Date: 13/12/2018 2:40
0

Gamo Hornet Maxxim. 611006815554. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (24 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Paul from USA on 2017-02-08 17:48:27

Things I liked: Light weight, but solid feel. Easy to cock. Feels good in practice. Looks good. Shoot s well out ofbox, can not wait til broken in.

Things I would have changed: Maybe the trigger.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Igor from USA on 2016-07-26 08:23:11

Things I liked: Nice looking gun but that's pretty much it. No accuracy what so ever. Considering the price of 179, you really don't expect much from this product. Easy to cock and relatively quiet. Nice muzzle break. Trigger seems to be much better then the one on older models.

Things I would have changed: Considering the price of 179 you really can't add more quality stuff to this rifle. It is what it is.

What others should know: Don't buy this gun is you think you can shoot accurately. The label on the box says Adult Precision Air Rifle, far from it. If you are shooting empty one gallon bottles from 20 yards, perhaps this gun will suit you well.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Charles from USA on 2018-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cocks easy enough, feels comfortable, about as quiet as I expected, haven't found the right combination of pellets but fairly accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Advertised for small game and plinking, Plinking is great, but only pisses a squirrel off. Maybe not the right pellet yet. Hollow points aren't working.

    What others should know: There is no adjustment to the trigger as advertised or mentioned in owners manual. Set screws are bottomed out and tight, cant turn in to adjust.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CODY from USA on 2018-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: everything! this gun shoots great.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nate from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate, quiet, smooth shooting and budget priced

    Things I would have changed: A more adjustable trigger

    What others should know: Prefers domed pellets, specifically crosman and Gamo although the red fires are a good pellet out to about 20-25 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shannon Carter on 2018-06-14
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Took 10 min to dial in scope with Gamo Redline Hunting Pellets. Twenty Minutes later took care of groundhog that was endulging in my beans at 60yds. Set up spinniing target 3in. Repeatedly hit target at 40 and 50 yrds. If you can shoot this all a person needs in a pellet gun. Enough said.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By LeadPooL from USA on 2018-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's truly an adult sized break barrel. Weight is nice. Trigger feels really good. Cocking back the barrel is easy, and for me at this time that is saying something being as I am coming off surgery on my right elbow! I've got around 200 shots though it and I can all but stack pellets on the target!

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely open your back door and drop kick the scope that comes with this out!! As usual the scope that comes with is junk! So know going in that you will want a better scope, the good news from this is that you really can't over purchase. Like I said above, can just about stack pellets!! I went with a Simmons Protarget 4-12x40mm. Did need to shim the rear mount ring but it is working awesome!!

    What others should know: Keep your pellet weight in around 14 to 16 gr for the best shooting result. With my .22cal I am having very good results with GAMO Magnum Energy Country 15.42gr. This is rapidly becoming my favorite target practice rifle! I feel like anyone would be tickled to own one of these! Always remember to shoot safely

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-04-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that it doesn't come with open sights as I only needed a scoped rifle. I had a spring rifle before and like the piston action much better. It is pretty accurate for only having about 50 pellets through it so far.

    Things I would have changed: The one thing I would change is the stock. I would like to see them use a higher cheek rest/comb.

    What others should know: I made a Kydex cheek riser and solved the eye alignment/cheek rest issue. Because of other reviews of scopes that come as a package deal I opted not to use and instead purchased a Mantis 3-9x40 scope and so far it is doing quite well.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By S from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Relatively cheap, very light, good power, and good accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Bundle a better scope. The one on the rifle is pretty cheap.

    What others should know: I am an experienced air gunner (25+ years). I have everything from high quality German and English guns that cost more than $600, to Crosmans to Gamos. Here are some things I've learned shooting Gamos: 1) Clean it! From the factory, the bores have some sort of grease or oil that effects accuracy. I had been trying for weeks to find an accurate PBA (lead alternative) pellet, and had no luck. I must have tried 6 or 7 and they all grouped awful. And this was with a new rifle. So I decided to clean the bore, and couldn't believe the results. Now 3 of the pellets I tried shoot pretty much as well as I do. I will say, PBA will not quite match lead, but with a clean barrel some to come quite close. And personally, I don't like having lead residue and oil all over my fingers, which is why I was trying to find a good PBA 2) And mentioned, PBAs are "junk" necessarily. They just repsond badly to a dirty bore. 3) As with all airguns, GAMOs shoot better after break-in

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2017-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First Gamo air rifle purchase, very happy with the Gamo Hornet Maxxim Air Rifle, I just had shoulder problems but find the Gamo is easy to operate, shoots great zeroed in with 4 shoots, impressed with how quiet the Hornett Maxxim is can shoot in the backyard without the neighbors complaining about the noise, The Hornet Maxxim Air Rifle doesn't shoot like a spring action gun the gas piston system is very smooth I found the trigger smooth and useable right out of the box. I was looking for a hunting air rifle that was light enough to carry and shoot the Gamo Maxxim works well in the field.

    What others should know: I have shot springer and PCP air guns and find the Gamo Maxxim a great value for the money, the scope is not a high end scope but works, I have had great success shooting rats at night with this scope using a laser flashlight set up. Overall very happy with the finish and performance of this gun. The Pyramyd Air You Tube review on how this gun operates and functions was a fair and honest review of the Hornet Maxxim

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By danny from USA on 2017-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Mine is a .22 cal. I like everything so far. A few shots to find the best pellet, a few more to sight the scope, then two more shots to drop two tree rats from my pecan trees. Not bad for a fresh gun!

    Things I would have changed: Scope could be better. Focusing was a pain.

    What others should know: Mine seemed to like .22cal. RWS Superdome 14.5 grain. I didn't have anything lighter, and heavier pellets would not group at all.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight, but solid feel. Easy to cock. Feels good in practice. Looks good. Shoot s well out ofbox, can not wait til broken in.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe the trigger.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Lightweight, powerful, quiet. Has a nice trigger. I like the one piece scope mount.

    Things I would have changed: Dust cap between the barrel and stock was loose. Called gamo and they are sending a new one, no questions asked.

    What others should know: The scope that came with it was just ok. I put a Leapers UTG 3x12x40 on it. Killed 3 squirrels in the first 30 minutes. My gun seems to like the JSB Match Diablo 15.89g pellets the best....still testing though.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Will from USA on 2016-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: After giving the gun a good cleaning, using Hoppes 9, I mounted the supplied scope and began sighting it in at a close distance, then went out to an approx. 30 yds. distance, and finished the fine tuning. I used some pellets from Wal-Mart, Premier 14.3 gr. Hollow Point Hunting Pellets, and was able to keep them in a 1" pattern. I am pleased with the functioning and quality of the gun and scope. I may try some heavier pellets in the future to see how they work too.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2016-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything. Great gun rigjt out of the box in .22 cal. Very accurate good scope surprisingly i hear so much about scooes that come with a lit of these guns and everyone says they are junk but so far not one problem.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The one pc scope mount is nice. Quiet accurate light and packs a nice little punch for a .22 cal pellet rifle. Great deal..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy out of the box, how quite the rifle is, balance, trigger pull, easy to cock. Did I mention quiet??

    Things I would have changed: With the gun, absolutely nothing. The optics, the gun should be offered with the option of an A/O scope.

    What others should know: IF you are in a position where you can only buy on air rifle, this should be it. Shoots great, easy to cock, unbelievable accuracy, minimal recoil. Nice gun and everyone should own one. The Pyramyd site guided me with the right answers to all of my questions. If you do in fact buy one, be prepared to purchase a better scope. Thanks again Pyramyd!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rifle itself--- the scope leaves a lot to be desired.

    Things I would have changed: Things I would change on this rifle----- THE SCOPE! Poor. I had to zero left and it toke at least 40 clicks left to even get close it just would not move. I will be changing this out very soon and it will not be a Gamo scope! The rifle itself has the power I was looking for. I am very happy with it. I did have to go to a heavier pellet though that did improve my accuracy. My pattern is at the size of a quarter right now but that will change very soon when I change out that scope!

    What others should know: For the price (around $160.00) it's a good buy but my next air rifle I will spend a bit more and if you like accuracy like I do-- spend a little more!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By William from USA on 2016-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The trigger is decent. Its lightweight. The balance of the weight is very good. Accuracy is good enough for hunting pest.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the scope. The stock one is ok though but there are better options.

    What others should know: Its what I wanted. I was wanting an inexpensive pest and hunting air rifle that is light weight and has decent accuracy. I purchased the .22 version and it has met all of my needs. It was lighter feeling than I expected. The trigger is good. It has good balance with the bulk toward the center of the rifle. It is not as accurate as other air rifles I own but good enough for what I needed. 1 inch groups at 35 yards. It's been consistent. I have taken quite a few feral pigeons with it already. This was bought to be used and kept in a less ideal location (at work) and I didn't want to keep my nicer more expensive air guns there. I would normally shy away from so much plastic but for my needs it was ideal.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joseph Everette from USA on 2016-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fun to shoot and the scope's adequate. Still breaking it in.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Juan from USA on 2016-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accurate, powerful, good price

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The trigger is excellent.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By William from USA on 2016-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rifle looks and feels very well. Very powerful and appears well made.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle is NOT quiet. It is advertised as being quiet with a muzzle brake to help with limiting the noise. This is why I made this purchase. When I shot this rifle it was very loud. It is just as loud as any of my other rifles that shoot 1000 fps pellets. Don't be fooled by the advertised muzzle brake because it doesn't work.

    What others should know: If you want a quiet rifle get the .22 model NOT the .177. The review of this rifle on youtube was using the .22 model which fires pellets at a much slower fps. The .177 is very loud. I don't know about the accuracy of the rifle because I haven't been able to shoot it. I was hoping to be able to shoot it inside my garage, but the noise was too loud to shoot it without my neighbors calling the police.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Igor from USA on 2016-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice looking gun but that's pretty much it. No accuracy what so ever. Considering the price of 179, you really don't expect much from this product. Easy to cock and relatively quiet. Nice muzzle break. Trigger seems to be much better then the one on older models.

    Things I would have changed: Considering the price of 179 you really can't add more quality stuff to this rifle. It is what it is.

    What others should know: Don't buy this gun is you think you can shoot accurately. The label on the box says Adult Precision Air Rifle, far from it. If you are shooting empty one gallon bottles from 20 yards, perhaps this gun will suit you well.

  • 12 Next
Navigation