Date: 17/8/2018 5:11
0

Diana Chaser CO2 Air Rifle Kit reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (25 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Mark from USA on 2018-07-19 10:11:15

Things I liked: Material build quality, above expectations for the price point. Handling, as a Carbine its light years ahead of previous attachment style handles in the price point. Readily modifiable, parts are readily exchanged from pistol to the PCP repeater.

Things I would have changed: The trigger design is simplicity itself keeping the price low, it does limit the user's tunability. The magazines, I just find a bit touchy to deal with the single shot tray is my preferred loading method. That said for field work and carry it is awesome, just be sure to work out the kinks before you go out and risk frustration with a pellet loading issue via magazine.

What others should know: It benefits from some simple mods and attention out of the box. A good swabbing of the barrel using the normal soft methods has been helpful on the half dozen of this series I have bought. An abrasive rubber point, breaking the sharp edge on feeding the pellet into the barrel behind the O-ring seal smooths entry. Filing/sanding a radius off the plexiglass sharp edge facing the magazine can help with the nicked fingers. A lighter trigger spring helps to reduce side pull tendencies. This is just a thoroughly enjoyable moderate priced outfit, easily a first choice introduction to offer a child or new shooter.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By TonyG from USA on 2018-08-06 08:13:55

Things I liked: Of all the guns ordered from Pyramyd Air I should wind up with a lemon, failed to have all the necessary parts shipped in the box, would not puncture three kinds of CO2 cartridges. I went through ten CO2's and only one puncture, would only puncture half way, defective. So I did not get to fire it at all. However a new one will be on it's way soon. It sure looked impressive and looks accurate even without a scope.

What others should know: When you get the gun don't throw out the box right away, cause under the gun packing is a short nylon gun sheath, it my not hold the rifle but will hold the whole gun and packing, broke down.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light and easy to use. Reasonably quiet, removing pests near bird feeder did not scare the feeding birds.

    Things I would have changed: Left hand bolt is awkward. Maybe a knob with index instead of handle.

    What others should know: Great little gun for the price!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marcus from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything. Accurate, super quiet, comfortable to shoot and fun!!! The single shot tray is held onto the action magnetically, this is a very trick feature that impressed me. The stock drops on super easily, the trigger breaks very cleanly and that built in sound dampener just about makes this gun the quietest I have ever experienced.

    Things I would have changed: make it a pcp and give it a little more power??? this would be an awesome little woods gun if it had more power.

    What others should know: I just received my Diana Chaser a week ago. I am grinning from ear to ear. I have marauders and a handful of other pcp, co2 and spring guns, and this gun is at least as fun to shoot. There is definitely not a lot of power, but with JSB diablo exact heavy pellets this gun will make one hole 5 shot groups at 10 meters. The switch over from rifle to pistol is very straightforward, but once I put that rifle barrel and stock on I don't think it is going back. I installed a cheap 4x scope pretty painlessly, there is not a bunch or rail space, but it worked. with a scope the cheek on the stock is a little low, but it works. The rifle barrel is just plain silent. The spring firing action is the loudest part of the shot with that built in sound dampener. This is simply the best bang for the buck that you can find.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really had high expectations for this package. It looked like it would be a fun pistol and rifle combo, especially at this price range. I pre-ordered it several months in advance. My teenage son was pretty excited about it, too. We both feel pretty let down. There are a couple of positives, though. The loading tray is big enough to not be a problem. The sights are decentI like the hole in the side of the CO2 chamber that lets you see if a cartridge is loaded. I also like how quiet the suppressed rifle barrel is. It is REALLY quiet. It's not much louder than a Red Ryder. The unsuppressed pistol barrel is a lot louder. But, I do like that you can swap the suppressor once you break it free of the loc-tite. The instructions say that the suppressor can only be switched between barrels in some countries. Even though I bought this primarily as a pistol, I will probably keep it set up as a rifle most of the time.

    Things I would have changed: First, the pistol grip is an extremely awkward shape. The curve and point at the back of the base are the biggest problems. It forces your hand up and around to the right. Any attempt to maintain a correct grip is so uncomfortable that it almost hurts. Even holding with a forced improper grip (pistol or rifle) is pretty uncomfortable unless your hands are really small. Training with this pistol will create or reinforce bad grip habits. Second, it has a lot of internal recoil. There is a delay between pulling the trigger and firing. Throwing the bolt cocks it, compressing a spring. There is so much slap and movement when it releases that it is fairly difficult to hold the gun on target during the shot. Third, it isn't very accurate. Pistol and rifle groups were 1.75" and 1.25" from a sandbag rest on a bench. I tried three different pellet types with similar results. The trigger is pretty sloppy, too. Even though it is adjustable, there is a lot of side-to-side movement

    What others should know: This is the second time I have pre-ordered an item. I'm not thrilled with either. I have learned my lesson and probably won't ever pre-order again. It isn't always possible to hold something and check it out before buying. But, waiting for more information and customer reviews might have helped. Some of the things that bothered me about this one may not bother others. Switching barrels from pistol to rifle is fairly easy. Only the long end of the included allen wrenches fits the set screws, though. Keep track of the three allens when changing barrels; the center one is longer.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darrell from USA on 2018-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm very pleased with this little pistol/rifle. Even with the iron sights, I shoot it accurately out to 15 yards.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Raul from USA on 2018-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: HOW CAN I RATE SOME THING I DID NOT GET YET!

    Things I would have changed: NO SNAIL MAIL SHIPPING PLEASE!!! PURCHASED 23 JUL '18 AS OF TODAY 12 AUG '18 NADA!

    What others should know: PYRAMID AIR SHIPPING IS SLOOOOW!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sammy from USA on 2018-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rifle is very very quiet. Have not shot in pistol form and likely won't. Rifle is extremely accurate shooting a ragged hole at 10 yards using h&n field target trophy 8.64 grain and jsb exact 7.33 grain. I couldn't really use the iron sights because of my eyesight so I took a bushnell trs-25 red dot off one of my ar15s and it worked well on the diana rifle. I couldn't shoot any further than 10 yards this week. The gun seemed to be hitting the target pretty hard for a 177 so I pulled out my old Combro 625 and attached it to the muzzle. Surprisingly I was getting readings in the 620s for the h&n and 670s for the jsb exact. Pretty impressive although I'm sure those numbers are a bit high on a muzzle mounted chrony. But take it for what it's worth. I am getting about 40 to 45 good shots before I shoot the rest of the gas out and change cartridges.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really except the ability to remove that moderator to use on the pistol. But I knew that before the purchase so no big deal. Fantastic little gun for the price. No regrets at all.

    What others should know: I almost didn't buy any magazines but I did at the last minute. Initially I was disappointed and thought I would only use the single shot tray. Both magazines would not rotate thru 9 pellets until I made a slight adjustment in the middle screw. Both were too tight. I thought this might be the case because when I rotated the clear piece counterclockwise it should have wanted to rotate back when I release pressure but both did not. I loosened the center phillips head screw on each magazine mabye an 1/8 inch until the tension was released and now both mags work perfect. And honestly it is a whole lot more fun and accuracy was no different from the single shot tray. The bolt is tight at first but does loosen up with time. I got used to the left hand bolt handle real quick. I can use my right thumb to help close the bolt when using the single shot tray. But with the magazines the bolt is real smooth. Be careful to know where you are on the magazine so you don't load two pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By bill from USA on 2018-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: pistol is very accurate. a nice plus for the price i have bifocal glasses so a rifle with open sights is not good for me but rifle rear sight is out at end of co2 tube so i can use open sights another plus.

    Things I would have changed: nothing on gun..took from april till end of july to get it but well worth it.

    What others should know: magazines need to have screws locktited in

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2018-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Purchased as a .22. Pistol is loud but rifle conversion is almost silent. Light and easy to handle. Lot of power for a CO2. Dime size groups at 10 meters with stock sights and crossman 14.3 gr domed

    Things I would have changed: Fiber optic sights would be nice. This will never see a scope or dot sight.

    What others should know: Just buy it!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When I opened the box, the first thought was - James Bond lost this package. It is right out of the movies. My back yard range is small, only 60' long. For a C02 gun that's ok. I tried the pistol version first. I used the single shot tray and was pleased with the accuracy. I did have to adjust the windage as it was off 3" to the left at 25'. When I changed to the long barrel (with its own sights) I was pleased to see a 1" group off hand at 50' without the rifle buttstock. The "silencer" actually silences the gun. when I fired all you hear is the pellet striking the target. The carbine buttstock fits well and installs easily. I really like this gun and look forward to my next engagement with the squirrels who torment my dogs. The gun is very well made and is well balanced. It feels good in the hand. In the carbine form it comes to the shoulder well.

    Things I would have changed: As one other reviewer wrote - the magazine is fussy. It is hard to load and is counterintuitive in that you load it backwards. In other word you load the pellets tail first. I didn't see any difference in accuracy on my initial encounter but will test further. The magazines are pricy at $49 each and they don't come with the gun. You have to order them separately.

    What others should know: Changing the barrels is not something you are going to do quickly. You have to loosen 3 set screws on the top of the receiver, remove the pistol barrel, install the rifle barrel and tighten the set screws, then install and tighten the barrel brace which also mounts the rear sight. Be careful to align the front sight by rotating the barrel. Speaking of set screws, I immediately lost one. I was fortunate to find it the next day. I contacted Pyramyd Air, Umerex and Diana. None were to be had. Diana did give me the sizes. They are of course all metric. The 2 outside screws are M4X3 and the middle one is M4X4. All in all I really like this little pliker.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2018-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: goes togeather an works as stated when all parts are there

    Things I would have changed: mag should be in kit not sold a options when selling this as a kit re-pistol/rifle , and listed as a repeater

    What others should know: replacement parts should not require the return of the whole kit just to get a defective part replaced , mine had a broken bolt handle when i loaded it quickly and now i have to either return gun or wait till they have replacement parts available

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2018-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the rifle assembles easy , shoots as expected not as stated pellet FPS is a little slower unless u use allowy pellets ., rifle did have some issues of missing parts in kit but warrents said that they would replace them .,

    Things I would have changed: the europe version came with 2 mags when it was sold this one should at least have one included instead of everything al-a-cart .also should include a seperate thumb screw for stock assembly

    What others should know: your service for missing or broken parts needs to be a little better , mine has a broken bolt handle and i am told that i have to send the whole gun back just to replace a cefective part

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By scottywotty from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight, accurate, quiet, and just plain fun to shoot. I have only shot this gun as a rifle and it is not loud in that configuration. The trigger is decent enough considering what this gun costs and what is intended to do. The sights are not fiber optic, a plus in my book. This gun is a great back yard plinker. If I'm just relaxing and wanting shoot some cans, this is now my go to gun. And because of its lightweight, it's a good gun for teaching younger shooters how to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, this gun does exactly what it is designed to do, and it does it well.

    What others should know: Buy the Diana Stormrider magazine to turn this single shot into a repeater.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent product easy to change barrels adding the storm chaser clip makes a big difference.

    Things I would have changed: I'm sure it's my local thing but it would have been nice if the the silencer. unscrewed from the barrel of the rifle and screwed onto the pistol like it does in Germany.

    What others should know: Make sure that the round you buy fit in it my first order did not fit into the system

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate. Well made. High quality Crisp trigger. Shoulder stock fits perfectly, with no play..

    Things I would have changed: A little undersized, for an adult. I wish this, and most other rifles, had a higher cheek rest, so I'm not practically putting my chin on the stock.

    What others should know: If you use the dovetail in front of the breech, it's really difficult to load. I'd use a red dot, or compact scope, so you can keep everything behind the breech..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have several air rifles and I love them all. The chaser fills the pistol gap nicely. Quite accurate. And a ball to shoot! I hope I don't wear it out! I love the fact you can use a magazine! the knurled pin in the reloading plug is very helpful. there is a port where you can see if you have an cartridge in. I keep a cartridge in the handle.

    Things I would have changed: Make the silencer interchangeable. Hard to cock.

    What others should know: I bought the magazine. And pelgun oil. When I am done shooting. I re-load and fire one pellet. Then my gun is always ready for action.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ed from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's fun to shoot. the accuracy is more than reasonable considering it's a cheap can shooter. The ability to change from pistol, to short carbine, to rifle is a blast. It's reasonably quiet at least to me (no complaints from the neighbors). So far the mags have performed fine but a little tricky to load at first but it becomes easier. The bolt action is ok and the trigger is a bit sticky but that will change with use I believe. I didn't think I would like the bolt on the left but I've changed my mind. The gun is so light that working a left side bolt is easy.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger could use some work but once again this is a very cheap fun gun. The front sight is hard (for me at least) to pick out against a dark target but a red dot solves that issue.

    What others should know: For the money, this is just a real fun backyard or basement shooter. So far, no regrets. It's light enough for the kids and an old guy like me. One might take note that the barrel is not well supported in the rifle mode. I think a little care is in order. It's not super accurate but I keep grabbing it for a quick shooting session. CO2 life is reasonable. I have found mine likes lighter pellets. Even shoots well with cheap green pellets

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very fun! Light but very solid. Very accurate and the sound well moderated by the long barrel silencer. Feeds through the mags very well. This is a keeper! Perfect for outdoor fo smaller pest control. At least 50-80 shots/bulb on a mild day. Highly recommend.

    Things I would have changed: 0

    What others should know: 0

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By TonyG from USA on 2018-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Of all the guns ordered from Pyramyd Air I should wind up with a lemon, failed to have all the necessary parts shipped in the box, would not puncture three kinds of CO2 cartridges. I went through ten CO2's and only one puncture, would only puncture half way, defective. So I did not get to fire it at all. However a new one will be on it's way soon. It sure looked impressive and looks accurate even without a scope.

    What others should know: When you get the gun don't throw out the box right away, cause under the gun packing is a short nylon gun sheath, it my not hold the rifle but will hold the whole gun and packing, broke down.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just did chrono test, 600 to 594 fps. Not bad for a plinker. The rifle is nice and fun to shoot, it is worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2018-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Verry light! Trigger is ok and adjustable. Great kit. Very accurate! I get about about 40 good shots per cartridge. Tons of fun and very quiet can is on both cans. The target impact is louder than the shot.

    Things I would have changed: Have it come with at least 1 magazine. In order to use longer barrel I needed to remove rear sight for shorter barrel.

    What others should know: Had a lot of grease in trigger housing and in the hammer tube. Relubed with light grease trigger is better and a few more FPS.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation