Date: 19/9/2018 15:40
0

Diana RWS 54 Air King reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (66 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2009-03-15 11:42:48

Things I liked: The RWS Diana 54 is the smoothest spring-piston airgun other than a TX200 or a hand-made Whiscombe (no longer available). The 54 does have a tiny bit of vibration when fired, which the TX200 doesn't, but the 54 is without recoil and the TX200 does have a small kick. If you can overlook the small bit of buzzing, the 54 is very superior in its firing characteristics. The 54 is also the most accurate of all spring-piston rifles--fully the equal of the TX200 and the Whiscombe and surpassing all others. Even in .22 caliber, the 54 drills them all into one small hole. It's a 50-yard spring gun. When you add to this the power that only the Whiscombe exceeds, the 54 is truly unique. I also like the extravagant checkering on the stock. You'll never see more checkering on a factory airgun.

Things I would have changed: The 54 is not for lefties. Too bad there isn't a lefthand model made.

What others should know: I recommend getting the 54 in .22 caliber to take full advantage of the available power. In .177, the rifle shoots too fast to be accurate at long range with anything but heavyweight pellets. Be sure to get a Leapers Diana scope base, because the 54 can have some barrel droop.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Victor from USA on 2010-06-13 19:08:51

Things I liked: awesome power, accuracy, and build quality

Things I would have changed: a lighter trigger pull

What others should know: it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Pick up this rifle and you know you have a top quality machine in your hands.

    Things I would have changed: Take 2 pounds off of it. (Not possible, really)

    What others should know: Fit , finish , accuracy , and everything is top German quality. I like to set pop cans on end with the pull tab facing me. My 54 (in .22) w/ Bushy 5-15 AO will take out the rivet of the pull tab at 40 yds. The next two shots just widen the hole. This is off my porch railing resting on my hand. The biggest problem is the few times you miss you can't blame the rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: FIT AND FINISH is Flawless , Wood stock has beautifully checkering and feels great in hand. Blueiing is nicely done. I have been shooting RWS supper dome .22 cal at 40 yards bullseye after bullseye!

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: The RWS AIR KING IS A HEAVY RIFLE , the floating rail takes a bit getting used to. And I also had to Shim my hawk air max I suggest buying Scope mounts that compensate droop... When you first Handel you AIR KING do not be alarmed over the rattle thats how the floating rail is designed when you cock your rifle the rail moves thus the recoil is reduced dramatically. ALSO INVEST SOME MONEY IN A GOOD SCOPE , I PUT THE HAWK AIRMAX ON MINE . BULLSEYE THIS RIFLE IS VERY ACCURATE.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vaughn from USA on 2018-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Build quality , accuracy , lack of recoil. This rifle is made to be the King of Air Guns !

    Things I would have changed: It is a bit heavy , but man up or stay home.

    What others should know: Of course , get a quality scope. No place to pinch pennies.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles N. Scheetz from USA on 2018-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful furniture and attention to detail. A fine example of German machinery.

    Things I would have changed: If you have thick fingers and thumbs, or arthritis a bit like I do, it can be a little challenging loading a pellet into the breach.

    What others should know: Has a bit of heft to it so if you are looking for light and maneuverable, look elsewhere.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Damon from USA on 2017-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything. Beautiful gun. Completely recoilless. Hits like a truck in .22 and keyholes shots at 30 yards(furthest Ive shot thus far.)

    Things I would have changed: Maybe make the front sight thinner to accomodate the pinhole accuracy of this piece a little better. That assuming you arent using a scope of course. Although considering this guns reputation as a scope eater, unless you are planning on shelling out a few hundred for a quality built scope, I wouldnt reccomend it.

    What others should know: I ordered this in .22 off of amazon because I got it new for a little over $150 less. Not that I wouldnt pay full price if I had to do it again. Just a great piece. A little on the heavy side, but I like that personally.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Louis from USA on 2017-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is without question an hierloom rifle. My grandchildren will be shooting this. Fit, finish, function, accuracy, all of it fantastic. It can be fired from the bench or a bipod without loss of accuracy. The trigger is amazing right out of the box, being able to feel both stages makes it very easy to get on target before firing. You only need to purchase ammunition and proper lubes, otherwise it is a shooter right out of the box. The recoil absorbtion system WORKS. Caliber is personal preference, in .22 this is a target and hunting gun.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe the three plastic bits...otherwise nothing.

    What others should know: I did not purchase this rifle at PA, PA has only recently become my go too. You could purchase a PCP for the price, but then you would have to purchase all of the supporting gear if you don't already have it. This gun is a scope KILLER!, even with the recoil system. Make sure you purchase a properly rated scope that has recieved good reviews. Try different ammunition, quality ammunition, don't let someone tell you what to use, 14gr to 16gr seems to be the sweet spot for this powerplant. Properly maintained, this gun will last for generations.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2017-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought recently the Diana RWS air king 54 at pyramidair. The rifle is recoiless . Just like a pcp air rifle.Also it's a quality German made. The Diana air king 54 is very very accurate Out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: None ,everything look nice, I have a lot of pcp' but so far The Diana RWS air kings 54 is now my favorite gun.

    What others should know: This air rifle is not for children .It's not a light air rifle And it's not too heavy either.The average adult can cok the rifle easily .I have .22 cal good for hunting small games It has a lot power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The 54 airking is a pure beast. I take it to the range when I shoot my real firearms and I end up shooting the airking more. I end up getting more compliments on the air gun than my other firearms. I strongly recommend the .22. The fit and finish is excellent and for all of you who say it is heavy you need to do some push-ups.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all . This gun in .22 is literally the air King.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mike from USA on 2016-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: My compliments to your tech on the 20/20 service who sighted in the rifle. 4 tight bulls eyes at 35 yards right out of the case. Accurate deluxe! Your staff recommended & mounted the Leapers UTG3 True Hunter Rifle Scope. Perfect combo.

    Things I would have changed: Very poor instructions booklet on operation of the rifle. I had never used a side lever before. Unless you learn the hard way to pull it back way beyond 90 degrees; everything locks up.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've wanted this airgun for a long time. I like its masculine looks, its power, the fact that it is essentially without recoil, its side lever cocking, its open sights (which many guns seem to do away with these days), its strong bear trap protection, the fact that it is semi-ambidextrous (I'm left-handed), the fact that it is not hold sensitive, and the fact that it can accept a bipod and sling, should one wish to have those. The gun is quite accurate (haven't finished the accuracy workup) and a pleasure to look at and to shoot. With an anti-droop scope mount, there is plenty of adjustment room on the scope. I'm sighting it in at 42 yards (according to the ballistics chart). I'm not a sophisticated evaluator of triggers, but the T06 is the nicest trigger on any of my ten firearms and pellet rifles. German quality is evident throughout.

    Things I would have changed: With an anti-droop scope mount, the gun is so large that very few gun cases can hold it. I finally found a Plano "two-rifle" waterproof case that works. The gun has the reputation for eating scopes, but so far the UTG Bug-Buster is doing fine. Believe the reviews that say that this rifle is LARGE and HEAVY. It's great with a field tripod or bipod, but wouldn't be much fun to carry around all day in the field.

    What others should know: I'd love to see this gun in a walnut or laminated stock.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: So many things... I never imagined a springer could be this good. The RWS 54 in .22 is complete and utter devastation on small game and varmint within 100 yards. I like the T06 trigger, which legitimately everyone I have let use the rifle has been surprised and impressed by. I really like the side lever which allows for super low profile, easy, and quiet loading while hunting. I love that you don't have to use an artillery hold, and that the skills transfer over to regular firearm usage. But most of all, I'm addicted to the almost effortless follow through and ability to hit EXACTLY what I was aiming at EVERY TIME so long as I take a calculated approach.

    Things I would have changed: Add two swivel studs for a sling, a spot for a bipod, make the rear iron sight better, send the gun out with less oil, and make the muzzle designed to take on legitimate airgun silencers that don't fall in a legal gray area. Also, RWS should include a scope droop compensator. It's almost silly you have to buy it separate for a rifle which is clearly designed for those who want/need extreme precision.

    What others should know: I give this 4 stars overall only because there are clearly lighter PCP rifles with more bells and whistles (though a much steeper price). I have had incredible success with this gun and believe that unless you plan on carrying an oxygen tank and compressor through the woods, this is the king of .22 pellet hunting. I have shot 13 different types of .22 through it, and found despite what so many have said, Crosman premiers and HP both shot horribly. For my gun, JSB Diabolos (15.89 or 18.13) are FAR superior to all other ammunition in firing characteristics (literally can shoot within a nickel every time at 50 yards with good shooting platform and strong grip). H&N Barracuda 21 grain is also very accurate, however, they're not hand selected and therefore have too many flyers to be my "go to". Barracuda Hunter Extremes are good for people who have pests, but lack the accuracy to hit the brain. Oh, this thing eats cheap scopes. Buy a good one (I use a 4-16 x 50 Hawk) and USE LOCTITE.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is an amazing gun and very, very accurate. With my old model 48 I could get a tight group at 20 yds but it expanded out to 4 inches at 30 yds. This gun shoots a tight group from 20 to 35 yds. I didn't try any farther. the recoiless function was amazing. My old gun was so sensitive to how you held it. You had to absorb the recoil and stay on target. This has no recoil. I like the new shape to the stock which is more comfortable. I love the trigger which is very consistent. It is a great gun and worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: I haven't hunted with it yet but with the increase in accuracy I will have more confidence to take the kill shot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clyde from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, recoilless design, and quality of construction.

    Things I would have changed: This is one HEAVY airgun. That's an advantage when shooting from the bench, but for hunting, you'll think you're humping an M1 Garand through the boonies. It ought to come with sling swivels installed! For a long hunting session, a sling is really a necessity.

    What others should know: Although this air rifle is recoilless from the shooter's perspective, that's because the action & barrel slide on rails. Any scope & mounts need to be designed for use on a typical, heavy recoil, spring-cocker.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Neil from USA on 2016-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I agree with most of the comments except those about .22 cal only. I got the .177 because I wanted a Field Target capable rifle in case I ever take up that sport plus it has plenty of power to kill any rabbit or squirrel with a head shot. I don't need more power. Also, it shoots flat and .177 is cheaper. With Kodiak Golds it's subsonic and very accurate. The Kodiaks may have shot a tiny bit better but I like clean fingers. I have shot tin cans at 60 yards offhand with this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: In a perfect world I would liked it sized 10% smaller, lighter and less powerful. The weight is about a pound too heavy with scope for offhand shooting at least for me. I often wear my shooting jacket which eliminates that problem. It is a good way to build up your strength and if you limit your shooting it's not bad. I find the stock a bit long for me when reaching for the trigger. The cocking lever is ugly. It's a bit loud.

    What others should know: It's as accurate as my Marauder. It's a fun gun to shoot prone, sitting or from a bench or shooting sticks. Offhand it's a bit of work.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Air King is very accurate right out of the box. I was able to shoot several 5 shot groups at 20 yards with JBS Diablo .22cal. 18.13gr pellets after mounting a Leapers 3x9 scope using a DIANA bullseye scope mounting system. I am impressed with rifle's trigger and the "howitzer" action. I feel no shock when firing the rifle and the scope, firmly mounted in the "bullseye" mount, seems to handle the spring piston action of this magnum air rifle without a problem. I have had the rifle for several months and have put several hundred shots through it.

    Things I would have changed: Not really.

    What others should know: The RWS Model 54 is on the heavy side and charging the rifle takes more effort than my Beeman R9 but it is pushing a .22 cal pellet at well over 800 FPS so both are expected. The power and accuracy of this adult air rifle are well worth the extra weight and cocking effort. It is not a Beeman R9 nor is it a Air Arms TX200, with regards to fit and finish but it is a fine shooter and small game should be very concerned up to and beyond 50 yards. I really like this air rifle!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By D. Braxton from USA on 2015-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to cock, load and reset. Good quality throughout. Awesome artillery action "built in;" no need for artillery hold. Accurate but... Quarter size groups out to 40 yards, 1.5 to 2 inch out to 50.

    Things I would have changed: Use some aluminum parts to lighten ship. Make it in a modern thumbhole composite to lighten even more. These modern upgrades would go a long way to bring this accurate, easy to shoot springer into the 21st century.

    What others should know: Dang it! I wanted to love this gun. I had over 300 rounds thru it and from the beginning every three to five shot would be low and a bit left and would group there nicely. I was shooting two groups in every shot count and losing about 38 to 44 FPS with the "flyers". Guys at Pyramyd said there was most likely a small nick in the seal that lined up with a blemish in the chamber and the air pressure would vary. They offered to fix no problem, but I'd already decided to return for a PCP and leave springers behind. HOWEVER, if you want a good springer with no hold sensitivity, this is it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Diana: solid German Airgun with impeccable fit and finish; Spring Gun that' s easily accurate out of Box**!! Great $$ value; weight adds to its inherent accuracy; adjustable T06 trigger shipped with 4.5mm 54 AirKing;

    Things I would have changed: Option to trade the sights for a barrel weight like on the Diana 56th!! would love to have this in a WALNUT stock!!

    What others should know: Watch for EASY to FIX barrel droop/ Get the solid UTG compensator mount and Weaver rings; shooting supported accurately to 60+ yds. with 10X fixed mag scope; still NEW and shoots less than 30mm groups with H&N 4.52mm FTT 8.6 grains/ still might be better accuracy with $$ bigger mag scope and a different "magic" pellet; 54 & 56 series Diana: my most friendly and Accurate Spring Guns*****!!!!! Importantly, may push the action forward PRIOR to cocking to reduce the final cocking Effort by at least 20%%......Yes!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Owl from USA on 2015-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock. The checkering. The weight (yes, if you can believe that). The eyesight line. Most of all, it's accuracy at distance.

    Things I would have changed: I like just about everything with this gun except for one thing, the sights. These sights are just to big and bulky to have dead on accuracy that the gun can produce. I would make the front sight a lot smaller (maybe give a choice of a peep?) for accuracy.

    What others should know: I am shooting about 22yds with this rifle and (with a scope) I can keyhole just about every shot. This is a very accurate rifle, one that should satisfy anybody in the market for a spring piston rifle. Just be weary of the sights. I would buy a good air gun scope along with the rifle. If you use it for hunting, don't bother but target shooting for group, yea, you will need the scope. The eyesight line is perfect for my face. When lay my cheek on the rest and open my eye, the scope is in line perfectly for my eyesight. Should be for yours too. At 25yds that I shoot, most of my shots all land within a half inch or less with most landing "keyhole" with the last shot. The weight is an issue though. For smaller frame people this gun might be a touch heavy for them. I would not hesitate buying another RWS 45 when I'm in the market for another air rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfonso from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Beautifully made. Super Accurate. Powerful on .22 cal. Iron sights. More fun and challenging to get accurate at.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a little lighter. Add sling swivels to carry over shoulder. Metal safety button instead of plastic.

    What others should know: This is an amazingly accurate and powerful springer. At 50 yds. I can take down heavy pine cones with 2 to 3 shots. Imagine what it can do to a squirrel or rabbit? Difficult to shoot without resting it on something do its heavy weight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the auto safety when you cock it and the anti-bear trap.I put a BKL one piece scope mount with a 3-9x40 Leapers scope and at 35 yd I hit dead center over 90% of the time and I am working on a group of a dime size at 50 yd. This 22 cal. hits the mark like many other rifles I own and yes these RWS air rifles are a little higher priced , you get what you pay for , and the workmanship is high quality. I have owned a lot of air guns ,and this one cost me the most , but I think it is worth the money ,and for dropping a variety of critters. At my age I want what I pay for and now I have rifle I can hunt with and plink with at a much cheaper price then buying ammo. I have no problem cocking my rws 30 to 40 times at my age 67 no problem at all.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything.

    What others should know: If you are thinking about mounting a scope the BKL scope mount self aligns with the bore of your rifle when it is mounted and your scope will be in line.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation