Date: 19/8/2018 17:6
0

Gamo PT-85 Blowback Tactical Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (51 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Wayne from Canada on 2011-12-31 14:50:02

Things I liked: I like the power and it is accurate. With ordinary average 7gr pellets it doesn't even make the 500ft/sec mark, shoots about 40ft/s faster than my CP88 comp.

Things I would have changed: I would stop advertising it as a 560ft/s gun because it isn't unless you use the lightest pellet you can find 4gr or so

What others should know: My Walther / Umarex Cp88 Competition fires those pellets at (PBA Platinum ) @ 560 ft/s. I looked on your website a while back ( anything on website can be changed in seconds ) amd was impressed by your claim of 560ft/s I am am Engineer and looked all over the sites at that time, well over a month ago( as did others ) to find out what what pellet was used in the tests to come up with you 560/ft/s. and could find no information on the website what pellet was used. Like I said my CP88 shoots lightweight pellets at well over 500Ft/s so if a lightweight pellet was used to make your 560ft/s I would not be interested in buying it as my Walther has a 6 inch barrel and your PT85 has over 12 inches of barrel and doesn't shoot that much faster. So with my engineering background I figure the greater velocity was due to the increase ( over 6 inches ) in barrel length which made sense to me. Just to make sure I emailed the shop I bought it from and asked them about it and they told me they don't test the guns and I should contact Gamo if I wanted the information. I contacted GamoUSA and recieved this message "All our guns are tested with a standard 7-8 gr. pellet" which has proved to be a bald faced lie, possibly intended to make a sale as I explained why I wanted to know.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Ron from USA on 2016-04-11 07:43:27

Things I liked: When I saw this gun and did the research both on Google and Youtube I was very impressed with the accuracy and what you received for the price you paid. I received my shipment on time and in full however there was an issue with the gun when I received it. I returned this product for new one and there was no issue with the return and sending out the product. The original product I received had a serious issue with the red dot sight as there was an o-ring inside the scope housing that was not seeded properly and in turn was blocking the view through the scope...rendering it totally useless. I called customer service to see if I could send just the scope back however I had to return everything. After waiting a week for the replacement I received another complete package and when inspecting the product discovered that I was sent another defective product with the same issue. Very discouraging because I know I will have to send the whole thing back again.

Things I would have changed: When I called customer service to discuss the issues I had to leave a message and I would get a call back very quickly (it took 11 days to get this returned call). When I called back and tried to talk to different department to see what to do the only answered I ever received from the product support department was to fill out the return form for return authorization. I will say this was very quick and thought that maybe the original problem I has with the o-ring was a one off....I was mistaken and now I'm waiting for a new return authorization to return this for the second and last time or I will ask for my money back. I would also ask that if a return is made for a certain product defect and another is sent out to the customer please inspect it. Nothin worse than valued customers running into the same issue because according to your return policy the whole package has to be sent back.

What others should know: Be aware of this issue before you buy this product...very frustrating because I have good money tied up in this and I want it to be right. Once I receive the proper package with all products working than I will be more than happy to add to this review. Good luck everyone and ask questions. I did insert a picture of the issue for reference.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2018-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the gun. GET extra mags!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2018-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent high fps with the 12 inch barrel. Excellent accuracy with 12 inch barrel. Nice to shoot quickly with dual 8 round rotary mag.

    Things I would have changed: Easier to take safety on and off.

    What others should know: Only air pistol with 12 inch barrel - buy it!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark S from USA on 2018-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The look of this weapon is awesome! The ease of adding the accessories to the rails but it does require dexterity. Everything comes with this purchase to start using it right away.

    Things I would have changed: A list of ammo that you CANNOT use with this weapon would be helpful. I had to research the GAMO website to find out what I should not use in it. Sometimes the pellets fall out of the clip...not good!

    What others should know: Your customer service team is the absolute best! Very quick and efficient.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the sixteen pellet magazine,

    Things I would have changed: pellets kept getting stuck in the barrel and would not leave the magazine I oiled and greased all moving parts and now it seems to be firing as it should.

    What others should know: Keep all moving parts well lubricated and you should have no problems.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: seems to be very accurate at about 20 feet

    Things I would have changed: the co2 doesn't last very long , about 32 shots , the sight rail is very loose no matter what I have done to tighten it .

    What others should know: this was supposed to be re-manufactured but was dirty , greasy and missing the second clip , also was re-packaged poorly and had dead batteries for the light , dot sight and laser. John

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tim from USA on 2018-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Decent plinker for the money. Not pellet picky, as long as they fit in the mag. Even polymag shorts work. Matches claimed fps @ 562fps with PBA and warm co2. 516fps with 6.5gr barracuda greens and warm co2. Seeing a 70fpsvspread between warm and cold co2.

    Things I would have changed: The red dot zero change reported by other reviews is NOT from the bridge mount. The forward, lower portion of the frame ( where the moulded in rail is ) is VERY flexible. The slide is very lose fitting. The barrel moves around a bit in its plastic shroud.

    What others should know: If you're willing to tinker, this thing could be a better performer.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2018-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The and looks are stunning (but that's about it)

    Things I would have changed: The pellets keep jamming constantly. used the very expensive (recommended) ones but still, jamming. Problem is that the pellets move due to the blowback causing the jam

    What others should know: The looks are great but the usage possibilities are horrible. The (fake) suppressor is not fit tightly. Each time there is a jam you have to take the whole gun apart, take off the scope, light and laser, then take off the rails, then take apart the gun, get the pellets released and .... assemble again. Horrible design. The jam happens each magazine. I purchased extra ones and exactly the same happens.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2017-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ease of use from loading co2 cartridge to pellets. and accuracy is tremendous. the 3 dot sights are great. laser sight is easy too when each are sighted in.

    Things I would have changed: make suppressor real, otherwise nothing.

    What others should know: small flat head screwdriver adjusts doy sight. included allen key adjusts laser sight. this gun is a lot of fun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By steven from USA on 2017-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fast pellet gun 560 fps, holds 8 in the Mag. then flip over for 8 more, looks mean,

    Things I would have changed: stop firing after 8 rounds, you have to keep count, more Metal.

    What others should know: make sure you buy the, 10 shots for 10 dollars so you;ll have no problems with the gun. i had some problems with a few I got.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2017-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The overall look is nice

    Things I would have changed: The losse barrel makes this an expensive piece of junk.

    What others should know: Don't waste your money on this

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall look of the pistol.

    Things I would have changed: The Quad Rail and the Barrel.

    What others should know: I sent this pistol back. I purchased my own red dot sight and after mounting it a zeroing it in, the quad rail kept on moving and throwing my sight out of zero. Always had to re-zero it which was a big pain. Also, the barrel moves a tiny bit on the suppressor when fired. The barrel inside the suppressor is only pushed into, I think, some rubber piece to hold it in. Overall, not that bab except of the two items. I would not purchase this again unless the company (Gamo) changes the problems.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very solid air gun. Some rambling inside though. Overall a very nice and solid piece. Alignment of the laser and sight has not worked yet hence I am only using the sight. Heavy duty and true quality.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, overall I am happy with this purchase.

    What others should know: Every time I use the GAMO Platinum pellets there is a jam hence that is very dissapointing. I stopped using Platimum ammo for that reason. Regular pellets (7.2 gr) work without any problem but the FPS reduces when using heavier ammo.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By GREGORY from USA on 2016-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: fast light trigger ... hard hitting blow back.... strip down great gun to shot...powerful makes the cans and targets dance and ring. also comes with a lot of devices to help the weak eyes and soft tissue people.ease load mags....

    Things I would have changed: It comes with a lot of different tools in all sizes to mount those handy cap visual aids.come on ...one size fit all mounting screws,what where they thinking !!!

    What others should know: It came in a unseal box ...missing some parts , big down ... wipe out the whole new gun experience... took two weeks a lot of emails and phone calls and copies to receive missing parts from gamo....starting to love those clams .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2016-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks like the real thing and is a lots of fun to shoot. Nice weight and feel. Attachments fit nicely though you need to really dog down on them.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see the internal barrel that goes through the imitation silencer be more secure. Is has enough movement that will effect accuracy. It could be a simple as a rubber washer to fit between the silencer and nose of the pistol. Or the silencer should be threaded so it will fit tight against the gun barrel.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2016-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It provides all reasonable bells and whistles anyone can imagine, perhaps too many, but I'm glad to have them, easily adaptable for other airguns. The coolest physical feature, the "wow factor", for this gun is its pseudo-silencer. The gun has numerous metal parts, most importantly, a forge rail on the underside of the barrel, in front of the trigger guard.

    Things I would have changed: What I did to the weapons, I bought 2, was remove the external rail system attached to the gun from the factory. Reviewers are correct the outer rail system does vibrate, however, I removed it (radical solution). Remember, there is a forge rail, I now add whichever addon floats my boat and presto you have a great gun for a great price. I just don't understand how they make a profit. I would include a parts list and diagram for maintenance, disassembly / reassembly.

    What others should know: In the laser housing, stretch the battery contact spring about 1/2 cm, to secure the contact point for the batteries. Not to do so could result in the laser shutting off in the middle of shooting, not a big deal once I figured it out. Buy extra clips, pellets, targets and CO2 cartridges. Once your friends come over the guns will be a source of unending fun. Personally I took one gun and attached the red laser, the other with the tactical light attachment.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Ron from USA on 2016-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: When I saw this gun and did the research both on Google and Youtube I was very impressed with the accuracy and what you received for the price you paid. I received my shipment on time and in full however there was an issue with the gun when I received it. I returned this product for new one and there was no issue with the return and sending out the product. The original product I received had a serious issue with the red dot sight as there was an o-ring inside the scope housing that was not seeded properly and in turn was blocking the view through the scope...rendering it totally useless. I called customer service to see if I could send just the scope back however I had to return everything. After waiting a week for the replacement I received another complete package and when inspecting the product discovered that I was sent another defective product with the same issue. Very discouraging because I know I will have to send the whole thing back again.

    Things I would have changed: When I called customer service to discuss the issues I had to leave a message and I would get a call back very quickly (it took 11 days to get this returned call). When I called back and tried to talk to different department to see what to do the only answered I ever received from the product support department was to fill out the return form for return authorization. I will say this was very quick and thought that maybe the original problem I has with the o-ring was a one off....I was mistaken and now I'm waiting for a new return authorization to return this for the second and last time or I will ask for my money back. I would also ask that if a return is made for a certain product defect and another is sent out to the customer please inspect it. Nothin worse than valued customers running into the same issue because according to your return policy the whole package has to be sent back.

    What others should know: Be aware of this issue before you buy this product...very frustrating because I have good money tied up in this and I want it to be right. Once I receive the proper package with all products working than I will be more than happy to add to this review. Good luck everyone and ask questions. I did insert a picture of the issue for reference.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Especially like the blowback feature, clip insertion, feel of the gun in your hand and reasonably good accuracy. I disagree with many of the negative comments about this gun. For the money, it is a fun pistol and is providing me with many hours of fun. Mounted a Center Point 2.5 pistol scope which improved my accuracy up to 45'.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger adjustment and overall tightening of the barrel. If this were done I feel that the accuracy would be greatly improved at greater distances. Also the clip pellet holes need to be stronger for a tighter fit of the pellet as using both sides of the clip will almost always result in a jam when the clip is flipped.

    What others should know: Get extra clips and use only one side for loading pellets. When both sides of the clip are loaded the blowback will loosen the pellets and a jam will result when the clip is flipped. The JSB RS Diabolo has proven to give the best results with both accuracy and lack of jams. Out of a 500 pellet can, I had 1 jam, which was easy to clear. The maximum accurate shots from one cartridge is 48. After that accuracy falls of rapidly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2015-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: When this gun works correctly,it is a lot of fun . accurate,powerful and good use of CO2.

    Things I would have changed: adjustable trigger, improve magazine,offer non-blowback, more stable rail

    What others should know: Even with all its flaws, this gun is a kick. It WILL jam from time to time . I have already found that doomed pellets jam much less often.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2014-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a nice gun it has good weight and feel has a lot of power for the money plus a good quality gun.

    Things I would have changed: Have a option to change out barrel.

    What others should know: Buy a lot of c02s its a lot of fun to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from Moldova on 2013-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely nice design. I don't understand why some other people are complaining. This gun has everything. I love how heavy this gun feels in my hand and with the blowback added to it, that's just amazing. The loudness of this gun should be changed to 2-3 (low-medium) as it really is quiet compared to other CO2 based .177 airguns. What else I love about this gun is the extremely good accuracy thanks to its low recoil and the very smooth trigger, and I've owned several different CO2 guns to say that.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would like is being able to fire bullets as well. This gun is capable of only firing pellets, but personally, this is not really a big deal.

    What others should know: You really get what you pay for, which is: accuracy, power = fun !

  • 123 Next
Navigation