pigeons, thirty five starlings and lost count on the sparrows. I have ordered a magazine for the gun, which is a .22, but will have to wait for it is on back order. The Diana Chaser reminds me so much of my mod 2240, but, a lot better. The gun fits and points well and the trigger is adjustable and is nice and crisp. I have been getting around 30 shots on a co2 and it seems to hit very hard at the ten to fifteen yard ranges that I shoot at on the farms. If you are even considering the Diana Chaser, than just buy it, you will not be sorry. What a fun gun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing that I would change is the receiver tube. Make it solid instead of the cut out sight window so that you can see the 12gram cartridge . With a solid tube, one could add a bottle adaptor and a 9oz paintball tank.

    What others should know: My Chaser kit only came with one probe o-ring in the pistol barrel. Make sure if you switch barrels you remove the o ring from one and reinstall in the other. This o ring seals the barrel to the breach and the probe, very important. Supply spare orings with the gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality really powerful for a co2 gun great price

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased the .177 rifle kit from Pyramyd. This is my third Snowpeak airgun, having purchased a .177 Plinkster from Mrodair, and a .177 Seneca Dragonfly from Pyramyd. I have also recenty purchased a slightly used .22 Chaser pistol. These guns represent an incredible value. The fit and finish are way beyond what one would expect at this price point. The moderator on the rifle barrel is extremely efficient, making the gun almost silent, about like a stapler.. The trigger on the later Diana labeled guns is a vast improvement.

    Things I would have changed: Make the moderator interchangeable. Or offer a moderated pistol barrel. The moderator is extremely effective, making this the quietest CO2 gun I own.

    What others should know: If you are careful, and use leather in a bench vice, and a rubber strap wrench, the moderator can be removed from the rifle barrel, and installed on the pistol barrel. They all benefit from a very gentle dressing of the leade. Not aggressive Dremel work, but just a subtle breaking of the edge with a hand-held round needle file. It greatly improves pellet seating. For those interested in aftermarket modding, the FFHDD available from AoA will increase gas mileage by about 33% with no loss in performance.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SP4449 from USA on 2018-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: As a rifle it is a really fun plinker. I use it indoors and the sound level is very comfortable.

    Things I would have changed: The handle design might work for small hands. For medium or large hands it is very uncomfortable.

    What others should know: Hunting NO. Fun, in the rifle version, YES!!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2018-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For the price, this is a nice combination C02 air rifle and pistol. I was originally planning on buying a rat catcher before realizing they were discontinued and this is a similar build.

    Things I would have changed: The suppressor should be interchangeable When converting barrels, the air rifle needs to be re-sighted which is a bit of a hassle. Ideally there would be markings on the barrel for alignment.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought mine in 22 cal. I wasn't expecting much. I have always been a die hard crosman fan. I put a cheap 3x9 25 dollar scope on it. I sighted it in. It was shooting 1/4 inch groups a 10yrds. The accuracy impressed me. but at that range it better. My girl friend has a furry critter problem. She bought a chaser in 22 cal also. We started thinning the vermin out. I wasn't getting my hopes up about a Co2 powered gun. Before i knew it she was taking them at 40 yards with a head shot. I am really impressed with the power and accuracy of this gun. It well built, I like the side gas discharge when changing Co2. Its light and fast handling. I hate to admit it. I love it. I am planning on buying a second one.

    Things I would have changed: I would raise the cheek piece a few inches. I would offer it as a rifle only or pistol only for less money. I would include the pellet mag

    What others should know: this is a pellet magazine Co2 air powered combo. The quality of this gun is very well worth it. The closest thing to this will cost you $300. I can't give this gun enough praise. You don't have all the hop ups like a crosman but you don't it. IT is fast handling, accurate, powerful, mag feed, dove tail on receiver, and very backyard friendly. I have spent twice as much into a crosman and it still was only a single shot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2018-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its Very well made and comes with its own case .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I picked up a magazine it works fine for it .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: quiet,quiet,quiet.bought this during labor day sale.went straight to carbine setup.put a stoger 4x32 compact scope that came with x20s2 springer.took about 5 shots.likes air arms falcons best.qualityof this china import is amazing.trigger is adjustable;but hex screw must have been loctited in.almost broke small hex wrench before it broke loose.adjusted to about 2lbs by turning screw clockwise.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: grab oneof these before tarriffs go into effect.plenty of power for unwanted pests;and so quiet your neighbors will love u

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a really fun gun to shoot. I like the clean look and the multi shot magazines. I bought the rifle kit because I wanted the extra fps that comes with it, and the supressor on the long barrel. (See comments) I will probably never use the pistol barrel. It was pretty accurate right out of the box. Sub 1" groups at 15 yards. But the accuracy really went away at further yardages. I tried 5 different pellets with JSB Jumbo heavy .22 shooting the best, H&N Field Target Trophy coming in a very close second. I had minor surgery and couldn't lift anything heavy for a week so I made a nice walnut stock for the gun patterned loosely after the Savage Mako. I dropped on a 3x9 cheapo scope I had laying around.. Now I may have the nicest Chaser out there. The extra weight of the new stock really helped calm down my sight picture. The magazines are nice, and I can really burn through pellets and CO2 with this gun now. I get 49 shots in .22 per CO2 cartridge with no noticable velocity change.

    Things I would have changed: 1. Barrel band screw stripped first time I tried to loosen it. Don't overtighten. 2. Safety never worked on my gun. It is awkward anyway on the trigger. I keep it empty with the breech open when I am not shooting. 3. Pellets spiral wildly at distances over 15 yards. This was fixed by removing the unremoveable supressor. It is stuck on with red Loctite. My gun is now a tack driver at 30 yards. I can shoot 4" groups at 85 yards. If your pellets spiral remove the supressor. It was really an insane improvement. Still only 75 db with it off. The gun was 35 db with it attached. 4. Trigger adjustment screws came loose after 350 shots. Both screws backed out on their own. Loctite fixed it, but if I had lost one..... 5. Bolt operates roughly. This was mitigated by chambering pellets with my thumb on the back of the bolt, not the handle. Also oil the bolt occasionally.

    What others should know: I love this gun. Especially after building a new stock and removing the supressor. It is my favorite plinker hands down. I shoot cherry tomatoes at 30 yards all day long. I can split playing cards in half at forty yards. I have even hit a dragonfly in the air with it. It is the best $119 I have spent on an airgun so far. Just expect to have to work at it, find the right pellet for yours, take off that supressor, and shoot all day without pumping anything up.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2018-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality build and feel for the price point. NOT your wally world pellet gun for sure. I feel like James Bond shooting leaves on the ground while grilling. I was able to pick off a few flys and bugs at 10ft or so. I can plink in the backyard or target practice in the garage at late hours and no one cares. The moderator makes it quiet more than I expected. I almost giggle when I shoot it. Hitting the fence is louder than shooting it. I like the modular idea because it gives options. As far as accuracy goes I haven't yet rung it out but I am hitting sticks, leaves and tennis balls at various distances all day long. I will chronograph and measure shot counts per C02 soon just so I know but so far it seems very acceptable.

    Things I would have changed: I may be mistaken, but as of now I couldn't find a right handed bolt, but it's easy to get over. Kits should come with a magazine. I bought an extra magazine with my order and haven't had any issues but Maybe $130 with a mag or two?

    What others should know: The modular design while giving you options which I love, is not just a quick change over to convert pistol to rifle. Although it is fast enough, you'll have to re-zero every time with iron sights. I am however pleased enough with it so much I'm considering getting another kit just to keep one in rifle and one in pistol. I feel like this is a good middle ground / stepping stone to full on PCP for the average plinker looking for a little bit more.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Hector from USA on 2018-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sadly, nothing. The rifle when received, did not accept the .22 pellets, both barrels you could not load them , I verified with Daisy and Crosman pellets and was the same, you have to really push hard on the bolt in order to load it and when it fires the speed was very slow, I checked the barrels for obstructions and nothing, the machining was not accurate, also the silencer is not removable, then why you have threads on the smaller barrel? I already have the RMA # and in the process of returning this junk, the Quality Control of the barrels sucks. BTW I checked my pellets in other .22 rifle that I have and they load fine, just in case.

    Things I would have changed: The Quality Control of the guns. Improve it....

    What others should know: I still want to believe the Diana could improve, I am a retired Quality Control Engineer, I will request a replacement, I hope this time they improve, but I need an interchangeable silencer! Quality Control , adhere to specifications!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2018-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The modular design, quiet with rifle barrel, accuracy, not pellet picky at all, and light weight.

    Things I would have changed: Make the silencer interchangeable as the manual shows instead of lock tightening it to the rifle barrel. Have more of a chamfer in the breech. Loading Wad Cutter pellets I have to use my thumb on the back of the bolt pin to load the pellet straight in. If I use the bolt handle it has just enough side load to catch the head of the pellet risking deforming the head of the pellet loading into the barrel. Any kind of pellet with a point loads fine.

    What others should know: I got the .22 version. Gun is extremely accurate at 10 yards creating a single ragged hole. After 20 yards groups opened way up for me and pellets really started dropping. This gun loves wad cutter pellets at 10-15 yards and it didn't matter what brand either though my go to in .22 is RWS Hobby. I tried out lead free pellets and most of them did well with the SIG Crux Ballistic 10.03 Grain working the best. I used these at 20 yards with great results. I did not mount a scope or Red Dot to this airgun. If I did possibly I could go beyond 20 yards and have better results. In .22 this is a great plinker for no further than 20 yards.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Walter from USA on 2018-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: .22 caliber. The modular design, light weight, yet the actual working suppressor acts as a muzzle weight to aid in a steady aim. The suppressor makes the carbine VERY backyard friendly. I immediately went to the carbine and stayed there- the accuracy is about 1/2"-3/4" @ 20 yards, haven't tested at a further distance yet. I don't own a chrono, so I can't confirm velocity, but after the changes described below, the power is almost as strong as my fully modded CO2 Crosman 2240 with a 10.1" barrel.

    Things I would have changed: Things I did change. The transfer port and valve inlet has a lot of extra metal to enlarge CO2 flow, but, the barrel port can only be opened a little more than stock due to the o-ring lands. I enlarged the valve internals to allow more CO2 volume at the cost of fewer shots per CO2, (about 28). The valve spring has to be changed or stretched to accommodate the aluminum removed. Stretched the hammer spring from 70mm to 90mm. Removed the rear sight, to install a Williams low rise peep sight on the dovetails. Stock sight are ok, but my eyesight isn't. Painted the front sight yellow. MAKE THE SUPPRESSOR FULLY REMOVABLE!!

    What others should know: The threaded part of the suppressor is lock-tighted on, BUT, the rest of it did thread off, which helped in the much needed barrel cleaning. Use caution when the trigger guard and stock are removed from the action. The trigger guard keeps the non-pressed in trigger/sear pins from falling out. If the above mod is done to the valve, be sure to cock the hammer before tightening down the CO2, (the hammer spring will have the valve slightly open to expel some CO2 until the CO2 pressure overcomes the hammer spring)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Juan from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The most l like is its versatility

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I foond i very good

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2018-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good overall quality. (for the $$ - this gun is a true winner) I ordered along with a $49 Air Venturi Diopter (peep) rear sight. (nice combination for 20 to 30 yard target shooting). In pistol form and stock rear sight it is 1 inch tight at 25 feet. In rifle form it gets me 2 inch groups at 30 yards. These will improve as this 73 year old becomes better with the Diana. The trigger is predictable and good. The pistol barks a bit. The rifle is almost soundless.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: When switching out the pistol barrel the small O ring that is slotted into the barrel's breech end fell out. Just be careful not to loose and keep in a bag with the spare O rings provided. The same ring in the rifle barrel stays put. The Air Venturi Peep sight ( as your rear sight in rifle form ) increases the sight radius by a full 12 inches and raises this gun to a remarkable target shooter and maximizes fun without complication (or batteries) You must give the barrels a good cleaning before shooting. I normally just use gun oil on my swabs - but had to resort to Hoppe's 9 and then finish with lightly oiled swabs. We are forming a senior men and women's bench rest game. A 20 - 25 - 30 yard competitive event and this gun in rifle form with peep sight will probably be the standard piece for the events.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2018-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality materials, easy CO2 loading, excellent accuracy, versatility, good iron sights, good power, comfortable, good ergonomics except for the "tail" at the bottom of the pistol grip (which does not affect the grip when in rifle mode). I get about sixty good shots at which time the power drops off quite abruptly which I find much preferred to having the power drop off more gradually. There is no uncertainty about when to change CO2.

    Things I would have changed: Improve the design or quality control of the optional rotary magazine. Make the trigger lighter and or make it adjustable and include that in the instructions.

    What others should know: The trigger is pretty good but a too heavy for one handed pistol shooting. There is, what apparently, is an adjusting screw, but it seems to be immovable and there is no mention of it in the instruction manual. I had some issues with it not puncturing the CO2 and found that if I put a little lube on the threads of the cap, I can turn it down further and then the puncture is more reliable. My only real issue is with the rotary magazine. I purchased two of them and while one feeds smoothly, the other hangs up quite often and has not gotten better with use. I was able to remove the suppressor which was threaded on with some red adhesive and it works extremely well on either barrel. The little Picatinny rail on the bottom of the rifle rear sight is very handy for attaching a light. I found that once the sights are adjusted, the barrels can be interchanged without needing re-adjustment. Tighten the middle screw first as it indexes the rotation of the barrel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box accuracy is amazing. Converted to rifle and it was even more impressive.

    Things I would have changed: Better stock sights.

    What others should know: Just pure fun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike N from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this gun. Build quality way above my expectations. Not sure you could ask for much more in this price range. This is for grandson and can't wait to teach him. His father and myself both being able to work both at home and at range on both pistol and rifle is the best.

    Things I would have changed: Only thing I can think of at this time is would like to see a couple of the magazines come with the gun

    What others should know: Gun is light which will be great for young shooters. His father and I took it out to learn and try to be ready when we teach him. Found it very accurate and just a ball to shoot. EZ to change over but take your time. This gun was fun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate and compact

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had and adapter to fit full size CO2 canisters

    What others should know: The pistol Barrel doesn't come with a silencer has a nice bark I was able to fit my Neil Claude silencer I had laying around made it Hitman quiet made it so quiet I had to check to see if it was really shooting

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great package first DIANA product I have ever owned BUT it sure will not be the last. Amazing quality the pictures dont do it justice. When I first shot it I wasnt all that impressed with accuracy so I cleaned the barrel that was all she needed. At 25 yards Iam consistently getting groups a nickel will cover. Its easy on co2 as well. The pistol barrel without suppression device has a loud bark so I simply put noise dampening piece from rifle barrel on it problem solved the thing is extremely quiet easily can be shot in back yard.

    Things I would have changed: NONE!

    What others should know: At 54 years old and having been a active shooter most of my life airguns and powder burners I am quiet hard too impress but this little gun made me smile.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation